DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting over Claims 1, 11, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11463492 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Regarding Claim 1:
Instant Application 19055396
U.S. Patent No. 11463492
1. A method, comprising: instantiating a meeting room corresponding to a first video conference controlled by a host, the meeting room configured to allow communication among meeting participants;
1. A method, comprising:
instantiating a meeting room controlled by a host, the meeting room configured to allow communication among the host and meeting participants; instantiating one or more breakout rooms associated with the meeting room
instantiating a breakout room corresponding to a second video conference and associated with the meeting room, wherein the breakout room is configured to allow communication among two or more of the meeting participants;
instantiating one or more breakout rooms associated with the meeting room, wherein a communication within a breakout room is limited to one or more of the meeting participants in the breakout room, and wherein host credentials allow the host to control the one or more breakout rooms by allowing the meeting participants to join the one or more breakout room with the meeting participants receiving visual indications of other meeting participants in the one or more breakout rooms;
and controlling communication in the breakout room by controlling, via a host device associated with the host, a transmission of content to the breakout room without requiring the host to join the breakout room.
controlling communication in the one or more breakout rooms, based on the host credentials, by transmitting content from the host when the host is in the meeting room to the one or more breakout rooms without requiring the host to leave the meeting room and join the one or more breakout rooms as an additional meeting participant and without the meeting participants in the one or more breakout rooms receiving a visual indication of the host in the one or more breakout rooms.
U.S. Patent No. 11463492, “Pat1”, does not explicitly teach video conference.
Haveliwala (“Haveliwala”, US 20070299710, included in IDS filed 2/17/2025) teaches video conference (par 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 2, Pat1 does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving content through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference.
Haveliwala teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving content through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference (Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 3, Pat1 does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving a real time media audio stream through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference, the real time media audio stream comprising communication among the two or more meeting participants.
Haveliwala teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving a real time media audio stream through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference, the real time media audio stream comprising communication among the two or more meeting participants (par 4-5; par 80; par 48; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 4, Pat1 and Haveliwala do not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving a real time transcription of an audio stream through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference, the audio stream comprising communication among the two or more meeting participants.
Gupta teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving a real time transcription of an audio stream through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference, the audio stream comprising communication among the two or more meeting participants (par 65; par 138). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 and Haveliwala with the transcript of Gupta because it allows for participants to keep a record of what went on in a conference in case they missed something or if they would like to revisit what was spoken in the conference.
Regarding Claim 5, Pat1 does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication further comprises: configuring a timer to limit an amount of time for which the content is displayed to a screen being shared by the two or more participants.
Haveliwala teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: configuring a timer to limit an amount of time for which the content is displayed to a screen being shared by the two or more participants (par 49; The content displayed being shared is the test that is administered with a timer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 6, Pat1 and Haveliwala do not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication comprises: receiving visual content associated with a window through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference.
NImri teaches wherein controlling the communication comprises: receiving visual content associated with a window through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference (Fig. 5, elements {520, 540}, par 34-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 and Haveliwala with the breakout room interface of Nimri because it allows for presenters to send one-way communication to preserve privacy of the breakout room participants (Nimri; par 34).
Regarding Claim 7, Pat1 does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the transmission of the content comprises: controlling a transmission of the content to an additional breakout room while controlling the transmission of the content to the breakout room.
Haveliwala teaches wherein controlling the transmission of the content comprises: controlling a transmission of the content to an additional breakout room while controlling the transmission of the content to the breakout room (Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; Content can be moved or copied to room 1 and room 2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 8, Pat1 does not explicitly teach further comprising: joining, via the host device, the host to the second video conference; communicating, via the host device, with the two or more meeting participants within the second video conference; and controlling, simultaneously with communicating with the two or more participants within the second video conference, communication in an additional breakout room without requiring the host to join the additional breakout room.
