DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “an conditioned space” is grammatically incorrect and for examination purposes will be interpreted as -- a conditioned space --
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “a exhaust damper” is grammatically incorrect and for examination purposes will be interpreted as -- an exhaust damper --
Claims 9-14 and 16-20 are also objected to due to dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 10, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “outdoor coil” in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the phrase “a flow of the refrigerant between the indoor coil and outdoor coil” will be interpreted as -- a flow of the refrigerant between the indoor coil and the outdoor coil --
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “an outdoor coil” which renders the claim indefinite in view of claim 1. Claim 1 from which claim 3 depends already discloses “an outdoor coil”. Therefore, it is unclear if the disclosed “outdoor coil” of claim 3 is referring to the previously disclosed “outdoor coil” or an additional “outdoor coil”. More clarity is requested.
For examination purposes, the phrase “a temperature at an outdoor coil” will be interpreted as -- a temperature at the outdoor coil --
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “an outdoor coil” which renders the claim indefinite in view of claim 8. Claim 8 from which claim 10 depends already discloses “an outdoor coil”. Therefore, it is unclear if the disclosed “outdoor coil” of claim 10 is referring to the previously disclosed “outdoor coil” or an additional “outdoor coil”. More clarity is requested.
For examination purposes, the phrase “a temperature at an outdoor coil” will be interpreted as -- a temperature at the outdoor coil --
Claim 15 recites the limitations “…a processor…” and “…a processor…” which render the claim indefinite because the claim as written leave the structure ambiguous in nature as it become difficult to tell if the claim is referencing a previously claimed element or disclosing an element in addition to the previously claimed element.
Claims 2, 4-7, and 16-20 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima et al. (US 20240247824 A1, herein after referred to as Kawashima), in view of Yabu et al. (JP2000314539A, herein after referred to as Yabu), and in further view of Narikiyo (US 4916913).
Regarding claim 1, Kawashima teaches a Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) system (the air-conditioning apparatus illustrated in Fig. 2) comprising: an indoor coil (indoor heat exchanger 2 Fig. 2) comprising an inlet side (corresponds to the inlet of heat exchanger 2 Fig. 2) and an outlet side (corresponds to the outlet of heat exchanger 2 Fig. 2), the indoor coil configured to: condense refrigerant (paragraph [0031]) during a heating mode (disclosed “Heating Operation” in paragraph [0031]) as the refrigerant in vapor form flows through the indoor coil (paragraph [0031]), releases heat to a conditioned space (room 30 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0031]), and transitions into liquid (paragraph [0031]); and evaporate the refrigerant during a cooling mode (disclosed “Cooling Operation” in paragraph [0030]) as the refrigerant in liquid form flows through the indoor coil (paragraph [0030]), absorbs heat from the conditioned space, and transitions into vapor (paragraph [0030]); an outdoor coil (heat exchanger 23 Fig. 2) comprising an inlet side (corresponds to the inlet of heat exchanger 23 Fig. 2) and an outlet side (corresponds to the outlet of heat exchanger 23 Fig. 2), the outdoor coil configured to: evaporate the refrigerant during the heating mode as the refrigerant in liquid form flows through the outdoor coil (paragraph [0031]), absorbs heat from ambient air (paragraphs [0015] and [0031], where a person skilled in the art would recognize that outside air is used with heat exchanger 23 since it is installed outside), and transitions into vapor (paragraph [0031]); and condense the refrigerant during the cooling mode as the refrigerant in vapor form flows through the outdoor coil (paragraph [0030]), releases heat to the ambient air, and transitions into liquid (paragraph [0030]); a valve (four-way valve 22 Fig. 2) positioned between a compressor (compressor 21 Fig. 2) and the outdoor coil (Fig. 2), the valve configured to reverse a flow of the refrigerant (paragraph [0026]) between the indoor coil and the outdoor coil during a transition (understood to be the transition from cooling to heating as described in paragraph [0026]); a return damper (return air damper 16 Fig. 2) positioned between the conditioned space and the inlet side of the indoor coil (Fig. 2), the return damper configured to allow recirculated air (corresponds to the air flowing in return air duct 14 Fig. 1) to flow from the conditioned space during each of the heating mode and the cooling mode (paragraph [0041]); a supply damper (air supply damper 12 Fig. 2) positioned between the outlet side of the indoor coil and the conditioned space (Fig. 2), the supply damper configured to allow conditioned air (corresponds to the air flowing inside air supply duct 13 Fig. 1) to flow from the indoor coil to the conditioned space during each of the heating mode and the cooling mode (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0022]); a fresh air damper (outside air damper 15 Fig. 2) positioned upstream of the inlet side of the indoor coil (Fig. 2), the fresh air damper configured to allow ambient air (corresponds to the air flowing in through outside port 6 Fig. 1) to flow through the indoor coil (Fig. 1); an exhaust damper (exhaust damper 17 Fig. 2) positioned downstream of the outlet side of the indoor coil (Fig. 2), the exhaust damper configured to allow airflow (corresponds to the air flowing out of exhaust port 9 Fig. 1) to surrounding environment (paragraph [0016]); and a controller (paragraph [0041]) operably coupled with the return damper, the supply damper, the fresh air damper, and the exhaust damper (paragraph [0041]).
