DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizunashi et al. (US 20230053669 A1, hereinafter Mizunashi) in view of Uno et al. (JP 2007210125 A) in view of Masashi Onishi (US 6413453 B1, hereinafter Onishi)Regarding claim 1,
An injection molding machine comprising:
a mold clamping device including:
a movable platen having a movable mold;
a fixed platen having a fixed mold that faces the movable mold; and
a toggle mechanism configured to move the movable platen in directions in which a mold device opens and closes, relative to the fixed platen, and dispose the movable platen in a mold clamping position;
an injection device configured to inject a molding material into a cavity space formed between the movable mold disposed in the mold clamping position and the fixed mold; and
a control device configured to control operation of the injection device and the mold clamping device,
wherein the control device is configured to perform a cleaning process, in which, while the movable platen is at a burr-forming position where the movable mold is farther away from the fixed mold than at the mold clamping position, the injection device injects the molding material into the mold device to mold an article with burrs, and
wherein the toggle mechanism is configured such that a toggle factor at the burr-forming position is a magnification factor of 1 or greater.
Mizunashi teaches the following:
([0018]) teaches as illustrated in (Figs. 1 & 2), the injection molding machine 10 includes a mold clamping device 100 that opens and closes a mold device 800. Accordingly, the injection molding machine 10 is understood to comprise a mold clamping device 100, which provides for and acts as applicant’s injection molding machine comprising a mold clamping device.
([0020]) teaches the mold clamping device 100 has a fixed platen 110 to which a fixed mold 810 is attached, the movable platen 120 to which the movable mold 820 is attached, and a moving mechanism 102 for moving the movable platen 120 in the mold opening and closing direction relative to the fixed platen 110. Accordingly, the mold clamping device 100 is understood to comprise a movable platen 120 to which the movable mold 820 is attached, which provides for and acts as applicant’s fixed platen having a fixed mold that faces the movable mold.
([0020]) teaches the mold clamping device 100 has a fixed platen 110 to which a fixed mold 810 is attached, the movable platen 120 to which the movable mold 820 is attached, and a moving mechanism 102 for moving the movable platen 120 in the mold opening and closing direction relative to the fixed platen 110. Accordingly, the mold clamping device 100 is understood to comprise a fixed platen 110 to which a fixed mold 810 is attached, which provides for and acts as applicant’s movable platen having a movable mold.
([0023]) teaches that the moving mechanism 102 has a toggle support 130 spaced apart from the fixed platen 110, a tie bar 140 connecting the fixed platen 110 and the toggle support 130, a toggle mechanism 150 for moving the movable platen 120 in the mold opening and closing direction with respect to the toggle support 130, a mold clamping motor 160 for operating the toggle mechanism 150, a motion conversion mechanism 170 for converting the rotational motion of the mold clamping motor 160 into linear motion, and a mold thickness adjustment mechanism 180 for adjusting the spacing between the fixed platen 110 and the toggle support 130. Accordingly, the moving mechanism 102 of the mold clamping device 100 is understood to comprise a toggle mechanism 150.
([0036]) teaches that in the mold clamping process, a cavity space 801 (see Fig. 2 ) is formed between the movable mold 820 and the fixed mold 810, and an injection device 300 fills the cavity space 801 with a liquid molding material. The filled molding material is solidified, resulting in a molded product. Accordingly, the injection device 300 injects a molding material into a cavity formed between the movable mold disposed in the mold clamping position and the fixed mold which provides for and acts as applicant’s injection device configured to inject a molding material into a cavity space formed between the movable mold disposed in the mold clamping position and the fixed mold.
([0018]) teaches a controller 700 that controls each component of the injection molding machine 10. ([0032]) teaches that the mold clamping device 100 performs a mold closing process, a pressure-boosting process, a mold clamping process, a depressurizing process, a mold opening process, and the like under the control of the controller 700. Accordingly, controller 700 operates both the injection device and the mold clamping device, which provides for and acts as applicant’s control device configured to control operation of the injection device and the mold clamping device.
([0017]) teaches that (Fig. 1) is a view illustrating a state when a mold opening of an injection molding machine according to an embodiment is complete. (FIG. 2) is a view illustrating a state when a mold of the injection molding machine according to the embodiment is clamped. ([0032]) adds that the mold clamping device 100 performs a mold closing process, a pressure-boosting process, a mold clamping process, a depressurizing process, a mold opening process, and the like under the control of the controller 700. Accordingly, the controller 700 provides for and acts as applicant’s control device is configured to move the movable platen between a burr-forming position where the movable mold is farther away from the fixed mold and between the mold clamping position, in which the injection device injects the molding material into the mold device to mold an article with burrs.