Haveliwala teaches further comprising: joining, via the host device, the host to the second video conference (par 4-5; par 80; par 48; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join.);
communicating, via the host device, with the two or more meeting participants within the second video conference (par 4-5; par 80; par 48; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Haveliwala does not explicitly teach controlling, simultaneously with communicating with the two or more participants within the second video conference, communication in an additional breakout room without requiring the host to join the additional breakout room.
Nimri teaches controlling, simultaneously with communicating with the two or more participants within the second video conference, communication in an additional breakout room without requiring the host to join the additional breakout room (par 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 and Haveliwala with the breakout room interface of Nimri because it allows for presenters to send one-way communication to preserve privacy of the breakout room participants (Nimri; par 34).
Regarding Claim 9, Pat1 does not explicitly teach wherein instantiating the breakout room comprises automatically randomly assigning the two or more participants to the breakout room.
Haveliwala teaches wherein instantiating the breakout room comprises automatically randomly assigning the two or more participants to the breakout room (par 69-70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 10, Pat1 does not explicitly teach further comprising: instantiating at least one additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference.
Haveliwala teaches further comprising: instantiating at least one additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference (par 48-49; par 4-5; par 80; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join.);
and rotating content among the breakout room and the at least one additional breakout room (par 48-49; par 4-5; par 80; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join. The instructor can roam the rooms to view content of the breakout rooms, and thus content is rotated to the instructor among the breakout rooms.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 11, Pat1 does not explicitly teach further comprising: instantiating at least one additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference.
Haveliwala teaches further comprising: instantiating at least one additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference (par 48-49; par 4-5; par 80; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join. The instructor can roam the rooms to view content of the breakout rooms, and thus content is rotated to the instructor among the breakout rooms.).
and rotating, based on a timer configured by the host device, content among the breakout room and the at least one additional breakout room (par 48-49; par 101; par 4-5; par 80; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join. The instructor can roam the rooms to view content of the breakout rooms, and thus content is rotated to the instructor among the breakout rooms. The timer is the time limit set by the instructor for each breakout room.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 is rejected under obviousness-type double patenting over Claim 11 of Pat1 with similar reasoning as Claim 1 is rejected over Claim 1 of Pat 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Pat1 does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication further comprises: configuring a timer to limit an amount of time for which the content is displayed to a screen being shared by the two or more participants, wherein, upon expiration of the timer, the content being displayed is changed.
Haveliwala teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: configuring a timer to limit an amount of time for which the content is displayed to a screen being shared by the two or more participants, wherein, upon expiration of the timer, the content being displayed is changed (par 49; The content displayed being shared is the test that is administered with a timer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 14, Pat1 does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the transmission of the content comprises: forcing content to a screen being shared in the breakout room.
Haveliwala further teaches wherein controlling the transmission of the content comprises: forcing content to a screen being shared in the breakout room (par 49; The content being shared is whiteboard or slides shared.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 15, Pat1 does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising: instantiating an additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference; and controlling, via the host device while controlling the communication in the breakout room, an additional communication in the additional breakout room without requiring the host to join the additional breakout room.
Haveliwala teaches the operations further comprising: instantiating an additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference; and controlling, via the host device while controlling the communication in the breakout room, an additional communication in the additional breakout room without requiring the host to join the additional breakout room (Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; Presenters (hosts) can only move content to a room that they are not physically present in (room that they are not joining). There are multiple breakout rooms that the presenter can move content to.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 is rejected under obviousness-type double patenting over Claim 17 of Pat1 with similar reasoning as Claim 1 is rejected over Claim 1 of Pat 1.
Regarding Claim 19, Pat1 and Haveliwala do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to: output for display, on a display of the host device, a user interface comprising a first room tile corresponding to the breakout room, a second room tile corresponding to an additional breakout room, and a table comprising: an indication of the meeting room, an indication of each of the meeting participants, and an indication of each of a plurality of breakout room assignments associated with the meeting participants.
