DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding the previous 35 USC 103 arguments, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicants argue that the prior art of record does not disclose “set, based on the weight of the vehicle and the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device relative to an operation condition threshold, a speed threshold for the vehicle”. Applicants argue that Komatsu states setting an engine non-operation speed threshold value based on SOC of power storage device and detected temperatures and discuses to adjust thresholds based upon electrical-system conditions (SOC, battery temperature, inverter temperature, motor temperature). Komatsu does not teach or suggest a speed threshold that is based on vehicle weight or the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device relative to an operating condition threshold. Applicants also argue that the prior art of record does not disclose “in response to determining that the current speed is greater than the speed threshold, implement based on the power demand relative to the first power threshold and to the second power threshold, a predefined drive mode of a plurality of drive modes for the vehicle. Applicants argue that Komatsu simply describes to stop or adjust a power demand when the vehicle speed is greater than a speed and the vehicle power demand is greater than a power threshold. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Primary prior art reference Komatsu disclosed set, based on the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device, a speed threshold for the vehicle by describing engine non-operation speed threshold value for determining whether to operate or stop the engine based on the state of charge of the power storage device and detected temperatures f the power storage device, inverter, and motor generator (see at least [0084]). Secondary prior art Echigo teaches receiving a value regarding a weight of the vehicle and set, based on the weight of the vehicle and the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device relative to an operating condition threshold, a speed threshold for the vehicle by reciting the vehicle speed threshold value may be determined in consideration of the weight of the vehicle (see at least [0094]).
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments. Accordingly, an updated 35 USC 103 necessitated by amendment is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 16-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090125173 (Komatsu) in view of US 20210162980 (Echigo), US 20200384978 (Abe) and US 9067595 (Wright).
As per claim 1, Komatsu discloses a system for a vehicle, the system comprising:
a controller comprising at least one processing circuit comprising at least one memory coupled to at least one processor (see at least [0054]: ECU 40), the controller configured to:
receive a value indicative of an operating condition of an energy storage device coupled to the controller (see at least Fig. 6 (S10): calculate SOC of power storage device);
set, based on the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device, a speed threshold for the vehicle (see at least [0084] When the engine non-operation speed threshold value is set in Step S30, traveling control unit 108A sets the engine non-operation power threshold value for determining whether to operate or stop engine 2 based on the SOC of power storage device B and the detected temperatures of power storage device B, inverter 30 and motor generator MG2 (Step S35));
set, based on the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device, a first power threshold (see at least Fig. 6 (S35): Set engine non-operation power threshold value based on SOC of power storage device and detected temperatures);
receive a current speed and a power demand (see at least [0085] When it is determined that the current vehicle speed is equal to or less than the engine non-operation vehicle speed threshold value in Step S40 (NO in Step S40), traveling control unit 108A determines whether or not the vehicle demand power calculated in Step S4 is larger than the engine non-operation power threshold value set in Step S35 (Step S45)); and
in response to determining that the current speed is greater than the speed threshold, implement, based on the power demand relative to the first power threshold, a predefined drive mode of a plurality of drive modes for the vehicle (see at least [0085] When it is determined that the current vehicle speed is equal to or less than the engine non-operation vehicle speed threshold value in Step S40 (NO in Step S40), traveling control unit 108A determines whether or not the vehicle demand power calculated in Step S4 is larger than the engine non-operation power threshold value set in Step S35 (Step S45)).
Komatsu discloses a need to suppress a load of a motor generator ([0062]) but does not explicitly disclose receive a value regarding a weight of the vehicle; set, based on the weight of the vehicle, a speed threshold for the vehicle.
However, Echigo teaches receive a value regarding a weight of the vehicle; set, based on the weight of the vehicle, a speed threshold for the vehicle (see at least [0094]: vehicle speed threshold value may be determined in consideration of the weight of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle speed threshold value is set to decrease as the weight of the vehicle increases. Furthermore, the weight of the vehicle may be measured by a vehicle weight measuring section while the vehicle is travelling);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Komatsu by incorporating the teachings of Echigo with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide an improved vehicle speed threshold and help serve toward reducing power output of an internal combustion engine.
Komatsu does not explicitly disclose set, based on the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device relative to an operating condition threshold, a speed threshold for the vehicle.
