DETAILED ACTION
This rejection is in response to application filed 02/14/2025.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-134960, JP2022-134970, JP2022-134953, JP2022-134956, JP2022-134976, JP2022-134936, filed on 08/26/2022.
Claim Interpretation- 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
Claims 1-15 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 1 and 14: an image storage unit configured to store image data …; a center point setting unit configured to set a center point in the shooting area; a composite image generator configured to generate ….; and a sales controller configured to sell image data stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator …
Claim 2: and the sales controller sells image data generated by the camera corresponding to a selected angle stored in the image storage unit …, and sells composite image data generated by the composite image generator ....
Claim 3: the sales controller sells image data stored in the image storage unit …, and sells composite image data generated by the composite image generator ....
Claim 4: a specific object following unit configured to follow …followed by the specific object following unit as the center point.
Claim 5: a specific object disappearance determination unit configured to determine … the composite image generator generates …when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines …; and the composite image generator generates …, when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines ...
Claim 6: the sales controller sells the composite image data generated by the composite image generator when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines …generated by the composite image generator when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines ....
Claim 7: the center point setting unit sets …; the composite image generator generates …; and the sales controller sells, as content, image data stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator ...
Claim 8: the sales controller sells ....
Claim 9: an obstacle determination unit configured to determine …wherein the composite image generator generates …when the obstacle determination unit determines ....
Claim 10: when the obstacle determination unit determines …, and when the composite image generator generates the composite image data …, the sales controller sells …when the obstacle determination unit determines …, and the composite image generator generates ...
Claim 12: a three-dimension division angle setting unit configured to divide …, wherein the sales controller sells the content for each angle set in the three-dimension division angle setting unit.
Claim 13: the sales controller sells ...
Claim 15: setting a center point in the shooting area by a center point setting unit included in a content sales server; …; and selling image data stored in the image storage unit …
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-15 fail to comply with the written description requirement because the claims recite generic placeholders performing the entire claimed function and the specification does not disclose adequate structure (or material or acts) for performing the recited function in the following limitations:
Claims 1 and 14: an image storage unit configured to store image data …; a center point setting unit configured to set a center point in the shooting area; a composite image generator configured to generate ….; and a sales controller configured to sell image data stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator …
Claim 2: and the sales controller sells image data generated by the camera corresponding to a selected angle stored in the image storage unit …, and sells composite image data generated by the composite image generator ....
Claim 3: the sales controller sells image data stored in the image storage unit …, and sells composite image data generated by the composite image generator ....
Claim 4: a specific object following unit configured to follow …followed by the specific object following unit as the center point.
Claim 5: a specific object disappearance determination unit configured to determine … the composite image generator generates …when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines …; and the composite image generator generates …, when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines ...
Claim 6: the sales controller sells the composite image data generated by the composite image generator when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines …generated by the composite image generator when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines ....
Claim 7: the center point setting unit sets …; the composite image generator generates …; and the sales controller sells, as content, image data stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator ...
Claim 8: the sales controller sells ....
Claim 9: an obstacle determination unit configured to determine …wherein the composite image generator generates …when the obstacle determination unit determines ....
Claim 10: when the obstacle determination unit determines …, and when the composite image generator generates the composite image data …, the sales controller sells …when the obstacle determination unit determines …, and the composite image generator generates ...
Claim 12: a three-dimension division angle setting unit configured to divide …, wherein the sales controller sells the content for each angle set in the three-dimension division angle setting unit.
Claim 13: the sales controller sells ...
Claim 15: setting a center point in the shooting area by a center point setting unit included in a content sales server; …; and selling image data stored in the image storage unit …
Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 recites: an image storage unit configured to store image data generated by a plurality of cameras when each of the plurality of cameras is arranged to face an inside of a shooting area, and the plurality of cameras shoot a subject located in the shooting area; a center point setting unit configured to set a center point in the shooting area; a composite image generator configured to generate composite image data corresponding to image data obtained by shooting the subject from a position at a predetermined angle in any direction from the center point, based on image data generated by at least two cameras adjacent in a circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras, with a predetermined direction from the center point taken as an angle of 0 degrees; and a sales controller configured to sell image data stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator as content when a purchaser of content selects an angle in any direction from the center point to purchase the content, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the first recitation of image data, composite image data, and content is the same or different from the subsequent recitations of image data, composite image data, and content. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 2 recites: and the sales controller sells image data generated by the camera corresponding to a selected angle stored in the image storage unit as content when a purchaser of content purchases content by selecting an angle in a direction in which one of the plurality of cameras is located, and sells composite image data generated by the composite image generator as content when the purchaser purchases content by selecting an angle in a direction between two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the first recitation of image data, composite image data, a purchaser, two cameras adjacent, and content is the same or different from the subsequent recitations of image data, composite image data, a purchaser, two cameras adjacent, and content. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 3 recites: the sales controller sells image data stored in the image storage unit at a first selling price, and sells composite image data generated by the composite image generator at a second selling price lower than the first selling price, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the first recitation of image data and composite image data is the same or different from the subsequent recitations of image data and composite image data. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 5 recites: and composite image data with deteriorated image quality is forced to be generated, due to a position of the center point in the shooting area, wherein: the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines that the state of image quality deterioration does not occur; and the composite image generator generates the composite image data, based on image data generated only by a second camera, which is the other camera of the two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction and whose center point is not out of the viewing angle, or based on image data generated by the second camera and image data generated by a third camera other than the first and second cameras, whose center point is within the viewing angle, when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines that the state of image quality deterioration occurs, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the first recitation of image data, composite image data, and two cameras adjacent is the same or different from the subsequent recitations of image data, composite image data, and two cameras adjacent. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 7 recites: the composite image generator generates composite image data corresponding to image data obtained by shooting a subject located at each center point from a position at a predetermined angle in any direction from each center point, based on image data generated by at least two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras, with a predetermined direction from each center point of the plurality of center points set in the shooting area as an angle of 0 degrees; and the sales controller sells, as content, image data stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator corresponding to the selected angle at the selected center point when the purchaser of content selects one of the center points and selects an angle in any direction from the selected center point to purchase the content, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the first recitation of image data, composite image data, at least two cameras adjacent, a subject, a position at a predetermined angle, a predetermined direction, an angle of 0 degrees, content, an angle in any direction from the selected center point is the same or different from the subsequent recitations of image data, composite image data, at least two cameras adjacent, a subject, a position at a predetermined angle, a predetermined direction, an angle of 0 degrees, content, and an angle in any direction from the selected center point. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 8 recites: the sales controller sells the content at the angle in the selected direction at two center points to only one purchaser for one time period when the direction selected from the selected center points coincides with the direction of a connecting line connecting the two center points including the selected center points in the plurality of center points, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the first recitation of the selected direction is the same or different from the subsequent recitation of the direction selected. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 9 recites: further comprising an obstacle determination unit configured to determine whether an obstacle is present that hinders shooting of the subject when each camera shoots the subject; wherein the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by one or more other cameras capable of shooting the subject without being affected by the obstacle when the obstacle determination unit determines that an obstacle is present when the camera selected for generating the composite image data shoots the subject, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the first recitation of image data and an obstacle is the same or different from the subsequent recitation of image data and an obstacle. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 10 recites: wherein, when the obstacle determination unit determines that an obstacle is present during shooting of the subject by the camera selected for generating the composite image data, and when the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by the one or more other cameras, the sales controller sells the composite image data at a selling price discounted compared to a selling price of the composite image data when the obstacle determination unit determines that no obstacle is present during shooting of the subject by the camera selected for generating the composite image data, and the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by the selected camera, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the first recitation of image data and an obstacle is the same or different from the subsequent recitation of image data and an obstacle. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 14 recites: storing image data generated by a plurality of cameras using an image storage unit included in a content sales server, when each of the plurality of cameras is arranged to face the inside of a shooting area, and the plurality of cameras shoot a subject located in the shooting area; setting a center point in the shooting area by a center point setting unit included in the content sales server; generating composite image data corresponding to image data obtained by shooting the subject from a position at a predetermined angle in any direction from the center point, with a composite image generator included in the content sales server, based on image data generated by at least two cameras adjacent in a circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras, with a predetermined direction from the center point taken as an angle of 0 degrees; and selling image data stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator as content with a sales controller, when a purchaser of content selects an angle in any direction from the center point to purchase the content, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the first recitation of image data, composite image data, and content is the same or different from the subsequent recitation of image data, composite image data, and content. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 15 recites: storing image data generated by a plurality of cameras when each camera in the plurality of cameras is arranged to face the inside of a shooting area, and the plurality of cameras shoot a subject located in the shooting area; setting a center point in the shooting area by a center point setting unit included in a content sales server; generating composite image data corresponding to image data obtained by shooting the subject from a position at a predetermined angle in any direction from the center point, based on image data generated by at least two cameras adjacent in a circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras, with a predetermined direction from the center point taken as an angle of 0 degrees; and selling image data stored in the image storage unit or composite image data as content when a purchaser of content selects an angle in any direction from the center point to purchase the content, rendering said claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the first recitation of image data, composite image data, and content is the same or different from the subsequent recitation of image data, composite image data, and content. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following limitations in:
Claim 5:
the viewing angle of a first camera;
Claim 7:
the plurality of center points
the selected angle at the selected center point;
Claim 8 recites:
the selected direction;
the selected center points;
the direction of a connecting line.
Claim 9 recites:
the camera selected.
Claim 10 recites:
the selected camera.
Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claims 1-15 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Claims 1-15 recite generic placeholders performing the entire claimed function, however, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure to the function in the following limitations:
Claims 1 and 14: an image storage unit configured to store image data …; a center point setting unit configured to set a center point in the shooting area; a composite image generator configured to generate ….; and a sales controller configured to sell image data stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator …
Claim 2: and the sales controller sells image data generated by the camera corresponding to a selected angle stored in the image storage unit …, and sells composite image data generated by the composite image generator ....
Claim 3: the sales controller sells image data stored in the image storage unit …, and sells composite image data generated by the composite image generator ....
Claim 4: a specific object following unit configured to follow …followed by the specific object following unit as the center point.
Claim 5: a specific object disappearance determination unit configured to determine … the composite image generator generates …when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines …; and the composite image generator generates …, when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines ...
Claim 6: the sales controller sells the composite image data generated by the composite image generator when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines …generated by the composite image generator when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines ....
Claim 7: the center point setting unit sets …; the composite image generator generates …; and the sales controller sells, as content, image data stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator ...
Claim 8: the sales controller sells ....
Claim 9: an obstacle determination unit configured to determine …wherein the composite image generator generates …when the obstacle determination unit determines ....
Claim 10: when the obstacle determination unit determines …, and when the composite image generator generates the composite image data …, the sales controller sells …when the obstacle determination unit determines …, and the composite image generator generates ...
Claim 12: a three-dimension division angle setting unit configured to divide …, wherein the sales controller sells the content for each angle set in the three-dimension division angle setting unit.
Claim 13: the sales controller sells ...
Claim 15: setting a center point in the shooting area by a center point setting unit included in a content sales server; …; and selling image data stored in the image storage unit …
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test, it must be considered whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory classes of invention. See MPEP § 2106. In the instant case, claims 1-13 are directed to a device, claim 14 is directed to a method, and claim 15 is directed to a content sales program stored in a non-transitory storage medium which falls within one of the four statutory categories of invention(process/apparatus). Accordingly, the claims will be further analyzed under revised step 2:
Under step 2A (prong 1) of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test, it must be considered whether the claims recite a judicial exception if so, then determine in Prong Two if the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception. If the claim recites a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea), the claim requires further analysis in Prong Two. One of the enumerated groupings of abstract ideas is defined as certain methods of organizing human activity that includes fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
Regarding representative independent claim 1, recites the abstract idea of:
…face an inside of a shooting area …shoot a subject located in the shooting area;
a center point setting unit configured to set a center point in the shooting area;
…corresponding to image data obtained by shooting the subject from a position at a predetermined angle in any direction from the center point, based on image data…, with a predetermined direction from the center point taken as an angle of 0 degrees; and
a sales controller configured to sell image data …or composite image data…as content when a purchaser of content selects an angle in any direction from the center point to purchase the content.
The above-recited limitations amounts to certain methods of organizing human activity associated with sales activities and commercial interaction including selling images to a purchaser based on a selected angle from the center point that is set in a shooting area. Such concepts have been considered ineligible certain methods of organizing human activity by the Courts. See MPEP § 2106.
The Step 2A (prong 2) of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test, is the next step in the eligibility analyses and looks at whether the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. This requires an additional element or combination of additional elements in the claims to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. See MPEP § 2106.
In this instance, the claims recite the additional elements such as:
Claim 1: A content sales device comprising: an image storage unit configured to store image data generated by a plurality of cameras when each of the plurality of cameras is arranged to…, and the plurality of cameras …; a composite image generator configured to generate composite image data… by at least two cameras adjacent in a circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras,…; and…stored in the image storage unit or … generated by the composite image generator ....
Claim 2: The content sales device according to claim 1, wherein each camera in the plurality of cameras is arranged to face the center point set in the shooting area; … generated by the camera …stored in the image storage unit ….generated by the composite image generator ….
Claim 3: The content sales device according to claim 2, … stored in the image storage unit …generated by the composite image generator ....
Claim 4: The content sales device according to claim 1, …by the plurality of cameras,...
Claim 5: The content sales device according to claim 4, …a first camera that is one of two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction of the plurality of cameras, and composite image data with deteriorated image quality is forced to be generated, …,wherein: the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras …; and the composite image generator generates the composite image data, …by a second camera, which is the other camera of the two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction …by the second camera and …by a third camera other than the first and second cameras, ...
Claim 6: The content sales device according to claim 5, …. the composite image data generated by the composite image generator …the composite image data generated by the composite image generator ...
Claim 7: The content sales device according to claim 1, …the composite image generator generates composite image data …by at least two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras, …stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator...
Claim 9: The content sales device according to claim 1, … each camera shoots …; wherein the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by one or more other cameras …the camera selected for generating the composite image data shoots ....
Claim 10: The content sales device according to claim 9, …by the camera selected for generating the composite image data, and when the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by the one or more other cameras, … by the camera selected for generating the composite image data, and the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by the selected camera.
Claim 11: The content sales device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of cameras ...;
Claim 14: storing image data generated by a plurality of cameras using an image storage unit included in a content sales server, when each of the plurality of cameras…, and the plurality of cameras …;…the content sales server; generating composite image data …., with a composite image generator included in the content sales server,…by at least two cameras adjacent in a circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras, …; and…stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator ...
Claim 15: A content sales program stored in a non-transitory storage medium causing a computer to execute the steps of: storing image data generated by a plurality of cameras when each camera in the plurality of cameras …, and the plurality of cameras …;…in a content sales server; generating composite image data …by at least two cameras adjacent in a circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras, …; and … stored in the image storage unit or….
However, these elements do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Independent claims and dependent claims also fail to recite elements which amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. For example, independent claims and dependent claims are directed to the abstract idea itself and do not amount to an integration according to any one of the considerations above.
Step 2B is the next step in the eligibility analyses and evaluates whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (i.e., “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. According to Office procedure, revised Step 2A overlaps with Step 2B, and thus, many of the considerations need not be re-evaluated in Step 2B because the answer will be the same. See MPEP § 2106.
In Step 2A, several additional elements were identified as additional limitations:
Claim 1: A content sales device comprising: an image storage unit configured to store image data generated by a plurality of cameras when each of the plurality of cameras is arranged to…, and the plurality of cameras …; a composite image generator configured to generate composite image data… by at least two cameras adjacent in a circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras,…; and…stored in the image storage unit or … generated by the composite image generator ....
Claim 2: The content sales device according to claim 1, wherein each camera in the plurality of cameras is arranged to face the center point set in the shooting area; … generated by the camera …stored in the image storage unit ….generated by the composite image generator ….
Claim 3: The content sales device according to claim 2, … stored in the image storage unit …generated by the composite image generator ....
Claim 4: The content sales device according to claim 1, …by the plurality of cameras,...
Claim 5: The content sales device according to claim 4, …a first camera that is one of two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction of the plurality of cameras, and composite image data with deteriorated image quality is forced to be generated, …,wherein: the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras …; and the composite image generator generates the composite image data, …by a second camera, which is the other camera of the two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction …by the second camera and …by a third camera other than the first and second cameras, ...
Claim 6: The content sales device according to claim 5, …. the composite image data generated by the composite image generator …the composite image data generated by the composite image generator ...
Claim 7: The content sales device according to claim 1, …the composite image generator generates composite image data …by at least two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras, …stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator...
Claim 9: The content sales device according to claim 1, … each camera shoots …; wherein the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by one or more other cameras …the camera selected for generating the composite image data shoots ....
Claim 10: The content sales device according to claim 9, …by the camera selected for generating the composite image data, and when the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by the one or more other cameras, … by the camera selected for generating the composite image data, and the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by the selected camera.
Claim 11: The content sales device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of cameras ...;
Claim 14: storing image data generated by a plurality of cameras using an image storage unit included in a content sales server, when each of the plurality of cameras…, and the plurality of cameras …;…the content sales server; generating composite image data …., with a composite image generator included in the content sales server,…by at least two cameras adjacent in a circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras, …; and…stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator ...
Claim 15: A content sales program stored in a non-transitory storage medium causing a computer to execute the steps of: storing image data generated by a plurality of cameras when each camera in the plurality of cameras …, and the plurality of cameras …;…in a content sales server; generating composite image data …by at least two cameras adjacent in a circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras, …; and … stored in the image storage unit or…
These additional limitations, including the limitations in the independent claims and dependent claims, do not amount to an inventive concept because the recitations above do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. In addition, they were already analyzed under Step 2A and did not amount to a practical application of the abstract idea.
For these reasons, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller et al. (US Pub. No. 20160353022 A1, hereinafter “Mueller”) in view of Tummons et al. (US Pub. No. 20140067515 A1, hereinafter “Tummons”).
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 15
A content sales device comprising (Mueller, [0162]: device):
an image storage unit configured to store image data generated by a plurality of cameras when each of the plurality of cameras is arranged to face an inside of a shooting area, and the plurality of cameras shoot a subject located in the shooting area (Mueller, FIGs. 4-5, [0102]: centering system 52 includes three cameras or image capturing devices 54a, 54b and 54c positioned such that they are directed toward the point where the object to be imaged is optimally centered; [0175]: store video image; [0187]: merged video images saved; [0015]: storing the captured video image in the storage device);
a center point setting unit configured to set a center point in the shooting area (Mueller, [0009]: centering lines for alignment markings; [0016]: subject is centered at focal point; [0027]: The camera can be moved up and down to center or align the patient; [0104]:positioning the patient along the center axis);
a composite image generator configured to generate composite image data corresponding to image data obtained by shooting the subject from a position at a predetermined angle in any direction from the center point, based on image data generated by at least two cameras adjacent in a circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras, with a predetermined direction from the center point taken as an angle of 0 degrees (Mueller, [0021]: merging video frames into merged frames; FIG. 4, [0102]: images from three cameras including x-axis camera 54A; Fig. 4, [0034]: circular path; [0106]: the patient is seated as desired along the center axis and images taken from camera 360 degrees);
and …image data stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator as content …selects an angle in any direction from the center point …(Mueller, [0187]: merged video images saved; [0015]: storing the captured video image in the storage device; [0115]: the user has different angles to choose from after shooting the scene with cameras).
Mueller does not teach:
a sales controller configured to sell… when a purchaser of content selects… to purchase the content .
However, Tummons teaches:
a sales controller configured to sell… when a purchaser of content selects… to purchase the content (Tummons, [0016] The marketplace manager 111 facilitates sales of content items to the buyer 120 who operates a client device 155. For example, the marketplace manager 111 may provide indications and/or samples of available content items to the client device 155. The buyer 120 may then operate the client device 155 to select a content item, and to transmit an indication to purchase the selected content item along with payment information; [0012]: facilitate transactions for content items (e.g. images)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the content items (e.g. image data or composite image data) of Mueller with selling the content items to a purchaser that selects the content as taught by Tummons because the results of such a modification would be predictable. Specifically, Mueller would continue to teach the content items except that now selling the content items to a purchaser that selects the content is taught according to the teachings of Tummons in order to facilitate transactions of content items. This is a predictable result of the combination. (Tummons, [0012]).
Regarding claim 2
The combination of Mueller and Tummons teaches the content sales device according to claim 1, wherein each camera in the plurality of cameras is arranged to face the center point set in the shooting area; and …image data generated by the camera corresponding to a selected angle stored in the image storage unit as content …by selecting an angle in a direction in which one of the plurality of cameras is located, and …composite image data generated by the composite image generator as content when …selecting an angle in a direction between two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras (Mueller, FIGs. 4-5, [0102]: plurality of cameras directed toward the point where the object to be imaged is optimally centered; [0175]: store video image; [0187]: merged video images saved; [0015]: storing the captured video image in the storage device; [0021]: merging video frames into merged frames; FIG. 4, [0102]: images from three cameras including x-axis camera 54A; Fig. 4, [0034]: circular path; [0106]: the patient is seated as desired along the center axis and images taken from camera 360 degrees)
Mueller does not teach:
the sales controller sells… when a purchaser of content purchases content… sells… the purchaser purchases content by selecting…
However, Tummons teaches:
the sales controller sells… when a purchaser of content purchases content… sells… the purchaser purchases content by selecting…
(Tummons, [0016] The marketplace manager 111 facilitates sales of content items to the buyer 120 who operates a client device 155. For example, the marketplace manager 111 may provide indications and/or samples of available content items to the client device 155. The buyer 120 may then operate the client device 155 to select a content item, and to transmit an indication to purchase the selected content item along with payment information; [0012]: facilitate transactions for content items (e.g. images).
The motivation to combine Mueller and Tummons is the same as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3
The combination of Mueller and Tummons teaches the content sales device according to claim 2,
wherein …image data stored in the image storage unit …composite image data generated by the composite image generator …(Mueller, [0015]: storing the captured video image in the storage device; [0187]: merged video images saved).
However, Tummons teaches:
the sales controller sells… at a first selling price, and sells… at a second selling price lower than the first selling price (Tummons, [0016] The marketplace manager 111 facilitates sales of content items; [0012]: facilitate transactions for content items (e.g. images); [0030]: original price and discounted price; [0032]: sell a content item at a discount price for particular time); .
The motivation to combine Mueller and Tummons is the same as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4
The combination of Mueller and Tummons teaches the content sales device according to claim 1, further comprising a specific object following unit configured to follow a specific object from the subject that has been shot by the plurality of cameras, wherein the center point setting unit sets any position of the specific object followed by the specific object following unit as the center point (Mueller, [0009]: centering lines for alignment markings; [0016]: rotating around the subject centered at the focal point; [0027]: The camera can be moved up and down to center or align the patient; [0104]:positioning the patient along the center axis; FIGs. 4-5, [0102]: plurality of cameras directed toward the point where the object to be imaged is optimally centered).
Regarding claim 5
The combination of Mueller and Tummons teaches the content sales device according to claim 4, further comprising a specific object disappearance determination unit configured to determine whether or not a state of image quality deterioration occurs, in which the center point is out of the viewing angle of a first camera that is one of two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction of the plurality of cameras, and composite image data with deteriorated image quality is forced to be generated, due to a position of the center point in the shooting area, wherein: the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines that the state of image quality deterioration does not occur; and the composite image generator generates the composite image data, based on image data generated only by a second camera, which is the other camera of the two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction and whose center point is not out of the viewing angle, or based on image data generated by the second camera and image data generated by a third camera other than the first and second cameras, whose center point is within the viewing angle, when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines that the state of image quality deterioration occurs (Mueller, FIG. 54-55, [0200]: determine how close the subject is to being aligned in the center during a scan with live view of imaging camera (e.g. FIG. 54 displays subject that is not centered and outside the tolerance zone and FIG. 55 displays subject inside tolerance zone as centered); FIGS. 54-55, [0201]: a stationary alignment marking 514 image can be automatically generated and detect subject is aligned in center; FIGs. 54-55, [0202]: after generating stationary alignment marking 514 image, align moveable alignment marking 516 with the stationary alignment marking 514 to indicate in the live stream of camera whether the subject is aligned in the center; [0102]: plurality of cameras directed toward the point where the object to be imaged is optimally centered on multiple axes; [0135]: stitch plurality of videos together).
Regarding claim 6
The combination of Mueller and Tummons teaches the content sales device according to claim 5, wherein … the composite image data generated by the composite image generator when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines that the state of image quality deterioration has occurred, …of the composite image data generated by the composite image generator when the specific object disappearance determination unit determines that the state of image quality deterioration does not occur (Mueller, FIG. 54-55, [0200]: determine how close the subject is to being aligned in the center during a scan with live view of imaging camera (e.g. FIG. 54 displays subject that is not centered and outside the tolerance zone and FIG. 55 displays subject inside tolerance zone as centered); FIGS. 54-55, [0201]: a stationary alignment marking 514 image can be automatically generated and detect subject is aligned in center; FIGs. 54-55, [0202]: after generating stationary alignment marking 514 image, align moveable alignment marking 516 with the stationary alignment marking 514 to indicate in the live stream of camera whether the subject is aligned in the center; [0102]: plurality of cameras directed toward the point where the object to be imaged is optimally centered on multiple axes; [0135]: stitch plurality of videos together; [0013]: merging a plurality of scans and positioning subject for alignment).
However, Tummons teaches:
the sales controller sells… at a selling price discounted compared to the selling price…(Tummons, [0016] The marketplace manager 111 facilitates sales of content items; [0012]: facilitate transactions for content items (e.g. images); [0030]: original price and discounted price; [0032]: sell a content item at a discount price for particular time); .
The motivation to combine Mueller and Tummons is the same as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7
The combination of Mueller and Tummons teaches the content sales device according to claim 1, wherein the center point setting unit sets a plurality of center points in the shooting area; the composite image generator generates composite image data corresponding to image data obtained by shooting a subject located at each center point from a position at a predetermined angle in any direction from each center point, based on image data generated by at least two cameras adjacent in the circumferential direction among the plurality of cameras, with a predetermined direction from each center point of the plurality of center points set in the shooting area as an angle of 0 degrees; and …, as content, image data stored in the image storage unit or composite image data generated by the composite image generator corresponding to the selected angle at the selected center point when …selects one of the center points and selects an angle in any direction from the selected center point… (Mueller, FIG. 4, [0102]: image capturing devices 54a, 54b and 54c positioned such that they are directed toward the point where the object to be imaged is optimally centered from multiple axes; Fig. 4, [0034]: circular path; [0106]: the patient is seated as desired along the center axis and images taken from camera 360 degrees; [0021]: merging video frames into merged frames; [0009]: centering lines for alignment markings; [0016]: subject is centered at focal point; [0027]: The camera can be moved up and down to center or align the patient; [0104]:positioning the patient along the center axis; [0115]: the user has different angles to choose from after shooting the scene with cameras).
However, Tummons teaches:
the sales controller sells… when the purchaser of content selects… to purchase the content (Tummons, [0016] The marketplace manager 111 facilitates sales of content items to the buyer 120 who operates a client device 155. For example, the marketplace manager 111 may provide indications and/or samples of available content items to the client device 155. The buyer 120 may then operate the client device 155 to select a content item, and to transmit an indication to purchase the selected content item along with payment information; [0012]: facilitate transactions for content items (e.g. images).
The motivation to combine Mueller and Tummons is the same as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8
The combination of Mueller and Tummons teaches the content sales device according to claim 7, wherein …the content at the angle in the selected direction at two center points …for one time period when the direction selected from the selected center points coincides with the direction of a connecting line connecting the two center points including the selected center points in the plurality of center points (Mueller, FIGs 26-28, [0157]: any number of the alignment systems can be combined such that the imaging camera and screen are positioned at the sides of the patient's head, and the operator has a monitor with alignment indicia (like FIGS. 26-28); [0009]: alignment markings thereon that include at least one of a head alignment circle, centering lines; [0102]: cameras or image capturing devices 54a, 54b and 54c positioned such that they are directed toward the point where the object to be imaged is optimally centered; [0103]: monitors 56a-56c are positioned on the wall and each include circles or markers 58 thereon that represent the optimal centered position; [0104]: the z-axis camera 54c aids in positioning the patient along the center axis, and the x-axis camera 54a and y-axis camera 54b aid the user in finding the desired horizontal level to be imaged; FIGs.54-55, [0200]: during scan alignment window 522 displays how close subject is to being in the center of the two crossing lines showing center).
However, Tummons teaches:
the sales controller sells… to only one purchaser…(Tummons, [0016] The marketplace manager 111 facilitates sales of content items to the buyer 120 who operates a client device 155. The buyer 120 may then operate the client device 155 to select a content item, and to transmit an indication to purchase the selected content item along with payment information; [0012]: facilitate transactions for content items (e.g. images); [0029]: buyer ).
The motivation to combine Mueller and Tummons is the same as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11
The combination of Mueller and Tummons teaches the content sales device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of cameras are arranged three-dimensionally to surround the center point set in the shooting area (Mueller, [0108]: three dimensional images; [0102]: cameras or image capturing devices 54a, 54b and 54c positioned on x, y, z axis).
Regarding claim 13
The combination of Mueller and Tummons teaches the content sales device according to claim 1, wherein ….the content at each angle to only one purchaser for one time period (Mueller, [0187]: merged video images saved; [0015]: storing the captured video image in the storage device; [0115]: the user has different angles to choose from after shooting the scene with cameras; [0156]: any angle).
However, Tummons teaches:
the sales controller sells… (Tummons, [0016] The marketplace manager 111 facilitates sales of content items to the buyer; [0012]: facilitate transactions for content items (e.g. images); [0029]: buyer ).
The motivation to combine Mueller and Tummons is the same as set forth above in claim 1.
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller and Tummons as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rajakumar et al. (US Pub. No. 20230027496 A1).
Regarding claim 9
The combination of Mueller and Tummons teaches the content sales device according to claim 1, … wherein the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by one or more other cameras capable of shooting the subject… for generating the composite image data …(Mueller, [0021]: merging video frames into merged frames; FIG. 4, [0102]: images from three cameras including x-axis camera 54A; Fig. 4, [0034]: circular path; [0106]: the patient is seated as desired along the center axis and images taken from camera 360 degrees).
Mueller and Tummons does not teach:
further comprising an obstacle determination unit configured to determine whether an obstacle is present that hinders shooting of the subject when each camera shoots the subject; …without being affected by the obstacle when the obstacle determination unit determines that an obstacle is present when the camera selected …shoots the subject.
However, Rajakumar teaches:
further comprising an obstacle determination unit configured to determine whether an obstacle is present that hinders shooting of the subject when each camera shoots the subject; …without being affected by the obstacle when the obstacle determination unit determines that an obstacle is present when the camera selected …shoots the subject. (Rajakumar, [0017]: uses a combination of image data (e.g., from one or more cameras) to identify obstacles and determine whether the obstacles are within an area and combine images to detect obstacles; [0031]: analyze image data to detect an absence of obstacles in in the image data and determine whether an obstacle exists in one or more images associated with a scene with object tracking).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the composite image data of Mueller and Tummons with determining whether obstacles are present as taught by Rajakumar because the results of such a modification would be predictable. Specifically, Mueller and Tummons would continue to teach the composite image except that now determining whether obstacles are present is taught according to the teachings of Rajakumar in order to determine obstacles in an area. This is a predictable result of the combination. (Rajakumar, [0003]).
Regarding claim 10
The combination of Mueller, Tummons, and Rajakumar teaches the content sales device according to claim 9, …for generating the composite image data, and when the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by the one or more other cameras… the composite image data …of the composite image data… for generating the composite image data, and the composite image generator generates the composite image data based on image data generated by the selected camera (Mueller, [0021]: merging video frames into merged frames; FIG. 4, [0102]: images from three cameras including x-axis camera 54A; Fig. 4, [0034]: circular path; [0106]: the patient is seated as desired along the center axis and images taken from camera 360 degrees).
However, Tummons teaches:
the sales controller sells… at a selling price discounted compared to a selling price Tummons, [0016] The marketplace manager 111 facilitates sales of content items; [0012]: facilitate transactions for content items (e.g. images); [0030]: original price and discounted price; [0032]: sell a content item at a discount price for particular time).
The motivation to combine Mueller and Tummons is the same as set forth above in claim 1.
However, Rajakumar teaches:
wherein, when the obstacle determination unit determines that an obstacle is present during shooting of the subject by the camera selected…,… …when the obstacle determination unit determines that no obstacle is present during shooting of the subject by the camera selected….
The motivation to combine Mueller, Tummons, and Rajakumar is the same as set forth above in claim 9.
Regarding claim 12
The combination of Mueller and Tummons teaches the content sales device according to claim 11, … to set a plurality of angles in three dimensions… wherein… the content for each angle set in the three-dimension division angle setting unit (Mueller, [0108]: three dimensional images; [0102]: cameras or image capturing devices 54a, 54b and 54c positioned on x, y, z axis; [0156]: any angles).
Tummons teaches:
the sales controller sells (Tummons, [0016] The marketplace manager 111 facilitates sales of content items to the buyer; [0012]: facilitate transactions for content items (e.g. images); [0029]: buyer ).
The motivation to combine Mueller and Tummons is the same as set forth above in claim 1.
However, Rajakumar teaches:
further comprising a three-dimension division angle setting unit configured to divide a sphere surrounding the center point into unit regions having a predetermined surface area, and …to the sphere in directions connecting the center point and centers of the unit regions, …(Rajakumar, FIG. 2, [0035]: a 360° view of subject with area includes sphere centered on subject in three-dimensional volume tailored to dimensions of the subject; [0036]: shape of area has multiple dimensions; [0024]: measure an absolute position of subject, a relative position of subject (e.g., a displacement, a linear travel, a rotational angle, etc.), and/or a three-dimensional position of subject).
The motivation to combine Mueller, Tummons, and Rajakumar is the same as set forth above in claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited as Davies et al. (US Pub. No. 20120316995 A1) related to facilitating purchase of images and Vandrotti et al. (US Pub. No. 20180342043 A1) related to capturing and streaming of virtual reality content using multiple virtual reality cameras at different locations and stitching images together. The non-patent literature is cited as , Spherical Light Field Capture with Rotating Camera Array, related to a plurality of cameras providing different viewpoints of a scene.
/LATASHA D RAMPHAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3688
/Jeffrey A. Smith/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3688