Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/12/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, 18, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 18, the examiner is unsure how the invention is supposed to know the “linear actuator” is supposed to move? How is the invention supposed to know when the “linear actuator” needs to move the “retractable printhead shield”? Furthermore, the examiner is unsure what component is supposed to help the “linear actuator” move the “retractable printhead shield”?
Regarding claim 20, the examiner is unsure how does the invention of the method know which “inkjets” are used and which are unused? What determines an inkjet as “used” or “unused”? How does the invention of the method know when to eject “one or more ink droplets from the plurality of unused inkjets” and when to continue printing on the “print media substrate”?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, 10-11, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somete et al. (US 20250144936 A1) in the view Gomez et al. (JP 6535621 B2).
Somete discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 1, an inkjet printing system (“image forming system 100”, Figure 1) comprising:
A media transport system (“conveying unit 7”, Figure 2) configured to move a print media substrate (Paragraph [0024] describes a “sheet S” that is printed on.) through the printing zone of the printing system in a process direction (Paragraph [0025] describes how the “conveying unit 7” conveys the “sheet” in the “conveyance direction Y”.);
a printhead mounting plate (“head base 11B”, Figure 3) spaced vertically apart from the media transport system (Figure 3 displays how the “head base 11B” of the “head 11” is disposed vertically in the “upward direction”.),
wherein the printhead mounting plate (“head base 11B”, Figure 3) comprises (i) a first surface (Figure 3 displays the lower side of the “head base 11B”, which is the lowest side in the “lower direction”), (ii) a second surface (Figure 3 displays the sides of the “head base 11B” that protrude on either side of the “inkjet heads 12”.), and (iii) one or more frames configured to receive one or more printheads at the first surface (Figure 4 displays how the “head base 11B” surrounds, or frames, the “nozzle surface 14F” of the “plurality of inkjet heads 12”.), respectively, wherein the second surface is vertically adjacent to the media transport system (Figure 3 displays how the sides of the “head base 11B” that protrude on either side of the “inkjet heads 12” are vertically adjacent to the “upper surface of the conveying belt 21” of the “conveying unit 7”.);
a retractable printhead shield (“cap unit 31”, Figure 3) disposed between the second surface of the printhead mounting plate and the media transport system (Figures 7A-7G display the process of how the “cap unit 31” of the “maintenance device 30” is moved to a “maintenance position” that is between the “head unit 11” and the “conveying belt 21” of the “conveying unit 7” and retracted during the “maintenance operation”.),
wherein the retractable printhead shield (“cap unit 31”, Figure 3) has a width that is greater than or equal to a width of the one or more frames (Figures 7F-7G display how the “cap unit 31” completely covers the entire underside of the “head unit 11”. Therefore, the width of the “cap unit 31” is at least equal to the width of all the “inkjet heads 12” within the “head unit 11”.); and
the retractable printhead shield (“cap unit 31”, Figure 3) under the one or more frames in a direction perpendicular to the process direction (Figures 7E-7G display how the “cap unit 31” is moved to cover the entire “head unit 11”, including the “inkjet heads 12”, in a direction parallel to the “conveying belt 21” and the direction that the “conveyance direction Y”.).
Regarding claim 2, the inkjet printing system of claim 1, further comprising: a controller (“control part 2”, figure 2), wherein the controller is configured to adjust a position of the retractable printhead shield, via the linear actuator, such that a portion of at least one frame of the one or more frames is covered (Paragraph [0052] describes how the “operation of the maintenance device 30”, which includes moving the “cap unit 31” to/from covering the “head unit 11”, is executed by the “control part 2”).
Regarding claim 8, the inkjet printing system of claim 1, wherein the width of the retractable printhead shield (“cap unit 31”, Figure 3) is approximately equal to a width of the printhead mounting plate (Figures 7F-7G display how the “cap unit 31” covers approximately the entire underside of the “head unit 11” and “head base 11B”. Therefore, the width of the “cap unit 31” is at least equal to the width of the “head base 11B”.).
