DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) were submitted on 02/14/2025, 02/27/2025, 06/02/2025, 01/02/2026, 03/03/2026 and 04/06/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9-12 and 15-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 3, “a viscous medium” should be --the viscous medium--.
Claim 1 line 4, “the shaft” should be –the rotating shaft--. Similar correction is required in claims 3-4, 6, 10-12 and 15-17.
Claim 3 line 3, “the conductive filaments” should be –the plurality of conductive filaments--.
Claim 9 lines 1-2, “wherein second plurality distributed” should be -- wherein the second plurality of conductive filaments are distributed--.
Claim 9 line 2, “the inner diameter” should be -- the interior diameter--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hubert (US 20210293279 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hubert teaches a grounding brush assembly ([0022], conductive assembly 10 functions as a grounding device) to mitigate electric current ([0022], to prevent current or charge from passing through the bearing 1) in a rotating shaft (abstract, electrically conductive assembly is for a bearing disposed about a shaft) in the presence of a viscous medium ([0023], unhindered flow of fluids, particularly lubricants and air), the grounding brush assembly comprising a plurality of conductive filaments ([0026], first conductive fibers 20 … second conductive fibers 24) configured to extend through a viscous medium surrounding the rotating shaft ([0023], separate passage 22 is defined between each pair of adjacent, but spaced apart, conductors 14 … passages 22 permit the unhindered flow of fluids, particularly lubricants and air) to be in electrical contact with the rotating shaft when the brush assembly is disposed proximate the shaft ([0022], The plurality/set 15 of conductive fibers 20 provide paths for electric charge or current to pass from the rotating shaft 2, through the plurality of fibers 20 and to the retainer 12, to thereafter flow to the housing 3).
Regarding claim 2, Hubert teaches the grounding brush assembly as defined in claim 1, wherein the viscous medium comprises an oil ([0023], unhindered flow of fluids, particularly lubricants).
Regarding claim 4, Hubert taches a grounding brush assembly ([0022], conductive assembly 10 functions as a grounding device) to mitigate electric current ([0022], to prevent current or charge from passing through the bearing 1) in a rotating shaft (abstract, electrically conductive assembly is for a bearing disposed about a shaft) in the presence of an oil ([0023], unhindered flow of fluids, particularly lubricants), the grounding brush assembly comprising:
a first plurality of conductive filaments ([0026], a set 15 of first conductive fibers 20) having a first stiffness (it is necessarily true that conductive fibers have a stiffness); and
a second plurality of conductive filaments ([0026], a set 17 of second conductive fibers 24) having a second stiffness (it is necessarily true that conductive fibers have a stiffness), wherein one or more conductive filaments is configured to extend through the oil ([0023], separate passage 22 is defined between each pair of adjacent, but spaced apart, conductors 14 … passages 22 permit the unhindered flow of fluids, particularly lubricants and air) to be in electrical continuity with the rotating shaft when the brush assembly is disposed proximate the shaft ([0022], The plurality/set 15 of conductive fibers 20 provide paths for electric charge or current to pass from the rotating shaft 2, through the plurality of fibers 20 and to the retainer 12, to thereafter flow to the housing 3).
Regarding claim 5, Hubert teaches the grounding brush assembly as defined in claim 4, wherein the first plurality of conductive filaments has a first diameter or a first length, and the second plurality of conductive filaments has a second diameter or a second length ([0028], each conductive fiber 24 of the spacers 16 has a radial length r.sub.S substantially lesser than a radial length r.sub.C of each conductive fiber 20 of each conductor 14).
Regarding claim 6, Hubert teaches the grounding brush assembly as defined in claim 4, wherein the brush assembly is configured to be mounted on the shaft ([0021], electrically conductive assembly 10 for a bearing 1 disposed about a shaft 2 rotatable), and the first or second plurality of conductive filaments are configured to extend from an interior diameter of the assembly radially inward toward the shaft ([0021], an annular retainer 12 and at least two arcuate conductors 14 extending radially inwardly from the retainer 12).
Regarding claim 7, Hubert teaches the grounding brush assembly as defined in claim 6, wherein the first and second plurality of conductive filaments are equally distributed about the inner diameter ([0025], at least two sets 15 of the first conductive fibers 20 and at least two sets 17 of the second conductive fibers 24 are spaced alternately and circumferentially about the retainer centerline).
