DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. This claim is an omnibus type claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pietsch (US 20110289924) in view of Chapman (US 4711666).
Regarding claim 3,
Referring to Fig. 2, Pietsch teaches a graphite mass 202 (see par. 49) having an internal passage (not labeled, see Fig. 2 wherein heat transporting medium 206 flows through mass 202 in a heat exchange relationship) enabling a heat transporting medium 206 to flow through the graphite mass (see par. 76), the internal passage having an internal surface in contact with the heat transporting medium (not labeled, see Fig. 2 wherein heat medium 206 flows through mass 202 and therefore must have an internal surface in contact with medium 206).
Pietsch teaches that oxidation is undesirable (see pars. 46, 55) and teaches certain anti-oxidation techniques (e.g. reactive compound removal system 220) but does not teach wherein the internal surface being treated with an anti-oxidation coating.
Chapman, directed to graphite crucibles and the like, teaches an anti-oxidation coating for graphite that prevents detrimental oxidation (see abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Pietsch by Chapman with the motivation of (further) preventing detrimental oxidation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lemmich, etc. teach thermal storage systems comprising graphite masses. Wilson, etc. teach anti oxidation coatings for graphite.
/Steve S TANENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3763