Regarding claim 9, the inkjet printing system of claim 1, wherein the retractable printhead shield (“cap unit 31”, Figure 3) has a length that is greater than or equal to a length of the one or more frames (Figures 7F-7G display how the “cap unit 31” completely covers the entire underside of the “head unit 11”. Therefore, the length of the “cap unit 31” is at least equal to the length of all the “inkjet heads 12” within the “head unit 11”.).
Regarding claim 11, a print bar assembly (“inkjet recording apparatus 1”, Figure 1) comprising:
a printhead mounting plate (“”head base 11B”, Figure 3) comprising (i) a first surface (Figure 3 displays the lower side of the “head base 11B”, which is the lowest side in the “lower direction”), (ii) a second surface (Figure 3 displays the sides of the “head base 11B” that protrude on either side of the “inkjet heads 12”.), and (iii) one or more frames configured to receive one or more printheads at the first surface (Figure 4 displays how the “head base 11B” surrounds, or frames, the “nozzle surface 14F” of the “plurality of inkjet heads 12”.),
respectively; a retractable printhead shield (“cap unit 31”, Figure 3) disposed vertically adjacent to the second surface of the printhead mounting plate (Figure 3 displays how the “cap unit 31” is parallel to the “endless conveying belt 21” of the “conveying unit 7”, which is vertically adjacent to the sides of the “head base 11B” that protrude on either side of the “inkjet heads 12”),
wherein the retractable printhead shield (“cap unit 31”, Figure 3) has a width that is greater than or equal to a width of the one or more frames (Figures 7F-7G display how the “cap unit 31” completely covers the entire underside of the “head unit 11”. Therefore, the width of the “cap unit 31” is at least equal to the width of all the “inkjet heads 12” within the “head unit 11”.); and
sliding the retractable printhead shield (“cap unit 31”, Figure 3) under the one or more frames in a direction perpendicular to the process direction (Figures 7E-7G display how the “cap unit 31” is moved to cover the entire “head unit 11”, including the “inkjet heads 12”, in a direction parallel to the “conveying belt 21” and the direction that the “conveyance direction Y”.).
Regarding claim 15, the print bar assembly of claim 11, wherein the width of the retractable printhead shield (“cap unit 31”, Figure 3) is approximately equal to a width of the printhead mounting plate (Figures 7F-7G display how the “cap unit 31” covers approximately the entire underside of the “head unit 11” and “head base 11B”. Therefore, the width of the “cap unit 31” is at least equal to the width of the “head base 11B”.).
Regarding claim 16, the print bar assembly of claim 11, wherein the retractable printhead shield (“cap unit 31”, Figure 3) has a length that is greater than or equal to a length of the one or more frames (Figures 7F-7G display how the “cap unit 31” completely covers the entire underside of the “head unit 11”. Therefore, the length of the “cap unit 31” is at least equal to the length of all the “inkjet heads 12” within the “head unit 11”.).
Somete fails to disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 1, a linear actuator coupled to the retractable printhead shield and configured to slide the retractable printhead shield under the one or more frames.
Regarding claim 2, a controller operatively connected to the linear actuator.
Regarding claim 10, the inkjet printing system of claim 1, wherein second surface of the printhead mounting plate is spaced less than 5 mm vertically apart from the media transport system, and wherein the retractable printhead shield is a thin planar sheet having a thickness of less than 1 mm.
Regarding claim 11, a linear actuator coupled to the retractable printhead shield and configured to slide the retractable printhead shield under the one or more frames.
Regarding claim 17, the print bar assembly of claim 11, wherein the retractable printhead shield is a thin planar sheet having a thickness of less than 1 mm.