Nimri teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to: output for display, on a display of the host device, a user interface comprising a first room tile corresponding to the breakout room (Fig. 6, elements {610a-610f, 620a-620c}, par 44-49),
a second room tile corresponding to an additional breakout room (Fig. 6, elements {610a-610f, 620a-620c}, par 44-49),
and a table comprising: an indication of the meeting room, an indication of each of the meeting participants (Fig. 6, elements {610a-610f, 620a-620c}, par 44-49; The rows of participants and rows of breakout room tiles 620a-620c are viewed as a table.),
and an indication of each of a plurality of breakout room assignments associated with the meeting participants (Fig. 6, elements {610a-610f, 620a-620c}, par 44-49; The breakout room assignments are the listed breakout room tiles 620a-620c.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 and Haveliwala with the breakout room interface of Nimri because it allows for presenters to send one-way communication to preserve privacy of the breakout room participants (Nimri; par 34).
Regarding Claim 20, Pat1 and Haveliwala do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to: output for display, on a display of a participant device associated with a meeting participant of the two or more meeting participants, a user interface comprising a communication box; and transmitting an audio communication, initiated via the communication box, from the participant device to the host device without requiring the host to join the breakout room.
Nimri teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to: output for display, on a display of a participant device associated with a meeting participant of the two or more meeting participants, a user interface comprising a communication box (Fig. 5, elements {520, 540}, par 34-39);
and transmitting an audio communication, initiated via the communication box, from the participant device to the host device without requiring the host to join the breakout room (Fig. 5, elements {520, 540}, par 34-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat1 and Haveliwala with the breakout room interface of Nimri because it allows for presenters to send one-way communication to preserve privacy of the breakout room participants (Nimri; par 34).
Claims 1, 12, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory anticipatory-type double patenting over Claims 1, 9, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11665213 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Regarding Claim 1:
Instant Application 19055396
U.S. Patent No. 11665213
1. A method, comprising: instantiating a meeting room corresponding to a first video conference controlled by a host, the meeting room configured to allow communication among meeting participants;
1. A method, comprising:
instantiating a first breakout room and a second breakout room of a video conference, wherein the first breakout room and the second breakout room are controlled by a host device of the video conference, and wherein each of the first breakout room and the second breakout room includes one or more participants of the video conference;
instantiating a breakout room corresponding to a second video conference and associated with the meeting room, wherein the breakout room is configured to allow communication among two or more of the meeting participants;
instantiating a first breakout room and a second breakout room of a video conference, wherein the first breakout room and the second breakout room are controlled by a host device of the video conference, and wherein each of the first breakout room and the second breakout room includes one or more participants of the video conference;
and controlling communication in the breakout room by controlling, via a host device associated with the host, a transmission of content to the breakout room without requiring the host to join the breakout room.
wherein the first breakout room and the second breakout room are controlled by a host device of the video conference, and wherein each of the first breakout room and the second breakout room includes one or more participants of the video conference;
outputting, from the host device, first content to the first breakout room and second content to the second breakout room; moving, without the host device joining either of the first breakout room or the second breakout room, the first content from the first breakout room to the second breakout room;
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 is rejected under anticipatory-type double patenting over Claim 9 of Pat2 with similar reasoning as Claim 1 is rejected over Claim 1 of Pat 1.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 is rejected under anticipatory -type double patenting over Claim 16 of Pat2 with similar reasoning as Claim 1 is rejected over Claim 1 of Pat 1.
Claims 2-11, 13-15, and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting over Claims 1, 9, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11665213 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
Regarding Claim 2, Pat2 does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving content through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference.
Haveliwala teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving content through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference (Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 3, Pat2 does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving a real time media audio stream through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference, the real time media audio stream comprising communication among the two or more meeting participants.
Haveliwala teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving a real time media audio stream through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference, the real time media audio stream comprising communication among the two or more meeting participants (par 4-5; par 80; par 48; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 4, Pat2 and Haveliwala do not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving a real time transcription of an audio stream through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference, the audio stream comprising communication among the two or more meeting participants.
Gupta teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving a real time transcription of an audio stream through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference, the audio stream comprising communication among the two or more meeting participants (par 65; par 138). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 and Haveliwala with the transcript of Gupta because it allows for participants to keep a record of what went on in a conference in case they missed something or if they would like to revisit what was spoken in the conference.
