DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 07/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 11, and 17 have been amended. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-14 of the Remarks, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of AHN (US Pub. 20230154368).
Regarding claim 1, 11, and 17, applicant argues on pages 10-14 of the Remarks that neither Park nor Kwon appears to disclose or suggest modulating grayscale values or luminance values of image data corresponding respectively to the gaze area, adjacent area, and distant area differently from one another.
In response to the applicant’s argument, examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner introduces AHN (US Pub. 20230154368) which describes determines the luminance value of the AR image associated with a target device in fig. 5, 6A-B and Paragraph 120, “ The electronic device 610 may receive luminance information including a maximum luminance and luminance setting value from a plurality of target devices (e.g., target devices 621, 622, and 623) from among the identified external devices. The electronic device 610 may display AR images 631, 632, and 633 respectively associated with the target devices 621, 622, and 623 on a screen 611 (e.g., the screen display portion 215 of FIG. 2) of the electronic device 610.” Paragraph 127 describes, “For example, it is supposed that the maximum luminance of the electronic device is 1000 nit and the luminance value of the target device 621 is 1000 nit. The electronic device may adjust the mask opacity of the AR area 641 displaying the AR image 631 associated with the target device 621. As another example, when the luminance value of the target device 622 is calculated as 600 nit, the electronic device may adjust the mask opacity of the AR area 642 displaying the AR image 632 associated with the target device 622”. Paragraph 130 describes, “when the ambient luminance value of the electronic device 610 is calculated as 200 nit, the electronic device 610 may adjust the mask opacity of the AR area 643 displaying the AR image 633 associated with the target device 623” The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US Pub. 20230069348) in view of Kwon et al (US Pub. 20150091796) further in view of AHN (US Pub. 20230154368).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses:
An image display device, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 54. Describes a transparent display 150) comprising:
A display panel configured to display an image in an image display area, (at least refer to fig. 5 and paragraph 63. Describes the transparent display 150 may display vehicle state information and driving information);
A gaze tracking processor configured to analyze image data for an image on a front side captured by a built-in camera and to detect gaze tracking coordinate information, (at least refer to fig. 5 and paragraph 63. Describes the driver sensor 140 which is an image sensor may be implemented by a camera. The driver sensor 140 may also include a face analysis device configured for analyzing a facial expression of the user, and an eye tracker configured for tracking a position of a pupil); and
A main driver circuit configured to divide and separate the image display area into a plurality of divided display areas based on the gaze tracking coordinate information, the divided display areas including a gaze area corresponding to the gaze tracking coordinate information, at least one adjacent area adjacent to the gaze area, at least one distant area separated from the gaze area with the at least one adjacent area therebetween, and at least one important display area configured to display an image of an important feature depending on characteristics of the displayed image, (at least refer to fig. 9, 19-20 and paragraphs 28, 110, 126. Describes the control method may further include identifying a gaze direction of the driver based on the driver image, and adjusting brightness of the transparent display, and brightness of a side display outputting a rear lateral image of the vehicle, based on the gaze direction of the driver. Para. 110, describes: the controller 200, based on the execution of the multimedia application in the autonomous driving mode, may divide the screen area of the transparent display 150 into a first region A1 in which the driving information is displayed and a second region A2 in which the multimedia information by the execution of the multimedia application is displayed. Para. 126, describes: The controller 200 may identify the gaze direction of the driver based on a driver image obtained by the driver sensor 140 (1803). The controller 200 may adjust brightness of the transparent display 150 and brightness of the side displays 132L and 132R based on a gaze direction of the driver (1804)) and to modulate a grayscale value or a luminance value of the image data for at least one of the divided display areas according to still image or moving image features to thereby control an image display operation for at least one of the divided display areas, (at least refer to fig. 19-20 and paragraphs 124-128. Describes the graphic element RM1 may be displayed as an augmented reality image. That is, the graphic element RM1 may overlap at a position of the other vehicle V2 in the photographed rear left image, and the graphic element RM1 may appear to exist in a real environment. Para. 125, describes: The graphic element RM2 may be displayed as an augmented reality image. That is, the graphic element RM2 may overlap at a position of the other vehicle V3 in the photographed rear right image, and the graphic element RM2 may appear to exist in the real environment. Para. 126, describes: The controller 200 may identify the gaze direction of the driver based on a driver image obtained by the driver sensor 140 (1803). The controller 200 may adjust brightness of the transparent display 150 and brightness of the side displays 132L and 132R based on a gaze direction of the driver (1804)).