However, Gomez teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 1, a linear actuator (“actuator 218”, Figure 1) coupled to the retractable printhead shield (“printhead seal assembly 212”, Figure 1) and configured to slide the retractable printhead shield under the one or more frames (Paragraph [0020] describes how the “printhead seal assembly 212” that seals the “printhead surface” is moved using the “actuator 218”.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inkjet printing system taught by Somete to also apply a linear actuator coupled to the retractable printhead shield and configured to slide the retractable printhead shield under the one or more frames taught by Gomez. This would have been done for the purpose of allowing the plurality of printheads to be covered (Gomez, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, a controller (“controller 50”, Figure 8) operatively connected to the linear actuator (“actuator 218”, Figure 1).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inkjet printing system taught by Somete to also apply a controller operatively connecting to the actuator taught by Gomez. This would have been done for the purpose of giving the printer the ability to actuate the actuator through the controller (Gomez, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, a linear actuator coupled (“actuator 218”, Figure 1) to the retractable printhead shield (“printhead seal assembly 212”, Figure 1) and configured to slide the retractable printhead shield under the one or more frames in a direction perpendicular to a process direction (Paragraph [0020] describes how the “printhead seal assembly 212” that seals the “printhead surface” is moved using the “actuator 218”.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the print bar assembly taught by Somete to also apply a linear actuator coupled to the retractable printhead shield and configured to slide the retractable printhead shield under the one or more frames taught by Gomez. This would have been done for the purpose of allowing the plurality of printheads to be covered (Gomez, paragraph [0005]).
Somete and Gomez fail to disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 10, the inkjet printing system of claim 1, wherein second surface of the printhead mounting plate is spaced less than 5 mm vertically apart from the media transport system, and wherein the retractable printhead shield is a thin planar sheet having a thickness of less than 1 mm.
The combination of Somete and Gomez discloses the claimed invention except for applying wherein second surface of the printhead mounting plate is spaced less than 5 mm vertically apart from the media transport system, and wherein the retractable printhead shield is a thin planar sheet having a thickness of less than 1 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply wherein second surface of the printhead mounting plate is spaced less than 5 mm vertically apart from the media transport system, and wherein the retractable printhead shield is a thin planar sheet having a thickness of less than 1 mm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 17, the print bar assembly of claim 11, wherein the retractable printhead shield is a thin planar sheet having a thickness of less than 1 mm.
The combination of Somete and Gomez discloses the claimed invention except for applying wherein the retractable printhead shield is a thin planar sheet having a thickness of less than 1 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply wherein the retractable printhead shield is a thin planar sheet having a thickness of less than 1 mm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 3-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Somete and Gomez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takamichi et al. (JP 2005074763 A)
Somete disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 3, the inkjet printing system of claim 2, wherein the position of the retractable printhead shield (“cap unit 31”, Figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, the inkjet printing system of claim 3, wherein the controller (“control part 2”, Figure 2) is configured to (i) determine an unused portion of the one or more printheads received by the one or more frames, and (ii) adjust the position of the retractable printhead shield to cover the unused portion of the one or more printheads (Paragraphs [0052]-[0053] describe how the “control part 2” executes the “operation of the maintenance device 30” when it determines that an image forming job has not been executed for a “predetermined period”. Therefore, the “control part 2” can determine when one or more printheads are not being used. Furthermore, once the “control part 2” determines the one or more printheads are not being used, the execution of the maintenance operation includes moving the “cap unit 31” of the “maintenance device 30” to cover the “head unit 11”.).
Regarding claim 5, the inkjet printing system of claim 1, wherein the retractable printhead shield (“cap unit 31”, Figure 3).
Somete fails to disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 3, the inkjet printing system of claim 2, wherein the position of the retractable printhead shield is adjusted based on a width of the print media substrate moving through the printing zone.
Regarding claim 5, the inkjet printing system of claim 1, wherein the retractable printhead shield comprises a first absorbent layer disposed on a frame-facing surface of the retractable printhead shield, the first absorbent layer being configured to absorb an amount of ink ejected by the one or more printheads.
Regarding claim 7, the inkjet printing system of claim 1, wherein the retractable printhead shield and the linear actuator are mounted onto the printhead mounted plate.
