Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/13/2025 & 02/18/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 10, 12-13, 17 & 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 is objected to because the recitation “when the calculated SOH is equal to or less than the threshold value continues over a first criterion number of times” contains an omitted introductory noun phrase identifying the condition that continues. Correction is required. It is suggested that “when the calculated SOH is equal to or less than the threshold value continues over a first criterion number of times” be amended to read “when the case where the calculated SOH is equal to or less than the threshold value continues over a first criterion number of times.”
Claim 10 is objected to because the recitation “adding or subtracting a preset value to the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells” uses an incorrect preposition for subtraction. Correction is required. It is suggested that “adding or subtracting a preset value to the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells” be amended to read “adding a preset value to or subtracting the preset value from the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells.”
Claim 12 is objected to because the recitation “when an amount change in the calculated SOH is greater than a criterion change amount continues over a predetermined number of times” contains an omitted preposition and an omitted noun phrase identifying the condition that continues. Correction is required. It is suggested that “when an amount change in the calculated SOH is greater than a criterion change amount continues over a predetermined number of times” be amended to read “when the case where an amount of change in the calculated SOH is greater than a criterion change amount continues over a predetermined number of times.”
Claim 12 is further objected to because the recitation “the incomplete contact defect” uses a definite article without a preceding introduction of that defect in claim 12 or claim 1. The intended defect remains reasonably apparent from the specification. Correction is required. It is suggested that “the incomplete contact defect” be amended to read “an incomplete contact defect.”
Claim 13 is objected to because the recitation “electrode tabs is progressing from a normal state to an incomplete contact defect state or is progressing from the incomplete contact defect state to a disconnection defect state” contains subject-verb disagreement. Correction is required. It is suggested that “electrode tabs is progressing from a normal state to an incomplete contact defect state or is progressing from the incomplete contact defect state to a disconnection defect state” be amended to read “electrode tabs are progressing from a normal state to an incomplete contact defect state or are progressing from the incomplete contact defect state to a disconnection defect state.”
Claim 17 is objected to because the recitation “adding or subtracting a preset value to the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells” uses an incorrect preposition for subtraction. Correction is required. It is suggested that “adding or subtracting a preset value to the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells” be amended to read “adding a preset value to or subtracting the preset value from the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells.”
Claim 19 is objected to because the recitation “when an amount change in the calculated SOH is greater than a criterion change amount continues over a predetermined number of times” contains an omitted preposition and an omitted noun phrase identifying the condition that continues. Correction is required. It is suggested that “when an amount change in the calculated SOH is greater than a criterion change amount continues over a predetermined number of times” be amended to read “when the case where an amount of change in the calculated SOH is greater than a criterion change amount continues over a predetermined number of times.”
Claim 20 is objected to because the recitation “electrode tabs is progressing from a normal state to an incomplete contact defect state or is progressing from the incomplete contact defect state to a disconnection defect state” contains subject-verb disagreement. Correction is required. It is suggested that “electrode tabs is progressing from a normal state to an incomplete contact defect state or is progressing from the incomplete contact defect state to a disconnection defect state” be amended to read “electrode tabs are progressing from a normal state to an incomplete contact defect state or are progressing from the incomplete contact defect state to a disconnection defect state.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The claim recites “the preset value is a value corresponding to a SOH of a battery cell that is at least three standard deviations away from the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells.” It is unclear whether the preset value is the absolute SOH value of the identified cell or the magnitude of the deviation of that SOH value from the average. Claim 10 requires adding or subtracting the preset value to calculate the threshold, and those interpretations yield materially different thresholds. For example, with an average SOH of 90 and a qualifying cell SOH of 60, the offset could be 60 or 30. Paragraph [0104] and Figure 7 describe boundaries around the average but do not make the recited absolute SOH value and the deviation amount interchangeable.