Park does not explicitly disclose:
A built-in camera of the display panel
A plurality of divided display areas based on the gaze tracking coordinate information
wherein grayscale values or luminance values of image data corresponding respectively to the gaze area, the at least one adjacent area, and the at least one distant area are modulated differently from one another,
Kwon teaches:
A built-in camera of the display panel, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 72. Describes the camera 160 according to the present embodiment employs an eye-tracking structure for tracking movements of the user's eyes to detect a direction of the sightline of the user)
A plurality of divided display areas based on the gaze tracking coordinate information, (at least refer to fig. 7-8 and paragraph 133. Describes accordingly, when a display 130 is bent, the display apparatus 100 detects the sightline of the user, divides the target area from the remaining area, and adjusts a scale of the image differently for the target area and the remaining area)
The two references are analogous art because they both relate with the same field of invention of electronic display device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate divided display areas based on the gaze tracking information of display a build-in camera as taught by Kwon with the vehicle display as disclosed by Park. The motivation to combine the Kwon reference is to adjust the displayed state of an image in correspondence with the detected sightline of the user which can enable the device to conserve power.
Kwon does not teach:
wherein grayscale values or luminance values of image data corresponding respectively to the gaze area, the at least one adjacent area, and the at least one distant area are modulated differently from one another
AHN teaches:
wherein grayscale values or luminance values of image data corresponding respectively to the gaze area, the at least one adjacent area, and the at least one distant area are modulated differently from one another, (at least refer to fig. 5-6B and paragraphs 120-131. Describes the electronic device 610 may receive luminance information including a maximum luminance and luminance setting value from a plurality of target devices (e.g., target devices 621, 622, and 623) from among the identified external devices. The electronic device 610 may display AR images 631, 632, and 633 respectively associated with the target devices 621, 622, and 623 on a screen 611 (e.g., the screen display portion 215 of FIG. 2) of the electronic device 610. Para. 127 describes: For example, it is supposed that the maximum luminance of the electronic device is 1000 nit and the luminance value of the target device 621 is 1000 nit. The electronic device may adjust the mask opacity of the AR area 641 displaying the AR image 631 associated with the target device 621. As another example, when the luminance value of the target device 622 is calculated as 600 nit, the electronic device may adjust the mask opacity of the AR area 642 displaying the AR image 632 associated with the target device 622. Para. 130 describes: when the ambient luminance value of the electronic device 610 is calculated as 200 nit, the electronic device 610 may adjust the mask opacity of the AR area 643 displaying the AR image 633 associated with the target device 623)
The three references are analogous art because they both relate with the same field of invention of electronic display device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate modulation of luminance values of image data as taught by AHN with the divided display areas based on the gaze tracking information of display a build-in camera as taught by Kwon with the vehicle display as disclosed by Park. The motivation to combine the AHN reference is to reduce a difference between the luminance value of the setting image displayed on the screen of the electronic device and the setting image that is output from the target device for visual comfort to a user.