([0043]) teaches that that amplification factor is also called toggle magnification. The toggle magnification varies according to the angle θ (hereinafter also referred to as “link angle θ”) formed by the first link 152 and the second link 153. The link angle θ is obtained from the position of the crosshead 151. The toggle magnification is maximum when the link angle θ is 180 degrees.
Regarding Claim 1, Mizunashi is silent on the control device is configured to perform a cleaning process, in which, while the movable platen is at a burr-forming position where the movable mold is farther away from the fixed mold than at the mold clamping position, the injection device injects the molding material into the mold device to mold an article with burrs. In analogous art for an operation system for an molding machine that has an injection device 51, a mold assembly 52, a mold clamping device 53, an imaging device for photographing a monitor place, an image processing means for performing image processing on the basis of the image of the monitor place, a maintenance judge processing means for judging whether maintenance is necessary with respect to the monitor place on the basis of the result of image processing and a maintenance processing means for performing maintenance with respect to the monitor place in a case that maintenance is necessary, (Abstract), Uno suggests details regarding the control device is configured to perform a cleaning process, in which, while the movable platen is at a burr-forming position where the movable mold is farther away from the fixed mold than at the mold clamping position, the injection device injects the molding material into the mold device to mold an article with burrs, and in this regard, Uno teaches the following:
([0033]) teaches that the injection nozzle 58 is designated as the target of monitoring, and the camera 138 monitors the injection nozzle 58. If resin adheres to the area around the injection nozzle 58, the brush 152 is rotated to clean the area around the injection nozzle 58 and remove the resin.([0044]) teaches first, in the main control unit 222, the abnormal stop determination processing means (processing unit) of the CPU 224 (not shown) performs abnormal stop determination processing, including determining whether the molded products remaining in the mold device 52, and whether an abnormal stop has occurred in the injection molding machine. ([0045]) teaches next, the ejection processing means (processing unit) of the CPU 231 (not shown) performs ejection processing and operates the ejector device 55 again to eject the product, and the removal processing means (processing unit) of the CPU 231 (not shown) performs removal processing and operates the removal machine 161 again to remove the molded product. As such, during this time, a gap in the mold is understood to be formed due to performing the removal processing means and ejection processing means. ([0047]) adds that a maintenance determination processing means determines that maintenance is necessary for the mold device 52 if there are molded products remaining inside the mold device 52, and determines that maintenance is not necessary for the mold device 52 if there are no molded products remaining inside the mold device 52. ([0051]) goes on to state that then, the automatic nozzle cleaning processing means (processing unit), not shown in the database 234, performs automatic nozzle cleaning processing and operates the nozzle cleaning device 131 to clean the injection nozzle 58. Accordingly, the main control unit 222 provides for and acts as applicant’s control device is configured to perform a cleaning process and move the movable platen between a burr-forming position where the movable mold is farther away from the fixed mold and between the mold clamping position, in which the injection device injects the molding material into the mold device to mold an article with burrs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for an injection molding machine comprising a controller of an injection molding machine includes a detection part configured to detect whether or not a process in each process performed in the injection molding machine has started based on preset conditions in the process, (Abstract) of Mizunashi. By modifying the molding operation to comprise a control unit configured to perform a cleaning process and move the movable platen between a burr-forming position where the movable mold is farther away from the fixed mold and between the mold clamping position, in which the injection device injects the molding material into the mold device to mold an article with burrs, as taught by Uno. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a control unit configured to perform a cleaning process and move the movable platen between a burr-forming position where the movable mold is farther away from the fixed mold and between the mold clamping position, in which the injection device injects the molding material into the mold device to mold an article with burrs as it provides for implementing a nozzle cleaning device 131 allows for automatic cleaning of the injection nozzle 58, eliminating the need for manual cleaning by the operator, ([0059]).Regarding Claim 1, Mizunashi as modified by Uno is silent on the toggle mechanism is configured such that a toggle factor at the burr-forming position is a magnification factor of 1 or greater. In analogous art for a motor-driven mold clamping device for an injection molding machine which includes a toggle mechanism for advancing and retracting a movable platen toward and away from a fixed platen, and a servo motor adapted to drive the toggle mechanism via a ball screw mechanism, (Abstract), Onishi suggests details regarding the toggle mechanism is configured such that a toggle factor at the burr-forming position is a magnification factor of 1 or greater, and in this regard, Onishi teaches the following:
(Col. 4, lines 43 – 55) teaches that referring to (Fig. 5), the description will be made with respect to the relation between a theoretical toggle magnification factor and the knicking K in the toggle mechanism. Generally, the toggle mechanism has a characteristic as shown in (Fig. 5). In FIG. 5, if the knicking K approaches the zero, the theoretical toggle magnification factor approaches the infinity. This means that, if the knicking K is a small value, it is possible to obtain a sufficient mold clamping force, even if the servo motor 18 is driven with a small current smaller than the rated current. In the embodiment, the toggle mechanism is used within a range of 20 through 80 in the theoretical toggle magnification factor. Accordingly, implementing a toggle magnification factor in a range of range of 20 through 80 is understood to overlap with applicant’s range implementing a toggle mechanism that is configured such that a toggle factor at the burr-forming position is a magnification factor of 1 or greater. Additionally, due to the impact that the toggle magnification factor has on the knicking K in the toggle mechanism. The case law for result effective variables may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2143 II (B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for an injection molding machine comprising a controller of an injection molding machine includes a detection part configured to detect whether or not a process in each process performed in the injection molding machine has started based on preset conditions in the process, (Abstract) of Mizunashi as modified by Uno. By further modifying the injection molding apparatus’ toggle mechanism to implement a toggle mechanism that is configured such that a toggle factor at the burr-forming position is a magnification factor of 1 or greater, as taught by Onishi. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a toggle mechanism is configured such that a toggle factor at the burr-forming position is a magnification factor of 1 or greater as it provides for tailoring the level of knicking K in the toggle mechanism, (Fig. 5). Reiterating, due to the impact that the toggle magnification factor has on the knicking K in the toggle mechanism. The case law for result effective variables may be recited as aforementioned. Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the control device is configured to form, during the cleaning process, a gap between the movable mold having moved to the burr-forming position, and the fixed mold.
Regarding Claim 2, Mizunashi is silent on the control device is configured to form, during the cleaning process, a gap between the movable mold having moved to the burr-forming position, and the fixed mold. In analogous art as applied above, (Abstract), Uno suggests details regarding the control device is configured to form, during the cleaning process, a gap between the movable mold having moved to the burr-forming position, and the fixed mold, and in this regard, Uno teaches the following:
([0033]) teaches that the injection nozzle 58 is designated as the target of monitoring, and the camera 138 monitors the injection nozzle 58. If resin adheres to the area around the injection nozzle 58, the brush 152 is rotated to clean the area around the injection nozzle 58 and remove the resin.([0044]) teaches first, in the main control unit 222, the abnormal stop determination processing means (processing unit) of the CPU 224 (not shown) performs abnormal stop determination processing, including determining whether the molded products remaining in the mold device 52, and whether an abnormal stop has occurred in the injection molding machine. ([0045]) teaches next, the ejection processing means (processing unit) of the CPU 231 (not shown) performs ejection processing and operates the ejector device 55 again to eject the product, and the removal processing means (processing unit) of the CPU 231 (not shown) performs removal processing and operates the removal machine 161 again to remove the molded product. As such, during this time, a gap in the mold is understood to be formed due to performing the removal processing means and ejection processing means. ([0047]) adds that a maintenance determination processing means determines that maintenance is necessary for the mold device 52 if there are molded products remaining inside the mold device 52, and determines that maintenance is not necessary for the mold device 52 if there are no molded products remaining inside the mold device 52. ([0051]) goes on to state that then, the automatic nozzle cleaning processing means (processing unit), not shown in the database 234, performs automatic nozzle cleaning processing and operates the nozzle cleaning device 131 to clean the injection nozzle 58. ([0058]) adds that if a molded product remains in the mold device 52, the molded product removal device 132 can automatically remove the molded product, eliminating the need for an operator to remove the molded product.([0062]) teaches the flow chart found in (Fig. 3) which illustrates the sequence of the injection molding cycle including the cleaning operation. As detailed, in Step S4: Determine whether or not a molded product remains inside the mold device 52. After which, Step S6: Perform automatic purging and in Step S7: Perform automatic nozzle cleaning. This is followed by Step S8: Starting automatic molding and then end the process. Where the main control unit 222 automatically remove the molded product and/or perform automatic nozzle cleaning provides for provides for and acts as applicant’s control device is configured to perform a cleaning process and move the movable platen between a burr-forming position where the movable mold is farther away from the fixed mold and between the mold clamping position, in which the injection device injects the molding material into the mold device to mold an article with burrs.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 2,
Wherein the mold clamping device has a mold thickness adjustment mechanism configured to adjust an interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen, and
wherein the control device is configured to operate, before the cleaning process is performed, the mold thickness adjustment mechanism to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for the cleaning process.
Mizunashi teaches the following:
& b.) ([0045]) teaches that the mold clamping device 100 has a mold thickness adjustment mechanism 180. The mold thickness adjustment mechanism 180 adjusts the interval L between the fixed platen 110 and the toggle support 130 to adjust the mold thickness. The timing of the mold thickness adjustment is performed, for example, between the end of the molding cycle and the start of the next molding cycle. Accordingly, the mold thickness adjustment mechanism 180 is understood to be utilized during opening and closing of the mold.
