DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the bellows" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12253806 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and the above patent have claims drawn to a radiation source comprising: a laser chamber configured to generate a first laser beam; an optical system coupled to the laser chamber and configured to receive the first laser beam and output an output laser beam; and a gas purge system configured to supply a gas into the optical system at a pressure less than atmospheric pressure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamashita et al. [US 20030142714 A1, hereafter Yamashita].
As per Claim 8, Yamashita teaches a radiation source (Para 46) comprising:
a laser chamber 12 configured to generate a first laser beam 21 (Para 36);
an optical system 54 coupled to the laser chamber via a bellows (Para 36),
wherein the optical system is configured to receive the first laser beam and output an output laser beam (Para 39); and
a gas purge system configured to supply a helium-containing gas into the optical system (Para 40).
As per Claim 9, Yamashita teaches the radiation source of claim 8, wherein the gas purge system includes a gas supply pump configured to supply the helium gas into the optical system, and a second pump configured to substantially remove a second gas from the optical system (See fig. 13, Para 62).
As per Claim 14, Yamashita teaches the radiation source of claim 8 further comprising: a second laser chamber configured to at least indirectly receive the first laser beam and amplify the first laser beam to generate a second laser beam, wherein the optical system is configured to receive the second laser beam and output the output laser beam (Para 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita in view of Elliott et al. [US 5771260 A, hereafter Elliott].
As per Claims 1 and 15, Yamashita teaches a radiation source (Para 46) comprising:
a laser chamber 12 configured to generate a first laser beam 21 (Para 36);
an optical system 54 coupled to the laser chamber and configured to receive the first laser beam and output an output laser beam (Para 39); and
a gas purge system configured to supply a gas into the optical system (Para 40).
Yamashita does not explicitly teach a gas purge system configured to supply a gas into the optical system at a pressure less than atmospheric pressure.
Elliott teaches an enclosure system for optical laser devices which prevents contamination of the optics housed within the enclosure system; and since the individual modules are sealable, they eliminate the formation of toxic ozone and they can be purged with gas to increase the output level of the laser beam and also prevent airborne contaminants from contaminating the optical components (Column 5 lines 11-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate a gas purge system as claimed in order to prevent contamination and increase the energy of laser beam.
As per Claim 2, Yamashita in view of Elliott teaches the radiation source of claim 1.
Elliott further disclosed wherein the gas purge system includes a gas supply pump configured to supply the gas into the optical system at the pressure less than atmospheric pressure (Column 5 lines 11-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate a gas purge system as claimed in order to prevent contamination and increase the energy of laser beam.
As per Claim 3, Yamashita in view of Elliott teaches the radiation source of claim 2.
Yamashita further disclosed wherein the gas purge system further includes a second pump configured to substantially remove a second gas from the optical system (Para 62).
As per Claim 4, Yamashita in view of Elliott teaches the radiation source of claim 3.
Yamashita further disclosed wherein the gas is a nitrogen-containing gas and the second gas is an oxygen-containing gas (Para 40).
As per Claim 5, Yamashita in view of Elliott teaches the radiation source of claim 1.
Elliott further disclosed wherein the pressure is between about 50 Torr and about 700 Torr (Column 5 lines 11-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate a gas purge system as claimed in order to prevent contamination and increase the energy of laser beam.
As per Claim 6, Yamashita in view of Elliott teaches the radiation source of claim 1.
Yamashita in view of Elliott further disclosed wherein: the optical system includes a first optical module and a second optical module; and the gas purge system includes: a first gas supply pump coupled to the first optical module and configured to supply the gas into the first optical module at the pressure less than atmospheric pressure; and a second gas supply pump coupled to the second optical module and configured to supply the gas into the second optical module at the pressure less than atmospheric pressure (See Yamashita fig. 13 in view of Elliott Column 5 lines 11-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate a gas purge system as claimed in order to prevent contamination and increase the energy of laser beam.
As per Claim 7, Yamashita in view of Elliott teaches the radiation source of claim 1.
Yamashita further disclosed wherein the radiation source is configured to output the output laser beam to an illumination system configured to condition the output laser beam during a lithography process (Para 46).
As per Claims 10 and 11, Yamashita teaches the radiation source of claim 8, wherein the gas purge system includes a gas supply pump configured to supply the helium gas into the optical system (Para 40).
Yamashita does not explicitly teach wherein the gas purge system includes a gas supply pump configured to supply the helium gas into the optical system at a pressure about atmospheric pressure.
Elliott teaches an enclosure system for optical laser devices which prevents contamination of the optics housed within the enclosure system; and since the individual modules are sealable, they eliminate the formation of toxic ozone and they can be purged with gas to increase the output level of the laser beam and also prevent airborne contaminants from contaminating the optical components (Column 5 lines 11-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate a gas purge system as claimed in order to prevent contamination and increase the energy of laser beam.
As per Claims 12 and 13, Yamashita in view of Elliott teaches the radiation source of claim 8.
Yamashita in view of Elliott further disclosed wherein: the optical system comprises a first optical module and a second optical module; and the gas purge system includes: a first gas supply pump coupled to the first optical module and configured to supply the helium gas into the first optical module; and a second gas supply pump coupled to the second optical module and configured to supply the helium gas into the second optical module (See Yamashita fig. 1 and 13 in view of Elliott Column 5 lines 11-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate a gas purge system as claimed in order to prevent contamination and increase the energy of laser beam.
As per Claim 16, Yamashita in view of Elliott teaches the method of claim 15.
Yamashita further disclosed wherein supplying the gas into the optical system includes directing the gas toward a bellows, wherein the bellows is arranged between the first laser chamber and the optical system (Para 36).
As per Claim 17, Yamashita in view of Elliott teaches the method of claim 15.
Yamashita further disclosed directing, through the optical system, the first laser beam toward a second laser chamber; amplifying the first laser beam and redirecting and directing the amplified laser beam toward a second optical system; generating a second laser beam from the second laser chamber; and supply a second gas into the second optical system at a second pressure less tan atmosphere pressure (See fig. 1).
As per Claim 18, Yamashita in view of Elliott teaches the method of claim 15.
Yamashita further disclosed removing a first oxygen-containing gas from the optical system; and removing a second oxygen-containing gas from a second optical system (See fig. 1, Para 12).
As per Claim 19, Yamashita in view of Elliott teaches the method of claim 15.
Yamashita further disclosed further comprising: supplying a second gas into a second optical system at a pressure about atmospheric pressure, wherein the gas is a nitrogen-containing gas and the second gas is a helium-containing gas (Para 40).
As per Claim 20, Yamashita in view of Elliott teaches the method of claim 19.
Yamashita further disclosed wherein outputting the output beam includes directly directing the output beam from the optical system toward an illumination system (Para 43).
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The reference US 6341006 B1 to Murayama et al. listed in the IDS filed on 02/18/2025 teach other prior art apparatus/method of the optical path that can be divided into a plurality of hermetic blocks each having an inert gas sealed therein by a plurality of partition devices, that may anticipate or obviate the claims of the applicant's invention.
Conclusion
/MESFIN T ASFAW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882