DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed on February 18, 2025 and the Continuation-in-part of application No. 18/054,470 filed on November 10, 2022.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 12 and 20 are independent.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because all of the Figures filed on February 18, 2025 are degraded, showing dotted lines and dotted lettering and numbering, which may indicate applicant submitted Figures that were in greyscale. Applicant is reminded that solid lines used in the Drawings must be uniformly thick, black, and solid and the words and labels in the Drawings must be plain and legible. MPEP 608.02(f)(V).
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The title of the invention is objected to because it is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Furthermore, the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0001], line 1, “this application is a continuation of” should be --this application is a continuation-in-part of--.
In paragraph [0002], line 1, “same memory bock” should be --same memory block--.
In paragraph [0003], line 2, “soft-programed” should be --soft-programmed--.
In paragraph [0032], line 2, “according to according to some aspects” should be --according to some aspects--.
In paragraph [0094], line 5, “the fifth plurality of” should be --the sixth plurality of--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 10-11, 16 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, line 1, “wherin the second word line” should be --wherein the second word line--.
In claim 10, lines 1-2, “decrese a voltage” should be --decrease a voltage--.
In claim 11, lines 1-2, “decrese a voltage” should be --decrease a voltage--.
In claim 11, line 2, “as the the word line” should be -- as the word line--.
In claim 11, line 2, “is father away from” should be --is farther away from--.
In claim 16, line 1, “wherin the second word line” should be --wherein the second word line--.
In claim 19, line 2, “as the the word line” should be -- as the word line--.
In claim 19, line 2, “is father away from” should be --is farther away from--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Higashitani (US 20070258286).
Regarding independent claim 1, Higashitani discloses a memory device [see Fig. 1], comprising:
word lines [Fig. 5: word lines WLn-3 to WLn+3, para. 48]; and
a control circuit coupled to the word lines [see Fig. 1, the row control Circuit 3 is connected to word lines (WL) to select one of the word lines (WL), para. 4] and configured to:
apply a programming voltage to a first word line of the word lines [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, WLn is the selected word line and a programming voltage Vpgm is applied to WLn, para. 48];
apply a first pass voltage to a second word line of the word lines [see Fig. 10C, word line WLn-2 receives a voltage Vpass2; or word line WLn-3 receives a voltage Vpass3, para. 59];
apply a second pass voltage to a third word line of the word lines [see Fig. 6, word line WLn+2 receives a voltage Vpass2; or word line WLn+3 receives a voltage Vpass3, para. 59], wherein the second word line and the third word line are located on opposite sides of the first word line [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, word lines WLn-2 and WLn+2 are located on opposite sides of word line WLn; or word lines WLn-3 and WLn+3 are located on opposite sides of word line WLn];
apply a third pass voltage to a fourth word line of the word lines, wherein the second word line is located between the fourth word line and the first word line [see Fig. 10C, word line WLn-3 receives a voltage Vpass3 and WLn-2 is located between WLn-3 and WLn; or word lines WLn-4 receives a voltage Vpass4 and WLn-3 is located between WLn-4 and WLn, para. 59]; and
apply a fourth pass voltage to a fifth word line of the word lines, wherein the third word line is located between the fifth word line and the first word line [see Fig. 10C, word line WLn+3 receives a voltage Vpass3 and WLn+2 is located between WLn+3 and WLn; or word lines WLn+4 receives a voltage Vpass4 and WLn+3 is located between WLn+4 and WLn, para. 59],
wherein the first pass voltage is different from the third pass voltage and the second pass voltage is different from the fourth pass voltage [see Fig. 10C, voltage Vpass3 is less than voltage Vpass2; or voltage Vpass4 is less than voltage Vpass3, para. 59].
Regarding claim 2, Higashitani discloses wherein the third pass voltage is lower than the first pass voltage, and the fourth pass voltage is lower than the second pass voltage [see Fig. 10C, voltage Vpass3 is less than voltage Vpass2; or voltage Vpass4 is less than voltage Vpass3, para. 59].
