DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2/17/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Setting device (e.g. claims 1, 15) - e.g. a driven setting die (page 9)
Conditioning device (e.g. claims 3, 6, 15) - a heating or cooling device, e.g. electrical and/or fluid operated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 23 recites “such that attachment strength of the functional element is thereby enhanced”. The original disclosure makes no mention of enhancing the attachment strength of the functional element by shaping of the workpiece. For example, terms such as “strength”, “attachment”, “enhanced”, and variations thereon do not appear in the disclosure.
Claims 1-14 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an elevated portion of the workpiece formed by reshaping the workpiece at the setting point where the functional element is pressed against the workpiece”. This limitation pertains to the workpiece, i.e. the article worked upon by the claimed apparatus. The positively recited limitation raises questions as to the scope of the claimed invention, i.e. is it to an apparatus or a product made thereby? For examination purposes, it is noted that the inclusion of the article formed within the body of a claim does not, without more, make the claim patentable (see In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and MPEP 2115). Thus, a limitation in an apparatus claim, as in claim 1, pertaining to the article worked, is treated as not having patentable weight therein.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the conditioning device" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that claim 10 should be amended such that it depends from claim 3 as with other claims reciting the conditioning device.
Claim 23 recites “such that attachment strength of the functional element is thereby enhanced”. It is unclear how the strength is enhanced or to what it is enhanced with respect to.
The remaining claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-11, 14, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liebrecht et al. (U.S. Patent 6,417,490).
Claim 1: Liebrecht et al. discloses an apparatus (Figs. 1a-2) for processing a workpiece (1a, 1b), said apparatus comprising at least one pressing device having a first tool half (5) and a second tool half (4) that can be moved towards one another in a pressing movement (Figs. 1a-1e), for reshaping and/or for press hardening the workpiece (e.g. column 2, lines 54-56), at least one setting device (punch 3) for fastening at least one functional element (self-piercing rivet 2) in a setting movement at a setting point to the workpiece (Figs. 1a-1e), wherein the setting device is arranged at the first tool half or the second tool half (in tool half 5).
Regarding “an elevated portion of the workpiece formed by reshaping the workpiece at the setting point where the functional element is pressed against the workpiece”, it is noted that the inclusion of an article formed within the body of a claim to a machine for making that article does not, without more, make the claim patentable. See In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and MPEP 2115. In this case, the limitation pertaining to an elevated portion of the workpiece constitutes an analogous scenario of including the workpiece as the article produced by the claimed apparatus for forming it.
Claim 2: The first and/or the second tool half can be selectively thermally influenced (the heating and/or cooling can be controlled - column 1, lines 35-43; column 2, lines 1-2 and 66-67).
Claim 3: The first tool half and the second tool half can be moved towards one another for reshaping and/or for press hardening the workpiece (as cited above) wherein the first and/or the second tool half has/have a conditioning device with which the first tool half and/or the second tool half can be thermally influenced (heating the tool halves by current and/or cooling by cooling device 6 - column 2, lines 53-56; column 3, lines 5-17). It is also noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the ability of the first tool half and the second tool half to reshape and/or for press hardening the workpiece is also dependent on the nature of the workpiece. The tools are already capable of compressing a workpiece, where reshaping would depend in part on how the workpiece engages these tools during compression.
Claim 4: The conditioning device is configured and set up such that the first and/or the second tool half can be selectively thermally influenced at and/or in a region adjacent to the setting point (column 3, lines 9-13).
Claim 5: The conditioning device is configured and set up such that a desired temperature profile can be produced in the first and/or the second tool half (i.e. heat is localized to the desired areas of the tools - column 1, line 61 - column 2 line 4; column 3, lines 9-13).
Claim 8: The conditioning device comprises a heating device (heating by electric current as cited above) and/or a cooling device (6).
Claim 9: The conditioning device can be operated electrically (electric current) and/or with a fluid (water - column 3, lines 15-17).
Claim 10: The conditioning device is configured and set up such that the thermal influence is variable in time and/or in space (the temperature would increase and decrease over a period of time, and the heat would also spread in that timeframe, e.g. column 3, lines 2-3).
Claim 11: The conditioning device can be selectively controlled (column 2, lines 66-67).
Claim 14: The apparatus is configured and set up such that a self-punching functional element (self-piercing rivet) can be fastened to the workpiece (column 2, lines 47-49).
Claims 21-22: The limitations pertain to the functional element (e.g. fastener) which is worked upon by the apparatus. For similar reasons as discussed with respect to the elevated portion, claim 21 does not substantially limit the claimed apparatus. The Liebrecht et al. could theoretically function with a functional element having a central through hole opening, such as a self-punching nut.
Claim 23: The pressing device and the setting device operate separately as is evident from Figs. 1a-1e. The limitation “whereby the workpiece is shaped prior to setting the functional element such that attachment strength of the functional element is thereby enhanced” pertains to the functionality and intended use of the apparatus. In this case, the ability of the apparatus to shape the workpiece as claimed is also dependent on the nature of the workpiece. The tools are already capable of compressing a workpiece, where reshaping would depend in part on how the workpiece engages these tools during compression.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liebrecht et al. in view of Zhuang et al. (CN104607557).
