DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2, 3, 8-14, and 20 have been amended as per the amendment filed on 4/28/2026.
Currently Claims 1-20 are pending and prosecuted.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 4/28/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent 12265677 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 10-12, 14, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2014/0078104, in further view of Kim, US Patent Publication 2021/0041972, in further view of Kobori et al., US Patent Publication 2013/0234730, and in further view of Xu et al., US Patent Publication 2024/0295936.
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses an electronic device (Abstract; a display device) comprising:
a display panel defining a first area and a second area (Figure 1 and 58; [0104]; [0402-0426]; a display panel LDP is considered by the examiner as “defining a first area and a second area”);
first electrodes disposed in the first area and arranged in a first direction (Figure 58; [0402-0426]; first touch electrodes TE1 are considered as being disposed in the “first area” and arranged in a “first direction”);
second electrodes disposed in the first area, arranged in a second direction crossing the first direction, and crossing the first electrodes (Figure 58; [0402-0426]; second touch electrodes TE2 are considered as being disposed in the “first area” and arranged in a “second direction” that crosses the first touch electrodes TE1);
third electrodes disposed in the first area and overlapping with the first electrodes (Figure 58; [0402-0426]; first touch coils TC1 are considered as being disposed in the “first area” and overlapping with the first touch electrode’s TE1, as seen in Figure 58).
However, Lee doesn’t explicitly disclose a display panel defining a first area, a bending area where the display panel is bent, and a second area overlapping with the first area;
a circuit board coupled to the second area of the display panel and comprising connection lines respectively connected to the third electrodes and arranged in the first direction; and
bridge lines disposed in the first area that respectively electrically connect the connection lines to the third electrodes,
wherein an arrangement order of all of the connection lines is opposite to an arrangement order of the third electrodes, which are electrically connected to correspond thereto.
Kim discloses a display panel defining a first area, a bending area where the display panel is bent, and a second area overlapping with the first area (Figure 2-4; [0062-0079]; a display panel comprising a main area MA (first area), a bending area BA, and a pad area PDA (second area) that overlaps with the first area as seen in Figure 4) ;
a circuit board coupled to the second area of the display panel and comprising connection lines and arranged in the first direction (Figure 2-4 and 7; [0062-0079]; [0102-0104]; a circuit board 300, comprising of touch driving circuit 400 that is connected to the touch electrodes of a touch sensing layer TSL of the display panel, coupled to the pad area PDA, and comprises of lead line RL that are arranged in the “first direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Lee to further include the teachings of Kim such that a circuit board 300, coupled to a second area and comprising a touch driving circuit and lead lines, is connected to the touch electrodes and the touch coils, in order to provide a display panel defining a first area, a bending area where the display panel is bent, and a second area overlapping with the first area; and a circuit board coupled to the second area of the display panel and comprising connection lines respectively connected to the third electrodes and arranged in the first direction. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Kim teaches a touch driving circuit in which a user's touch performed in (e.g., received at) a plurality of touch electrodes is sensed through one terminal or pin of the touch driving circuit, and a display device including the touch driving circuit. Accordingly, the number of receiving terminals or receiving pins of the touch driving circuit may be reduced, and an area of the touch driving circuit that is mounted on a circuit board may be reduce (Kim: [0007];).
However, the combination of Lee and Kim doesn’t explicitly teach
bridge lines disposed in the first area that respectively electrically connect the connection lines to the third electrodes,
wherein an arrangement order of all of the connection lines is opposite to an arrangement order of the third electrodes, which are electrically connected to correspond thereto.
Kobori et al., US Patent Publication 2013/0234730, discloses an electromagnetic induction type coordinate input device, which comprises of a plurality of loop coils disposed in the Y-axis direction (third electrodes). These loop coils are connected to a connector portion 20 through through holes 32aj-32dj and a straight line portion YjLc or YjLc (bridge lines) (Kobori: Figure 1B; [0057-0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Lee and Kim to further include the teachings of Kobari in order to provide bridge lines disposed in the first area that respectively electrically connect the connection lines to the third electrodes. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is to utilize the teachings of Kobari in order to provide solving the problems of exclude a wasteful area occupied by the sensor (Kobari: [0024];).