Regarding claim 3, Higashitani discloses wherein the second word line and the third word line are not directly adjacent to the first word line [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, word lines WL-2 and WL+2 are not directly adjacent to the word line WLn; or word lines WL-3 and WL+3 are not directly adjacent to the word line WLn].
Regarding claim 4, Higashitani discloses wherein the word lines comprise:
a sixth word line [Fig. 6: WLn-1] adjacent to the first word line [Fig. 6: WLn], the sixth word line between the second word line and the first word line [see Fig. 6, word lines WLn-1 is adjacent to word line WLn and between WLn-2 (or WLn-3) and WLn, para. 48]; and
a seventh word line [Fig. 6: WLn+1] adjacent to the first word line [Fig. 6: WLn], the seventh word line between the third word line and the first word line [see Fig. 6, word lines WLn+1 is adjacent to word line WLn and between WLn+2 (or WLn+3) and WLn, para. 48].
Regarding claim 5, Higashitani discloses wherein the second word line is adjacent to the sixth word line [see Fig. 6, WLn-2 is adjacent to WLn-1] and the third word line is adjacent to the seventh word line [see Fig. 6, WLn+2 is adjacent to WLn+1].
Regarding claim 6, Higashitani discloses wherein the word lines further comprise:
an eighth word line adjacent to the sixth word line, the eighth word line between the second word line and the sixth word line [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, if second word line is WLn-3, eighth word line will be WLn-2. WLn-2 is adjacent to WLn-1 and between WLn-3 and WLn-1]; and
a ninth word line adjacent to the seventh word line, the ninth word line between the third word line and the seventh word line [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, if third word line is WLn+3, ninth word line will be WLn+2. WLn+2 is adjacent to WLn+1 and between WLn+3 and WLn+1].
Regarding claim 7, Higashitani discloses wherein the control circuit is further configured to:
apply a fifth pass voltage to the eighth word line [see Fig. 10C, WLn-2 is applied a voltage Vpass2, para. 59]; and apply a sixth pass voltage to the ninth word line [see Fig. 10C, WLn+2 is applied a voltage Vpass2, para. 59], and
wherein the first pass voltage or the third pass voltage is different from the fifth pass voltage and the second pass voltage or the fourth pass voltage is different from the sixth pass voltage [see Fig. 10C, Vpass4 or Vpass3 is less than Vpass2, para. 59].
Regarding claim 8, Higashitani discloses wherein the first pass voltage or the third pass voltage is lower than the fifth pass voltage and the second pass voltage or the fourth pass voltage is lower than the sixth pass voltage [see Fig. 10C, Vpass4 or Vpass3 is less than Vpass2, para. 59].
Regarding claim 9, Higashitani discloses wherein the word lines comprise a first set of word lines comprising the second word line [Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, WLn-3. Two or more word lines could have Vpass3 applied, para. 50], a second set of word lines comprising the fourth word line [Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, WLn-4. Two or more word lines could have Vpass4 applied, para. 50], a third set of word lines comprising the third word line [Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, WLn+3. Two or more word lines could have Vpass3 applied, para. 50], and a fourth set of word lines comprising the fifth word line [Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, WLn+4. Two or more word lines could have Vpass4 applied, para. 50], the control circuit further configured to:
apply the first pass voltage to the first set of word lines [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, WLn-3 is applied a voltage Vpass3, para. 59];
apply the third pass voltage to the second set of word lines [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, WLn-4 is applied a voltage Vpass4, para. 59];
apply the second pass voltage to the third set of word lines [see Fig. 10C, WLn+3 is applied a voltage Vpass3, para. 59]; and
apply the fourth pass voltage to the fourth set of word lines [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, WLn+4 is applied a voltage Vpass4, para. 59].
Regarding claim 10, Higashitani discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to decrease a voltage applied to a word line of the word lines as a distance between the word line and the first word line becomes greater [a boosting voltage scheme applies higher boosting voltages to an unselected word line adjacent to the selected word line than to an unselected word line that is farther away from the selected word line, para. 26. Applying different Vpass voltages by using a higher Vpass value near the selected word line and a lower Vpass value further away from the selected word line, para. 51].