Regarding Claim 5, Pat2 does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication further comprises: configuring a timer to limit an amount of time for which the content is displayed to a screen being shared by the two or more participants.
Haveliwala teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: configuring a timer to limit an amount of time for which the content is displayed to a screen being shared by the two or more participants (par 49; The content displayed being shared is the test that is administered with a timer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 6, Pat2 and Haveliwala do not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication comprises: receiving visual content associated with a window through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference.
NImri teaches wherein controlling the communication comprises: receiving visual content associated with a window through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference (Fig. 5, elements {520, 540}, par 34-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 and Haveliwala with the breakout room interface of Nimri because it allows for presenters to send one-way communication to preserve privacy of the breakout room participants (Nimri; par 34).
Regarding Claim 7, Pat2 does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the transmission of the content comprises: controlling a transmission of the content to an additional breakout room while controlling the transmission of the content to the breakout room.
Haveliwala teaches wherein controlling the transmission of the content comprises: controlling a transmission of the content to an additional breakout room while controlling the transmission of the content to the breakout room (Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; Content can be moved or copied to room 1 and room 2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 8, Pat2 does not explicitly teach further comprising: joining, via the host device, the host to the second video conference; communicating, via the host device, with the two or more meeting participants within the second video conference; and controlling, simultaneously with communicating with the two or more participants within the second video conference, communication in an additional breakout room without requiring the host to join the additional breakout room.
Haveliwala teaches further comprising: joining, via the host device, the host to the second video conference (par 4-5; par 80; par 48; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join.);
communicating, via the host device, with the two or more meeting participants within the second video conference (par 4-5; par 80; par 48; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Haveliwala does not explicitly teach controlling, simultaneously with communicating with the two or more participants within the second video conference, communication in an additional breakout room without requiring the host to join the additional breakout room.
Nimri teaches controlling, simultaneously with communicating with the two or more participants within the second video conference, communication in an additional breakout room without requiring the host to join the additional breakout room (par 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 and Haveliwala with the breakout room interface of Nimri because it allows for presenters to send one-way communication to preserve privacy of the breakout room participants (Nimri; par 34).
Regarding Claim 9, Pat2 does not explicitly teach wherein instantiating the breakout room comprises automatically randomly assigning the two or more participants to the breakout room.
Haveliwala teaches wherein instantiating the breakout room comprises automatically randomly assigning the two or more participants to the breakout room (par 69-70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 10, Pat2 does not explicitly teach further comprising: instantiating at least one additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference.
Haveliwala teaches further comprising: instantiating at least one additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference (par 48-49; par 4-5; par 80; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join.);
and rotating content among the breakout room and the at least one additional breakout room (par 48-49; par 4-5; par 80; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join. The instructor can roam the rooms to view content of the breakout rooms, and thus content is rotated to the instructor among the breakout rooms.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 11, Pat2 does not explicitly teach further comprising: instantiating at least one additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference.
Haveliwala teaches further comprising: instantiating at least one additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference (par 48-49; par 4-5; par 80; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join. The instructor can roam the rooms to view content of the breakout rooms, and thus content is rotated to the instructor among the breakout rooms.).
and rotating, based on a timer configured by the host device, content among the breakout room and the at least one additional breakout room (par 48-49; par 101; par 4-5; par 80; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join. The instructor can roam the rooms to view content of the breakout rooms, and thus content is rotated to the instructor among the breakout rooms. The timer is the time limit set by the instructor for each breakout room.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 13, Pat2 does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication further comprises: configuring a timer to limit an amount of time for which the content is displayed to a screen being shared by the two or more participants, wherein, upon expiration of the timer, the content being displayed is changed.
Haveliwala teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: configuring a timer to limit an amount of time for which the content is displayed to a screen being shared by the two or more participants, wherein, upon expiration of the timer, the content being displayed is changed (par 49; The content displayed being shared is the test that is administered with a timer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 14, Pat2 does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the transmission of the content comprises: forcing content to a screen being shared in the breakout room.
