DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Application #19/055,151 filed on 17 February 2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over all claims of U.S. Patent Nos.11,566,869 and 12,228,372. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims contain all of the claimed structural limitations of the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8-10, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL (https://www.amazon.com/Tango-Protective-Cover-Aimpoint-iO-004/dp/B076ZZ4L1X/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8), 29 December 2019.
Regarding Claim 1, NPL discloses a protective lens cover assembly comprising:
a body (see marked fig.1 below)
a first lens cover having a first set of securing structures and a second set of securing structures; and
a second lens cover having a first set of securing structures and a second set of securing structures (see marked fig.1 below, first set of structures being what snaps onto the lenses, second set of structures is the opposite sides of the covers);
wherein the first lens cover and second lens cover are connected to the body (via connectors, see marked fig.1 below),
wherein the first set of securing structures of one of the first lens cover and second lens cover is configured to engage the second set of securing structures of the other of the first lens cover and second lens cover (see marked fig.1 below).
Regarding Claim 5, NPL discloses the protective lens cover assembly of claim 1, wherein the second lens cover comprises a first sleeve and a wall, wherein the first set of securing structures is on the first sleeve and the second set of securing structures is on the wall (see marked fig.1 below).
Regarding Claim 8, NPL discloses a sight comprising:
a sight body with an objective end having a lens and an eyepiece end having a lens (see marked fig.1 below); and
a protective lens cover assembly connected to the sight body comprising:
a body (see marked fig.1 below)
a first lens cover having a first set of securing structures and a second set of securing structures; and
a second lens cover having a first set of securing structures and a second set of securing structures (see marked fig.1 below, first set of structures being what snaps onto the lenses, second set of structures is the opposite sides of the covers);
wherein the first lens cover and second lens cover are connected to the body (via connectors, see marked fig.1 below),
wherein the first set of securing structures of the first lens cover engages the objective end of the sight body, the first set of securing structures of the second lens cover engages the eyepiece end of the side body, the second set of securing structures of at least one of the first lens cover and second lens cover engages the sight body (see marked fig.1 below, “engages” is interpreted to be pressed against as shown in the figure), and the second set of securing structures of the other of the first lens cover and second lens cover engages first securing structures of the at least one of the first lens cover and second lens cover (see marked fig.1 below for the two covers nested together).
Regarding Claim 9, NPL discloses the sight of claim 8, wherein the second set of securing structures of the first lens cover engages the sight body (the flat rear wall section is engaged to the body by touching it) and the second set of securing structures of the second lens cover (the wall) engages the first set of securing structures of the first lens cover (the second cover is inside the sleeve of the first cover).
Regarding Claim 10, NPL discloses the sight of claim 8, wherein the sight body further comprises a battery compartment (not shown, but the type of optic shown inherently possesses a battery compartment for proper operation).
Regarding Claim 15, NPL discloses the sight connected to a firearm (see marked fig.1 below).
Marked Figure 1
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892 for pertinent art.
/JOHN COOPER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641