Regarding Claim 3, Mizunashi is silent on the control device is configured to operate, before the cleaning process is performed, the mold thickness adjustment mechanism to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for the cleaning process. In analogous art as applied above, Uno suggests details regarding the control device is configured to operate, before the cleaning process is performed, the mold thickness adjustment mechanism to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for the cleaning process, and in this regard, Uno teaches the following:
([0014]) teaches that 60 is a mold thickness adjustment device that functions as a toggle adjustment device. ([0025]) teaches that the mold thickness adjustment device 60 is screwed into threaded portions formed at the rear ends of each tie bar 93 and includes an adjustment nut 121 that serves as both a toggle adjustment member and a mold thickness adjustment member, a mold thickness motor 122 that serves as both a toggle adjustment and a drive unit for mold thickness adjustment, and a timing belt 123 that serves as a transmission member for transmitting the rotation generated by driving the mold thickness motor 122 to each adjustment nut 121. Accordingly, mold thickness adjustment device 60 is understood to be utilized during opening and closing of the mold.
([0033]) teaches that the injection nozzle 58 is designated as the target of monitoring, and the camera 138 monitors the injection nozzle 58. If resin adheres to the area around the injection nozzle 58, the brush 152 is rotated to clean the area around the injection nozzle 58 and remove the resin.([0044]) teaches first, in the main control unit 222, the abnormal stop determination processing means (processing unit) of the CPU 224 (not shown) performs abnormal stop determination processing, including determining whether the molded products remaining in the mold device 52, and whether an abnormal stop has occurred in the injection molding machine. ([0045]) teaches next, the ejection processing means (processing unit) of the CPU 231 (not shown) performs ejection processing and operates the ejector device 55 again to eject the product, and the removal processing means (processing unit) of the CPU 231 (not shown) performs removal processing and operates the removal machine 161 again to remove the molded product. As such, during this time, a gap in the mold is understood to be formed due to performing the removal processing means and ejection processing means. ([0047]) adds that a maintenance determination processing means determines that maintenance is necessary for the mold device 52 if there are molded products remaining inside the mold device 52, and determines that maintenance is not necessary for the mold device 52 if there are no molded products remaining inside the mold device 52. ([0051]) goes on to state that then, the automatic nozzle cleaning processing means (processing unit), not shown in the database 234, performs automatic nozzle cleaning processing and operates the nozzle cleaning device 131 to clean the injection nozzle 58. Namely, the cleaning process is understood to transpire after the mold has been opened and the article has been ejected from the mold. Accordingly, the main control unit 222 provides for and acts as applicant’s control device configured to operate, before the cleaning process is performed, the mold thickness adjustment mechanism to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for the cleaning process.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 3,
Wherein the control device is configured to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for injection molding and resumes injection molding after the cleaning process is performed.
Regarding Claim 4, Mizunashi is silent on the control device is configured to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for injection molding and resumes injection molding after the cleaning process is performed. In analogous art as applied above, Uno suggests details regarding the control device is configured to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for injection molding and resumes injection molding after the cleaning process is performed, and in this regard, Uno teaches the following:
([0062]) teaches the flow chart found in (Fig. 3) which illustrates the sequence of the injection molding cycle including the cleaning operation. As detailed, in Step S4: Determine whether or not a molded product remains inside the mold device 52. After which, in Step S7: Perform automatic nozzle cleaning. This is followed by Step S8: Starting automatic molding and then end the process. ([0005]) notes that the operator can use the control unit to start, stop, or change the molding conditions of the injection molding machine. ([0049]) adds that if it is determined that no maintenance is required for the mold device 52, the injection molding machine instruction processing means in the main control unit 222 transmits an instruction signal to the control unit Fi to start operation of the injection molding machine. Noting, that determining that no maintenance is required includes perform automatic nozzle cleaning if required. Where the control units Step S8: i.e, Starting automatic molding and then end the molding process is understood to provide for and act as applicant’s control device is configured to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for injection molding and resumes injection molding after the cleaning process is performed
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the control device is configured to repeat the cleaning process a plurality of times.
