DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
Applicant’s response filed May 21, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-20 are examined below.
Examiner Request
Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 USC 112(a) or 35 USC 112, 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. Examiner thanks applicant in advance. See also relevant portions of MPEP 2163.II.A:
With respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims. See, e.g., Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1370, n.4 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (citing MPEP § 2163.04 which provides that a "simple statement such as ‘applicant has not pointed out where the new (or amended) claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation ‘___’ in the application as filed’ may be sufficient where the claim is a new or amended claim, the support for the limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where the limitation is supported."); see also MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 ("Applicant should ... specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure."); and MPEP § 2163.04 ("If applicant amends the claims and points out where and/or how the originally filed disclosure supports the amendment(s), and the examiner finds that the disclosure does not reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the subject matter of the amendment at the time of the filing of the application, the examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims.").
Drawings
The drawings filed on February 13, 2025 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) and 1.84. These drawings have rendered poorly upon conversion from PDF to TIFF (see Figs. 4A – 4E and 6A – 6C via PatentCenter or PGPub). This may be due to applicant's drawings including color or grayscale images. See PDF Guidelines for Patent Center.1 See also MPEP 608.02.VII regarding photographs and grayscale drawings. See also MPEP 608.02.VIII regarding color drawings or photographs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claims 1, the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Representative claim 1 recites receiving a request for someone else to pay for at least one item in a shopping cart, generating a token corresponding to the at least one item, providing the token and a URL to a user, receiving a request from another user associated with the token, using the token to identify the first user, adding the at least one item to the other user’s shopping cart, receiving an indication to modifiy an item in the second shopping cart, and updating the second shopping cart, which constitutes a certain method of organizing human activity (specifically, a commercial or legal interaction). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements beyond the abstract idea simply link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (the internet) or amount to extra-solution activity. Because the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application, claim 1 is “directed to” an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements identified above represent only well-understood, routine, and conventional technology (or placeholders for such) when compared with the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d). Viewing the additional elements as a combination does not add anything further than the individual elements. Therefore, the additional elements in the claim are not sufficient to amount to an inventive concept. Because claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea and fails to recite an inventive concept, it is patent ineligible.
Independent claims 9 and 17 contain limitations similar to claim 1 and are therefore rejected using the same rationale.
The dependent claims when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. The additional limitations added by these claims fail to either integrate the claims into a practical application or add an inventive concept, because they serve to further narrow the abstract idea without integrating it into a practical application (claims 8 and 16), add additional elements that simply further link to a particular technological environment (claims 2-5, 7, 8, 10-13, 15, 16, and 18-20), and/or amount to additional extrasolution activity (claims 3, 11, and 19). Regarding the conventionality of the above limitations, see the references cited on the attached from 892. Viewing the additional elements of the dependent claims as a combination does not add anything further than the individual elements. Therefore, the dependent claims neither practically integrate the abstract idea nor constitute an inventive concept, and these claims are also rejected as patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathod (US 2020/0387887 A1) in view of Sivaraman (US 2022/0198426 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, Rathod discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising: associating at least one item with a first electronic shopping cart associated with a first user, the first electronic shopping cart associated with a merchant (the environment where user client device engaging with the merchant to pay for a merchandise; Fig.1, [0119]); receiving, from the first user, a request to initiate a share to pay operation for the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart (The user can split payment among friends for a merchandise; [0226]); generating a token corresponding to the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart based on the received request (The detail order of the merchandise will be included in a token where payment will be made; [0070]); generating a message payload associated with the requested share to pay operation, wherein the message payload includes the generated token and at least one link to a uniform resource locator (URL) corresponding to a mobile application associated with the merchant (The detail order of the merchandise will be included in a token which the payload contain the website URL where user can split payment for the merchandise; [0055], [0070], [0226]); providing the message payload to the first user (The merchant provide token payment to the user; [0116]); receiving, from a second user different than the first user, a request comprising the generated token (The friends of the user can request a token associated with the merchandise; [0116], [0226]); identifying, based on the generated token, an identity of the first user and the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart (The token includes a user name; account, merchandise item being purchase; [0070], [0202]). Rathod fails to disclose populating a second electronic shopping cart associated with the second user with the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart, wherein the second electronic shopping cart is associated with the merchant. Sivaraman discloses populating a second electronic shopping cart associated with the second user with the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart, wherein the second electronic shopping cart is associated with the merchant (The second user can pay for a single item from the first user item being purchase. The second user can view the display check out page and pay for the first user item where the merchandise is shown; [0111], [0126]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Rathod to include populating a second electronic shopping cart associated with the second user with the0 at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart, wherein the second electronic shopping cart is associated with the merchant as taught by Sivaraman in order to increase usability of the system. Rathod further fails to disclose receiving an indication from the second user to modify a particular item from the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart included in the second electronic shopping cart and updating the second electronic shopping cart based on the received indication to modify the particular item. Sivaraman discloses receiving an indication from the second user to modify a particular item from the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart included in the second electronic shopping cart (The second user can modified or accept the current item being purchase; [0121], [0122]); and updating the second electronic shopping cart based on the received indication to modify the particular item (The second user can update the merchandise on the check-out page; [0110]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method Rathod to include receiving an indication from the second user to modify a particular item from the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart included in the second electronic shopping cart and updating the second electronic shopping cart based on the received indication to modify the particular item as taught by Sivaraman in order to increase usability.
