DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a first photodetector comprising a doped collector region in a first substrate; a gate structure arranged on a first surface of the first substrate and proximate to the doped collector region” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hseih et al (US 20190096932).
Regarding claim 1, Hseih et al teach (Figs. 1-15) An integrated chip, comprising: a first photodetector (362a) arranged in a first substrate (356), wherein the first photodetector absorbs light in a first wavelength range; a second substrate (340) under the first substrate; a second photodetector arranged (314b) on the second substrate, wherein the second photodetector absorbs light in a second wavelength range different from the first wavelength range ([0080-0081]); and a dielectric structure (light pipe [0128 and 0129 and 0060]) between a first surface of the first substrate and a first surface of the second substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Hseih et al teach (Fig. 10) the dielectric structure ([0128]) comprises a light guide region vertically extending between the first photodetector and the second photodetector.
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Hseih et al teach (Figs. 1-10) An integrated chip and method of manufacturing, comprising: a first photodetector (362a) comprising a doped collector region (MOSFET) in a first substrate; a gate structure (gate of MOSFET – also element 366) arranged on a first surface of the first substrate and proximate to the doped collector region; a second photodetector (314) arranged on a second substrate; and a stack of layers (318 and 319) between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein an optical path region is arranged in the stack of layers and is laterally aligned with the first and second photodetectors (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Hseih et al teach the optical path region is configured to direct incident light from the first photodetector to the second photodetector.
Regarding claim 13, Hseih et al teach a height of the optical path region (length of 318 and 319) is greater than a height of the gate structure (part of dotted circle area of EPI-layer shown in figure 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 12, 14-16 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TONY KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878
TK