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses:
An image display device, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 54. Describes a transparent display 150) comprising:
A display panel configured to display an image in an image display area, (at least refer to fig. 5 and paragraph 63. Describes the transparent display 150 may display vehicle state information and driving information);
A touch sensor on a front surface of the display panel to detect a user's touch, (at least refer to fig. 2 and paragraph 74. Describes the first side display 132L, the second side display 132R, and the center display 160 may include a touch screen to obtain touch input of the user);
A gaze tracking processor configured to analyze image data on an image on a front side captured by a built-in camera and detecting the user's gaze tracking coordinate information, (at least refer to fig. 5 and paragraph 63. Describes the driver sensor 140 which is an image sensor may be implemented by a camera. The driver sensor 140 may also include a face analysis device configured for analyzing a facial expression of the user, and an eye tracker configured for tracking a position of a pupil); and
A main driver circuit configured to divide and separate the image display area into a plurality of divided display areas comprising a gaze area corresponding to the gaze tracking coordinates, at least one adjacent area adjacent to the gaze area, at least one distant area separated from the gaze area with the at least one adjacent area therebetween, and at least one important display area displaying an image of an important feature depending on characteristics of the image, (at least refer to fig. 9, 19-20 and paragraphs 28, 110, 126. Describes the control method may further include identifying a gaze direction of the driver based on the driver image, and adjusting brightness of the transparent display, and brightness of a side display outputting a rear lateral image of the vehicle, based on the gaze direction of the driver. Para. 110, describes: the controller 200, based on the execution of the multimedia application in the autonomous driving mode, may divide the screen area of the transparent display 150 into a first region A1 in which the driving information is displayed and a second region A2 in which the multimedia information by the execution of the multimedia application is displayed. Para. 126, describes: The controller 200 may identify the gaze direction of the driver based on a driver image obtained by the driver sensor 140 (1803). The controller 200 may adjust brightness of the transparent display 150 and brightness of the side displays 132L and 132R based on a gaze direction of the driver (1804)) and to modulate a grayscale value or a luminance value of image data for at least one divided display area of the divided display areas according to still image or moving image features to control an image display operation for the at least one divided display area, (at least refer to fig. 19-20 and paragraphs 124-128. Describes the graphic element RM1 may be displayed as an augmented reality image. That is, the graphic element RM1 may overlap at a position of the other vehicle V2 in the photographed rear left image, and the graphic element RM1 may appear to exist in a real environment. Para. 125, describes: The graphic element RM2 may be displayed as an augmented reality image. That is, the graphic element RM2 may overlap at a position of the other vehicle V3 in the photographed rear right image, and the graphic element RM2 may appear to exist in the real environment. Para. 126, describes: The controller 200 may identify the gaze direction of the driver based on a driver image obtained by the driver sensor 140 (1803). The controller 200 may adjust brightness of the transparent display 150 and brightness of the side displays 132L and 132R based on a gaze direction of the driver (1804)).
Park does not explicitly disclose:
A built-in camera of the display panel
a plurality of divided display areas comprising a gaze area corresponding to the gaze tracking coordinates
wherein grayscale values or luminance values of image data corresponding respectively to the gaze area, the at least one adjacent area, and the at least one distant area are modulated different from one another
Kwon teaches:
A built-in camera of the display panel, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 72. Describes the camera 160 according to the present embodiment employs an eye-tracking structure for tracking movements of the user's eyes to detect a direction of the sightline of the user)
a plurality of divided display areas comprising a gaze area corresponding to the gaze tracking coordinates, (at least refer to fig. 7-8 and paragraph 133. Describes accordingly, when a display 130 is bent, the display apparatus 100 detects the sightline of the user, divides the target area from the remaining area, and adjusts a scale of the image differently for the target area and the remaining area)
Kwon does not teach:
wherein grayscale values or luminance values of image data corresponding respectively to the gaze area, the at least one adjacent area, and the at least one distant area are modulated different from one another
AHN teaches:
wherein grayscale values or luminance values of image data corresponding respectively to the gaze area, the at least one adjacent area, and the at least one distant area are modulated differently from one another, (at least refer to fig. 5-6B and paragraphs 120-131. Describes the electronic device 610 may receive luminance information including a maximum luminance and luminance setting value from a plurality of target devices (e.g., target devices 621, 622, and 623) from among the identified external devices. The electronic device 610 may display AR images 631, 632, and 633 respectively associated with the target devices 621, 622, and 623 on a screen 611 (e.g., the screen display portion 215 of FIG. 2) of the electronic device 610. Para. 127 describes: For example, it is supposed that the maximum luminance of the electronic device is 1000 nit and the luminance value of the target device 621 is 1000 nit. The electronic device may adjust the mask opacity of the AR area 641 displaying the AR image 631 associated with the target device 621. As another example, when the luminance value of the target device 622 is calculated as 600 nit, the electronic device may adjust the mask opacity of the AR area 642 displaying the AR image 632 associated with the target device 622. Para. 130 describes: when the ambient luminance value of the electronic device 610 is calculated as 200 nit, the electronic device 610 may adjust the mask opacity of the AR area 643 displaying the AR image 633 associated with the target device 623)
Regarding the rejection of claim 11, refer to the motivation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses:
An electronic device including an image display device, the image display device, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 54. Describes a transparent display 150) comprising:
A display panel configured to display an image in an image display area, (at least refer to fig. 5 and paragraph 63. Describes the transparent display 150 may display vehicle state information and driving information);
A gaze tracking processor configured to analyze image data for an image on a front side captured by a built-in camera and to detect gaze tracking coordinate information, (at least refer to fig. 5 and paragraph 63. Describes the driver sensor 140 which is an image sensor may be implemented by a camera. The driver sensor 140 may also include a face analysis device configured for analyzing a facial expression of the user, and an eye tracker configured for tracking a position of a pupil); and
A main driver circuit configured to divide and separate the image display area into a plurality of divided display areas based on the gaze tracking coordinate information, the divided display areas including a gaze area corresponding to the gaze tracking coordinate information, at least one adjacent area adjacent to the gaze area, at least one distant area separated from the gaze area with the at least one adjacent area therebetween, and at least one important display area configured to display an image of an important feature depending on characteristics of the displayed image, (at least refer to fig. 9, 19-20 and paragraphs 28, 110. Describes the control method may further include identifying a gaze direction of the driver based on the driver image, and adjusting brightness of the transparent display, and brightness of a side display outputting a rear lateral image of the vehicle, based on the gaze direction of the driver. Para. 110, describes: the controller 200, based on the execution of the multimedia application in the autonomous driving mode, may divide the screen area of the transparent display 150 into a first region A1 in which the driving information is displayed and a second region A2 in which the multimedia information by the execution of the multimedia application is displayed. Para. 126, describes: The controller 200 may identify the gaze direction of the driver based on a driver image obtained by the driver sensor 140 (1803). The controller 200 may adjust brightness of the transparent display 150 and brightness of the side displays 132L and 132R based on a gaze direction of the driver (1804)) and to modulate a grayscale value or a luminance value of the image data for at least one of the divided display areas according to still image or moving image features to thereby control an image display operation for at least one of the divided display areas, (at least refer to fig. 19-20 and paragraphs 124-128. Describes the graphic element RM1 may be displayed as an augmented reality image. That is, the graphic element RM1 may overlap at a position of the other vehicle V2 in the photographed rear left image, and the graphic element RM1 may appear to exist in a real environment. Para. 125, describes: The graphic element RM2 may be displayed as an augmented reality image. That is, the graphic element RM2 may overlap at a position of the other vehicle V3 in the photographed rear right image, and the graphic element RM2 may appear to exist in the real environment. Para. 126, describes: The controller 200 may identify the gaze direction of the driver based on a driver image obtained by the driver sensor 140 (1803). The controller 200 may adjust brightness of the transparent display 150 and brightness of the side displays 132L and 132R based on a gaze direction of the driver (1804)).