Kawashima teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the valve configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant between the indoor coil and the outdoor coil during a transition between the heating mode and a defrost mode; the return damper configured to allow the recirculated air to flow from the conditioned space to the indoor coil; wherein the conditioned air is maintained within the conditioned space during the defrost mode when the return damper and the supply damper are closed; the fresh air damper configured to allow the ambient air to flow through the indoor coil during the defrost mode; the exhaust damper configured to allow the airflow to the surrounding environment after passing through the indoor coil during the defrost mode; and in response to a condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met: close the return damper; close the supply damper; open the fresh air damper; and open the exhaust damper”.
However, Yabu teaches a valve (four-way switching valve 32 Fig. 2 corresponds to the valve of Kawashima) configured to reverse a flow of a refrigerant (paragraphs [0031] and [0032] where the described refrigerant flows correspond to the refrigerant flow of Kawashima) between an indoor coil (Fig. 2 where indoor heat exchanger 15 corresponds to the indoor coil of Kawashima) and an outdoor coil (Fig. 2 where outdoor heat exchanger 35 corresponds to the outdoor coil of Kawashima) during a transition (paragraphs [0031] and [0032] where a transition from heating to defrosting is described) between a heating mode (the disclosed “heating operation” in paragraph [0031] corresponds to the heating mode of Kawashima) and a defrost mode (disclosed “defrost operation” in paragraph [0032]); a return damper (first damper 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the return damper of Kawashima) configured to allow recirculated air (Fig. 3 where the air flowing through indoor air intake 16 corresponds to the recirculated air of Kawashima) to flow from a conditioned space (Fig. 3 where indoor space 11 corresponds to the conditioned space of Kawashima) to the indoor coil (Fig. 3); wherein the conditioned air is maintained within the conditioned space during the defrost mode when the return damper and a supply damper (second damper 21 corresponds to the supply damper of Kawashima) are closed (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]); a fresh air damper (first damper 20 Fig. 4 corresponds to the fresh air damper of Kawashima) configured to allow ambient air (the air located in ceiling 9 Fig. 4 corresponds to the ambient air of Kawashima) to flow through the indoor coil during the defrost mode (Fig. 4); an exhaust damper (second damper 21 Fig. 4 corresponds to the exhaust damper of Kawashima) configured to allow airflow to a surrounding environment (Fig. 4 where the portion of ceiling 9 located downstream of ceiling air outlet 19 corresponds to the surrounding environment of Kawashima) after passing through the indoor coil during the defrost mode (Fig. 4); and in response to a condition (understood to be “when the amount of frost on the outdoor heat exchanger becomes large” as disclosed in paragraph [0003]) to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met (paragraph [0003]): close the return damper (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]); close the supply damper (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]); open the fresh air damper (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]); and open the exhaust damper (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]) to provide a system that maintains the comfort level of the room (paragraph [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Kawashima to include “the valve configured to reverse the flow of the refrigerant between the indoor coil and the outdoor coil during a transition between the heating mode and a defrost mode; the return damper configured to allow the recirculated air to flow from the conditioned space to the indoor coil; wherein the conditioned air is maintained within the conditioned space during the defrost mode when the return damper and the supply damper are closed; the fresh air damper configured to allow the ambient air to flow through the indoor coil during the defrost mode; the exhaust damper configured to allow the airflow to the surrounding environment after passing through the indoor coil during the defrost mode; and in response to a condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met: close the return damper; close the supply damper; open the fresh air damper; and open the exhaust damper” in view of the teachings of Yuba to provide a system that maintains the comfort level of the room.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the controller comprising a processor configured to: determine that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met; and in response to determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met: communicate a first electronic signal to the return damper; communicate a second electronic signal to the supply damper; communicate a third electronic signal to the fresh air damper; and communicate a fourth electronic signal to the exhaust damper”.