For purposes of examination, the limitation “the preset value is a value corresponding to a SOH of a battery cell that is at least three standard deviations away from the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells” is interpreted as requiring a deviation amount of at least three standard deviations of the SOH values of the plurality of battery cells, to be added to or subtracted from their average SOH. This interpretation is made solely to permit examination on the merits and does not resolve the indefiniteness. It is suggested that the limitation be amended to read “the preset value is a deviation amount equal to at least three standard deviations of the SOH values of the plurality of battery cells.” Other amendments clearly distinguishing the offset from an absolute SOH value may also resolve the ambiguity.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The claim recites “the preset value is a value corresponding to a SOH of a battery cell that is at least three standard deviations away from the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells.” It is unclear whether the preset value is an absolute SOH value or the magnitude of its deviation from the average SOH. Claim 17 requires adding or subtracting that value to calculate the threshold. An absolute SOH value and a deviation amount yield materially different thresholds; the specification's description of boundaries around the average does not resolve which quantity the claim requires.
For purposes of examination, the limitation “the preset value is a value corresponding to a SOH of a battery cell that is at least three standard deviations away from the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells” is interpreted as requiring a deviation amount of at least three standard deviations of the SOH values of the plurality of battery cells, to be added to or subtracted from their average SOH. This interpretation is made solely to permit examination on the merits and does not resolve the indefiniteness. It is suggested that the limitation be amended to read “the preset value is a deviation amount equal to at least three standard deviations of the SOH values of the plurality of battery cells.” Other amendments clearly distinguishing the quantities may also resolve the ambiguity.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the right to exclude granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eT D-info-l.jsp.
Claims 1–20 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 14, 8, 9, 11, 14, 15, 12, 7, 10, 13, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,376 B2 in view of Subbaraman et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0036356 A1, published January 31, 2019).
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,376 B2 recites the corresponding apparatus and diagnostic operations shown below. Highlighting identifies differences in the recited measurement implementation and the scope of the diagnosed cells and defects.
Instant Application 19/056,507
U.S. Patent No. 12,287,376 B2
Claim 1: A battery system diagnosing apparatus comprising: at least one sensor; and a processor configured to: obtain data including at least one of voltage or current of a battery cell from the at least one sensor, calculate a state of health (SOH) for the battery cell multiple times over a period of time by using the voltage or current of the battery cell, and compare the SOH of the battery cell with a threshold value to determine whether a defect occurs in the battery cell.
Claim 1: A battery system diagnosing apparatus, which diagnoses a battery system including a plurality of battery cells having electrode tabs therein, the battery system diagnosing apparatus comprising: a cell measuring unit configured to measure a voltage or current for each of the plurality of battery cells; and a processor configured to calculate a state of health (SOH) for each battery cell multiple times over a period of time by using the voltage or current measured by the cell measuring unit and detect a battery cell having a defect in the electrode tab among the plurality of battery cells based on the SOH of each battery cell calculated multiple times, wherein the processor is further configured to compare the SOH of each battery cell with a threshold value to determine whether a defect occurs in the electrode tab among the plurality of battery cells.
The limitations calculate a state of health (SOH) for the battery cell multiple times over a period of time by using the voltage or current of the battery cell and compare the SOH of the battery cell with a threshold value to determine whether a defect occurs in the battery cell correspond to the repeated SOH calculation and threshold comparison expressly recited in parent claim 1. The parent requires these operations for each of a plurality of battery cells and identifies electrode-tab defects. An apparatus operating on each of several cells necessarily operates on a battery cell, and an electrode-tab defect is a defect in that battery cell. The child’s broader wording does not require removal of these parent limitations.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,376 B2 does not expressly recite, using the exact language of instant claim 1: at least one sensor and obtain data including at least one of voltage or current of a battery cell from the at least one sensor. Its claimed cell measuring unit and processor nevertheless require measured voltage or current as inputs to the claimed SOH calculation. The difference addressed by the secondary reference is the express sensor-to-processor implementation of this measurement function.