However, the combination of Lee, Kim, and Kobari doesn’t explicitly teach wherein an arrangement order of all of the connection lines is opposite to an arrangement order of the third electrodes, which are electrically connected to correspond thereto.
Xu et al., US Patent Publication 2024/0295936, discloses wherein the order of ends, connected to the fanout lines 2, of the gull-wing lines 3 are opposite to the order of ends, connected to the output terminals 4, of the gull-wing lines 3. (Figure 7; [0214];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combinational disclosure of Lee, Kim, and Kobari to further include the teachings of Xu such that the arrangement of lead lines RL is opposite from the arrangement of first touch coils in order to provide wherein an arrangement order of all of the connection lines is opposite to an arrangement order of the third electrodes, which are electrically connected to correspond thereto. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Xu teaches having the order ends being opposite to each other, and where signal misalignment caused by inconsistent position order of the lines can be adjusted by the driver chip (Xu: [0214];).
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu teaches wherein a bending edge of the display panel is defined in the bending area, and wherein the bridge lines are disposed in an area within a predetermined distance from the bending edge (Kim: Figure 2-4; [0062-0079]; Kobori: Figure 1B; [0057-0069]; the examiner considers “a bending edge” is defined in the bending area, and the straight line portion YjLc or YjLc (bridge lines) to be disposed in an area that is a “predetermined distance from the bending edge”) .
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu teaches wherein each of the bridge lines extends in the first direction (Lee: Figure 58; [0402-0426]; Kim: Figure 2-4; [0062-0079]; the examiner considers the “straight line portion” to be extending in the “first direction”).
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu teaches further comprising first loop trace lines electrically connected to the third electrodes and the bridge lines and arranged in the first direction (Lee: Figure 58; [0402-0426]; Kim: Figure 2-4; [0062-0079]; the examiner considers the “straight line portion” to be extending in the “first direction” and the first touch coils C1 to be “first loop trace lines electrically connected to the third electrodes”).
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu teaches wherein the arrangement order of the connection lines is different from an arrangement order of the first loop trace lines, which are electrically connected to correspond thereto (Xu: Figure 13; [0303]; the arrangement order of the connection lines is different from an arrangement order of the first touch coils C1).
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu teaches further comprising a second loop trace line electrically connected to all of the third electrodes (Lee: Figure 58; [0402-0426]; as seen in Figure 58, a ground line is connected to all of the first touch coils C1).
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu teaches wherein the bridge lines comprise a first bridge line and a second bridge line, which is shorter in length than the first bridge line, and wherein the first bridge line is positioned closer to the second area than the second bridge line.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu to further utilize the teachings of Xu such that the plurality of straight line portion used to connect a lead line to the first touch coil has a first straight line portion and a second straight line portion that is shorter than a first straight line portion, and is positioned closer to the “second area” than the second straight line portion in order to provide wherein the bridge lines comprise a first bridge line and a second bridge line, which is shorter in length than the first bridge line, and wherein the first bridge line is positioned closer to the second area than the second bridge line. The motivation to combine these arts is because Xu depicts where some connections are longer than others (Figure 13;), and because it has been help that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 11, The combination of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu teaches further comprising a sensor driver mounted on the circuit board and configured to selectively operate in a first mode for sensing touch input or a second mode for sensing pen input, wherein the second mode comprises a charging driving mode, and wherein the sensor driver is configured to apply a first signal to at least one of the third electrodes and a second signal to another one of the third electrodes in the charging driving mode (Lee: Figure 28A; [0286-0290]; a touch panel driver 400T1 comprises of a first scan signal output part and a second scan signal output part that are turned on or off in response to a mode selection signal. The second scan signal output part provides second scan signals TS2(1)-TS2(p) to the corresponding first touch coils).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee discloses an electronic device (Abstract; a display device) comprising:
a display panel defining a first area, and a second area (Figure 1 and 58; [0104]; [0402-0426]; a display panel LDP is considered by the examiner as “defining a first area and a second area”);
first electrodes disposed in the first area and arranged in a first direction (Figure 58; [0402-0426]; first touch electrodes TE1 are considered as being disposed in the “first area” and arranged in a “first direction”);
second electrodes disposed in the first area, arranged in a second direction crossing the first direction, and crossing the first electrodes (Figure 58; [0402-0426]; second touch electrodes TE2 are considered as being disposed in the “first area” and arranged in a “second direction” that crosses the first touch electrodes TE1); and
third electrodes disposed in the first area and overlapping with the first electrodes (Figure 58; [0402-0426]; first touch coils TC1 are considered as being disposed in the “first area” and overlapping with the first touch electrode’s TE1, as seen in Figure 58).