Mizunashi teaches the following:
([0096]) notes the controller 700 repeatedly manufactures the molded product by repeating the measuring process, mold closing process, pressure-boosting process, clamping process, filling process, pressure-holding process, cooling process, depressurization process, mold opening process, ejection process, and the like. The sequence of operations to obtain the molded product, for example, from the beginning of the measuring process to the beginning of the next measuring process, is also called a “shot” or “molding cycle”. The time required for one shot is also called the “molding cycle time” or “cycle time
Regarding Claim 5, Mizunashi is silent on the control device is configured to repeat the cleaning process a plurality of times. In analogous art as applied above, Uno suggests details regarding the control device is configured to repeat the cleaning process a plurality of times, and in this regard, Uno teaches the following:
([0062]) teaches the flow chart found in (Fig. 3) which illustrates the sequence of the injection molding cycle including the cleaning operation. As detailed, in Step S1: Wait for an abnormal shutdown to occur. If an abnormal shutdown occurs, proceed to Step S2. This is followed by Step S4: Determine whether or not a molded product remains inside the mold device 52, which notes that if a molded product remains in the mold device 52, proceed to step S9; otherwise, proceed to step S5. Step S5: Increase the temperature of the resin. Step S6: Perform automatic purging. Step S7: Perform automatic nozzle cleaning. As such, the cleaning is understood to be performed, and repeated a plurality of time until the abnormal shutdown stops occurring and the injection molding cycle may resume. Where the molding process including Step S4: Determine whether or not a molded product remains inside the mold device 52, which notes that if a molded product remains in the mold device 52, proceed to step S9; otherwise, proceed to step S5. Step S5: Increase the temperature of the resin. Step S6: Perform automatic purging. Step S7: Perform automatic nozzle cleaning is understood to be repeated a plurality of time until the abnormal shutdown stops occurring and the injection molding cycle may resume provides for and acts as applicant’s control device is configured to repeat the cleaning process a plurality of times.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5,
Wherein the control device is configured to perform a detection of a start of the cleaning process or an end of the cleaning process, or both, before the injection device performs a measurement step, and
wherein the control device is configured to perform the measurement step, the measurement step including measuring an amount of the molding material according to a result of the detection.
Mizunashi teaches the following:
([0049]) teaches that The interval L is detected using the mold thickness adjustment motor encoder 184. The mold thickness adjustment motor encoder 184 detects the amount and direction of rotation of the mold thickness adjustment motor 183 and sends a signal indicating the result of the detection to the controller 700. The detection result of the mold thickness adjustment motor encoder 184 is used to monitor and control the position and interval L of the toggle support 130. The toggle support position detector for detecting the position of the toggle support 130 and the interval detector for detecting the interval L are not limited to the mold thickness adjustment motor encoder 184, and a general detector can be used. ([0096]) notes the controller 700 repeatedly manufactures the molded product by repeating the measuring process, mold closing process, pressure-boosting process, clamping process, filling process, pressure-holding process, cooling process, depressurization process, mold opening process, ejection process, and the like. As such, the controller 700 provides for and acts as applicant’s control device configured to perform a detection step at the start of the molding process or at an end of the molding process.
([0076]) teaches the measuring motor 340 is driven to rotate the screw 330 at a set rotational speed and feed the molding material forward along the spiral groove of the screw 330. According to this, the molding material is gradually melted. As the liquid molding material is sent forward of the screw 330 and accumulated at the front of the cylinder 310, the screw 330 is moved backward. The rotational speed of the screw 330 is detected using, for example, the measuring motor encoder 341. The measuring motor encoder 341 detects the rotation of the measuring motor 340 and sends a signal indicating the detection result to the controller 700. ([0077]) teaches In a measuring process, a setback pressure may be applied to the screw 330 by driving the injection motor 350 to limit the sudden backward movement of the screw 330. The back pressure against the screw 330 is detected using, for example, the load detector 360. When the screw 330 moves backward to the measuring completion position and a predetermined amount of molding material accumulates in front of the screw 330, the measuring process is completed. Where the controller 700 performs a measurement step including determining when a predetermined amount of molding material accumulates in front of the screw 330, which provides for and acts as applicant’s control device is configured to perform the measurement step, the measurement step including measuring an amount of the molding material according to a result of the detection.
Regarding Claim 6, Mizunashi is silent on the control device is configured to perform a detection of a start of the cleaning process or an end of the cleaning process, or both, before the injection device performs a measurement step and the control device is configured to perform the measurement step, the measurement step including measuring an amount of the molding material according to a result of the detection. In analogous art as applied above, Uno suggests details regarding the control device is configured to perform a detection of a start of the cleaning process or an end of the cleaning process, or both, before the injection device performs a measurement step and the control device is configured to perform the measurement step, the measurement step including measuring an amount of the molding material according to a result of the detection, and in this regard, Uno teaches the following:
([0033]) teaches at a predetermined location on the injection molding machine, in this embodiment, the injection nozzle 58, is designated as the first monitoring location. A camera 138, which serves as the first imaging device, and a nozzle cleaning device 131, which serves as the first maintenance device, are installed to monitor the injection nozzle 58. The camera 138 is positioned opposite the injection nozzle 58 and photographs the injection nozzle 58. ([0033]) adds that Therefore, the injection nozzle 58 is designated as the target of monitoring, and the camera 138 monitors the injection nozzle 58. If resin adheres to the area around the injection nozzle 58, the brush 152 is rotated to clean the area around the injection nozzle 58 and remove the resin. Where the camera 138 captures and detects the state of the injection nozzle 58 regarding if resin has adhered to the area around the injection nozzle 58 or not resulting in the need for the cleaning process.