However, Narikiyo teaches a controller (control unit 55 Fig. 1 corresponds to the controller of Kawashima) comprising a processor (disclosed “microcomputer” in Col. 3 lines 59-60) configured to: determine that a condition (step a Fig. 7 corresponds to the condition of Yabu) to operate in a defrost mode (the defrost mode illustrated in Fig. 7 corresponds to the defrost mode of Yabu) for an outdoor coil (external heat exchanger 35 Fig. 2 corresponds to the outdoor coil of Kawashima) is met (Fig. 7); and in response to determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met (Fig. 7): communicate a first electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with air circulating damper 99 Fig. 6 in order to control damper 99) to a return damper (Fig. 6 where damper 99 corresponds to the return damper of Kawashima); communicate a second electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with external air discharging damper 107 Fig. 6 in order to control damper 107) to a supply damper (Fig. 6 where damper 107 corresponds to the supply damper of Kawashima); communicate a third electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with external air intake damper 105 Fig. 6 in order to control damper 105) to a fresh air damper (Fig. 6 where damper 105 corresponds to the fresh air damper of Kawashima); and communicate a fourth electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with air exhausting damper 97 Fig. 6 in order to control damper 97) to an exhaust damper (Fig. 6 where damper 97 corresponds to the exhaust damper of Kawashima).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the controller comprising a processor configured to: determine that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met; and in response to determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met: communicate a first electronic signal to the return damper; communicate a second electronic signal to the supply damper; communicate a third electronic signal to the fresh air damper; and communicate a fourth electronic signal to the exhaust damper” in view of the teachings of Narikiyo to efficiently control the operations of the system by adding a processor.
Regarding claim 8, Kawashima teaches a method (corresponds to the method described in paragraphs [0030] and [0031]) for operating a Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) system (the air-conditioning apparatus illustrated in Fig. 2), comprising: condensing, by an indoor coil (indoor heat exchanger 2 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0031]), refrigerant (paragraph [0031]) during a heating mode (disclosed “Heating Operation” in paragraph [0031]) as the refrigerant in vapor form flows through the indoor coil (paragraph [0031]), releases heat to a conditioned space (room 30 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0031]), and transitions into liquid (paragraph [0031]), wherein the indoor coil comprises an inlet side (corresponds to the inlet of heat exchanger 2 Fig. 2) and an outlet side (corresponds to the outlet of heat exchanger 2 Fig. 2); evaporating, by the indoor coil, the refrigerant during a cooling mode (disclosed “Cooling Operation” in paragraph [0030]) as the refrigerant in liquid form flows through the indoor coil (paragraph [0030]), absorbs heat from the conditioned space, and transitions into vapor (paragraph [0030]); evaporating, by an outdoor coil (heat exchanger 23 Fig. 2), the refrigerant during the heating mode as the refrigerant in liquid form flows through the outdoor