However, Lee does not disclose a display panel defining a first area, a bending area where the display panel is bent, and a second area overlapping with the first area;
a circuit board coupled to the second area of the display panel and comprising connection lines respectively connected to the third electrodes and arranged in the first direction and bridge lines respectively electrically connecting the connection lines to the third electrodes,
wherein an arrangement order of all of the connection lines is opposite to an arrangement order of the third electrodes, which are electrically connected to correspond thereto.
Kim discloses a display panel defining a first area, a bending area where the display panel is bent, and a second area overlapping with the first area (Figure 2-4; [0062-0079]; a display panel comprising a main area MA (first area), a bending area BA, and a pad area PDA (second area) that overlaps with the first area as seen in Figure 4) ;
a circuit board coupled to the second area of the display panel and comprising connection lines and arranged in the first direction (Figure 2-4 and 7; [0062-0079]; [0102-0104]; a circuit board 300, comprising of touch driving circuit 400 that is connected to the touch electrodes of a touch sensing layer TSL of the display panel, coupled to the pad area PDA, and comprises of lead line RL that are arranged in the “first direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Lee to further include the teachings of Kim such that a circuit board 300, coupled to a second area and comprising a touch driving circuit and lead lines, is connected to the touch electrodes and the touch coils, in order to provide a display panel defining a first area, a bending area where the display panel is bent, and a second area overlapping with the first area; and a circuit board coupled to the second area of the display panel and comprising connection lines respectively connected to the third electrodes and arranged in the first direction. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Kim teaches a touch driving circuit in which a user's touch performed in (e.g., received at) a plurality of touch electrodes is sensed through one terminal or pin of the touch driving circuit, and a display device including the touch driving circuit.
However, the combination of Lee and Kim doesn’t explicitly teach
the circuit board comprising bridge lines respectively electrically connecting the connection lines to the third electrodes,
wherein an arrangement order of all of the connection lines is opposite to an arrangement order of the third electrodes, which are electrically connected to correspond thereto.
Kobori et al., US Patent Publication 2013/0234730, discloses an electromagnetic induction type coordinate input device, which comprises of a plurality of loop coils disposed in the Y-axis direction (third electrodes). These loop coils are connected to a connector portion 20 through through holes 32aj-32dj and a straight line portion YjLc or YjLc (bridge lines) (Kobori: Figure 1B; [0057-0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Lee and Kim to further include the teachings of Kobari in order to provide the circuit board comprising bridge lines respectively electrically connecting the connection lines to the third electrodes. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is to utilize the teachings of Kobari in order to provide solving the problems of exclude a wasteful area occupied by the sensor (Kobari: [0024];).
However, the combination of Lee, Kim, and Kobari doesn’t explicitly teach wherein an arrangement order of all of the connection lines is opposite to an arrangement order of the third electrodes, which are electrically connected to correspond thereto.
Xu et al., US Patent Publication 2024/0295936, discloses wherein the order of ends, connected to the fanout lines 2, of the gull-wing lines 3 are opposite to the order of ends, connected to the output terminals 4, of the gull-wing lines 3. (Figure 7; [0214];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combinational disclosure of Lee, Kim, and Kobari to further include the teachings of Xu such that the arrangement of lead lines RL is opposite from the arrangement of first touch coils in order to provide wherein an arrangement order of all of the connection lines is opposite to an arrangement order of the third electrodes, which are electrically connected to correspond thereto. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Xu teaches having the order ends being opposite to each other, and where signal misalignment caused by inconsistent position order of the lines can be adjusted by the driver chip (Xu: [0214];).
