DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 19053788 filed 2/14/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 2/14/25 has been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-“a control unit (generic placeholder) configured to determine an aspect of operation…..(function)” in claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claims 1 and 2 recite the limitations “determine an aspect of operation”, “when determined aspect of the operation is a first aspect……is a second aspect……is a third aspect”. Based on description in specification in paragraph [0028] and what is shown in Figures 2 and 4 of drawings, the examiner just wants to clarify that the term “aspect” is just referring to the actual operation of operator (or lever) operated by driver. Examiner needs to understand why the term “aspect” is being used to refer to “operation of operator or lever”, please clarify. The term seems to suggest that there should be other parameters/conditions determined when the operator/lever is in the auto, manual or non-control modes. There is no need to remove term itself, but maybe amend claims just clarify its meaning within limitations as recited (of course according to what is disclosed in original disclosure as filed avoiding new matter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tambo et al 20250033689. As to claim 1, Tambo discloses a control mode switching apparatus for a vehicle that switches a control mode among a non-control mode (Figure 2, preparation mode; or [0067], cancel mode or abstract, [0057], non-controlling state) in which a control amount is not changed, an auto mode (automatic steering mode) in which the control amount is automatically changed, and a manual mode (manual steering mode) in which the control amount is manually changed, the control mode switching apparatus comprising: an operator to be operated by a driver (3 and 37); and a control unit (1) configured to determine an aspect of operation when the operator is operated and switch the control mode based on the determined aspect of the operation, wherein the control unit is configured to perform switching between the non-control mode and the auto mode ([0058]-[0063]), switching between the non-control mode and the manual mode (Figure 2, via operation 01; [0055]), and switching between the auto mode and the manual mode in accordance with the determined aspect of the operation ([0071]).
As to claim 2, Tambo discloses a control mode switching apparatus for a vehicle that switches a control mode among a non-control mode in which a control amount is not changed (Figure 2, preparation mode; or [0067], cancel mode or abstract, [0057], non-controlling state), an auto mode (automatic steering mode) in which the control amount is automatically changed, and a manual mode (manual steering mode) in which the control amount is manually changed, the control mode switching apparatus comprising: an operator to be operated by a driver (3 and 37); and a control unit (1) configured to determine an aspect of operation when the operator is operated by a driver and switch the control mode based on the determined aspect of the operation, wherein the control unit is configured to switch a current control mode to the auto mode when the determined aspect of the operation is a first aspect ([0060]-[0063]), switch the current control mode to the manual mode when the determined aspect of the operation is a second aspect ([0071]), and switch the current control mode to the non-control mode when the determined aspect of the operation is a third aspect ([0067]-[0069]).
As to claim 3, wherein at least the first ([0060]) and the second aspects ([0071]) are different from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tambo in view of JP 2008051300 (with machine translation). As to claims 4 and 5, Tambo discloses the operator (3) provided at a steering wheel and is used to change a shift position (between forward and backward movement of vehicle, [0048], lines 11-14; [0060], lines 3-4), however, Tambo doesn’t explicitly disclose the use of a paddle shift at least one of a left or right lever of steering wheel as recited.
JP discloses a control mode switching apparatus for a vehicle and shows that it is well known in the art to provide an operator at least one of a left or right lever (3a, 3b) of a paddle shift that is provided at a steering wheel (5) and is to be used to change a shift position (abstract).
It would have been obvious (design choice) to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the steering wheel in Tambo with a paddle shift in view of JP to provide a secure operating component for shifting in close proximity to steering wheel versus having to remove hand to a different area away from steering wheel for shifting which gives driver more comfort during operation of vehicle.
As to claims 6 and 7, Tambo discloses the operator is a shift lever ([0118]) of automatic steering having a manual steering mode, but doesn’t disclose the lever being for an automatic transmission having a manual steering mode as recited.
JP discloses a control mode switching apparatus for a vehicle and shows that it is well known in the art to provide an operator is a shift lever (2) of an automatic transmission having a manual transmission mode (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the shift lever in Tambo with an automatic transmission control having a manual transmission mode in view of JP to provide control of transmission ratios within vehicle during the multiple modes (as shown in Figure 2 in Tambo) which increases operating efficiency of vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-WO 2024075672 discloses a control mode switching apparatus and shows that it is well known in the art to provide an auto mode, manual mode and standby mode having a control unit switch between the modes as selected by operator (abstract and as shown on page 1). This prior art does meet the limitations as recited in at least claims 1 and 2.
-Ehrmaier et al 6260432 discloses a control mode switching apparatus and shows that it is well known in the art to provide an auto mode (is considered holding of constant speed mode), manual mode and cruise mode, but lacks describing that a control unit switches between the modes as selected by operator.
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 February 7, 2026