coil (paragraph [0031]), absorbs heat from ambient air (paragraphs [0015] and [0031], where a person skilled in the art would recognize that outside air is used with heat exchanger 23 since it is installed outside), and transitions into vapor (paragraph [0031]); condensing, by the outdoor coil, the refrigerant during the cooling mode as the refrigerant in vapor form flows through the outdoor coil (paragraph [0030]), releases heat to the ambient air, and transitions into liquid (paragraph [0030]), wherein the outdoor coil comprises an inlet side (corresponds to the inlet of heat exchanger 23 Fig. 2) and an outlet side (corresponds to the outlet of heat exchanger 23 Fig. 2); reversing, by a valve (four-way valve 22 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0026]), a flow of the refrigerant (paragraph [0026]) between the indoor coil and the outdoor coil during a transition (understood to be the transition from cooling to heating as described in paragraph [0026]), wherein the valve is positioned between a compressor (compressor 21 Fig. 2) and the outdoor coil (Fig. 2); allowing, by a return damper (return air damper 16 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0041]), allow recirculated air (corresponds to the air flowing in return air duct 14 Fig. 1) to flow from the conditioned space during each of the heating mode and the cooling mode (paragraph [0041]), wherein the return damper is positioned between the conditioned space and the inlet side of the indoor coil (Fig. 2); allowing, by a supply damper (air supply damper 12 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0022]), conditioned air (corresponds to the air flowing inside air supply duct 13 Fig. 1) to flow from the indoor coil to the conditioned space during each of the heating mode and the cooling mode (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0022]), wherein the supply damper is positioned between the outlet side of the indoor coil and the conditioned space (Fig. 2); allowing, by a fresh air damper (outside air damper 15 Fig. 2), ambient air (corresponds to the air flowing in through outside port 6 Fig. 1) to flow through the indoor coil (Fig. 1), wherein the fresh air damper is positioned upstream of the inlet side of the indoor coil (Fig. 2); allowing, by an exhaust damper (exhaust damper 17 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0016]), airflow (corresponds to the air flowing out of exhaust port 9 Fig. 1) to surrounding environment (paragraph [0016]), wherein the exhaust damper is positioned downstream of the outlet side of the indoor coil (Fig. 2).
Kawashima teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the method comprising: reversing, by the valve, the flow of the refrigerant between the indoor coil and the outdoor coil during a transition between the heating mode and a defrost mode; allowing, by the return damper, the recirculated air to flow from the conditioned space to the indoor coil; wherein the conditioned air is maintained within the conditioned space during the defrost mode when the return damper and the supply damper are closed; allowing, by the fresh air damper, the ambient air to flow through the indoor coil during the defrost mode; allowing, by the exhaust damper, the airflow to the surrounding environment after passing through the indoor coil during the defrost mode; in response to a condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met: close the return damper; close the supply damper; open the fresh air damper; and open the exhaust damper”.