Haveliwala further teaches wherein controlling the transmission of the content comprises: forcing content to a screen being shared in the breakout room (par 49; The content being shared is whiteboard or slides shared.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 15, Pat2 does not explicitly teach the operations further comprising: instantiating an additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference; and controlling, via the host device while controlling the communication in the breakout room, an additional communication in the additional breakout room without requiring the host to join the additional breakout room.
Haveliwala teaches the operations further comprising: instantiating an additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference; and controlling, via the host device while controlling the communication in the breakout room, an additional communication in the additional breakout room without requiring the host to join the additional breakout room (Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; Presenters (hosts) can only move content to a room that they are not physically present in (room that they are not joining). There are multiple breakout rooms that the presenter can move content to.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 with the video conference of Haveliwala because it allows for a more immersive and personal experience over audio conferences.
Regarding Claim 19, Pat2 and Haveliwala do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to: output for display, on a display of the host device, a user interface comprising a first room tile corresponding to the breakout room, a second room tile corresponding to an additional breakout room, and a table comprising: an indication of the meeting room, an indication of each of the meeting participants, and an indication of each of a plurality of breakout room assignments associated with the meeting participants.
Nimri teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to: output for display, on a display of the host device, a user interface comprising a first room tile corresponding to the breakout room (Fig. 6, elements {610a-610f, 620a-620c}, par 44-49),
a second room tile corresponding to an additional breakout room (Fig. 6, elements {610a-610f, 620a-620c}, par 44-49),
and a table comprising: an indication of the meeting room, an indication of each of the meeting participants (Fig. 6, elements {610a-610f, 620a-620c}, par 44-49; The rows of participants and rows of breakout room tiles 620a-620c are viewed as a table.),
and an indication of each of a plurality of breakout room assignments associated with the meeting participants (Fig. 6, elements {610a-610f, 620a-620c}, par 44-49; The breakout room assignments are the listed breakout room tiles 620a-620c.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 and Haveliwala with the breakout room interface of Nimri because it allows for presenters to send one-way communication to preserve privacy of the breakout room participants (Nimri; par 34).
Regarding Claim 20, Pat2 and Haveliwala do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to: output for display, on a display of a participant device associated with a meeting participant of the two or more meeting participants, a user interface comprising a communication box; and transmitting an audio communication, initiated via the communication box, from the participant device to the host device without requiring the host to join the breakout room.
Nimri teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to: output for display, on a display of a participant device associated with a meeting participant of the two or more meeting participants, a user interface comprising a communication box (Fig. 5, elements {520, 540}, par 34-39);
and transmitting an audio communication, initiated via the communication box, from the participant device to the host device without requiring the host to join the breakout room (Fig. 5, elements {520, 540}, par 34-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Pat2 and Haveliwala with the breakout room interface of Nimri because it allows for presenters to send one-way communication to preserve privacy of the breakout room participants (Nimri; par 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Haveliwala (“Haveliwala”, US 20070299710, included in IDS filed 2/17/2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Haveliwala teaches a method, comprising: instantiating a meeting room corresponding to a first video conference controlled by a host, the meeting room configured to allow communication among meeting participants (Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28);
instantiating a breakout room corresponding to a second video conference and associated with the meeting room (par 4-5; par 80; par 48; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28),
wherein the breakout room is configured to allow communication among two or more of the meeting participants (Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28);
and controlling communication in the breakout room by controlling, via a host device associated with the host, a transmission of content to the breakout room without requiring the host to join the breakout room (Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; Presenters (hosts) can only move content to a room that they are not physically present in (room that they are not joining).).
Regarding Claim 2, Haveliwala teaches the method of claim 1.
Haveliwala further teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving content through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference (Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28).
Regarding Claim 3, Haveliwala teaches the method of claim 1.
Haveliwala further teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving a real time media audio stream through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference, the real time media audio stream comprising communication among the two or more meeting participants (par 4-5; par 80; par 48; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join.).
