In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Claim(s) 1-30 is/are pending in the application.
- Claim(s) 8-11, 21-28 is/are withdrawn as non-elected
- Claim(s) 1-7, 12-20, 29-30 are examined on the merits
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-11, 21-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 25, 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of species drawn to figures 2-22, 27 in the reply filed on November 25, 2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 26, 2025, February 18, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190371238.
Consider claim 1, Gao teaches a pixel circuit comprising: a light emitting element (see Gao figure 3, element oled);
a first switching element including a control electrode connected to a first node (see Gao figure 3, element A), a first electrode connected to a second node (see Gao figure 3, element C) and a second electrode connected to a third node (see Gao figure 3, element DTFT, node connecting to M3/M6);
a second switching element configured to apply a data voltage to the second node in response to a data writing gate signal (see Gao figure 3, element M4, Data, Gate2);
a third switching element configured to connect the first node to the third node in response to a compensation gate signal (see Gao figure 3, element M3, Gate2);
a capacitor including a first electrode connected to the first node and a second electrode connected to a fourth node (see Gao figure 3, element Cst);
a fifth switching element including a first electrode configured to receive a first power voltage and a second electrode connected to the second node (see Gao figure 3, element M3, VDD);
a sixth switching element including a first electrode connected to the third node and a second electrode connected to an anode electrode of the light emitting element (see Gao figure 3, element M6);
an eighth switching element including a first electrode configured to receive a reference voltage and a second electrode connected to the fourth node (see Gao figure 3, element M1, A, VSEL); and
a ninth switching element including a first electrode configured to receive the first power voltage and a second electrode connected to the fourth node (see Gao figure 3, element M2, VDD, A),
wherein one of the eighth switching element and the ninth switching element is an N-type transistor and the other is a P-type transistor (see Gao figure 3, element M1, M2), and
wherein a signal applied to a control electrode of the fifth switching element (see Gao figure 3, element M3, EM1) is different from a signal applied to a control electrode of the sixth switching element (see Gao figure 3, element M6, EM2).
Consider claim 3, Gao teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein driving current of the light emitting element is determined based on a difference between the reference voltage and the data voltage (see Gao paragraph 0093 where the light-emission current I of the driver transistor DFT to drive the light-emitting element oled to emit light is I=K(Vgs−Vth).sup.2=K(Vdata−VSEL).sup.2).
Consider claim 4, Gao teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the eighth switching element further includes a control electrode configured to receive a bias gate signal (see Gao figure 3, element M1, EM1), and
wherein the ninth switching element further includes a control electrode configured to receive the bias gate signal (see Gao figure 3, element M2, EM1).
Consider claim 12, Gao teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the fifth switching element further includes a control electrode configured to receive the compensation gate signal (see Gao figure 3, element M5, Gate2), and
wherein the sixth switching element further includes a control electrode configured to receive an emission signal (see Gao figure 3, element M6, EM2).
Consider claim 13, Gao teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the third switching element and the eighth switching element are N-type transistors (see Gao figure 3, element M1, M5 and paragraph 0044, 0062 where M1 and M5 can be N-type or can be P-type), and
wherein the first switching element, the second switching element, the fifth switching element, the sixth switching element and the ninth switching element are P-type transistors (see Gao figure 3, element DTFT, M4, M3, M2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190371238 in view of Chang et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180190197.
Consider claim 2, Gao teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Gao is silent regarding wherein the reference voltage is lower than the first power voltage.
In a related field of endeavor, Chang teaches a reference voltage is lower than the first power voltage so as to sense a threshold voltage during an initialization period (see Chang figures 2-3 and paragraphs 0049, 0074).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Gao with the teachings of Chang to have a reference voltage applied a capacitor during an initialization period to be lower than a first power voltage so as to sense a threshold voltage during an initialization period using known techniques with predictable results.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190371238 in view of Kim, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220122534.
Consider claim 5, Gao teaches all the limitations of claim 4 and further comprising: a fourth switching element including a control electrode configured to receive an initialization gate signal, a first electrode connected to the first node and a second electrode configured to receive a first initialization voltage (see Gao figure 3, element M7, Vint, Gate1); and
Gao is silent regarding a seventh switching element including a control electrode configured to receive the bias gate signal, a first electrode configured to receive a second initialization voltage and a second electrode connected to the anode electrode.
In a related field of endeavor, Kim teaches a seventh switching element including a control electrode configured to receive the bias gate signal, a first electrode configured to receive a second initialization voltage and a second electrode connected to the anode electrode (see Kim figure 11, element T6, N4, SC4(n) and paragraphs 0183-0202 specifically for example paragraph 0186) so as to reset the anode of an organic light emitting diode.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Gao with the teachings of Kim to have a seventh switching element including a control electrode configured to receive the bias gate signal, a first electrode configured to receive a second initialization voltage and a second electrode connected to the anode electrode so as to reset the anode of an organic light emitting diode using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 6, Gao as modified by Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 5 and further teaches wherein the seventh switching element and the eighth switching element are N-type transistors (see Gao figure 3, element M1, Kim paragraph 0186 and figure 11 where T6 and T8 are same type of transistors which are turned on by a same control signal and paragraph 0085 where switch elements may be implemented as n-type or p-type) and the ninth switching element is the P-type transistor (see Gao figure 3, element M2).