Subbaraman teaches a microprocessor-based controller receiving voltage/current sensor data and processing digitized sensor signals (paragraph [0023]), satisfying the quoted sensor and data-acquisition limitations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement parent claim 1’s measuring unit using Subbaraman’s processor-connected sensors to supply digital SOH-calculation inputs (paragraph [0023]), with a reasonable expectation of success because the sensors supply the voltage/current quantities already required by parent claim 1.
Regarding claims 2-14, the following chart identifies the parent claims that supply the additional limitations of each dependent claim. Each claim path includes all inherited limitations. The sensor implementation and measured-data acquisition addressed above apply through the respective apparatus and method dependency paths. The corresponding parent claims contain additional restrictions; the complete claim scopes are not asserted to be identical.
Instant Application 19/056,507
U.S. Patent No. 12,287,376 B2
Claim 2: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to detect a disconnection defect or an incomplete contact defect of electrode tabs of the battery cell.
Claim 2: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to compare the calculated SOH with the threshold value so that a disconnection defect and an incomplete contact defect are separately detected as a defect of a respective one of the electrode tabs.
Claim 3: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein when the calculated SOH is equal to or less than the threshold value continues over a first criterion number of times, the processor is configured to detect that the battery cell has the disconnection defect.
Claim 4: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein when the calculated SOH is equal to or less than the threshold value continues over a first criterion number of times, the processor is configured to detect that the corresponding battery cell has the disconnection defect.
Claim 4: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein when a number of up/down switching of the calculated SOH with respect to the threshold value continues over a second criterion number of times, the processor is configured to detect that the battery cell has the incomplete contact defect.
Claim 5: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein when a number of up/down switching of the calculated SOH with respect to the threshold value continues over a second criterion number of times, the processor is configured to detect that the corresponding battery cell has the incomplete contact defect.
Claim 5: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the processor is configured to identify whether the number of up/down switching is increased or decreased.
Claim 6: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the processor is configured to identify whether the number of up/down switching is increased or decreased.
Claim 6: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the threshold value is set based on SOH values of a plurality of battery cells.
Claim 14: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the threshold value is calculated by taking an average SOH of the plurality of battery cells and adding or subtracting a preset value to the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells.
Claim 7: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to detect whether the battery cell is defective by distinguishing a charging process and a discharging process.
Claim 8: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to detect whether each battery cell is defective by distinguishing a charging process and a discharging process.
Claim 8: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the processor is configured to set a precondition for calculating the SOH for the battery cell so that a precondition for the charging process and a precondition for the discharging process are set differently from each other.
Claim 9: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to set a precondition for calculating the SOH for each battery cell so that a precondition for the charging process and a precondition for the discharging process are set differently from each other.
Claim 8: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the processor is configured to set a precondition for calculating the SOH for the battery cell so that a precondition for the charging process and a precondition for the discharging process are set differently from each other.
Claim 9: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to set a precondition for calculating the SOH for each battery cell so that a precondition for the charging process and a precondition for the discharging process are set differently from each other.
Claim 9: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the threshold value changes over the period of time.
Claim 11: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the threshold value changes over the period of time.
Claim 10: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the threshold value is calculated by taking an average SOH of a plurality of battery cells and adding or subtracting a preset value to the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells.
Claim 14: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the threshold value is calculated by taking an average SOH of the plurality of battery cells and adding or subtracting a preset value to the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells.
Claim 11: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the preset value is a value corresponding to a SOH of a battery cell that is at least three standard deviations away from the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells.
Claim 15: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the preset value is a value corresponding to a SOH of a battery cell that is at least three standard deviations away from the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells.
Claim 12: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when an amount change in the calculated SOH is greater than a criterion change amount continues over a predetermined number of times, the processor is configured to detect that the battery cell has the incomplete contact defect.
Claim 12: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when an amount change in the calculated SOH is greater than a criterion change amount continues over a predetermined number of times, the processor is configured to detect that the corresponding battery cell has the incomplete contact defect.
