Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khalaf (US Patent no. 5971345) in view of Pass et al (US Patent no. 2011/0279347).
Regarding claim 1, Khalaf discloses a sector frame antenna mount assembly (figure 1), the assembly comprising: a mast and bracket support (10), the mast and bracket support comprising a horizontal member (40, figure 1) and a plurality of mounting brackets (44, figure 1) secured along a length of the horizontal member (40); and a plurality of vertical members (42, 46, 48, 50, 52, figure 1), each vertical member secured to a respective mounting bracket (44) of the mast and bracket support (10) and configured to have at least one antenna (53, figure 1, see column 3, lines 31-40) mounted thereon, wherein the plurality of mounting brackets (44, figure 1) provide fixed mounting locations along a length of the horizontal member (40) for the corresponding vertical members such that optimal antenna performance may be achieved when antennas are mounted to each vertical member.
However, Khalaf does not disclose the brackets are permanently secured the vertical members,
Pass teaches in an antenna mounting assembly wherein the vertical member (56, figure 6D) for mounting antenna is attached to a horizontal pipe member (46-S) via a mounting bracket (54); wherein each mounting bracket comprises a main plate (MP, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP above) having opposing side walls (SW) extending outwardly therefrom, each side wall comprises a recess (R ) sized and configured to receive a portion of the horizontal member (46-S); wherein the main plate (MP, see markup above) of the mounting bracket to include a plurality of apertures (A1-A4, see markup above) configured to receive a fastener (50) to secure a respective vertical member (56) to the mounting bracket (54). Additionally, Pass discloses in paragraph [0038] :
“[0038] FIGS. 6A through 6E are diagrams showing several configurations for connecting the pipes 46 to the front plates 22 and/or side plates 24 and various configuration for connecting antenna supports 56 to the pipes 46 and/or to the front plates 22, according to various embodiments. Connections are shown in these embodiments using U-bolts having hex nuts and washers engaged with the ends of the U-bolts. It should be understood that other types of connectors (e.g., permanent or removable) can be used for the purpose of securing the various elements together.“
Additionally, Pass teaches permanent connections within the assembly via welding (see paragraph [0030] and paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the connection of each mounting bracket of Khalaf such that it can be permanent such as welding as such permanent connections are old and well-known in the connection as demonstrated by Pass.
Regarding claim 2, Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 1 as advanced above, wherein Khalaf discloses the mast and bracket support comprises a first mounting bracket (bracket 44 attached to vertical member 42), a second mounting bracket (bracket 44 attached to vertical member 46), and a third mounting bracket (bracket 44 attached to vertical member 52, figure 1), wherein the first mounting bracket (bracket 44 attached to vertical member 42) is positioned at a center point along the length of the horizontal member (40, figure 1), and wherein the second and third mounting brackets (brackets 44 attached to vertical members 46 and 52 respectively ) are positioned a distance in opposite directions from the center point.
Regarding claim 3, Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 2 as discussed above except for wherein the distance that the second and third mounting brackets are positioned from the center point is about 60 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the distance that the second and third mounting brackets are positioned from the center point is about 60 inches, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 4, Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 1, wherein Khalaf discloses the mast and bracket support (10, see figure 1) comprises a first mounting bracket (bracket 44 attached to vertical member 48), a second mounting bracket (bracket 44 attached to vertical member 50), a third mounting bracket (bracket 44 attached to vertical member 46), and a fourth mounting bracket (bracket 44 attached to vertical member 52), wherein the first and second mounting brackets (bracket 44 attached to vertical members 48 and 50 respectively) are positioned a first distance in opposite directions from a center point (at center bracket 44 attached to vertical member 42) along the length of the horizontal member (40), and wherein the third and fourth mounting brackets (bracket 44 attached to vertical members 46 and 52 respectively) are positioned a second distance in opposite directions from the center point.
