DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed February 14, 2025, and the information disclosure statement (IDS) filed February 21, 2025. This application is a CON of 17/675,447.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 9 and 14 are independent.
The present application is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 21, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12,260,914. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant Application
US Patent 12,260,914
Comment
Claim 1. A memory device comprising:
a memory array comprising a plurality of memory cells; and
control logic, operatively coupled with the memory array, to perform operations comprising:
causing, during a program operation, a programming pulse to be applied to a memory cell of a set of memory cells to be programmed to a first programming level of a set of programming levels, wherein the programming pulse programs each programming level of the set of programming levels associated with the set of memory cells;
determining that a condition associated with the memory cell is satisfied; and
executing a level shifting operation associated with the memory cell in response to the condition being satisfied.
Claim 1. A memory device comprising:
a memory array comprising a plurality of memory cells
configured as a multi-level cell (MLC) memory; and
control logic, operatively coupled with the memory array, to perform operations comprising:
identifying a set of memory cells of the memory array to be programmed during a programing operation;
causing, at a first time during a program operation, a first programming pulse to be applied to a memory cell of the set of memory cells to be programmed to
a first programing level of a set of programming levels, wherein the first programming pulse programs
each programing level of the set of programming levels associated with the set of memory cells;
performing a program verify operation corresponding
to the first programing level;
comparing a threshold voltage of the memory cell to one or more program verify voltage levels of the
program verify operation to determine whether a condition is satisfied; and
executing a level shifting operation in response to the condition being satisfied, wherein the level shifting
operation causes a first bitline voltage level associated with a first bitline corresponding to the memory cell to be adjusted.
Note footnote1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9-10, 14-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsieh et al. (US 2019/0371417).
Regarding independent claims 1, 9 and 14, Hsieh et al. disclose a memory device comprising:
a memory array comprising a plurality of memory cells (para. 0002: flash memory , along with FIG. 6); and
control logic, operatively coupled with the memory array, to perform operations comprising:
causing, during a program operation, a programming pulse to be applied to a memory cell of a set of memory cells to be programmed to a first programming level of a set of programming levels, wherein the programming pulse programs each programming level of the set of programming levels associated with the set of memory cells (e.g., FIGS. 1-2: P(n) and accompanying disclosure);
determining that a condition associated with the memory cell is satisfied (FIGS. 1-2: VR2, VR1); and
executing a level shifting operation associated with the memory cell in response to the condition being satisfied (see FIG. 1: 130 and FIG. 2: loops) (see each embodiment of FIGS. 1-3, FIGS. 4-6 and FIGS. 7-9, and accompanying disclosure).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 15, which depends from claims 1, 9 and 14, respectively, Hsieh et al. disclose the condition is satisfied when a threshold voltage of the memory cell is greater than a first program verify voltage level and less than a second program verify voltage level (see e.g., FIG. 2, VR2 and VR1).
Further, it is an inherent flash memory characteristics that performing multiple program verify operations because programming condition is passed when the threshold voltage of the programmed memory cell is between failed and passed verify voltage levels.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, which depends from claims 1 and 14, respectively, Hsieh et al. disclose the condition is satisfied when a threshold voltage of the memory cell is greater than a first program verify voltage level and a second program verify voltage level and less than a third program verify voltage level of one or more program verify voltage levels of a program verify operation (see e.g., FIG. 2, VR2 and VR1).
Further, it is an inherent flash memory characteristics that performing multiple program verify operations because programming condition is passed when the threshold voltage of the programmed memory cell is between failed and passed verify voltage levels.
Regarding claims 6 and 19, which depends from claims 1 and 14, respectively, Hsieh et al. disclose the level shifting operation causes a first bitline voltage level associated with a first bitline corresponding to the memory cell to be adjusted (see para. 0020: … the bias voltage on the bit line is 0V, then … If the bias voltage on the bit line is the power source …).