However, Yabu teaches a method (the method described in paragraphs [0031] and [0032] corresponds to the method of Kawashima) comprising: reversing, by a valve (four-way switching valve 32 Fig. 2 corresponds to the valve of Kawashima), a flow of a refrigerant (paragraphs [0031] and [0032] where the described refrigerant flows correspond to the refrigerant flow of Kawashima) between an indoor coil (Fig. 2 where indoor heat exchanger 15 corresponds to the indoor coil of Kawashima) and an outdoor coil (Fig. 2 where outdoor heat exchanger 35 corresponds to the outdoor coil of Kawashima) during a transition (paragraphs [0031] and [0032] where a transition from heating to defrosting is described) between a heating mode (the disclosed “heating operation” in paragraph [0031] corresponds to the heating mode of Kawashima) and a defrost mode (disclosed “defrost operation” in paragraph [0032]); allowing, by a return damper (first damper 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the return damper of Kawashima), recirculated air (Fig. 3 where the air flowing through indoor air intake 16 corresponds to the recirculated air of Kawashima) to flow from a conditioned space (Fig. 3 where indoor space 11 corresponds to the conditioned space of Kawashima) to the indoor coil (Fig. 3); wherein the conditioned air is maintained within the conditioned space during the defrost mode when the return damper and a supply damper (second damper 21 corresponds to the supply damper of Kawashima) are closed (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]); allowing, by a fresh air damper (first damper 20 Fig. 4 corresponds to the fresh air damper of Kawashima), ambient air (the air located in ceiling 9 Fig. 4 corresponds to the ambient air of Kawashima) to flow through the indoor coil during the defrost mode (Fig. 4); allowing, by an exhaust damper (second damper 21 Fig. 4 corresponds to the exhaust damper of Kawashima), airflow to a surrounding environment (Fig. 4 where the portion of ceiling 9 located downstream of ceiling air outlet 19 corresponds to the surrounding environment of Kawashima) after passing through the indoor coil during the defrost mode (Fig. 4); in response to a condition (understood to be “when the amount of frost on the outdoor heat exchanger becomes large” as disclosed in paragraph [0003]) to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met (paragraph [0003]): close the return damper (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]); close the supply damper (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]); open the fresh air damper (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]); and open the exhaust damper (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]) to provide a system that maintains the comfort level of the room (paragraph [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of Kawashima to include “the method comprising: reversing, by the valve, the flow of the refrigerant between the indoor coil and the outdoor coil during a transition between the heating mode and a defrost mode; allowing, by the return damper, the recirculated air to flow from the conditioned space to the indoor coil; wherein the conditioned air is maintained within the conditioned space during the defrost mode when the return damper and the supply damper are closed; allowing, by the fresh air damper, the ambient air to flow through the indoor coil during the defrost mode; allowing, by the exhaust damper, the airflow to the surrounding environment after passing through the indoor coil during the defrost mode; in response to a condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met: close the return damper; close the supply damper; open the fresh air damper; and open the exhaust damper” in view of the teachings of Yuba to provide a system that maintains the comfort level of the room.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the method comprising: determining, by a processor, that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met; and in response to determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met: communicating, by the processor, a first electronic signal to the return damper; communicating, by the processor, a second electronic signal to the supply damper; communicating, by the processor, a third electronic signal to the fresh air damper; and communicating, by the processor, a fourth electronic signal to the exhaust damper”.
However, Narikiyo teaches a method (the method illustrated in Fig. 8A corresponds to the method of Kawashima) comprising: determining, by a processor (disclosed “microcomputer” in Col. 3 lines 59-60), that a condition (step a Fig. 7 corresponds to the condition of Yabu) to operate in a defrost mode (the defrost mode illustrated in Fig. 7 corresponds to the defrost mode of Yabu) for an outdoor coil (external heat exchanger 35 Fig. 2 corresponds to the outdoor coil of Kawashima) is met (Fig. 7); and in response to determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met (Fig. 7): communicating, by the processor, a first electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with air circulating damper 99 Fig. 6 in order to control damper 99) to a return damper (Fig. 6 where damper 99 corresponds to the return damper of Kawashima); communicating, by the processor, a second electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with external air discharging damper 107 Fig. 6 in order to control damper 107) to a supply damper (Fig. 6 where damper 107 corresponds to the supply damper of Kawashima); communicating, by the processor, a third electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with external air intake damper 105 Fig. 6 in order to control damper 105) to a fresh air damper (Fig. 6 where damper 105 corresponds to the fresh air damper of Kawashima); and communicating, by the processor, a fourth electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with air exhausting damper 97 Fig. 6 in order to control damper 97) to an exhaust damper (Fig. 6 where damper 97 corresponds to the exhaust damper of Kawashima).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “the method comprising: determining, by a processor, that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met; and in response to determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met: communicating, by the processor, a first electronic signal to the return damper; communicating, by the processor, a second electronic signal to the supply damper; communicating, by the processor, a third electronic signal to the fresh air damper; and communicating, by the processor, a fourth electronic signal to the exhaust damper” in view of the teachings of Narikiyo to efficiently control the operations of the system by adding a processor.