Regarding claim 8, Hubert teaches the grounding brush assembly as defined in claim 6, wherein the first plurality of conductive filaments is distributed about the inner diameter with a first distribution pattern, and the second plurality of conductive filaments is distributed about the inner diameter with a first distribution pattern ([0025], at least two sets 15 of the first conductive fibers 20 and at least two sets 17 of the second conductive fibers 24 are spaced alternately and circumferentially about the retainer centerline).
Regarding claim 9, Hubert teaches the grounding brush assembly as defined in claim 6, wherein second plurality distributed about the inner diameter with a second density ([0022], The plurality/set 15 of conductive fibers 20 provide paths for electric charge) (it is necessarily true that the set has a density).
Regarding claim 13, Hubert teaches the grounding brush assembly as defined in claim 4, wherein one or more of the first plurality of conductive filaments or the second plurality of conductive filaments comprises a composite fiber ([0028], conductive fiber 20, 24 is preferably formed of carbon but may alternatively be fabricated of any appropriate electrically conductive material, such as a metallic material, a conductive polymer).
Regarding claim 14, Hubert teaches the grounding brush assembly as defined in claim 4, wherein the first or second plurality of conductive filaments comprise at least one of carbon fiber, nickel, stainless steel, a woven fiber, or a conductive plastic ([0028], conductive fiber 20, 24 is preferably formed of carbon but may alternatively be fabricated of any appropriate electrically conductive material, such as a metallic material, a conductive polymer).
Regarding claim 15, Hubert teaches the grounding brush assembly as defined in claim 4, wherein the first or second plurality of conductive filaments are configured to be in electrical contact with the shaft by at least one of direct contact with the rotating shaft ([0022], radially inner end 14b contactable with the shaft 2 … provide paths for electric charge or current to pass from the rotating shaft 2).
Regarding claim 16, Hubert teaches the grounding brush assembly as defined in claim 4, further configured to be coupled to an electrical ground to provide an electrical path between the rotating shaft and the electrical ground ([0022], the conductive assembly 10 functions as a grounding device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hubert (US 20210293279 A1), and further in view of Nye (US 20190081538 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Hubert teaches the grounding brush assembly as defined in claim 1.
Hubert does not teach, wherein the viscous medium is configured to be distributed about the shaft by force applied through contact with at least a portion of the plurality of conductive filaments during rotation of the shaft.
Nye teaches in a similar field of endeavor of mitigating electrical voltage on a rotating shaft, a viscous medium is configured to be distributed about the shaft by force applied through contact with at least a portion of the plurality of conductive filaments during rotation of the shaft ([0041], the conductive coating 58 can be applied to an interface between the conductive filaments 50 and the shaft 16 … The conductive coating 58 may then be distributed to other conductive filaments 50 and/or surfaces of the shaft 16 via rotation of the shaft 16).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the viscous medium is configured to be distributed about the shaft by force applied through contact with at least a portion of the plurality of conductive filaments during rotation of the shaft in Hubert, as taught by Nye, as it provides the advantage of optimally distributing lubricant to reduce friction.
Regarding claim 10, Hubert teaches the grounding brush assembly as defined in claim 4.
Hubert does not teach, wherein the oil creates a film between the shaft and one or more of the first or second plurality of conductive filaments.
Nye teaches in a similar field of endeavor of mitigating electrical voltage on a rotating shaft, oil creates a film between the shaft and one or more of the first or second plurality of conductive filaments ([0041], the conductive coating 58 can be applied to an interface between the conductive filaments 50 and the shaft 16).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the oil creates a film between the shaft and one or more of the first or second plurality of conductive filaments in Hubert, as taught by Nye, as it provides the advantage of optimal design to reduce friction.
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, Hubert and Nye teach the grounding brush assembly as defined in claim 11, wherein contact between the first plurality of conductive filaments and the oil results in a first force against the oil, and contact between the second plurality of conductive filaments and the oil results in a second force against the oil during rotation of the shaft (Hubert, [0027], wo conductive legs 20c, 20d and the radial extent or length r.sub.C, r.sub.S of each fiber 20 or 24 is half the fiber overall linear length) (due to the difference in lengths, the conductive fibers 20 and 24 will necessarily experience different forces by the combination of oil and shaft).
Regarding claim 17, Hubert and Nye substantially teach the claim limitations as stated above for claim 3. Hubert and Nye further teach, a film having a threshold thickness (Nye, [0041], The conductive coating 58 may then be distributed to other conductive filaments 50 and/or surfaces of the shaft 16) (it is necessarily true that the coating will have a thickness).
Conclusion
/SREEYA SREEVATSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 10/19/2026