However, Abe teaches set, based on the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device relative to an operating condition threshold, a speed threshold for the vehicle (see at least [0004]: such a hybrid vehicle selects a mode (parallel mode) in which the vehicle runs mainly on the engine when the running load or the vehicle speed increases, [0056]: selector 5A of the present embodiment sets the predetermined vehicle speed Vp based on the charging rate of the battery 6. In other words, the charging status of the battery 6 is also considered in a determination threshold (predetermined vehicle speed Vp) of whether to select the parallel mode, [0057]: selector 5A of the present embodiment sets the predetermined vehicle speed Vp to a smaller value as the charging rate is lower. In other words, a lower charging rate of the battery 6 makes it easier to switch the running mode to the parallel mode, in which the engine is dominant. The selector 5A sets, as shown in FIG. 4 for example, the predetermined vehicle speed Vp using a map in which the predetermined vehicle speed Vp is set to be lower as the charging rate is lower in a range where the charging rate is equal to or greater than the first predetermined value S1 and less than the second predetermined value S2…the predetermined vehicle speed Vp may alternatively be set, for example, using a mathematical expression or a table that defines the relationship between the charging rate and the predetermined vehicle speed Vp or may be set to a fixed value in advance regardless of the charging rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Komatsu by incorporating the teachings of Abe with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the electric efficiency and prevent the power performance from deteriorating and to make it easier to switch the running mode to the parallel mode (see at least [0007], [0057]).
Komatsu does not explicitly disclose a second power threshold.
However, Wright teaches a second power threshold (see at least Fig. 5 (192): threshold (186): threshold (182): maximum available electrical power, column 8 lines 62-66: controller commands an engine pull up at 190 when the vehicle demand reaches a threshold 192 that corresponds to an engine pull up for a vehicle with a load connected to the towing package, which may be a load above the weight threshold);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Komatsu by incorporating the teachings of Wright with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide increased fuel efficiency.
As per claim 2, Komatsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to define an energy threshold.
However, Echigo teaches wherein the controller is further configured to define an energy threshold (see at least [0008]: Under a condition that an SOC of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined SOC threshold value, a standby operation of the internal combustion engine is performed for standby to assist electric power supply to the electric motor, [0117] Step S1, control unit 22 determines whether or not the SOC of battery 4 is higher than or equal to the SOC threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Komatsu by incorporating the teachings of Echigo with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a standby operation of the internal combustion engine is performed for standby to assist electric power supply to the electric motor and to help ensure combustion stability of the internal combustion engine.
As per claim 3, Komatsu discloses set a speed threshold to a predetermined speed based on the SOC of the power storage device (see at least Fig. 6 (S30)) but does not explicitly disclose in response to the value of the operating condition of the energy storage device being greater than the energy threshold, the speed threshold is a predetermined speed.
However, Echigo teaches in response to the value of the operating condition of the energy storage device being greater than the energy threshold, the speed threshold is a predetermined speed (see at least [0117] At Step S1, control unit 22 determines whether or not the SOC of battery 4 is higher than or equal to the SOC threshold value. When determining at Step S1 that the SOC of battery 4 is higher than or equal to the SOC threshold value, control unit 22 proceeds to Step S2, [0121] At Step S2, control unit 22 determines whether or not the vehicle speed is higher than or equal to the vehicle speed threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Komatsu by incorporating the teachings of Echigo with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a standby operation of the internal combustion engine is performed for standby to assist electric power supply to the electric motor and to help ensure combustion stability of the internal combustion engine.
Further, Abe teaches set, based on the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device relative to an operating condition threshold, a speed threshold for the vehicle (see at least [0004]: such a hybrid vehicle selects a mode (parallel mode) in which the vehicle runs mainly on the engine when the running load or the vehicle speed increases, [0056]: selector 5A of the present embodiment sets the predetermined vehicle speed Vp based on the charging rate of the battery 6. In other words, the charging status of the battery 6 is also considered in a determination threshold (predetermined vehicle speed Vp) of whether to select the parallel mode, [0057]: selector 5A of the present embodiment sets the predetermined vehicle speed Vp to a smaller value as the charging rate is lower. In other words, a lower charging rate of the battery 6 makes it easier to switch the running mode to the parallel mode, in which the engine is dominant. The selector 5A sets, as shown in FIG. 4 for example, the predetermined vehicle speed Vp using a map in which the predetermined vehicle speed Vp is set to be lower as the charging rate is lower in a range where the charging rate is equal to or greater than the first predetermined value S1 and less than the second predetermined value S2…the predetermined vehicle speed Vp may alternatively be set, for example, using a mathematical expression or a table that defines the relationship between the charging rate and the predetermined vehicle speed Vp or may be set to a fixed value in advance regardless of the charging rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Komatsu by incorporating the teachings of Abe with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the electric efficiency and prevent the power performance from deteriorating and to make it easier to switch the running mode to the parallel mode (see at least [0007], [0057]).