Regarding claim 11, Higashitani discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to decrease a voltage applied to a word line of the word lines as the word line is farther away from the first word line [a boosting voltage scheme applies higher boosting voltages to an unselected word line adjacent to the selected word line than to an unselected word line that is farther away from the selected word line, para. 26. Applying different Vpass voltages by using a higher Vpass value near the selected word line and a lower Vpass value further away from the selected word line, para. 51].
Regarding independent claim 12, Higashitani discloses a method of operating a memory device [see Fig. 1] comprising word lines [Fig. 5: word lines WLn-3 to WLn+3, para. 48], the method comprising:
applying a programming voltage to a first word line of the word lines [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, WLn is the selected word line and a programming voltage Vpgm is applied to WLn, para. 48];
applying a first pass voltage to a second word line of the word lines [see Fig. 10C, word line WLn-2 receives a voltage Vpass2; or word line WLn-3 receives a voltage Vpass3, para. 59];
applying a second pass voltage to a third word line of the word lines [see Fig. 6, word line WLn+2 receives a voltage Vpass2; or word line WLn+3 receives a voltage Vpass3, para. 59], wherein the second word line and the third word line are located on opposite sides of the first word line [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, word lines WLn-2 and WLn+2 are located on opposite sides of word line WLn; or word lines WLn-3 and WLn+3 are located on opposite sides of word line WLn];
applying a third pass voltage to a fourth word line of the word lines, wherein the second word line is located between the fourth word line and the first word line [see Fig. 10C, word line WLn-3 receives a voltage Vpass3 and WLn-2 is located between WLn-3 and WLn; or word lines WLn-4 receives a voltage Vpass4 and WLn-3 is located between WLn-4 and WLn, para. 59]; and
applying a fourth pass voltage to a fifth word line of the word lines, wherein the third word line is located between the fifth word line and the first word line [see Fig. 10C, word line WLn+3 receives a voltage Vpass3 and WLn+2 is located between WLn+3 and WLn; or word lines WLn+4 receives a voltage Vpass4 and WLn+3 is located between WLn+4 and WLn, para. 59],
wherein the first pass voltage is different from the third pass voltage, wherein the second pass voltage is different from the fourth pass voltage [see Fig. 10C, voltage Vpass3 is less than voltage Vpass2; or voltage Vpass4 is less than voltage Vpass3, para. 59].
Regarding claim 13, Higashitani discloses wherein the third pass voltage is lower than the first pass voltage, and the fourth pass voltage is lower than the second pass voltage [see Fig. 10C, voltage Vpass3 is less than voltage Vpass2; or voltage Vpass4 is less than voltage Vpass3, para. 59].
Regarding claim 14, Higashitani discloses wherein the second word line and the third word line are not directly adjacent to the first word line [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, word lines WL-2 and WL+2 are not directly adjacent to the word line WLn; or word lines WL-3 and WL+3 are not directly adjacent to the word line WLn].
Regarding claim 15, Higashitani discloses wherein the word lines comprise:
a sixth word line [Fig. 6: WLn-1] adjacent to the first word line [Fig. 6: WLn], the sixth word line between the second word line and the first word line [see Fig. 6, word lines WLn-1 is adjacent to word line WLn and between WLn-2 (or WLn-3) and WLn, para. 48]; and
a seventh word line [Fig. 6: WLn+1] adjacent to the first word line [Fig. 6: WLn], the seventh word line between the third word line and the first word line [see Fig. 6, word lines WLn+1 is adjacent to word line WLn and between WLn+2 (or WLn+3) and WLn, para. 48].
Regarding claim 16, Higashitani discloses wherein the second word line is adjacent to the sixth word line [see Fig. 6, WLn-2 is adjacent to WLn-1] and the third word line is adjacent to the seventh word line [see Fig. 6, WLn+2 is adjacent to WLn+1].