Further, it is an inherent flash memory characteristics that multiple bit line voltages to the memory cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5 and 7-8, 11-13, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (US 2019/0371417) in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0350853).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 16, Hsieh et al. teach the limitations of claims 2, 10 and 15, respectively.
Hsieh et al. further teach wherein executing the level shifting operation comprises logically shifting a designation associated with the memory cell to a second programming level (see e.g., FIG. 2).
Hsieh et al. are silent with respect to a second programming level that is lower than the first programming level.
Huang et al. teach the deficiencies in FIG. 3A and accompanying disclosure.
Hsieh et al. and Huang et al. are analogous art because they both are directed to flash memory and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Hsieh with the specified features of Huang because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of Huang et al. to the teaching of Hsieh et al. such that a flash memory, as taught by Hsieh et al., utilizes decreased programming pulse, as taught by Huang et al., for the purpose of making programming voltage pulse to be less in compare to increased programming pulses, thereby utilizing a variety of program-verify iterations.
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Hsieh et al. teach the limitations of claims 4 and 17, respectively.
Hsieh et al. further teach wherein executing the level shifting operation comprises logically shifting a designation associated with the memory cell to a second programming level that is more than one programming level (see e.g., FIG. 2).
Hsieh et al. are silent with respect to a second programming level that is lower than the first programming level.
Huang et al. teach the deficiencies in FIG. 3A and accompanying disclosure.
Hsieh et al. and Huang et al. are analogous art because they both are directed to flash memory and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Hsieh with the specified features of Huang because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of Huang et al. to the teaching of Hsieh et al. such that a flash memory, as taught by Hsieh et al., utilizes decreased programming pulse, as taught by Huang et al., for the purpose of making programming voltage pulse to be less in compare to increased programming pulses, thereby utilizing a variety of program-verify iterations.
Regarding claims 7 and 12, Hsieh et al. teach the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively.
Hsieh et al. further teach the condition is satisfied when a threshold voltage of the memory cell is less than a first program verify voltage level associated with a second programming level (see e.g., FIG. 2).
Hsieh et al. are silent with respect to a second programming level that is lower than the first programming level.
Huang et al. teach the deficiencies in FIG. 3A and accompanying disclosure.
Hsieh et al. and Huang et al. are analogous art because they both are directed to flash memory and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Hsieh with the specified features of Huang because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of Huang et al. to the teaching of Hsieh et al. such that a flash memory, as taught by Hsieh et al., utilizes decreased programming pulse, as taught by Huang et al., for the purpose of making programming voltage pulse to be less in compare to increased programming pulses, thereby utilizing a variety of program-verify iterations.
Regarding claims 8 and 13, Hsieh et al. and Huang et al., as combined, teach the limitations of claims 7 and 12, respectively.
Hsieh et al. further teach executing the level shifting operation comprises logically shifting a designation associated with the memory cell to a second programming level that is higher than the first programming level (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Hsieh et al. teach the limitations of claim 14.
Hsieh et al. further teach the condition is satisfied when a threshold voltage of the memory cell is less than a first program verify voltage level associated with a second programming level that is lower than the first programming level; and wherein executing the level shifting operation comprises logically shifting a designation associated with the memory cell to a second programming level that is higher than the first programming level (see e.g., FIG. 2).
Hsieh et al. are silent with respect to a second programming level that is lower than the first programming level.
Huang et al. teach the deficiencies in FIG. 3A and accompanying disclosure.
Hsieh et al. and Huang et al. are analogous art because they both are directed to flash memory and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Hsieh with the specified features of Huang because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of Huang et al. to the teaching of Hsieh et al. such that a flash memory, as taught by Hsieh et al., utilizes decreased programming pulse, as taught by Huang et al., for the purpose of making programming voltage pulse to be less in compare to increased programming pulses, thereby utilizing a variety of program-verify iterations.
Conclusion
/SUNG IL CHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825
1 Re independent claims 1, 9 and 14, claims of US Patent recites all the claimed limitations. The various dependent claims are anticipated by/obvious in view of the conflicting patent.