As per claim 4, Komatsu discloses set a speed threshold based on the SOC of the power storage device (see at least Fig. 6 (S30)), but Komatsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to the value of the operating condition of the energy storage device being less than or equal to the energy threshold, set the speed threshold to zero and the predefined drive mode to one of a recharge mode, an engine drive mode, or a power split mode.
However, Echigo teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to the value of the operating condition of the energy storage device being less than or equal to the energy threshold, bypassing the speed threshold and the predefined drive mode to one of a recharge mode, an engine drive mode, or a power split mode (see at least [0117]: When determining at Step S1 that the SOC of battery 4 is less than the SOC threshold value, control unit 22 proceeds to Step S15. At Step S15, control unit 22 operates internal combustion engine 7 at the operating point for charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention setting a speed threshold as disclosed by Komatsu by incorporating the teachings of Echigo bypassing the speed threshold when the state of charge is less than the state of charge threshold value with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a standby operation of the internal combustion engine is performed for standby to assist electric power supply to the electric motor and to help ensure combustion stability of the internal combustion engine.
As per claim 6, Komatsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the second power threshold is greater than the first power threshold.
However, Wright teaches wherein the second power threshold is greater than the first power threshold (see at least Fig. 5 (192): threshold (186): threshold (182): maximum available electrical power, column 8 lines 62-66: controller commands an engine pull up at 190 when the vehicle demand reaches a threshold 192 that corresponds to an engine pull up for a vehicle with a load connected to the towing package, which may be a load above the weight threshold, column 9 lines 1-3: threshold 192 is at an offset 194 below the threshold 186 to provide an additional reserve or buffer region such that the engine is operating when a vehicle power demand is received to provide the requested power);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Komatsu by incorporating the teachings of Wright with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide increased fuel efficiency.
As per claim 7, Komatsu discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to the current speed not being greater than the speed threshold, implement an electric drive mode (see at least [0064]: when the vehicle speed is equal to or less than the engine non-operation vehicle speed threshold value, engine 2 is stopped. Therefore, the engine direct torque is zero. Then, when the engine direct torque is calculated, traveling control unit 108 subtracts the engine direct torque from drive demand torque of the vehicle so as to calculate torque command value TR2 of motor generator MG2 (Step S80), [0085] When it is determined that the current vehicle speed is equal to or less than the engine non-operation vehicle speed threshold value in Step S40 (NO in Step S40), traveling control unit 108A determines whether or not the vehicle demand power calculated in Step S4 is larger than the engine non-operation power threshold value set in Step S35 (Step S45), Fig. 6 (S80) MG2 torque control).
As per claim 8, Komatsu discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: adjust at least one of the first power threshold and the second power threshold (see at least [0087] When torque command value TR2 is calculated in Step S80, traveling control unit 108A calculates the change amount of the engine non-operation vehicle speed threshold value from the time of the preceding mathematical calculation and calculates the change amount of the engine non-operation power threshold value from the time of the preceding mathematical calculation (Step S95)).
Regarding claim 16, Komatsu discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a value indicative of an operating condition of an energy storage device (see at least Fig. 6 (S10): calculate SOC of power storage device);
setting, based on the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device, a speed threshold (see at least [0084] When the engine non-operation speed threshold value is set in Step S30, traveling control unit 108A sets the engine non-operation power threshold value for determining whether to operate or stop engine 2 based on the SOC of power storage device B and the detected temperatures of power storage device B, inverter 30 and motor generator MG2 (Step S35));
setting, based on the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device, a first power threshold (see at least Fig. 6 (S35): Set engine non-operation power threshold value based on SOC of power storage device and detected temperatures);
receiving a current speed and a power demand (see at least [0085] When it is determined that the current vehicle speed is equal to or less than the engine non-operation vehicle speed threshold value in Step S40 (NO in Step S40), traveling control unit 108A determines whether or not the vehicle demand power calculated in Step S4 is larger than the engine non-operation power threshold value set in Step S35 (Step S45)); and
in response to the current speed being greater than the speed threshold, implementing a predefined drive mode of a plurality of drive modes based on the power demand (see at least [0085] When it is determined that the current vehicle speed is equal to or less than the engine non-operation vehicle speed threshold value in Step S40 (NO in Step S40), traveling control unit 108A determines whether or not the vehicle demand power calculated in Step S4 is larger than the engine non-operation power threshold value set in Step S35 (Step S45)).