Regarding Claim 5, Haveliwala teaches the method of claim 1.
Haveliwala further teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: configuring a timer to limit an amount of time for which the content is displayed to a screen being shared by the two or more participants (par 49; The content displayed being shared is the test that is administered with a timer.).
Regarding Claim 7, Haveliwala teaches the method of claim 1.
Haveliwala further teaches wherein controlling the transmission of the content comprises: controlling a transmission of the content to an additional breakout room while controlling the transmission of the content to the breakout room (Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; Content can be moved or copied to room 1 and room 2.).
Regarding Claim 9, Haveliwala teaches the method of claim 1.
Haveliwala further teaches wherein instantiating the breakout room comprises automatically randomly assigning the two or more participants to the breakout room (par 69-70).
Regarding Claim 10, Haveliwala teaches the method of claim 1.
Haveliwala teaches further comprising: instantiating at least one additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference (par 48-49; par 4-5; par 80; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join.);
and rotating content among the breakout room and the at least one additional breakout room (par 48-49; par 4-5; par 80; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join. The instructor can roam the rooms to view content of the breakout rooms, and thus content is rotated to the instructor among the breakout rooms.).
Regarding Claim 11, Haveliwala teaches the method of claim 1.
Haveliwala teaches further comprising: instantiating at least one additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference (par 48-49; par 4-5; par 80; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join. The instructor can roam the rooms to view content of the breakout rooms, and thus content is rotated to the instructor among the breakout rooms.).
and rotating, based on a timer configured by the host device, content among the breakout room and the at least one additional breakout room (par 48-49; par 101; par 4-5; par 80; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join. The instructor can roam the rooms to view content of the breakout rooms, and thus content is rotated to the instructor among the breakout rooms. The timer is the time limit set by the instructor for each breakout room.).
Regarding Claim 12, Haveliwala teaches a system, comprising: one or more memories (par 23);
and one or more processors configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to cause the system (par 23).
The remainder of Claim 12 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Haveliwala teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12.
Haveliwala further teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: configuring a timer to limit an amount of time for which the content is displayed to a screen being shared by the two or more participants, wherein, upon expiration of the timer, the content being displayed is changed (par 49; The content displayed being shared is the test that is administered with a timer.).
Regarding Claim 14, Haveliwala teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12.
Haveliwala further teaches wherein controlling the transmission of the content comprises: forcing content to a screen being shared in the breakout room (par 49; The content being shared is whiteboard or slides shared.).
Regarding Claim 15, Haveliwala teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12.
Haveliwala further teaches the operations further comprising: instantiating an additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference; and controlling, via the host device while controlling the communication in the breakout room, an additional communication in the additional breakout room without requiring the host to join the additional breakout room (Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; Presenters (hosts) can only move content to a room that they are not physically present in (room that they are not joining). There are multiple breakout rooms that the presenter can move content to.).
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haveliwala in view of Gupta et al (“Gupta”, US 20230007063).
Regarding Claim 4, Haveliwala teaches the method of claim 1.
Haveliwala does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving a real time transcription of an audio stream through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference, the audio stream comprising communication among the two or more meeting participants.
Gupta teaches wherein controlling the communication further comprises: receiving a real time transcription of an audio stream through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference, the audio stream comprising communication among the two or more meeting participants (par 65; par 138). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Haveliwala with the transcript of Gupta because it allows for participants to keep a record of what went on in a conference in case they missed something or if they would like to revisit what was spoken in the conference.
Claims 6, 8, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haveliwala in view of Nimri et al (“Nimri”, US 20140267550).
Regarding Claim 6, Haveliwala teaches the method of claim 1.
Haveliwala does not explicitly teach wherein controlling the communication comprises: receiving visual content associated with a window through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference.
NImri teaches wherein controlling the communication comprises: receiving visual content associated with a window through a channel established between the host device and the second video conference (Fig. 5, elements {520, 540}, par 34-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Haveliwala with the breakout room interface of Nimri because it allows for presenters to send one-way communication to preserve privacy of the breakout room participants (Nimri; par 34).