Claim 13: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the processor is configured to detect that electrode tabs is progressing from a normal state to an incomplete contact defect state or is progressing from the incomplete contact defect state to a disconnection defect state based on whether the number of up/down switching is increasing over time.
Claim 7: The battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the processor is configured to detect that the respective one of the electrode tabs is progressing from a normal state to an incomplete contact defect state or is progressing from the incomplete contact defect state to a disconnection defect state based on whether the number of up/down switching is increasing over time.
Claim 14: A battery system, comprising the battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 1.
Claim 10: A battery system, comprising the battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,287,376 B2 recites the corresponding method shown below. Highlighting identifies the data-obtaining wording and the parent’s additional restrictions concerning multiple cells and electrode-tab defects.
Instant Application 19/056,507
U.S. Patent No. 12,287,376 B2
Claim 15: A battery system diagnosing method comprising: obtaining data including at least one of voltage or current of a battery cell; calculating a state of health (SOH) for the battery cell multiple times over time by using the voltage or current of the battery cell obtained in the obtaining step; and comparing the SOH of the battery cell with a threshold value to determine whether a defect occurs in the battery cell.
Claim 13: A battery system diagnosing method, which diagnoses a battery system including a plurality of battery cells having electrode tabs therein, the battery system diagnosing method comprising: measuring a voltage or current for each of the plurality of battery cells; calculating a state of health (SOH) for each battery cell multiple times over time by using the voltage or current measured in the measuring step; and detecting a battery cell having a defect in the electrode tab among the plurality of battery cells based on the SOH of each battery cell calculated multiple times in the calculating the SOH for each battery cell, wherein the detecting the battery cell having the defect is configured to detect the defect by comparing the SOH of each battery cell with a threshold value to determine whether the defect occurs in the electrode tab among the plurality of battery cells.
The limitation obtaining data including at least one of voltage or current of a battery cell is satisfied by the voltage or current measurement expressly required by parent claim 13. The limitation calculating a state of health (SOH) for the battery cell multiple times over time by using the voltage or current of the battery cell obtained in the obtaining step corresponds to the parent’s repeated SOH calculation using the measured voltage or current. The limitation comparing the SOH of the battery cell with a threshold value to determine whether a defect occurs in the battery cell corresponds to the parent’s SOH comparison that determines whether an electrode-tab defect occurs. The parent’s requirements concerning each of a plurality of cells and electrode-tab defects define a narrower method within the scope of instant claim 15.
Parent claim 13 does not use the exact phrase obtaining data including at least one of voltage or current of a battery cell, but its measuring step already performs that function. The secondary reference provides an express implementation of acquisition of the measured data; it is not relied upon to supply a missing SOH-calculation or defect-comparison step.
Subbaraman also teaches recurring controller receipt of voltage/current sensor measurements during battery operation (paragraph [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement parent claim 13’s measurement step using Subbaraman’s recurring acquisition (paragraph [0027]) to supply successive SOH inputs, with predictable success because both operate on measured battery voltage or current.
Regarding claims 16-20, the following chart identifies the parent claims that supply the additional limitations of each dependent claim. Each claim path includes all inherited limitations. The sensor implementation and measured-data acquisition addressed above apply through the respective apparatus and method dependency paths. The corresponding parent claims contain additional restrictions; the complete claim scopes are not asserted to be identical.
Instant Application 19/056,507
U.S. Patent No. 12,287,376 B2
Claim 16: The battery system diagnosing method of claim 15, wherein the threshold value changes over a period of time.
Claim 16: The battery system diagnosing method of claim 13, wherein the threshold value changes over a period of time.
Claim 17: The battery system diagnosing method according to claim 16, wherein the threshold value is calculated by taking an average SOH of a plurality of battery cells and adding or subtracting a preset value to the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells.