Claim 6: Liebrecht et al. discloses an apparatus substantially as claimed except for wherein the setting device has a conditioning device with which the setting device and/or the workpiece and/or the functional element can be thermally influenced. However, Zhuang teaches a similar device wherein the setting device (punch 1) has a conditioning device (cooling gas pipe 2) with which the setting device and/or the workpiece and/or the functional element can be thermally influenced (e.g. paragraphs 43 and 53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the setting device with a conditioning device in order to have quenched the riveted sheets while effectively preventing oxidation of the heated sheets.
Claim 7: The setting device and/or the workpiece and/or the functional element can be selectively influenced (i.e. by turning the cooling device on and off at the desired times).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liebrecht et al. in view of Michalewski et al. (U.S. Patent 5,222,289).
Claims 12-13: Liebrecht et al. discloses an apparatus substantially as claimed except for wherein the setting device comprises at least one sensor device with which a setting force acting on the functional element and/or at least one characteristic parameter of the setting movement can be detected, or wherein the first and/or the second tool half comprises/comprise at least one sensor device with which a pressing force acting between the tool halves and/or a characteristic parameter of the pressing movement and/or a characteristic parameter of the first and/or the second tool half can be detected. However, Michalewski teaches a riveting apparatus wherein the setting device (30, 32) comprises at least one sensor device (74, 104, 112) with which a setting force acting on the functional element and/or at least one characteristic parameter of the setting movement can be detected, or wherein the first and/or the second tool half (34, 36) comprises/comprise at least one sensor device (78, 108) with which a pressing force acting between the tool halves and/or a characteristic parameter of the pressing movement and/or a characteristic parameter of the first and/or the second tool half can be detected (column 5, line 23 - column 6, line 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided sensor devices as claimed in order to have better monitored and controlled the riveting process.
Claims 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liebrecht et al. in view of Speller (U.S. Patent 5,042,137) or Rechton et al. (U.S. Patent 2,413,518)
Claim 15: Liebrecht et al. discloses a method of processing a workpiece (1a, 1b), wherein a first tool half (5) and a second tool half (4) of a pressing device are moved towards one another in a pressing movement (Figs. 1a-1e), and wherein a functional element (self-piercing rivet 2) is pressed against the workpiece at a setting point by means of a setting device (punch 3) in a setting movement in order to fasten said functional element to said workpiece (Figs. 1a-1e), wherein the first and/or the second tool half is/are thermally influenced by means of a conditioning device (heating the tool halves by current and/or cooling by cooling device 6 - column 2, lines 53-56; column 3, lines 5-17).
Liebrecht et al. does not disclose moving the pressing device such that the workpiece is shaped to form an elevated portion and pressing the functional element against the workpiece elevated portion. However, Speller teaches a method of moving a pressing device (22, 122) such that a workpiece (14) is shaped to form an elevated portion (dimple 238 raised beyond the lower surface of the workpiece, noting that “elevated” is relative and no directionality for up/down is defined in the claim) and pressing a functional element (rivet 70) against the workpiece elevated portion (see Figs. 5-12). Alternatively, Rechton similarly teaches a method of moving a pressing device (24, 28) such that a workpiece (54) is shaped to form an elevated portion (Figs. 3-6) and pressing a functional element against the workpiece elevated portion (implied at column 1, lines 7-10). In either case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have moved the pressing device such that the workpiece is shaped to form an elevated portion and pressing the functional element against the workpiece elevated portion in order to have formed a space to receive the rivet head for flush mounting, for example.
Claim 16: An apparatus (Figs. 1a-2) as claimed for processing the workpiece is used, see rejection of claims 1 and 15 above.
Claim 18: The thermal influence is varied in space and/or in time (the temperature would increase and decrease over a period of time, and the heat would also spread in that timeframe, e.g. column 3, lines 2-3).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liebrecht et al. and Speller/Rechton et al. as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Zhuang et al.
Liebrecht et al. and Speller/Rechton teach a method substantially as claimed except for wherein the setting device and/or the workpiece and/or the functional element is/are thermally influenced by means of a conditioning device associated with the setting device. However, Zhuang teaches a similar device wherein the setting device (punch 1) has a conditioning device (cooling gas pipe 2) with which the setting device and/or the workpiece and/or the functional element can be thermally influenced (e.g. paragraphs 43 and 53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the setting device with a conditioning device in order to have quenched the riveted sheets while effectively preventing oxidation of the heated sheets.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liebrecht et al. and Speller/Rechton et al. as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Michalewski et al.