Regarding Claim 8, Haveliwala teaches the method of claim 1.
Haveliwala teaches further comprising: joining, via the host device, the host to the second video conference (par 4-5; par 80; par 48; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join.);
communicating, via the host device, with the two or more meeting participants within the second video conference (par 4-5; par 80; par 48; Fig. 8, element 802, par 74; par 87; par 28; The breakout rooms comprise audio and video conferences among participants that the instructor (host) can join.);
Haveliwala does not explicitly teach controlling, simultaneously with communicating with the two or more participants within the second video conference, communication in an additional breakout room without requiring the host to join the additional breakout room.
Nimri teaches controlling, simultaneously with communicating with the two or more participants within the second video conference, communication in an additional breakout room without requiring the host to join the additional breakout room (par 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Haveliwala with the breakout room interface of Nimri because it allows for presenters to send one-way communication to preserve privacy of the breakout room participants (Nimri; par 34).
Regarding Claim 19, Haveliwala teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12.
Haveliwala does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to: output for display, on a display of the host device, a user interface comprising a first room tile corresponding to the breakout room, a second room tile corresponding to an additional breakout room, and a table comprising: an indication of the meeting room, an indication of each of the meeting participants, and an indication of each of a plurality of breakout room assignments associated with the meeting participants.
Nimri teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to: output for display, on a display of the host device, a user interface comprising a first room tile corresponding to the breakout room (Fig. 6, elements {610a-610f, 620a-620c}, par 44-49),
a second room tile corresponding to an additional breakout room (Fig. 6, elements {610a-610f, 620a-620c}, par 44-49),
and a table comprising: an indication of the meeting room, an indication of each of the meeting participants (Fig. 6, elements {610a-610f, 620a-620c}, par 44-49; The rows of participants and rows of breakout room tiles 620a-620c are viewed as a table.),
and an indication of each of a plurality of breakout room assignments associated with the meeting participants (Fig. 6, elements {610a-610f, 620a-620c}, par 44-49; The breakout room assignments are the listed breakout room tiles 620a-620c.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Haveliwala with the breakout room interface of Nimri because it allows for presenters to send one-way communication to preserve privacy of the breakout room participants (Nimri; par 34).
Regarding Claim 20, Haveliwala teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12.
Haveliwala does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to: output for display, on a display of a participant device associated with a meeting participant of the two or more meeting participants, a user interface comprising a communication box; and transmitting an audio communication, initiated via the communication box, from the participant device to the host device without requiring the host to join the breakout room.
Nimri teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to: output for display, on a display of a participant device associated with a meeting participant of the two or more meeting participants, a user interface comprising a communication box (Fig. 5, elements {520, 540}, par 34-39);
and transmitting an audio communication, initiated via the communication box, from the participant device to the host device without requiring the host to join the breakout room (Fig. 5, elements {520, 540}, par 34-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Haveliwala with the breakout room interface of Nimri because it allows for presenters to send one-way communication to preserve privacy of the breakout room participants (Nimri; par 34).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In interpreting the currently amended claims, in light of the specification, the Examiner finds the claimed invention to be patentably distinct from the prior art of record.
Regarding Claim 16, the closest prior art of record Haveliwala (US 20070299710) in view of Kwon et al (US 20200014641) in further view of Gupta et al (US 20230007063) and in even further view of Nimri et al (“Nimri”, US 20140267550) does not teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions operable to cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising: instantiating a meeting room corresponding to a first video conference controlled by a host, the meeting room configured to allow communication among meeting participants; instantiating a breakout room corresponding to a second video conference and associated with the meeting room, wherein the breakout room is configured to allow communication among two or more of the meeting participants; and controlling communication in the breakout room by controlling, via a host device associated with the host, a transmission of content to the breakout room without requiring the host to join the breakout room; the operations further comprising: instantiating at least one additional breakout room corresponding to at least one additional video conference; and rotating, according to a round robin scheme, content among the breakout room and the at least one additional breakout room.