Regarding claim 17, Higashitani discloses wherein the word lines further comprise:
an eighth word line adjacent to the sixth word line, the eighth word line between the second word line and the sixth word line [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, if second word line is WLn-3, eighth word line will be WLn-2. WLn-2 is adjacent to WLn-1 and between WLn-3 and WLn-1]; and
a ninth word line adjacent to the seventh word line, the ninth word line between the third word line and the seventh word line [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, if third word line is WLn+3, ninth word line will be WLn+2. WLn+2 is adjacent to WLn+1 and between WLn+3 and WLn+1], the method further comprising:
apply a fifth pass voltage to the eighth word line [see Fig. 10C, WLn-2 is applied a voltage Vpass2, para. 59]; and
apply a sixth pass voltage to the ninth word line [see Fig. 10C, WLn+2 is applied a voltage Vpass2, para. 59], and
wherein the first pass voltage or the third pass voltage is different from the fifth pass voltage, and the second pass voltage or the fourth pass voltage is different from the sixth pass voltage [see Fig. 10C, Vpass4 or Vpass3 is less than Vpass2, para. 59].
Regarding claim 18, Higashitani discloses wherein the first pass voltage or the third pass voltage is lower than the fifth pass voltage and the second pass voltage or the fourth pass voltage is lower than the sixth pass voltage [see Fig. 10C, Vpass4 or Vpass3 is less than Vpass2, para. 59].
Regarding claim 19, Higashitani discloses wherein a voltage applied to a word line of the word lines decreases as the word line is father away from the first word line. [a boosting voltage scheme applies higher boosting voltages to an unselected word line adjacent to the selected word line than to an unselected word line that is farther away from the selected word line, para. 26. Applying different Vpass voltages by using a higher Vpass value near the selected word line and a lower Vpass value further away from the selected word line, para. 51].
Regarding independent claim 20, Higashitani discloses a system [see Fig. 1], comprising:
a memory device [Fig. 1: 1] configured to store data [data stored in the memory cell array, para. 4], the memory device comprising:
word lines [Fig. 5: word lines WLn-3 to WLn+3, para. 48]; and
a control circuit coupled to the word lines [see Fig. 1, the row control Circuit 3 is connected to word lines (WL) to select one of the word lines (WL), para. 4] and configured to:
apply a programming voltage to a first word line of the word lines [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, WLn is the selected word line and a programming voltage Vpgm is applied to WLn, para. 48];
apply a first pass voltage to a second word line of the word lines [see Fig. 10C, word line WLn-2 receives a voltage Vpass2; or word line WLn-3 receives a voltage Vpass3, para. 59];
apply a second pass voltage to a third word line of the word lines [see Fig. 6, word line WLn+2 receives a voltage Vpass2; or word line WLn+3 receives a voltage Vpass3, para. 59], wherein the second word line and the third word line are located on opposite sides of the first word line [see Fig. 10C with respect to Fig. 6, word lines WLn-2 and WLn+2 are located on opposite sides of word line WLn; or word lines WLn-3 and WLn+3 are located on opposite sides of word line WLn];
apply a third pass voltage to a fourth word line of the word lines, wherein the second word line is located between the fourth word line and the first word line [see Fig. 10C, word line WLn-3 receives a voltage Vpass3 and WLn-2 is located between WLn-3 and WLn; or word lines WLn-4 receives a voltage Vpass4 and WLn-3 is located between WLn-4 and WLn, para. 59]; and
apply a fourth pass voltage to a fifth word line of the word lines, wherein the third word line is located between the fifth word line and the first word line [see Fig. 10C, word line WLn+3 receives a voltage Vpass3 and WLn+2 is located between WLn+3 and WLn; or word lines WLn+4 receives a voltage Vpass4 and WLn+3 is located between WLn+4 and WLn, para. 59],
wherein the first pass voltage is different from the third pass voltage and the second pass voltage is different from the fourth pass voltage [see Fig. 10C, voltage Vpass3 is less than voltage Vpass2; or voltage Vpass4 is less than voltage Vpass3, para. 59]; and
a memory controller [Fig. 1: 9] coupled to the memory device [Fig. 1: 1] and configured to control the memory device [para. 5-7].
Conclusion
/DUY H LUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2825
/ANTHAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825