DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 of application 19/055,929 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12229807. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-22 of application 19/055,929 are the same as claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12229807 except for word variations. For example, see table below:
Application 19/055,929
Patent No. 12229807
1. A system for automatically classifying and processing objects present in images or videos, comprising: a memory; and a processor in communication with the memory, the processor: capturing an image or a video frame; classifying one or more objects present in the image or the video frame; adding the classified objects to an inventory; generating a set of item codes corresponding to the classified objects; and transmitting the inventory and the set of item codes corresponding to the classified objects to a server in communication with the processor, the server processing the set of item codes to generate a completed inventory with associated pricing information.
1. A system for automatically classifying and processing objects present in images or videos, comprising: a memory; and a processor in communication with the memory, the processor: capturing an image or a video frame; classifying one or more objects present in the image or the video frame; generating a similarity score for each of the classified objects by comparing each of the classified objects to the stored images of objects; adding selected ones of the classified objects having similarity scores that exceed a pre-defined threshold to an inventory; generating a set of item codes corresponding to the selected ones of the classified objects; and transmitting the inventory and the set of item codes corresponding to the classified objects to a server in communication with the processor, the server processing the set of item codes to generate a completed inventory with associated pricing information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-11, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FORSS (Pub. No.: US 2017/0270582A1).
With respect to claim 1:
FORSS discloses a system for automatically classifying and processing objects present in images or videos, comprising: a memory (fig. 2, item 214); and a processor in communication with the memory (fig. 2, item 212), the processor: capturing an image or a video frame (abstract and parag. 0013); classifying one or more objects present in the image or the video frame (abstract and parag. 0013); adding the classified objects to an inventory (parag. 0040); generating a set of item codes corresponding to the classified objects (parag. 0041); and transmitting the inventory and the set of item codes corresponding to the classified objects to a server in communication with the processor (parag. 0013, 0015), the server processing the set of item codes to generate a completed inventory with associated pricing information (parag. 0015).
With respect to claims 2, 10, 18:
FORSS discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the video frame is taken from a live camera feed of a mobile device (para. 0017).
With respect to claims 3, 11, 19:
FORSS discloses the system of Claim 2, wherein the processor extracts still image or video frames from the live camera feed, resizes each of the still image or video frames based on a predetermined height and width, and classifies one or more objects present in the resized still image or video frames (parag. 0053).
With respect to claim 9:
FORSS discloses a method for automatically classifying and processing an object present in an image or video comprising the steps of capturing an image or a video frame (abstract and parag. 0013); classifying one or more objects present in the image or the video frame using a processor (abstract and parag. 0013); adding the classified objects to an inventory (parag. 0040); generating a set of item codes corresponding to the classified objects (parag. 0041); and transmitting the inventory and the set of item codes corresponding to the classified objects to a server in communication with the processor (parag. 0013, 0015), the server processing the set of item codes to generate a completed inventory with associated pricing information (parag. 0015).
With respect to claim 17:
FORSS discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon for automatically classifying and processing an object present in an image or video which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to carry out the steps of capturing an image or a video frame (abstract and parag. 0013); classifying one or more objects present in the image or the video frame (parag. 0013); adding the classified objects to an inventory (parag. 0040); generating a set of item codes corresponding to the classified objects (parag. 0041); and transmitting the inventory and the set of item codes corresponding to the classified objects to a server in communication with the processor (parag. 0013, 0015), the server processing the set of item codes to generate a completed inventory with associated pricing information (parag. 0015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FORSS (Pub. No.: US 2017/0270582A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Patel (Pub. No.: US 2018/0089593A1).
With respect to claims 4, 12:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; FORSS does not explicitly disclose a convolutional neural network. Patel discloses a system comprising convolutional neural network (parag. 0088). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Patel into the teaching of FORSS in order to enable a reproducible processing of machine learning models and scalable deployment on a distributed network.
Claims 5-8, 13-16, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FORSS (Pub. No.: US 2017/0270582A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (Pub. No.: US 2001/0011234A1).
With respect to claims 5, 13, 20:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; FORSS does not explicitly disclose wherein the server is in communication with a pricing information database and the server determines a predetermined price of the classified object based on a user input and pricing information obtained from the pricing information database.
Kim discloses wherein the server is in communication with a pricing information database and the server determines a predetermined price of the classified object based on a user input and pricing information obtained from the pricing information database (parag. 0017, 0022 and 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of FORSS into the teaching of Kim in order to provide system and method for transacting with graded prices by users based on a network.
With respect to claims 6, 14:
FORSS discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the server transmits the processed inventory to a third-party system (parag. 0023).
With respect to claims 7, 15, 21:
Patel discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the processor utilizes a natural language processing algorithm to process audio data associated with the object present in the captured video frame (parag. 0022).
With respect to claims 8, 16, 22:
FORSS discloses the system of Claim 2, wherein the processor utilizes a tracking algorithm to track one or more objects moving through the live camera feed or appearing in and out of the live camera feed (parag. 0030).
Conclusion
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649