Regarding Claim 18, the closest prior art of record Haveliwala (US 20070299710) in view of Kwon et al (US 20200014641) in further view of Gupta et al (US 20230007063) and in even further view of Nimri et al (US 20140267550) does not teach a system, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to cause the system to: instantiate a meeting room corresponding to a first video conference controlled by a host, the meeting room configured to allow communication among meeting participants; instantiate a breakout room corresponding to a second video conference and associated with the meeting room, wherein the breakout room is configured to allow communication among two or more of the meeting participants; and control communication in the breakout room by controlling, via a host device associated with the host, a transmission of content to the breakout room without requiring the host to join the breakout room; wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to: output for display, on a display of the host device, a user interface comprising a first room tile corresponding to the breakout room and a second room tile corresponding to an additional breakout room, wherein the first room tile comprises: a plurality of participant tiles corresponding to the two or more meeting participants, a first communication box corresponding to a screen being shared in the breakout room, and a second communication box configured to facilitate selection of content to be shared in the breakout room, and wherein the second room tile comprises: an additional plurality of participant tiles corresponding to a plurality of meeting participants associated with the additional breakout room, a third communication box corresponding to an additional screen being shared in the additional breakout room, and a fourth communication box configured to facilitate selection of additional content to be shared in the additional breakout room.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Powell et al (US 20230028265), Abstract - Improved virtual collaboration environments allow participants in a primary collaboration session to initiate side conversations with fellow participants based on virtual locations of each participant within a virtual collaboration layout. The virtual collaboration layout defines virtual locations of each participant in the collaboration session. If a virtual distance between two participants a below a threshold, the participants are able to engage in a side conversation. Management information is provided to a collaboration session host. The management information indicates, for example, a volume or frequency of communication occurring on each side conversation, or an elapsed time since the side conversation was initiated. The host is also provided with controls that allow the host to issue a warning to side conversation participants, to mute the side conversation, or to change a participant's position within the virtual collaboration layout, thus changing the participant's eligibility to participate in the side conversation.
Ou (US 11258836), Abstract - A method, computer program product, and computer system for providing, by a computing device, a session of an application, wherein the session may include a sub-session configured to exchange data with a plurality of endpoint devices. The computing device may receive a stream of data from an endpoint device outside the plurality of endpoint devices and that controls the session. The computing device may provide data to at least one of the plurality of endpoint devices, wherein the data may include the stream of data from the endpoint device that controls the session and another stream of data from a different endpoint device of the plurality of endpoint devices.
Slotznick (US 11107490), Abstract - Automated methods and systems are provided for performing acoustic echo cancellation of streaming audio for a plurality of participants who are each receiving the streaming audio from a host, and who are simultaneously engaged in remote audio communications with each other. The streaming audio is captured in memory as an audio signal copy for subsequent use in performing the acoustic echo cancellation. In this manner, participants may engage in remote audio communications with each other without receiving acoustic echoes of the streaming audio received by other participant computers, while still being able to individually hear the streaming audio outputted from their respective speakers.
Moran (US 7653013), Abstract - A method of conferencing involves forming a main conference between a plurality of users, providing a user with an option to request a subconference with a subset of other users, forming a subconference between said user and the subset of other users, and at least partially removing those users in the subconference from the main conference during the subsistence of the subconference. The conference is preferably a multimedia conference and the subconference can be conducted in an arbitrary mix of one or more of the media used in the main conference. Subconference participants have the option of monitoring proceedings in the main conference by receiving some of the main conference media signals while the subconference is in progress. The invention also provides conference servers, terminals and software for use in the subconferencing method.
Jones et al (US 20110271207), Abstract - Various embodiments of systems, methods, and computer programs are disclosed for providing an online conference. One method comprises: a conferencing system obtaining location information from a plurality of participants; the conferencing system associating the unique location information with a corresponding participant identifier; the conferencing system establishing an audio conference with the plurality of participants; the conferencing system presenting a conference interface to the plurality of participants; and the conference interface selectively displaying a map view of the audio conference which identifies a location of each of the plurality of participants.
/RAQIUL A CHOUDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2444