Regarding claim 15, Kawashima teaches a controller (paragraph [0041]) of a Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) system (the air-conditioning apparatus illustrated in Fig. 2), the controller communicatively coupled (paragraph [0041]) with a return damper (return air damper 16 Fig. 2), a supply damper (air supply damper 12 Fig. 2), a fresh air damper (outside air damper 15 Fig. 2), and an exhaust damper (exhaust damper 17 Fig. 2), wherein: the return damper is positioned between a conditioned space (room 30 Fig. 2 and paragraph [0031]) and an inlet side (corresponds to the inlet of heat exchanger 2 Fig. 2) of an indoor coil (indoor heat exchanger 2 Fig. 2); and the return damper is configured to allow recirculated air (corresponds to the air flowing in return air duct 14 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0041]) to flow from the conditioned space during each of a heating mode (disclosed “Heating Operation” in paragraph [0031]) and a cooling mode (disclosed “Cooling Operation” in paragraph [0030]); wherein: the supply damper is positioned between an outlet side of the indoor coil (corresponds to the outlet of heat exchanger 2 Fig. 2) and the conditioned space (Fig. 2); and the supply damper is configured to allow conditioned air (corresponds to the air flowing inside air supply duct 13 Fig. 1) to flow from the indoor coil to the conditioned space during each of the heating mode and the cooling mode (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0022]); wherein: the fresh air damper is positioned upstream of the inlet side of the indoor coil (Fig. 2); and the fresh air damper is configured to allow ambient air (corresponds to the air flowing in through outside port 6 Fig. 1) to flow through the indoor coil (Fig. 1); wherein: the exhaust damper is positioned downstream of the outlet side of the indoor coil (Fig. 2); and the exhaust damper is configured to allow airflow (corresponds to the air flowing out of exhaust port 9 Fig. 1) to surrounding environment (paragraph [0016]).
Kawashima teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the controller comprising: a processor configured to: determine that a condition to operate in a defrost mode for an outdoor coil is met; and in response to determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met: communicate a first electronic signal to the return damper, communicate a second electronic signal to the supply damper; communicate a third electronic signal to the fresh air damper; and communicate a fourth electronic signal to the exhaust damper”.
However, Narikiyo teaches a controller (control unit 55 Fig. 1 corresponds to the controller of Kawashima) comprising a processor (disclosed “microcomputer” in Col. 3 lines 59-60) configured to: determine that a condition (step a Fig. 7) to operate in a defrost mode (the defrost mode illustrated in Fig. 7) for an outdoor coil (external heat exchanger 35 Fig. 2) is met (Fig. 7); and in response to determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met (Fig. 7): communicate a first electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with air circulating damper 99 Fig. 6 in order to control damper 99) to a return damper (Fig. 6 where damper 99 corresponds to the return damper of Kawashima); communicate a second electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with external air discharging damper 107 Fig. 6 in order to control damper 107) to a supply damper (Fig. 6 where damper 107 corresponds to the supply damper of Kawashima); communicate a third electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with external air intake damper 105 Fig. 6 in order to control damper 105) to a fresh air damper (Fig. 6 where damper 105 corresponds to the fresh air damper of Kawashima); and communicate a fourth electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with air exhausting damper 97 Fig. 6 in order to control damper 97) to an exhaust damper (Fig. 6 where damper 97 corresponds to the exhaust damper of Kawashima).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Kawashima to include “the controller comprising: a processor configured to: determine that a condition to operate in a defrost mode for an outdoor coil is met; and in response to determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met: communicate a first electronic signal to the return damper, communicate a second electronic signal to the supply damper; communicate a third electronic signal to the fresh air damper; and communicate a fourth electronic signal to the exhaust damper” in view of the teachings of Narikiyo to efficiently control the operations of the system by adding a processor.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “in response to the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met: close the return damper, and the return damper is configured to allow the recirculated air to flow from the conditioned space to the indoor coil; close the supply damper; the conditioned air is maintained within the conditioned space during the defrost mode when the return damper and the supply damper are closed; open the fresh air damper, the fresh air damper is configured to allow the ambient air to flow through the indoor coil during the defrost mode; open the exhaust damper, and the exhaust damper is configured to allow the airflow to the surrounding environment after passing through the indoor coil during the defrost mode”.
However, Yuba teaches in response to a condition (the disclosed condition of “when the amount of frost on the outdoor heat exchanger becomes large” described in paragraph [0003] corresponds to the condition of Narikiyo) to operate in a defrost mode (the disclosed “defrost operation” in paragraph [0032] corresponds to the defrost mode of Narikiyo) for an outdoor coil (indoor heat exchanger 15 Fig. corresponds to the indoor coil of Kawashima) is met (paragraph [0003]): close a return damper (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033] where first damper 20 corresponds to the return damper of Kawashima), and the return damper is configured to allow recirculated air (Fig. 3 where the air flowing through indoor air intake 16 corresponds to the recirculated air of Kawashima) to flow from a conditioned space (Fig. 3 where indoor space 11 corresponds to the conditioned space of Kawashima) to an indoor coil (Figs. 2-3 where indoor heat exchanger 15 corresponds to the indoor coil of Kawashima); close a supply damper (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033] where second damper 21 corresponds to the supply damper of Kawashima); the conditioned air is maintained within the conditioned space during the defrost mode when the return damper and the supply damper are closed (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]); open a fresh air damper (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033] where first damper 20 corresponds to the fresh air damper of Kawashima), the fresh air damper is configured to allow ambient air (the air located in ceiling 9 Fig. 4 corresponds to the ambient air of Kawashima) to flow through the indoor coil during the defrost mode (Fig. 4); open an exhaust damper (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033] where second damper 21 corresponds to the exhaust damper of Kawashima), and the exhaust damper is configured to allow airflow to a surrounding environment (Fig. 4 where the portion of ceiling 9 located downstream of ceiling air outlet 19 corresponds to the surrounding environment of Kawashima) after passing through the indoor coil during the defrost mode (Fig. 4) to provide a system that maintains the comfort level of the room (paragraph [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “in response to the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met: close the return damper, and the return damper is configured to allow the recirculated air to flow from the conditioned space to the indoor coil; close the supply damper; the conditioned air is maintained within the conditioned space during the defrost mode when the return damper and the supply damper are closed; open the fresh air damper, the fresh air damper is configured to allow the ambient air to flow through the indoor coil during the defrost mode; open the exhaust damper, and the exhaust damper is configured to allow the airflow to the surrounding environment after passing through the indoor coil during the defrost mode” in view of the teachings of Yuba to provide a system that maintains the comfort level of the room.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, the combined teachings teach wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is no longer met (step f in Fig. 7 of Narikiyo where control unit 55 determines where to end or continue the defrosting process); and in response to determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode is no longer met: communicate a fifth electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53 of Narikiyo, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with air circulating damper 99 Fig. 6 of Narikiyo in order to control damper 99) to the return damper to open the return damper (Fig. 3 of Yabu); communicate a sixth electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53 of Narikiyo, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with external air discharging damper 107 Fig. 6 of Narikiyo in order to control damper 107) to the supply damper to open the supply damper (Fig. 3 of Yabu); communicate a seventh electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53 of Narikiyo, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with external air intake damper 105 Fig. 6 of Narikiyo in order to control damper 105) to the fresh air damper to close the fresh air damper (Fig. 3 of Yabu); and communicate an eighth electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53 of Narikiyo, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with air exhausting damper 97 Fig. 6 of Narikiyo in order to control damper 97) to the exhaust damper to close the exhaust damper (Fig. 3 of Yabu).