Claim 17: The battery system diagnosing method according to claim 16, wherein the threshold value is calculated by taking an average SOH of the plurality of battery cells and adding or subtracting a preset value to the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells.
Claim 18: The battery system diagnosing method according to claim 17, wherein the preset value is a value corresponding to a SOH of a battery cell that is at least three standard deviations away from the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells.
Claim 18: The battery system diagnosing method according to claim 17, wherein the preset value is a value corresponding to a SOH of a battery cell that is at least three standard deviations away from the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells.
Claim 19: The battery system diagnosing method according to claim 15, wherein when an amount change in the calculated SOH is greater than a criterion change amount continues over a predetermined number of times, detecting that the battery cell has an incomplete contact defect.
Claim 19: The battery system diagnosing method according to claim 13, wherein when an amount change in the calculated SOH is greater than a criterion change amount continues over a predetermined number of times, detecting that a corresponding battery cell has an incomplete contact defect.
Claim 20: The battery system diagnosing method according to claim 15, further comprising detecting that electrode tabs is progressing from a normal state to an incomplete contact defect state or is progressing from the incomplete contact defect state to a disconnection defect state based on whether a number of up/down switching is increasing over time.
Claim 20: The battery system diagnosing method according to claim 13, further comprising detecting that a respective one of the electrode tabs is progressing from a normal state to an incomplete contact defect state or is progressing from the incomplete contact defect state to a disconnection defect state based on whether a number of up/down switching is increasing over time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0260646 A1) in view of Wang et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0140617 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto discloses a battery system (paragraph [0018], deterioration diagnosis) diagnosing apparatus comprising; at least one sensor; (paragraph [0023], measuring devices); and a processor configured to underlying operations recited as obtain data including at least one of voltage (see [0031]) or current of a battery cell from the at least one sensor (paragraph [0023], acquisition of measured voltage/current, at battery-unit level); calculate a state of health (SOH) for the battery cell multiple times over a period of time by using the voltage or current of the battery cell (paragraph [0034], periodic voltage-based SOH, at battery-unit level); and compare the SOH of the battery cell with a threshold value to determine whether a defect occurs in the battery cell (see paragraph [0057], SOH-threshold diagnosis, at battery-unit level).
Yamamoto does not expressly disclose those operations applied together to the same individual battery cell, namely obtain data including at least one of voltage or current of a battery cell from the at least one sensor, calculate a state of health (SOH) for the battery cell multiple times over a period of time by using the voltage or current of the battery cell, and compare the SOH of the battery cell with a threshold value to determine whether a defect occurs in the battery cell. The proposed modification retains Yamamoto's numerical SOH calculation and threshold comparison while applying them to individual-cell measurements.
Wang discloses the individual-cell measurement aspect of obtain data including at least one of voltage or current of a battery cell from the at least one sensor (see paragraph [0039], measured cell-voltage signals). Wang further discloses individual-cell health determination, supplying the individual-cell aspect of calculate a state of health (SOH) for the battery cell multiple times over a period of time by using the voltage or current of the battery cell (see paragraph [0004], measured voltage analyzed for each cell's health).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamamoto et al. by using individual-cell voltage measurements, as taught by Wang et al., for the repeated SOH calculations and threshold comparisons, as doing so would permit earlier identification of a defective battery cell because Wang et al. explain in paragraph [0058] that detecting degradation at the cell level enables earlier detection of a weak cell and facilitates replacement of the affected module or cell. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Yamamoto’s voltage-based SOH calculation could process the individual-cell voltage measurements supplied by Wang while retaining the calculation-and-comparison sequence.
As to claim 2, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein Yamamoto further disclose the processor (31) is configured to detect a disconnection defect or an incomplete contact defect of electrode tabs of the battery cell (see [0068 & 0070).