Regarding claim 5, Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 4, except wherein the first distance that the first and second mounting brackets are positioned from the center point is about 24 inches, and wherein the second distance that the third and fourth mounting brackets are positioned from the center point is about 72 inches.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the first distance that the first and second mounting brackets are positioned from the center point is about 24 inches, and wherein the second distance that the third and fourth mounting brackets are positioned from the center point is about 72 inches, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 6, Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 1, wherein Khalaf discloses the mast and bracket support (10, see figure 1) comprises a first mounting bracket (center bracket 44 attached to vertical member 42), a second mounting bracket (bracket 44 attached to vertical member 48), a third mounting bracket (bracket 44 attached to vertical member 50), a fourth mounting bracket (bracket 44 attached to vertical member 46), and a fifth mounting bracket (bracket 44 attached to vertical member 52), wherein the first mounting bracket (center bracket 44 attached to vertical member 42) is positioned at a center point along the length of the horizontal member (40), wherein the second and third mounting brackets (bracket 44 attached to vertical members 48 and 50 respectively) are positioned a first distance in opposite directions from the center point, and wherein the fourth and fifth mounting brackets (bracket 44 attached to vertical members 46 and 52 respectively) are positioned a second distance in opposite directions from the center point.
Regarding claim 7, , Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 6, except wherein the first distance that the second and third mounting brackets are positioned from the center point is about 28 inches, and wherein the second distance that the fourth and fifth mounting brackets are positioned from the center point is about 84 inches.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the first distance that the second and third mounting brackets are positioned from the center point is about 28 inches, and wherein the second distance that the fourth and fifth mounting brackets are positioned from the center point is about 84 inches, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 8, Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 1. Pass teaches in an antenna mounting assembly wherein the vertical member (56, figure 6D) for mounting antenna is attached to a horizontal pipe member (46-S) via a mounting bracket (54); wherein each mounting bracket comprises a main plate (MP, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP BELOW) having opposing side walls (SW) extending outwardly therefrom, each side wall comprises a recess (R ) sized and configured to receive a portion of the horizontal member (46-S).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the mounting arrangement of Khalaf by having a horizontal pipe member as an alternative to the angled horizontal member since such pipe support members are conventional and well-known in the art of antenna supports and to provide mounting bracket wherein each mounting bracket comprises a main plate having opposing side walls extending outwardly therefrom, each side wall comprises a recess sized and configured to receive a portion of the horizontal pipe member as taught to be desirable by Pass.
Regarding claim 9, Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 8, wherein Pass further teaches providing the main plate (MP, see markup above) of the mounting bracket to include a plurality of apertures (A1-A4, see markup above) configured to receive a fastener (50) to secure a respective vertical member (56) to the mounting bracket (54).
Regarding claim 10, Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 9, wherein Pass further teaches the main plate (MP, see markup above) comprises four apertures (A1-A4, see markup above), each aperture configured to receive a respective end of a U-bolt fastener (50).
Regarding claim 11, Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 1, additionally Pass discloses in paragraph [0038] :
“[0038] FIGS. 6A through 6E are diagrams showing several configurations for connecting the pipes 46 to the front plates 22 and/or side plates 24 and various configuration for connecting antenna supports 56 to the pipes 46 and/or to the front plates 22, according to various embodiments. Connections are shown in these embodiments using U-bolts having hex nuts and washers engaged with the ends of the U-bolts. It should be understood that other types of connectors (e.g., permanent or removable) can be used for the purpose of securing the various elements together.“
Additionally, Pass teaches permanent connections within the assembly via welding (see paragraph [0030] and paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the connection of each mounting bracket of Khalaf such that it can be permanent such as welding as such permanent connections are old and well-known in the connection as demonstrated by Pass.
Claim 12 limitations are the exact combination of claims 1, 2, and 3. The rejections of claims 1-3 are discussed above. For the sake of brevity, applicant is directed to the above discussions of claims 1-3.
Regarding claim 13, Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to claim 12 as discussed above wherein Pass teaches in an antenna mounting assembly wherein the vertical member (56, figure 6D) for mounting antenna is attached to a horizontal pipe member (46-S) via a mounting bracket (54); wherein each mounting bracket comprises a main plate (MP, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP above) having opposing side walls (SW) extending outwardly therefrom, each side wall comprises a recess (R ) sized and configured to receive a portion of the horizontal member (46-S); wherein the main plate (MP, see markup above) of the mounting bracket to include a plurality of apertures (A1-A4, see markup above) configured to receive a fastener (50) to secure a respective vertical member (56) to the mounting bracket (54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the mounting arrangement of Khalaf by having a horizontal pipe member as an alternative to the angled horizontal member since such pipe support members are conventional and well-known in the art of antenna supports and to provide mounting bracket wherein each mounting bracket comprises a main plate having opposing side walls extending outwardly therefrom, each side wall comprises a recess sized and configured to receive a portion of the horizontal pipe member and wherein the main plate of the mounting bracket includes a plurality of apertures configured to receive a fastener to secure a respective vertical member to the mounting bracket as taught to be desirable by Pass.