Furthermore, it is understood, claims 4 and 18 include an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The Applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims that are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, the combined teachings teach wherein the return damper is motorized (Col. 4 lines 46-47 of Narikiyo) and configured to open and close in response to electronic signals (Fig. 1 of Narikiyo).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, the combined teachings teach wherein the supply damper is motorized (Col. 5 lines 3-4 of Narikiyo) and configured to open and close in response to electronic signals (Fig. 1 of Narikiyo).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, the combined teachings teach wherein the fresh air damper is motorized (Col. 4 lines 65-66 of Narikiyo) and configured to open and close in response to electronic signals (Fig. 1 of Narikiyo).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach further comprising: determining, by the processor, that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is no longer met (step f in Fig. 7 of Narikiyo where control unit 55 determines where to end or continue the defrosting process); and in response to determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode is no longer met: communicating, by the processor, a fifth electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53 of Narikiyo, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with air circulating damper 99 Fig. 6 of Narikiyo in order to control damper 99) to the return damper to open the return damper (Fig. 3 of Yabu); communicating, by the processor, a sixth electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53 of Narikiyo, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with external air discharging damper 107 Fig. 6 of Narikiyo in order to control damper 107) to the supply damper to open the supply damper (Fig. 3 of Yabu); communicating, by the processor, a seventh electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53 of Narikiyo, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with external air intake damper 105 Fig. 6 of Narikiyo in order to control damper 105) to the fresh air damper to close the fresh air damper (Fig. 3 of Yabu); and communicating, by the processor, an eighth electronic signal (referring to Col. 6 lines 46-53 of Narikiyo, a person skilled in the art would recognize that control unit 55 communicates with air exhausting damper 97 Fig. 6 of Narikiyo in order to control damper 97) to the exhaust damper to close the exhaust damper (Fig. 3 of Yabu).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach wherein the exhaust damper is motorized (Col. 4 lines 40-41 of Narikiyo) and configured to open and close in response to electronic signals (Fig. 1 of Narikiyo).
Claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima, in view of Yabu and Narikiyo as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Bahel et al. (US 5319943, herein after referred to as Bahel).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met comprises determining that a predefined time interval has elapsed since a last defrost cycle”.
However, Bahel teaches wherein determining that a condition (the conditions involved in steps 102, 106, and 108 Fig. 8A correspond to the condition of Yabu) to operate in a defrost mode (the defrost mode operated in step 112 Fig. 8A corresponds to the defrost mode of Yabu) for an outdoor coil (outdoor coil 32 Fig. 2 corresponds to the outdoor coil of Kawashima) is met comprises determining that a predefined time interval (step 108 Fig. 8A and Col. 9 lines 41-47) has elapsed since a last defrost cycle (step 108 Fig. 8A and Col. 9 lines 41-47) to provide a system in which the intervals between defrost cycles vary rather than being simply performed on a periodic basis (Col. 1 lines 63-66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus/method of the combined teachings to include “wherein determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met comprises determining that a predefined time interval has elapsed since a last defrost cycle” in view of the teachings of Bahel to provide a system in which the intervals between defrost cycles vary rather than being simply performed on a periodic basis.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met comprises determining that a temperature at the outdoor coil is less than an ambient temperature by more than a threshold difference”.
However, Bahel teaches wherein determining that a condition (the conditions involved in steps 102, 106, and 108 Fig. 8A correspond to the condition of Yabu) to operate in a defrost mode (the defrost mode operated in step 112 Fig. 8A corresponds to the defrost mode of Yabu) for an outdoor coil (outdoor coil 32 Fig. 2 corresponds to the outdoor coil of Kawashima) is met comprises determining that a temperature (outdoor coil temperature Tcoil Fig. 8A) at the outdoor coil is less than an ambient temperature (ambient air temperature Tout Fig. 8A) by more than a threshold difference (Delta T in step 106 Fig. 8A) to provide a system in which the intervals between defrost cycles vary rather than being simply performed on a periodic basis (Col. 1 lines 63-66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus/method of the combined teachings to include “wherein determining that the condition to operate in the defrost mode for the outdoor coil is met comprises determining that a temperature at the outdoor coil is less than an ambient temperature by more than a threshold difference” in view of the teachings of Bahel to provide a system in which the intervals between defrost cycles vary rather than being simply performed on a periodic basis.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763