Regarding claims 2 and 10 and 18, Rathod fails to disclose wherein populating the second electronic shopping cart associated with the second user with the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart comprises associating the at least one item from the first electronic shopping cart with the first user. Sivaraman discloses wherein populating the second electronic shopping cart associated with the second user with the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart comprises associating the at least one item from the first electronic shopping cart with the first user (The second user can pay for a single item from the first user item being purchase; [0111]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rathod to include populating a second electronic shopping cart associated with the second user with the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart, wherein the second electronic shopping cart is associated with the merchant as taught by Sivaraman in order to increase usability.
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, Rathod fails to disclose wherein associating the at least one item from the first electronic shopping cart with the first user comprises visually associating the first user with each of the at least one item in a graphical user interface (GUI) presenting the second electronic shopping cart to the second user. Sivaraman discloses wherein associating the at least one item from the first electronic shopping cart with the first user comprises visually associating the first user with each of the at least one item in a graphical user interface (GUI) presenting the second electronic shopping cart to the second user (The second user can view the display check out page where the first user merchandise is shown; [0126]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rathod to include wherein associating the at least one item from the first electronic shopping cart with the first user comprises visually associating the first user with each of the at least one item in a graphical user interface (GUI) presenting the second electronic shopping cart to the second user as taught by Sivaraman in order to increase usability.
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20, Rathod discloses wherein the second user is selected from a plurality of potential recipients (The merchant provide token payment to the user where the friends (second user) of the user can request a token associated with the merchandise; [0116], [0226]).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Rathod discloses wherein the generated message payload is associated with at least one thumbnail of at least one of the at least one items, wherein the at least one thumbnail is obtained from a catalog associated with the merchant (The message can include an item of the merchandise with URL which may have picture, photo and the like; [0070], [0074]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Rathod fails to disclose receiving, from the second user, a request to perform a purchase operation for the populated second electronic shopping cart, wherein the purchase operation includes purchasing the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart included in the second electronic 'shopping cart on behalf of the first user. Sivaraman discloses receiving, from the second user, a request to perform a purchase operation for the populated second electronic shopping cart, wherein the purchase operation includes purchasing the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart included in the second electronic shopping cart on behalf of the first user (The second user can view the display check out page where the first user merchandise is shown. The second user can pay for a single item from the first user item being purchase; [0111], [0126]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rathod to include receiving, from the second user, a request to perform a purchase operation for the populated second electronic shopping cart, wherein the purchase operation includes purchasing the at least one item associated with the first electronic shopping cart included in the second electronic shopping cart on behalf of the first user as taught by Sivaraman in order to increase usability.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Rathod fails to disclose initiating, after the purchase operation is complete, a shipping process to deliver the at least one item to the first user. Sivaraman discloses initiating, after the purchase operation is complete, a shipping process to deliver the at least one item to the first user (The purchase can be picked up at brick and mortar store or ship to the first user; [0024]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rathod to include initiating, after the purchase operation is complete, a shipping process to deliver the at least one item to the first user as taught by Sivaraman in order to increase usability.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
All references listed on form PTO-892 are cited in their entirety. The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Weathersby (US 2002/0169851 A1 discloses a web publishing system that includes the capability of emailing wish lists (see [0090]).
Patel (US 2012/0254312 A1) discloses a thank you gifting service including wishlists and GUIs (see especially Fig. 3C).
Klein (US 2020/0294082 A1) discloses an online marketplace capable of generating URLs for wishlists ([0040])
Flanagan (US 11,295,364 B1) discloses a gift registry management server.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
The examiner expresses his appreciation for applicant’s specific citations to the specification indicating where applicant believes support for the claim amendments can be found. The examiner's search for support for the claim amendments was not limited to these citations.
Regarding the 101 rejection, applicant argues that the amendment overcomes the rejection of record. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The amended claims encompass the same abstract idea as the previously presented claims. The claims are similarly lacking in integration into a practical application and fail to include additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the rejection is still believed to be proper and is maintained.
Regarding the prior art rejections, applicant argues that the newly added limitations overcome the art of record. The examiner respectfully disagrees. See the above prior art rejections for a mapping of the previously applied art to the newly added limitations. For the above reasons, the prior art rejections are maintained, as modified in response to applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMIE KUCAB whose telephone number is (571)270-3025. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. ET. The examiner’s email address is Jamie.Kucab@USPTO.gov. See MPEP 502.03 regarding email communications. Following is the sample authorization for electronic communication provided in MPEP 502.03.II: “Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.” Without such an authorization in place, an examiner is unable to respond via email.
/JAMIE R KUCAB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699
1 https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/efs-web-pdf-guidelines