As to claim 3, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein Yamamoto further disclose in Fig. 1when the calculated SOH (131) is equal to or less than the threshold value continues over a first criterion number of times, the processor is configured to detect that the battery cell has the disconnection defect (see [0033])
As to claim 4, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein Yamamoto further disclose when a number of up/down switching of the calculated SOH with respect to the threshold value continues over a second criterion number of times, the processor (31) is configured to detect that the battery cell has the incomplete contact defect (see [0036]).
As to claim 5, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 4, wherein Yamamoto further disclose the processor is configured to identify whether the number of up/down switching is increased or decreased (see [0024]).
As to claim 6, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein Yamamoto further disclose the threshold value is set based on SOH values of a plurality of battery cells (21)(see [0021]).
As to claim 7, Yamamoto does not expressly disclose the processor is configured to detect whether the battery cell is defective by distinguishing a charging process and a discharging process.
Wang discloses the processor is configured to detect whether the battery cell is defective by distinguishing a charging process and a discharging process (paragraph [0044], opposite charge/discharge droop criteria).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamamoto et al. by incorporating different cell-defect detection criteria for charging and discharging, as taught by Wang et al., as doing so would account for the different voltage behavior associated with deterioration in each operating state because Wang et al. explain in paragraph [0036] that cell degradation may produce decreased output voltage during discharge or increased cell voltage during charging. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the processor could select the applicable diagnostic criterion according to the charging or discharging state using the available battery measurements while retaining Yamamoto’s repeated SOH calculations and threshold comparisons.
As to claim 8, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 7, wherein Yamamoto further disclose the processor is configured to set a precondition (see [0054]) for calculating the SOH for the battery cell so that a precondition for the charging process and a precondition for the discharging process are set differently from each other (see [0055 & 0070]).
As to claim 9, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein Yamamoto further discloses the threshold value changes over the period of time (paragraph [0043], SOH threshold functions corresponding to equivalent cycles).
As to claim 10, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 9, wherein Yamamoto further disclose the threshold value is calculated by taking an average SOH of a plurality of battery cells and adding or subtracting a preset value to the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells (see [0036]).
As to claim 11, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 10, wherein Yamamoto further disclose the preset value is a value corresponding to a SOH of a battery cell that is at least three standard deviations away from the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells (see [0034]).
As to claim 12, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein Yamamoto further disclose when an amount change in the calculated SOH is greater than a criterion change amount continues over a predetermined number of times, the processor is configured to detect (via detector 14) that the battery cell has the incomplete contact defect (see [0040]).
As to claim 13, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 5, wherein Yamamoto further disclose the processor is configured to detect that electrode tabs is progressing from a normal state to an incomplete contact defect state (see [0039]) or is progressing from the incomplete contact defect state to a disconnection defect state based on whether the number of up/down switching is increasing over time (see [0024 & 0038]).
As to claim 14, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein Yamamoto further discloses a battery system, comprising the battery system diagnosing apparatus according to claim 1 (see paragraph [0023], diagnosing apparatus associated with a battery energy storage system).
Regarding claim 15, Yamamoto discloses A battery system diagnosing method comprising: (paragraph [0052], diagnostic processing); and the underlying operations recited as obtaining data including at least one of voltage or current of a battery cell; (paragraph [0023], measured voltage/current acquisition at battery-unit level); calculating a state of health (SOH) for the battery cell multiple times over time by using the voltage or current of the battery cell obtained in the obtaining step; (paragraph [0034], periodic voltage-based SOH at battery-unit level); and comparing the SOH of the battery cell with a threshold value to determine whether a defect occurs in the battery cell (paragraph [0057], SOH-threshold diagnosis at battery-unit level).
Yamamoto does not expressly disclose those operations applied together to the same individual cell, namely obtaining data including at least one of voltage or current of a battery cell; calculating a state of health (SOH) for the battery cell multiple times over time by using the voltage or current of the battery cell obtained in the obtaining step; and comparing the SOH of the battery cell with a threshold value to determine whether a defect occurs in the battery cell.