Regarding Claim 14, The combination of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu teaches wherein the bridge lines comprise a first bridge line and a second bridge line, which is shorter in length than the first bridge line, and wherein the first bridge line is positioned closer to the second area than the second bridge line.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu to further utilize the teachings of Xu such that the plurality of straight line portion used to connect a lead line to the first touch coil has a first straight line portion and a second straight line portion that is shorter than a first straight line portion, and is positioned closer to the “second area” than the second straight line portion in order to provide wherein the bridge lines comprise a first bridge line and a second bridge line, which is shorter in length than the first bridge line, and the first bridge line is positioned closer to the second area than the second bridge line. The motivation to combine these arts is because Xu depicts where some connections are longer than others (Figure 13;), and because it has been help that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 19, The combination of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu teaches further comprising first loop trace lines electrically connected to the third electrodes and the bridge lines and arranged in the first direction (Lee: Figure 58; [0402-0426]; Kim: Figure 2-4; [0062-0079]; the examiner considers the “straight line portion” to be extending in the “first direction” and the first touch coils C1 to be “first loop trace lines electrically connected to the third electrodes”), and
a second loop trace line electrically connected to all of the third electrodes (Lee: Figure 58; [0402-0426]; as seen in Figure 58, a ground line is connected to all of the first touch coils C1),
wherein the arrangement order of the connection lines is different from an arrangement order of the first loop trace lines, which are electrically connected to correspond thereto (Xu: Figure 13; [0303]; the arrangement order of the connection lines is different from an arrangement order of the first touch coils C1).
Regarding Claim 20, The combination of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu teaches further comprising a sensor driver mounted on the circuit board and configured to selectively operate in a first mode for sensing touch input or a second mode for sensing pen input, wherein the second mode comprises a charging driving mode, and wherein the sensor driver is configured to apply a first signal to at least one of the third electrodes and a second signal to another one of the third electrodes in the charging driving mode (Lee: Figure 28A; [0286-0290]; a touch panel driver 400T1 comprises of a first scan signal output part and a second scan signal output part that are turned on or off in response to a mode selection signal. The second scan signal output part provides second scan signals TS2(1)-TS2(p) to the corresponding first touch coils).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2014/0078104, in further view of Kim, US Patent Publication 2021/0041972, in further view of Kobori et al., US Patent Publication 2013/0234730, and in further view of Xu et al., US Patent Publication 2024/0295936, and in further view of Xiong et al., US Patent Publication 2022/0201858.
Regarding Claim 15, The combination of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the circuit board further comprises a shielding layer disposed between the connection lines and the first area of the display panel.
Xiong et al., US Patent Publication 2022/0201858, teaches a first circuit board 11 that comprises of a first shielding layer 1008 and a second shielding layer 1009 are provided on the first side and the second side of a first substrate 1001, respectively. The first shielding layer 1008 is insulated from the first wiring layer 1002 by the first insulating layer 1003, and the second shielding layer 1009 is insulated from the second wiring layer 1004 by the second insulating layer 1005. Therefore, the shielding layer can prevent crosstalk between signal lines. For example, the first circuit board further comprises a first adhesive agent layer 1010, a reinforcing plate 1011, and a second adhesive agent layer 1012. For example, the first adhesive agent layer 1010 comprises a thermosetting adhesive. For example, the reinforcing plate 1011 is a steel plate. Therefore, the support for the first circuit board 11 is strengthened, which is beneficial for the installation of the first circuit board (Figure 3B; [0147];).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Lee, Kim, Kobari and Xu to further include the teachings of Xiong in order to provide wherein the circuit board further comprises a shielding layer disposed between the connection lines and the first area of the display panel. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Xiong teaches that the shielding layer can prevent crosstalk between signal lines (Xiong: [0147];).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1 is allowed.
Claims 8, 9, 13, and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2-20 have been fully considered, but they are directed to claims as amended, and therefore are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F MARINELLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699