Komatsu discloses a need to suppress a load of a motor generator ([0062]) but does not explicitly disclose receive a value regarding a weight of the vehicle; setting, based on the value indicative of the value regarding the vehicle weight, a speed threshold.
However, Echigo teaches receive a value regarding a weight of the vehicle; setting, based on the value indicative of the value regarding the vehicle weight, a speed threshold (see at least [0094]: vehicle speed threshold value may be determined in consideration of the weight of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle speed threshold value is set to decrease as the weight of the vehicle increases. Furthermore, the weight of the vehicle may be measured by a vehicle weight measuring section while the vehicle is travelling);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Komatsu by incorporating the teachings of Echigo with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide an improved vehicle speed threshold and help serve toward reducing power output of an internal combustion engine.
Komatsu discloses does not explicitly disclose setting, based on the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device relative to an operating condition threshold, a speed threshold for the vehicle.
However, Abe teaches setting, based on the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device relative to an operating condition threshold, a speed threshold for the vehicle (see at least [0004]: such a hybrid vehicle selects a mode (parallel mode) in which the vehicle runs mainly on the engine when the running load or the vehicle speed increases, [0056]: selector 5A of the present embodiment sets the predetermined vehicle speed Vp based on the charging rate of the battery 6. In other words, the charging status of the battery 6 is also considered in a determination threshold (predetermined vehicle speed Vp) of whether to select the parallel mode, [0057]: selector 5A of the present embodiment sets the predetermined vehicle speed Vp to a smaller value as the charging rate is lower. In other words, a lower charging rate of the battery 6 makes it easier to switch the running mode to the parallel mode, in which the engine is dominant. The selector 5A sets, as shown in FIG. 4 for example, the predetermined vehicle speed Vp using a map in which the predetermined vehicle speed Vp is set to be lower as the charging rate is lower in a range where the charging rate is equal to or greater than the first predetermined value S1 and less than the second predetermined value S2…the predetermined vehicle speed Vp may alternatively be set, for example, using a mathematical expression or a table that defines the relationship between the charging rate and the predetermined vehicle speed Vp or may be set to a fixed value in advance regardless of the charging rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Komatsu by incorporating the teachings of Abe with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the electric efficiency and prevent the power performance from deteriorating and to make it easier to switch the running mode to the parallel mode (see at least [0007], [0057]).
Komatsu does not explicitly disclose a second power threshold.
However, Wright teaches a second power threshold (see at least Fig. 5 (192): threshold (186): threshold (182): maximum available electrical power, column 8 lines 62-66: controller commands an engine pull up at 190 when the vehicle demand reaches a threshold 192 that corresponds to an engine pull up for a vehicle with a load connected to the towing package, which may be a load above the weight threshold);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Komatsu by incorporating the teachings of Wright with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide increased fuel efficiency.
As per claim 17, Komatsu discloses set a speed threshold based on the SOC of the power storage device (see at least Fig. 6 (S30)), but Komatsu does not explicitly disclose setting an energy threshold; and in response to the value of the operating condition of the energy storage device being less than or equal to the energy threshold, setting the speed threshold to zero and the predefined drive mode to one of a recharge mode, an engine mode, or a power split mode.