([0033]) teaches at a predetermined location on the injection molding machine, in this embodiment, the injection nozzle 58, is designated as the first monitoring location. A camera 138, which serves as the first imaging device, and a nozzle cleaning device 131, which serves as the first maintenance device, are installed to monitor the injection nozzle 58. The camera 138 is positioned opposite the injection nozzle 58 and photographs the injection nozzle 58. ([0033]) adds that Therefore, the injection nozzle 58 is designated as the target of monitoring, and the camera 138 monitors the injection nozzle 58. If resin adheres to the area around the injection nozzle 58, the brush 152 is rotated to clean the area around the injection nozzle 58 and remove the resin. Where the camera 138 detects and measures an amount of the molding material adheres to the area around the injection nozzle 58 or not resulting in the need for the cleaning process.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the toggle mechanism is configured such that the toggle factor at the burr-forming position is a magnification factor of 5 or greater
Regarding Claim 7, Mizunashi as modified by Uno is silent on the toggle mechanism is configured such that a toggle factor at the burr-forming position is a magnification factor of 5 or greater. In analogous art as applied above, Onishi suggests details regarding the toggle mechanism is configured such that a toggle factor at the burr-forming position is a magnification factor of 5 or greater, and in this regard, Onishi teaches the following:
(Col. 4, lines 43 – 55) teaches that referring to (Fig. 5), the description will be made with respect to the relation between a theoretical toggle magnification factor and the knicking K in the toggle mechanism. Generally, the toggle mechanism has a characteristic as shown in (Fig. 5). In FIG. 5, if the knicking K approaches the zero, the theoretical toggle magnification factor approaches the infinity. This means that, if the knicking K is a small value, it is possible to obtain a sufficient mold clamping force, even if the servo motor 18 is driven with a small current smaller than the rated current. In the embodiment, the toggle mechanism is used within a range of 20 through 80 in the theoretical toggle magnification factor. Accordingly, implementing a toggle magnification factor in a range of range of 20 through 80 is understood to overlap with applicant’s range implementing a toggle mechanism that is configured such that a toggle factor at the burr-forming position is a magnification factor of 1 or greater. Additionally, due to the impact that the toggle magnification factor has on the knicking K in the toggle mechanism. The case law for result effective variables may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2143 II (B).
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.B.) Claim(s) 4 – 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizunashi et al. in view of Uno in view of Onishi and in further view of Terada et al. (US 20060097421 A1, hereinafter Terada)
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 3,
Wherein the control device is configured to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for injection molding and resumes injection molding after the cleaning process is performed.
Regarding Claim 4, Mizunashi as modified by Uno and Onishi is silent on the control device is configured to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for injection molding and resumes injection molding after the cleaning process is performed. In analogous art for a molding method, a purging method, and a molding machine which can remove resin adhering to the rear surface of a flight of a screw with certainty, (Abstract), Terada suggests details regarding control device is configured to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for injection molding and resumes injection molding after the cleaning process is performed, and in this regard, Terada teaches the following:
([0040]) teaches reference numeral 31 denotes a mold support member in the form of a stationary platen in the mold clamping mechanism 30, and the mold support member is secured to the molding machine frame 11. On the mold installation surface (the left-hand surface in FIG. 2) of the stationary platen 31, a mold in the form of a stationary mold 32 which constitutes the mold mechanism is mounted. Reference numeral 33 denotes a movable mold which is mounted on an unillustrated movable platen. ([0070]) teaches from the heating cylinder 22, the purging resin is supplied from the hopper 27 to the interior of the heating cylinder 22, and the step of metering the resin is carried out. Purging is then carried out with the purging resin, and the inner surface of the heating cylinder 22 and the surface of the screw 24 are cleaned. In this case as well, an operation similar to the above-described purging of the remaining resin is repeated. Namely, the operation of moving the screw 24 in the forward direction, discharging the molten purging resin from the injection nozzle 23, securing the screw 24 in the forward limit position of the screw stroke, and rotating the screw 24 in the reverse direction is repeated. As a result, resin adhering to the rear surface 35 b of the flight 35 can be removed with certainty. After discharge of the purging resin from the heating cylinder 22 has been completed, a new resin can be supplied from the hopper 27 into the heating cylinder 22, and as described above, molding of the molded product using the new resin can be commenced. Where a new resin can be supplied from the hopper 27 into the heating cylinder 22, and as described above, molding of the molded product using the new resin can be commenced provides for and acts as applicant’s control device is configured to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for injection molding and resumes injection molding after the cleaning process is performed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for an injection molding machine comprising a controller of an injection molding machine includes a detection part configured to detect whether or not a process in each process performed in the injection molding machine has started based on preset conditions in the process of Mizunashi as modified by Uno and Onishi. By further modifying the injection molding apparatus to comprise a control device is configured to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for injection molding and resumes injection molding after the cleaning process is performed. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a control device is configured to adjust the interval between the fixed platen and the movable platen to an interval for injection molding and resumes injection molding after the cleaning process is performed as it provides for a new resin can be supplied from the hopper 27 into the heating cylinder 22, and as described above, molding of the molded product using the new resin can be commenced, ([0070]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the control device is configured to repeat the cleaning process a plurality of times.
Mizunashi teaches the following:
([0096]) notes the controller 700 repeatedly manufactures the molded product by repeating the measuring process, mold closing process, pressure-boosting process, clamping process, filling process, pressure-holding process, cooling process, depressurization process, mold opening process, ejection process, and the like. The sequence of operations to obtain the molded product, for example, from the beginning of the measuring process to the beginning of the next measuring process, is also called a “shot” or “molding cycle”. The time required for one shot is also called the “molding cycle time” or “cycle time
Regarding Claim 5, Mizunashi as modified by Uno and Onishi is silent on the control device is configured to repeat the cleaning process a plurality of times. In analogous art as applied above, Terada suggests details regarding the control device is configured to repeat the cleaning process a plurality of times, and in this regard, Terada teaches the following:
([0005]) teaches during metering, the molten resin is transported to the front end of the screw, but if metering is repeatedly carried out, there are cases in which resin which has deteriorated adheres to the screw. The cause of the adhesion is that the resin which has been melted is resin which readily adheres to metal members such as the screw. ([0070]) adds that purging is then carried out with the purging resin, and the inner surface of the heating cylinder 22 and the surface of the screw 24 are cleaned. In this case as well, an operation similar to the above-described purging of the remaining resin is repeated. Namely, the operation of moving the screw 24 in the forward direction, discharging the molten purging resin from the injection nozzle 23, securing the screw 24 in the forward limit position of the screw stroke, and rotating the screw 24 in the reverse direction is repeated. As a result, resin adhering to the rear surface 35 b of the flight 35 can be removed with certainty. Where purging repeatedly i.e., the operation of moving the screw 24 in the forward direction, discharging the molten purging resin from the injection nozzle 23, securing the screw 24 in the forward limit position of the screw stroke, and rotating the screw 24 in the reverse direction is repeated, provides for and acts as applicant’s control device is configured to repeat the cleaning process a plurality of times.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for an injection molding machine comprising a controller of an injection molding machine includes a detection part configured to detect whether or not a process in each process performed in the injection molding machine has started based on preset conditions in the process of Mizunashi as modified by Uno and Onishi. By further modifying the injection molding apparatus to comprise a control device configured to repeat the cleaning process a plurality of times, as taught by Terada. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a injection molding cycle to comprise a control device configured to repeat the cleaning process a plurality of times as it provides for a means for resin adhering to the rear surface 35 b of the flight 35 can be removed with certainty, ([0070]).Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5,
Wherein the control device is configured to perform a detection of a start of the cleaning process or an end of the cleaning process, or both, before the injection device performs a measurement step, and
wherein the control device is configured to perform the measurement step, the measurement step including measuring an amount of the molding material according to a result of the detection.
Mizunashi teaches the following:
([0049]) teaches that The interval L is detected using the mold thickness adjustment motor encoder 184. The mold thickness adjustment motor encoder 184 detects the amount and direction of rotation of the mold thickness adjustment motor 183 and sends a signal indicating the result of the detection to the controller 700. The detection result of the mold thickness adjustment motor encoder 184 is used to monitor and control the position and interval L of the toggle support 130. The toggle support position detector for detecting the position of the toggle support 130 and the interval detector for detecting the interval L are not limited to the mold thickness adjustment motor encoder 184, and a general detector can be used. ([0096]) notes the controller 700 repeatedly manufactures the molded product by repeating the measuring process, mold closing process, pressure-boosting process, clamping process, filling process, pressure-holding process, cooling process, depressurization process, mold opening process, ejection process, and the like. As such, the controller 700 provides for and acts as applicant’s control device configured to perform a detection step at the start of the molding process or at an end of the molding process.
([0076]) teaches the measuring motor 340 is driven to rotate the screw 330 at a set rotational speed and feed the molding material forward along the spiral groove of the screw 330. According to this, the molding material is gradually melted. As the liquid molding material is sent forward of the screw 330 and accumulated at the front of the cylinder 310, the screw 330 is moved backward. The rotational speed of the screw 330 is detected using, for example, the measuring motor encoder 341. The measuring motor encoder 341 detects the rotation of the measuring motor 340 and sends a signal indicating the detection result to the controller 700. ([0077]) teaches in a measuring process, a setback pressure may be applied to the screw 330 by driving the injection motor 350 to limit the sudden backward movement of the screw 330. The back pressure against the screw 330 is detected using, for example, the load detector 360. When the screw 330 moves backward to the measuring completion position and a predetermined amount of molding material accumulates in front of the screw 330, the measuring process is completed. Where the controller 700 performs a measurement step including determining when a predetermined amount of molding material accumulates in front of the screw 330, which provides for and acts as applicant’s control device is configured to perform the measurement step, the measurement step including measuring an amount of the molding material according to a result of the detection.
Regarding Claim 6, Mizunashi as modified by Uno and Onishi is silent on the control device is configured to perform a detection of a start of the cleaning process or an end of the cleaning process, or both, before the injection device performs a measurement step and the control device is configured to perform the measurement step, the measurement step including measuring an amount of the molding material according to a result of the detection. In analogous art as applied above, Terada suggests details regarding the control device is configured to perform a detection of a start of the cleaning process or an end of the cleaning process, or both, before the injection device performs a measurement step and the control device is configured to perform the measurement step, the measurement step including measuring an amount of the molding material according to a result of the detection, and in this regard, Terada teaches the following:
([0070]) notes that a purging resin, which is a resin for cleaning the heating cylinder 22, the screw 24, and the like, may also be used. In this case, after all of the remaining resin has been discharged from the heating cylinder 22, the purging resin is supplied from the hopper 27 to the interior of the heating cylinder 22, and the step of metering the resin is carried out. Purging is then carried out with the purging resin, and the inner surface of the heating cylinder 22 and the surface of the screw 24 are cleaned. In this case as well, an operation similar to the above-described purging of the remaining resin is repeated. After discharge of the purging resin from the heating cylinder 22 has been completed, a new resin can be supplied from the hopper 27 into the heating cylinder 22, and as described above, molding of the molded product using the new resin can be commenced. Where the detection and determination of the all of the remaining purging resin having been discharged from the heating cylinder 22 (and prior to being repeated) provides for and acts as applicant’s control device configured to perform a detection of a start of the cleaning process before the injection device performs a measurement step.
Alternatively, ([0069]) teaches after all of the remaining resin has been discharged from the heating cylinder 22, the resin after replacement, i.e., the new resin is supplied from the hopper 27 into the heating cylinder 22, and the metering step of the resin is carried out. Where the detection of the all of the remaining resin has been discharged from the heating cylinder 22 provides for and acts as applicant’s control device configured to perform a detection of a start of the cleaning process before the injection device performs a measurement step.Alternatively, ([0060]) teaches that when a prescribed number of molded articles have been molded, molding is stopped, and purging of resin remaining inside the heating cylinder 22 is carried out. Where the detection and determination when number of molded articles have been molded provides for and acts as applicant’s control device configured to perform a detection of a start of the cleaning process before the injection device performs a measurement step.
([0069]) teaches that the screw 24 is again fixed at the forward limit position of the screw stroke with respect to the axial direction, and the screw 24 is rotated in the reverse direction. The above-described operation is then repeated until all of the remaining resin is discharged. After all of the remaining resin has been discharged from the heating cylinder 22, the resin after replacement, i.e., the new resin is supplied from the hopper 27 into the heating cylinder 22, and the metering step of the resin is carried out. As a result, the new resin is heated and melted in the heating cylinder 22, and accumulates at the front of the screw 24 as the screw 24 is retracted. When just a prescribed amount of the new resin has accumulated at the front of the screw 24, molding of a molded product using the new resin can be commenced. Where the metering step provides for and acts as applicants measurement step including measuring an amount of the molding material according to a result of the detection.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 5, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well. Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okamoto et al. (US 20190016032 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A mold clamp control method for an injection molding machine having a toggle-type mold clamping mechanism. The mold clamp control method includes: a low-pressure mold clamping step that performs position hold control by which a crosshead is held in a set holding position in a state where a toggle link has been bent, when injection-filling is started.
Takeuchi et al. (US 20130251837 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) An injection molding machine including an ejector unit configured to eject a molding product from a mold, wherein the ejector unit includes a slide base freely movable relative to a toggle support disposed at a platen supporting the mold, a toggle mechanism configured to connect the toggle support and the slide base,
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743