Takamichi teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 3, the inkjet printing system of claim 2, wherein the position of the retractable printhead shield is adjusted based on a width of the print media substrate moving through the printing zone (Paragraph [0031] describes how the number of nozzle heads held by the holding unit may be adjusted according to the width of the recording medium.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inkjet printing system taught by Somete to also apply wherein the position of the retractable printhead shield is adjusted based on a width of the print media substrate moving through the printing zone taught by Takamichi. This would have been done for the purpose of allowing the inkjet to adjust the number of nozzle heads to different widths of the recording media (Takamichi, paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 5, the inkjet printing system of claim 1, wherein the retractable printhead shield comprises a first absorbent layer (“absorber 57”, Figure 23) disposed on a frame-facing surface of the retractable printhead shield (Paragraph [0140] describes how the “absorber 57” is disposed to contact the “nozzle surface 43a” from the surface of the “purge unit 5” when the “cap 52” is in close contact with the “nozzle surface 43a”.), the first absorbent layer being configured to absorb an amount of ink ejected by the one or more printheads (Paragraph [0140] describes how the “absorber 57” absorbs ink that is adhering to the “nozzle surface 43a”.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inkjet printing system taught by Somete to also apply wherein the retractable printhead shield comprises a first absorbent layer disposed on a frame-facing surface of the retractable printhead shield, the first absorbent layer being configured to absorb an amount of ink ejected by the one or more printheads taught by Takamichi. This would have been done for the purpose of absorbing the ink adhering to the nozzle surface (Takamichi, paragraph [0140]).
Regarding claim 7, the inkjet printing system of claim 1, wherein the retractable printhead shield and the linear actuator are mounted onto the printhead mounted plate (Figure 25 displays how the “purge unit 5”, which includes the “cap 52” and the “actuator 53” are mounted onto the “nozzle surface 43a”. Paragraphs [0136]-[0137] and [0140]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inkjet printing system taught by Somete to also apply wherein the retractable printhead shield and the linear actuator are mounted onto the printhead mounted plate taught by Takamichi. This would have been done for the purpose of allowing the surface of the printhead to contacted and the cleaning operations to be performed reliably (Takamichi, paragraph [0137]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Somete, Gomez, and Takamichi as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Sambhy et al. (US 20240262114 A1)
Somete fails to disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 6, the inkjet printing system of claim 5, wherein the first absorbent layer is configured to be replaceable by at least a second absorbent layer.
However, Sambhy teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 6, the inkjet printing system of claim 5, wherein the first absorbent layer is configured to be replaceable by at least a second absorbent layer (Paragraph [0023] and claim 12 describe how the “absorbent material 220” is replaced when the material is exhausted.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inkjet printing system taught by Somete to also apply wherein the first absorbent layer is configured to be replaceable by at least a second absorbent layer taught by Sambhy. This would have been done for the purpose of having an invention that can replace the absorbent material when it is exhausted (Sambhy, paragraph [0023] and claim 12).
Claim(s) 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Somete and Gomez as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Takamichi et al. (JP 2005074763 A).
Somete discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 12, the print bar assembly of claim 11, wherein the retractable printhead shield (“cap unit 31”, Figure 3)
Somete fails to disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 12, the print bar assembly of claim 11, wherein the retractable printhead shield comprises a first absorbent layer disposed on a frame-facing surface of the retractable printhead shield, the first absorbent layer being configured to absorb an amount of ink ejected by the one or more printheads.
Regarding claim 14, the print bar assembly of claim 11, wherein the retractable printhead shield and linear actuator are mounted onto the printhead mounted plate.
Takamichi teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 12, the print bar assembly of claim 11, wherein the retractable printhead shield (“absorber 57”, Figure 23) disposed on a frame-facing surface of the retractable printhead shield (Paragraph [0140] describes how the “absorber 57” is disposed to contact the “nozzle surface 43a” from the surface of the “purge unit 5” when the “cap 52” is in close contact with the “nozzle surface 43a”.), the first absorbent layer being configured to absorb an amount of ink ejected by the one or more printheads (Paragraph [0140] describes how the “absorber 57” absorbs ink that is adhering to the “nozzle surface 43a”.)
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inkjet printing system taught by Somete to also apply wherein the retractable printhead shield comprises a first absorbent layer disposed on a frame-facing surface of the retractable printhead shield, the first absorbent layer being configured to absorb an amount of ink ejected by the one or more printheads taught by Takamichi. This would have been done for the purpose of absorbing the ink adhering to the nozzle surface (Takamichi, paragraph [0140]).