However, Echigo teaches setting an energy threshold (see at least [0008]: Under a condition that an SOC of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined SOC threshold value, a standby operation of the internal combustion engine is performed for standby to assist electric power supply to the electric motor, [0117] Step S1, control unit 22 determines whether or not the SOC of battery 4 is higher than or equal to the SOC threshold value); and in response to the value of the operating condition of the energy storage device being less than or equal to the energy threshold, bypassing the speed threshold and the predefined drive mode to one of a recharge mode, an engine mode, or a power split mode (see at least [0117]: When determining at Step S1 that the SOC of battery 4 is less than the SOC threshold value, control unit 22 proceeds to Step S15. At Step S15, control unit 22 operates internal combustion engine 7 at the operating point for charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention setting a speed threshold as disclosed by Komatsu by incorporating the teachings of Echigo bypassing the speed threshold when the state of charge is less than the state of charge threshold value with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a standby operation of the internal combustion engine is performed for standby to assist electric power supply to the electric motor and to help ensure combustion stability of the internal combustion engine.
As per claim 20, Komatsu discloses adjusting at least one of the first power threshold and the second power threshold (see at least [0087] When torque command value TR2 is calculated in Step S80, traveling control unit 108A calculates the change amount of the engine non-operation vehicle speed threshold value from the time of the preceding mathematical calculation and calculates the change amount of the engine non-operation power threshold value from the time of the preceding mathematical calculation (Step S95)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9-11, 13, 15 are allowed in light of the present claim amendments.
Claim(s) 5, 18-19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but appear allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art US 20240375637 Nelson discloses if the SOC at least meets an SOC threshold (e.g., is greater than or is greater than or equal to the SOC threshold) and/or if a power output of the electric machine 202 at least meets the level of demand of the load 206, then the controller 214 may determine that the electric-only mode is to be used to control the hybrid powertrain system 200 ([0035]) and to increase the power output of the electric machine 202 at a first rate when the level of demand is greater than or equal to the first power threshold and less than or equal to a second power threshold ([0070]);
prior art US 9067595 Wright teaches wherein the second power threshold is greater than the first power threshold (see at least Fig. 5 (192): threshold (186): threshold (182): maximum available electrical power, column 8 lines 62-66: controller commands an engine pull up at 190 when the vehicle demand reaches a threshold 192 that corresponds to an engine pull up for a vehicle with a load connected to the towing package, which may be a load above the weight threshold, column 9 lines 1-3: threshold 192 is at an offset 194 below the threshold 186 to provide an additional reserve or buffer region such that the engine is operating when a vehicle power demand is received to provide the requested power); and
prior art US 20180087241 Hoshino discloses that the target engine power exceeds the maximum engine output, the target rotational speed reference value is set, and the motor generator assists drive of the engine by a portion of the power ([0107]);
prior art US 20140229043 Frank discloses setting a minimum SOC threshold in order to prevent the battery SOC from going to low while driving (see at least [0115]);
prior art US 12122357 Healy discloses a drive train for a vehicle that includes a controller that is configured to adjust to extend an operating range of the vehicle by adjusting a state of charge, an operating temperature of the battery system and the power source based on a weight of the vehicle, topographical data, and one or more environmental conditions. Healy discloses that the controller switches between a basic regeneration mode and a high regeneration mode based on a speed threshold of the vehicle, wherein the high regeneration mode uses both a first motor/generator and a second motor/generator to charge the battery system and provide additional resistance for slowing down the vehicle when the vehicle is driving above the speed threshold. Healy discloses that the speed threshold may depend on a weight of the vehicle, speed of the vehicle, grade of a road that the vehicle is on, or some other factor, but the prior art taken either individually or in combination with other prior art of record fails to disclose, suggest, teach, or render obvious the invention as a whole:
Regarding Claim 5, wherein in response to the value of the operating condition of the energy storage device being greater than or equal to the energy threshold, the controller is further configured to:
in response to the power demand being less than the first power threshold, set the predefined drive mode to a recharge mode;
in response to the power demand being greater than the first power threshold and less than the second power threshold, set the predefined drive mode to an engine drive mode; and
in response to the power demand being greater than the second power threshold, set the predefined drive mode to a power split mode;
Regarding Claim 18, further comprising: in response to the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device being greater than the energy threshold and the power demand being less than the first power threshold, implementing the predefined drive mode to a recharge mode;
in response to the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device being greater than the energy threshold and the power demand being greater than the first power threshold and less than the second power threshold, implementing the predefined drive mode to an engine mode; and
in response to the value indicative of the operating condition of the energy storage device being greater than the energy threshold and the power demand being greater than the second power threshold, implementing the predefined drive mode to a power split mode.
Dependent Claim 19 depends upon Claim 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Angelina Shudy
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
/Angelina M Shudy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668