Wang discloses the individual-cell measurement aspect of obtaining data including at least one of voltage or current of a battery cell; (paragraph [0039], individual-cell voltage signals). Wang supplies the individual-cell health-determination aspect of calculating a state of health (SOH) for the battery cell multiple times over time by using the voltage or current of the battery cell obtained in the obtaining step; (paragraph [0004], health determination for each measured cell).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamamoto et al.’s diagnosing method by obtaining individual-cell voltage measurements, as taught by Wang et al., and applying the repeated SOH calculations and threshold comparisons to those measurements, as doing so would identify deterioration in a particular battery cell because Wang et al. explain in paragraph [0058] that cell-level diagnosis enables earlier detection of a weak cell and facilitates replacement of the affected module or cell. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the modification supplies individual-cell voltage data to Yamamoto’s voltage-based diagnostic sequence without changing its calculation-and-comparison operations.
As to claim 16, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the method of claim 15, wherein Yamamoto further discloses the threshold value changes over a period of time (see paragraph [0043], cycle-dependent SOH threshold functions).
As to claim 17, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the method of claim 16, wherein Yamamoto further disclose the threshold value is calculated by taking an average SOH of a plurality of battery cells and adding or subtracting a preset value to the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells (see paragraph [0036]).
As to claim 18, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the method of claim 17, wherein Yamamoto further disclose the preset value is a value corresponding to a SOH of a battery cell that is at least three standard deviations away from the average SOH of the plurality of battery cells (see [0036 & 0039]).
As to claim 19, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the method of claim 15, wherein Yamamoto further disclose when an amount change in the calculated SOH is greater than a criterion change amount continues over a predetermined number of times, detecting (14) that the battery cell has an incomplete contact defect (see [0040]).
As to claim 20, Yamamoto and Wang disclose the method of claim 15, wherein Yamamoto further disclose further comprising detecting that electrode tabs is progressing from a normal state to an incomplete contact defect state (see [0071]) or is progressing from the incomplete contact defect state to a disconnection defect state based on whether a number of up/down switching is increasing over time (see [0024 & 0043]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 12,533,984 B2 to Okamoto et al. disclose in Fig. 1 a power storage pack to be mounted on an electric vehicle is prolonged while maintaining user convenience. A monitoring device (1) communicates with a storage device (4) storing power storage packs (2) to be mounted on a electric vehicle (3) traveling at a low speed in a predetermined area. An acquisition unit of the monitoring device (1) acquires parameter information including information of a user who uses the electric vehicle (3) and state information of the power storage packs stored in the storage device (4). A prediction unit of the monitoring device (1) predicts an amount of power consumption of the electric vehicle (3) used by the user, based on the acquired parameter information. A selecting unit of the monitoring device (1) selects a combination of power storage packs to be mounted on the electric vehicle among the power storage packs, based on the predicted amount of power consumption and the acquired state information on the power storage packs.
U.S. 8,970,178 B2 to Berkowitz et al. disclose techniques and/or circuitry to applying a current pulse to the terminals of the battery during a charge, measuring a voltage at the terminals of the battery, determining a relationship of an open circuit voltage to an amount of charge in the battery using data which is representative of a state of health of the battery, calculating an open circuit voltage of the battery using the voltage measured at the terminals of the battery, a current applied to or removed from the battery and an impedance of the battery, and determining a state of charge of the battery using (i) the calculated open circuit voltage and (ii) the relationship of the open circuit voltage to the amount of charge.
U.S. 8,717,035 B2 to Shook et al. disclose a method is provided for detecting an open cell tap condition in a battery pack. The method includes: applying a detection voltage across an electrical impedance that is coupled to a measurement node, where the detection voltage exceeds voltage measures at a node disposed between serially coupled battery cells of the battery pack and the measurement node is coupled by a circuit path to said node; measuring the voltage at the measurement node while the detection voltage is being applied; and detecting a break in the circuit path when the voltage measured at the measurement node is substantially equal to the detection voltage.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858