Regarding claim 14, the print bar assembly of claim 11, wherein the retractable printhead shield and linear actuator are mounted onto the printhead mounted plate (Figure 25 displays how the “purge unit 5”, which includes the “cap 52” and the “actuator 53” are mounted onto the “nozzle surface 43a”. Paragraphs [0136]-[0137] and [0140]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inkjet printing system taught by Somete to also apply wherein the retractable printhead shield and linear actuator are mounted onto the printhead mounted plate taught by Takamichi. This would have been done for the purpose of allowing the surface of the printhead to contacted and the cleaning operations to be performed reliably (Takamichi, paragraph [0137]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Somete, Gomez, and Takamichi as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Sambhy et al. (US 20240262114 A1).
Somete fails to disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 13, the print bar assembly of claim 12, wherein the first absorbent layer is configured to be replaceable by at least a second absorbent layer.
However, Sambhy teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 13, the print bar assembly of claim 12, wherein the first absorbent layer is configured to be replaceable by at least a second absorbent layer (Paragraph [0023] and claim 12 describe how the “absorbent material 220” is replaced when the material is exhausted.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inkjet printing system taught by Somete to also apply wherein the first absorbent layer is configured to be replaceable by at least a second absorbent layer taught by Sambhy. This would have been done for the purpose of having an invention that can replace the absorbent material when it is exhausted (Sambhy, paragraph [0023] and claim 12).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somete et al. (US 20250144936 A1) in the view of Gomez et al. (JP 6535621 B2) and Takamichi et al. (JP 2005074763 A).
Somete discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 18, a method for preserving inkjet health in an inkjet printing system (Paragraph [0052] describes a maintenance operation for the “inkjet recording apparatus 1” using the “maintenance device 30”.), the method comprising:
receiving, by the inkjet printing system, a print job to be completed by the inkjet printing system (Paragraph [0031] describes how an image forming job is inputted to the “inkjet recording apparatus 1”.),
Regarding claim 19, the method of claim 18, further comprising: rendering an image on the print media substrate based on the print job received (Paragraph [0031] describes how an image is recorded onto the “sheet S” when an image forming job is inputted to the “inkjet recording apparatus 1”.).
Somete fails to disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 18, wherein the print job comprises print job attributes including at least a print media substrate width; determining, by the inkjet printing system, an unused portion of one or more printheads of the inkjet printing system based on the print media substrate width; adjusting, via a linear actuator of the inkjet printing system, a position of a retractable printhead shield such that the retractable printhead shield covers the unused portion of the one or more printheads.
Gomez teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 18, wherein adjusting, via a linear actuator (“actuator 218”, Figure 1) of the inkjet printing system, a position of a retractable printhead shield (“printhead seal assembly 212”, Figure 1) such that the retractable printhead shield covers the unused portion of the one or more printheads (Paragraph [0020] describes how the “cap 220” that seals the “printhead surface” is moved using the “actuator 218”.).
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method by Somete to also apply wherein adjusting, via a linear actuator of the inkjet printing system, a position of a retractable printhead shield such that the retractable printhead shield covers the unused portion of the one or more printheads taught by Gomez. This would have been done for the purpose of allowing the plurality of printheads to be covered (Gomez, paragraph [0005]).
Takamichi teaches the following limitations:
Regarding claim 18, wherein the print job comprises print job attributes including at least a print media substrate width (Paragraph [0031] describes how the number of nozzle heads held by the holding unit may be adjusted according to the width of the recording medium. Therefore, the width of the recording medium is information data that is considered during the printing job.); determining, by the inkjet printing system, an unused portion of one or more printheads of the inkjet printing system based on the print media substrate width (Paragraph [0031] describes how the number of nozzle heads held by the holding unit may be adjusted according to the width of the recording medium.);
Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Somete to also apply wherein the print job comprises print job attributes including at least a print media substrate width; determining, by the inkjet printing system, an unused portion of one or more printheads of the inkjet printing system based on the print media substrate width taught by Takamichi. This would have been done for the purpose of allowing the inkjet to adjust the number of nozzle heads to different widths of the recording media (Takamichi, paragraph [0031]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 20, the primary reason for allowance of claim 20 is the inclusion of “determining, by the inkjet printing system, a plurality of unused inkjets corresponding to the unused portion of the one or more printheads; and ejecting, by the inkjet printing system, one or more ink droplets from the plurality of unused inkjets onto an absorbent layer of the retractable printhead shield while rendering the image on the print media substrate.”
Conclusion
/N.D.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/KRISTAL FEGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853