Liebrecht et al. and Speller/Rechton teach a method substantially as claimed except for wherein a setting force acting on the functional element and/or at least one characteristic parameter of the setting movement is/are detected by means of a sensor device, or wherein a pressing force acting between the tool halves and/or a characteristic parameter of the pressing movement and/or a characteristic parameter of the first and/or the second tool half is/are detected by means of a sensor device. However, Michalewski teaches a riveting method wherein a setting force acting on the functional element and/or at least one characteristic parameter of the setting movement is/are detected by means of a sensor device (74, 104, 112), or wherein a pressing force acting between the tool halves and/or a characteristic parameter of the pressing movement and/or a characteristic parameter of the first and/or the second tool half is/are detected by means of a sensor device (78, 108; column 5, line 23 - column 6, line 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sensed the various parameters as claimed in order to have better monitored and controlled the riveting process.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-14, and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12-18, and 20-21 of copending Application No. 19/053,510 (reference application). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant claim 1 is essentially “anticipated” by claim 1 of ‘510, noting that with regard to “an elevated portion of the workpiece formed by reshaping the workpiece at the setting point where the functional element is pressed against the workpiece”, the inclusion of an article formed within the body of a claim to a machine for making that article does not, without more, make the claim patentable. See In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and MPEP 2115. In this case, the limitation pertaining to an elevated portion of the workpiece constitutes an analogous scenario of including the workpiece as the article produced by the claimed apparatus for forming it.
Instant claim 11 is implied, for example, in claims 13, 14, and 18.
Instant claims 21-22 similarly pertain to material worked upon by the apparatus and are not particularly limiting.
Instant claim 23 is substantially anticipated by claim 1 of ‘510 and in view of the fact that the limitation “whereby the workpiece is shaped prior to setting the functional element such that attachment strength of the functional element is thereby enhanced” pertains to the functionality and intended use of the apparatus. In this case, the ability of the apparatus to shape the workpiece as claimed is also dependent on the nature of the workpiece. The tools are already capable of compressing a workpiece, where reshaping would depend in part on how the workpiece engages these tools during compression.
The remaining claims are otherwise substantially anticipated by the corresponding claims of ‘510.
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 15 of ‘510 in view of Zhuang et al.
The claims of ‘510 recite an apparatus substantially as claimed except for wherein the setting device and/or the workpiece and/or the functional element can be selectively influenced. However, Zhuang et al. teaches that a setting device and/or the workpiece and/or the functional element can be selectively influenced (i.e. by turning the cooling device 2 on and off at the desired times). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided for selectively influencing the setting device in order to have better controlled the riveting process.
Claims 15 and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 22 and 27-31 of ‘510 in view of Speller or Rechton et al.
Regarding instant claim 15, the claims of ‘510 do not disclose moving the pressing device such that the workpiece is shaped to form an elevated portion and pressing the functional element against the workpiece elevated portion. However, Speller teaches a method of moving a pressing device (22, 122) such that a workpiece (14) is shaped to form an elevated portion (dimple 238 raised beyond the lower surface of the workpiece, noting that “elevated” is relative and no directionality for up/down is defined in the claim) and pressing a functional element (rivet 70) against the workpiece elevated portion (see Figs. 5-12). Alternatively, Rechton similarly teaches a method of moving a pressing device (24, 28) such that a workpiece (54) is shaped to form an elevated portion (Figs. 3-6) and pressing a functional element against the workpiece elevated portion (implied at column 1, lines 7-10). In either case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have moved the pressing device such that the workpiece is shaped to form an elevated portion and pressing the functional element against the workpiece elevated portion in order to have formed a space to receive the rivet head for flush mounting, for example.
Instant claims 17-20 are otherwise anticipated by claims 28-31 of ‘510, respectively.
Claim 16 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 22-23 of ‘510 in view of Liebrecht et al. and Speller or Rechton et al.
The claims of ‘510 recite method substantially as claimed except for wherein the first and/or the second tool half is/are thermally influenced by means of a conditioning device, and moving the pressing device such that the workpiece is shaped to form an elevated portion and pressing the functional element against the workpiece elevated portion.
However, Liebrecht et al. teaches a first and/or second tool half having a conditioning device with which the first tool half and/or the second tool half can be thermally influenced (heating the tool halves by current and/or cooling by cooling device 6 - column 2, lines 53-56; column 3, lines 5-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a conditioning device in order to have prevented negative effects on the quality of the joint.
Speller teaches a method of moving a pressing device (22, 122) such that a workpiece (14) is shaped to form an elevated portion (dimple 238 raised beyond the lower surface of the workpiece, noting that “elevated” is relative and no directionality for up/down is defined in the claim) and pressing a functional element (rivet 70) against the workpiece elevated portion (see Figs. 5-12). Alternatively, Rechton similarly teaches a method of moving a pressing device (24, 28) such that a workpiece (54) is shaped to form an elevated portion (Figs. 3-6) and pressing a functional element against the workpiece elevated portion (implied at column 1, lines 7-10). In either case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have moved the pressing device such that the workpiece is shaped to form an elevated portion and pressing the functional element against the workpiece elevated portion in order to have formed a space to receive the rivet head for flush mounting, for example.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/17/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments essentially rely on amendments to the claims to overcome the prior art of record. The claims have been addressed in the new grounds above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726