Regarding claim 14, Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 13, wherein Pass discloses the main plate (MP, see markup above) comprises four apertures (A1-A4, see markup above), each aperture configured to receive a respective end of a U-bolt fastener (50).
Regarding claim 15, Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 12, additionally, Pass discloses in paragraph [0038] :
“[0038] FIGS. 6A through 6E are diagrams showing several configurations for connecting the pipes 46 to the front plates 22 and/or side plates 24 and various configuration for connecting antenna supports 56 to the pipes 46 and/or to the front plates 22, according to various embodiments. Connections are shown in these embodiments using U-bolts having hex nuts and washers engaged with the ends of the U-bolts. It should be understood that other types of connectors (e.g., permanent or removable) can be used for the purpose of securing the various elements together.“
Additionally, Pass teaches permanent connections within the assembly via welding (see paragraph [0030] and paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the connection of each mounting bracket of Khalaf such that it can be permanent such as welding as such permanent connections are old and well-known in the connection as demonstrated by Pass.
Claim 16 limitations are the exact combination of claims 1, 4, and 5. The rejections of claims 1, 4, and 5 are discussed above. For the sake of brevity, applicant is directed to the above discussions of claims 1, 4, and 5.
Regarding claim 17 , Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to claim 16 as discussed above except for wherein each mounting bracket comprises a main plate having opposing side walls extending outwardly therefrom, each side wall comprises a recess sized and configured to receive a portion of the horizontal member, and wherein the main plate of the mounting bracket includes a plurality of apertures configured to receive a fastener to secure a respective vertical member to the mounting bracket.
Pass teaches in an antenna mounting assembly wherein the vertical member (56, figure 6D) for mounting antenna is attached to a horizontal pipe member (46-S) via a mounting bracket (54); wherein each mounting bracket comprises a main plate (MP, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP above) having opposing side walls (SW) extending outwardly therefrom, each side wall comprises a recess (R ) sized and configured to receive a portion of the horizontal member (46-S); wherein the main plate (MP, see markup above) of the mounting bracket to include a plurality of apertures (A1-A4, see markup above) configured to receive a fastener (50) to secure a respective vertical member (56) to the mounting bracket (54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the mounting arrangement of Khalaf by having a horizontal pipe member as an alternative to the angled horizontal member since such pipe support members are conventional and well-known in the art of antenna supports and to provide mounting bracket wherein each mounting bracket comprises a main plate having opposing side walls extending outwardly therefrom, each side wall comprises a recess sized and configured to receive a portion of the horizontal pipe member and wherein the main plate of the mounting bracket includes a plurality of apertures configured to receive a fastener to secure a respective vertical member to the mounting bracket as taught to be desirable by Pass.
Regarding claim 18, Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 17, wherein Pass discloses the main plate (MP, see markup above) comprises four apertures (A1-A4, see markup above), each aperture configured to receive a respective end of a U-bolt fastener (50).
Regarding claim 19, , Khalaf and Pass combined discloses the assembly according to Claim 16, except for wherein each mounting bracket is welded to the horizontal member in a fixed position. Pass discloses in paragraph [0038] :
“[0038] FIGS. 6A through 6E are diagrams showing several configurations for connecting the pipes 46 to the front plates 22 and/or side plates 24 and various configuration for connecting antenna supports 56 to the pipes 46 and/or to the front plates 22, according to various embodiments. Connections are shown in these embodiments using U-bolts having hex nuts and washers engaged with the ends of the U-bolts. It should be understood that other types of connectors (e.g., permanent or removable) can be used for the purpose of securing the various elements together.“
Additionally, Pass teaches permanent connections within the assembly via welding (see paragraph [0030] and paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the connection of each mounting bracket of Khalaf such that it can be permanent such as welding as such permanent connections are old and well-known in the connection as demonstrated by Pass.
Claim 20 limitations are the exact combination of claims 1, 6, and 7. The rejections of claims 1, 6, and 7 are discussed above. For the sake of brevity, applicant is directed to the above discussions of claims 1, 6, and 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Khalaf does not provide permanent securement of the brackets but uses removable U-bolt fasteners. As discussed, Pass teaches welding the brackets to its support member which is a permanent securement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The remaining cited art of record further demonstrate mounting frame assembly of interest.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc