DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, 14-15, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention and therefore the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be ascertained. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
With regard to claims 14-15, the claims do not recite any positive method steps. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained. Attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process generally raises an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C 112(b). See MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-8, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Callan et al. (2012/0039674).
With regard to claim 1, Callan discloses a device for producing a material column, in particular a vibrating tamping column, from a bulk material in the ground (para 0002; fig. 4), having an infeed pipe (30/70/110), which is designed to be driven into the ground and has at least one material outlet opening at a lower end (fig. 10), a vibrating drive (100), which is designed to cause the infeed pipe to vibrate and is arranged, in particular, on a lower region of the infeed pipe (fig. 10), a receiving bunker (20), which is designed to receive a quantity of bulk material and is arranged on an upper region of the infeed pipe (fig. 4), and a compressed air supply device (para 0016) for introducing compressed air into the inside of the infeed pipe (fig. 6),wherein a sensor device (45) is arranged, which is designed to detect a filling level of bulk material down to a lower region of the infeed pipe (para 0103), the receiving bunker is designed with a closed housing with a closable supply opening for supplying bulk material into the receiving bunker (fig. 6), wherein the supply opening can be closed in an airtight manner by means of a closing device (40), and a passage between the receiving bunker and the infeed pipe being arranged below is open when the bulk material is introduced into the ground, wherein the filling level of bulk material in the infeed pipe can be detected by the sensor device (fig. 6).
With regard to claim 3, Callan further discloses the compressed air supply device has a line arrangement having one or more supply openings which open into the receiving bunker and/or the infeed pipe (fig. 6).
With regard to claim 4, Callan further discloses the sensor device comprises a filling level sensor (para 0044), which is designed, in particular, as a radar sensor, an ultrasound sensor and/or a laser sensor.
With regard to claim 6, Callan further discloses a control unit (abstract) is arranged, which is connected to the sensor device (abstract), and the control unit is designed to control a movement of the infeed pipe and/or a discharge of bulk material into the ground via the at least one material outlet opening as a function of a filling level of the bulk material in the infeed pipe detected by the sensor device (para 0033).
With regard to claim 7, Callan further discloses the control unit is designed to determine when a lower and/or upper limit filling level of bulk material in the infeed pipe has been reached and to indicate this to a machine operator and/or to initiate or terminate filling of further bulk material into the receiving bunker (para 0044).
With regard to claim 8, Callan further discloses the control unit is designed to determine and, in particular, to store the current actual filling level of bulk material in the infeed pipe via a depth position of the infeed pipe in the ground (paras 0044,0124).
With regard to method claim 14, the claimed method of producing a vibrating tamping column would inherently be performed by the device to include Callan as taught above.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 116516954 A).
With regard to claim 9, Zhang discloses a carrier device for a device (10) for producing a material column, in particular a vibrating tamping column, in particular according to claim 1, having a carrier vehicle (para 0003), a mast (2), which is arranged on the carrier vehicle and is arranged substantially vertically in operation to produce a vibrating tamping column (fig. 1), a mast carriage (6), which is mounted, so as to be movable along the mast and on which the device for producing a vibrating tamping column is arranged (fig. 2), and a filling device for filling bulk material into a receiving bunker (91) of the device for producing a vibrating tamping column, wherein the filling device has: a filling carriage (figs. 1-2, 8), which can be moved along the mast, a filling chamber formed on the filling carriage (fig. 8), which is designed to receive bulk material, a closing device (63) arranged on the filling carriage, which closes the filling chamber laterally or at the bottom (paras n0045, 0062), and can be adjusted between a closed movement position, in which the filling carriage can be moved along the mast, and an open discharge position, in which bulk material can be discharged from the filling chamber of the filling carriage into the receiving bunker (paras n0045, 0062), wherein a measuring device is arranged by which an actual filling quantity and/or a change in the actual filling quantity of bulk material in the filling chamber can be detected (para n0021-n0022), an actuator is arranged on the closing device, with which actuator the closing device can be opened and closed in a defined manner (fig. 8), and - a control unit is arranged, which is connected to the measuring device and the actuator and is designed for the controlled supply of a specific quantity of bulk material from the filling chamber of the filling device into the receiving bunker of the device for producing a vibrating tamping column (para n0020; 0067-n0049).
With regard to claim 10, Zhang a defined filling quantity can be preset by the control unit, which quantity of bulk material is to be discharged by the filling device to the receiving bunker, and the control unit opens the closing device and closes it again depending on a change in the actual filling quantity of bulk material in the filling chamber detected by the measuring device when the defined filling quantity of bulk material has been discharged (para n0049).
With regard to claim 12, Zhang further discloses the filling carriage is guided along a linear guide of the mast and can be moved on the mast by means of a hoisting cable (para n0004).
With regard to method claim 15, the claimed method of producing a vibrating tamping column would inherently be performed by the device to include Zhang as taught above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callan et al. (2012/0039674) in view of Berg et al. (EP 0903440 A2).
With regard to claim 2, Callan further discloses the closing device is on the receiving bunker, which can be adjusted by means of an adjustment drive between an opening position for feeding bulk material into the receiving bunker and a closing position, in which the receiving bunker is sealed in an airtight manner (fig. 6; para 0094).
Callan is silent regarding the closing device comprises an opening flap.
Berg discloses a device for producing a material column wherein a closing device comprises an opening flap (36; fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Callan and substitute the valve with a flap as taught by Berg. An artisan of ordinary skill could readily substitute one closing device for another, with a reasonable expectation of success, yielding the predictable result of a receiving bunker with a closable flap.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callan et al. (2012/0039674) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 116516954 A).
With regard to claims 5, Callan discloses the invention substantially as claimed however fails to explicitly state at least one further filling level sensor is arranged in the receiving bunker for detecting a filling level in the receiving bunker, in particular a maximum filling level in the receiving bunker.
Zhang discloses a filling level sensor arrange in the receiving bunker (eg. para n0045).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Callan and utilize a filling level sensor in the receiving bunker, as taught in Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to monitor the level of fill material.
Claim(s) 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 116516954 A) in view of Newman (11,572,260).
With regard to claim 11 and 13, Zhang discloses the invention substantially as claimed as well as the hoisting cable is guided on the mast via a pulley (fig. 1) however is silent regarding the measuring device detects a weight force as a measure of the actual filling quantity.
Newman discloses utilizing a measuring device detects a weight force as a measure on the hoisting cable (col. 8, lines 7-22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang and utilize a weight sensor, as taught in Newman, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to further monitor the weight on the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
09/14/2026