Park does not explicitly disclose:
A built-in camera of the display panel
A plurality of divided display areas based on the gaze tracking coordinate information
wherein grayscale values or luminance values of image data corresponding respectively to the gaze area, the at least one adjacent area, and the at least one distant area are modulated different from one another
Kwon teaches:
A built-in camera of the display panel, (at least refer to fig. 7 and paragraph 72. Describes the camera 160 according to the present embodiment employs an eye-tracking structure for tracking movements of the user's eyes to detect a direction of the sightline of the user)
A plurality of divided display areas based on the gaze tracking coordinate information, (at least refer to fig. 7-8 and paragraph 133. Describes accordingly, when a display 130 is bent, the display apparatus 100 detects the sightline of the user, divides the target area from the remaining area, and adjusts a scale of the image differently for the target area and the remaining area)
Kwon does not teach:
wherein grayscale values or luminance values of image data corresponding respectively to the gaze area, the at least one adjacent area, and the at least one distant area are modulated different from one another
AHN teaches:
wherein grayscale values or luminance values of image data corresponding respectively to the gaze area, the at least one adjacent area, and the at least one distant area are modulated differently from one another, (at least refer to fig. 5-6B and paragraphs 120-131. Describes the electronic device 610 may receive luminance information including a maximum luminance and luminance setting value from a plurality of target devices (e.g., target devices 621, 622, and 623) from among the identified external devices. The electronic device 610 may display AR images 631, 632, and 633 respectively associated with the target devices 621, 622, and 623 on a screen 611 (e.g., the screen display portion 215 of FIG. 2) of the electronic device 610. Para. 127 describes: For example, it is supposed that the maximum luminance of the electronic device is 1000 nit and the luminance value of the target device 621 is 1000 nit. The electronic device may adjust the mask opacity of the AR area 641 displaying the AR image 631 associated with the target device 621. As another example, when the luminance value of the target device 622 is calculated as 600 nit, the electronic device may adjust the mask opacity of the AR area 642 displaying the AR image 632 associated with the target device 622. Para. 130 describes: when the ambient luminance value of the electronic device 610 is calculated as 200 nit, the electronic device 610 may adjust the mask opacity of the AR area 643 displaying the AR image 633 associated with the target device 623)
Regarding the rejection of claim 17, refer to the motivation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses:
Wherein the electronic device is one of a mobile phone, a smart phone, a tablet personal computer (PC), a mobile communications terminal, an electronic notebook, an electronic book, a portable multimedia player (PMP), a navigation device and a ultra mobile PC (UMPC), a television, a laptop computer, a monitor, an electronic billboard, or an Internet of Things (IOT) device, (at least refer to fig. 1-2 and paragraph 62. Describes the transparent display 150 is configured as an instrument panel (cluster) and/or an infotainment device. The infotainment device may also be referred to as an audio video navigation (AVN) device. Para. 67, describes: For example, the vehicle 1 may include a navigation system 170).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art fail to explicitly disclose wherein the gaze tracking processor is configured to divide and to extract eye image data from the image data for the image on the front side, and to detect an image of a corneal or a reflected image of the corneal from the eye image data, and wherein the gaze tracking processor is configured to extract a coordinate position on a straight line on the front side facing the image of the corneal or the reflected image of the corneal to extract the gaze tracking coordinate information for the display panel. wherein the main driver circuit comprises: a block area setter configured to divide and separate the image display area into the plurality of divided display areas based on the gaze tracking coordinate information; a block data aligner configured to divide and align image data at least every frame into a plurality of divided image data corresponding to the divided display areas, and to classify the image data into features of still image and moving image; a block data corrector configured to sequentially extract dimming correction values for correcting the divided image data for at least one divided display area among the plurality of divided display areas according to the results of classifying the features of still image and moving image, and to correct and modulate the divided image data for the at least one divided display area with the respective dimming correction values; and a corrected image data aligner configured to sequentially provide a data driver circuit with the corrected image data for the at least one the divided display area corrected by the dimming correction values, to control an image by the corrected image data for the at least one divided display area to be displayed in the respective divided display area.
Conclusion
/IFEDAYO B ILUYOMADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624 08/07/2026