Consider claim 7, Gao as modified by Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 5, wherein the seventh switching element and the eighth switching element are P-type transistors (see Gao figure 3, element M1 and paragraph 0044 where M1 can be N-type or can be P-type and Kim paragraph 0186 and figure 11 where T6 and T8 are same type of transistors which are turned on by a same control signal and paragraph 0085 where switch elements may be implemented as n-type or p-type) and the ninth switching element is the N-type transistor (see Gao figure 3, element M2 and paragraph 0050 where M2 can be N-type or can be P-type).
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190371238 in view of Hwang et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140111563.
Consider claim 29, Gao teaches a display device comprising: a display panel including a pixel (see Gao paragraph 0028, 0096-0098 specifically for example paragraph 0096 where an embodiment of the disclosure further provides an organic light-emitting diode display panel including the pixel circuit above according to the embodiment of the disclosure);
wherein the pixel comprises:
a light emitting element (see Gao figure 3, element oled);
a first switching element including a control electrode connected to a first node (see Gao figure 3, element A), a first electrode connected to a second node (see Gao figure 3, element C) and a second electrode connected to a third node (see Gao figure 3, element DTFT, node connecting to M3/M6);
a second switching element configured to apply the data voltage to the second node in response to a data writing gate signal
a third switching element configured to connect the first node to the third node in response to a compensation gate signal
a capacitor including a first electrode connected to the first node and a second electrode connected to a fourth node (see Gao figure 3, element Cst);
a fifth switching element including a first electrode configured to receive the first power voltage and a second electrode connected to the second node (see Gao figure 3, element M3, VDD);
a sixth switching element including a first electrode connected to the third node and a second electrode connected to an anode electrode of the light emitting element (see Gao figure 3, element M6);
an eighth switching element including a first electrode configured to receive a reference voltage and a second electrode connected to the fourth node (see Gao figure 3, element M1, A, VSEL); and
a ninth switching element including a first electrode configured to receive the first power voltage and a second electrode connected to the fourth node (see Gao figure 3, element M2, VDD, A),
wherein the eighth switching element and the ninth switching element are complementary transistors (see Gao figure 3, element M1, M2), and
wherein a signal applied to a control electrode of the fifth switching element (see Gao figure 3, element M3, EM1) is different from a signal applied to a control electrode of the sixth switching element (see Gao figure 3, element M6, EM2).
Gao is silent regarding power supply configured to provide a power supply. Gao does provide a power supply voltages including VDD, VSS, Vint, VSEL as illustrated in figure 3. Further, Gao is silent regarding a gate driver; a data driver configured to apply a data voltage. Gao clearly teaches providing various signals including Data, Gate1, Gate2, EM1, EM2 signals as illustrated in pixel circuit of figure 3.
In a related field of endeavor, Hwang teaches a gate driver (see Hwang figure 3, element 20, 40); a data driver configured to apply a data voltage (see Hwang figure 3, element 30); and a power supply configured to provide a first power voltage (see Hwang figure 3, element 60) so as to provide supply voltages and various signals for a display pixel circuit.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Gao to incorporate a gate driver, data driver and power supply so as to provide supply voltages and various signals for a display pixel circuit using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 30, Gao teaches an electronic device comprising:
a display device (see Gao paragraph 0028, 0096-0098 specifically for example paragraph 0096 where an embodiment of the disclosure further provides an organic light-emitting diode display panel including the pixel circuit above according to the embodiment of the disclosure); and
wherein the display device comprises:
a pixel comprising: a light emitting element (see Gao figure 3, element oled);
a first switching element including a control electrode connected to a first node (see Gao figure 3, element A), a first electrode connected to a second node (see Gao figure 3, element C) and a second electrode connected to a third node (see Gao figure 3, element DTFT, node connecting to M3/M6);
a second switching element configured to apply the data voltage to the second node in response to a data writing gate signal
a third switching element configured to connect the first node to the third node in response to a compensation gate signal
a capacitor including a first electrode connected to the first node and a second electrode connected to a fourth node (see Gao figure 3, element Cst);
a fifth switching element including a first electrode configured to receive a first power voltage and a second electrode connected to the second node (see Gao figure 3, element M3, VDD);
a sixth switching element including a first electrode connected to the third node and a second electrode connected to an anode electrode of the light emitting element (see Gao figure 3, element M6);
an eighth switching element including a first electrode configured to receive a reference voltage and a second electrode connected to the fourth node (see Gao figure 3, element M1, A, VSEL); and
a ninth switching element including a first electrode configured to receive the first power voltage and a second electrode connected to the fourth node (see Gao figure 3, element M2, VDD, A),
wherein the eighth switching element and the ninth switching element are complementary transistors (see Gao figure 3, element M1, M2), and
wherein a signal applied to a control electrode of the fifth switching element
Gao is silent regarding power supply configured to provide a power supply. Gao does provide a power supply voltages including VDD, VSS, Vint, VSEL as illustrated in figure 3. Further, Gao is silent regarding a gate driver; an emission driver; a data driver configured to apply a data voltage. Gao clearly teaches providing various signals including Data, Gate1, Gate2, EM1, EM2 signals as illustrated in pixel circuit of figure 3.
In a related field of endeavor, Hwang teaches a gate driver (see Hwang figure 3, element 20); an emission driver (see Hwang figure 3, element 40); a data driver configured to apply a data voltage (see Hwang figure 3, element 30); and a power supply configured to provide a first power voltage (see Hwang figure 3, element 60) so as to provide supply voltages and various signals for a display pixel circuit.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Gao to incorporate a gate driver, an emission driver, data driver and power supply so as to provide supply voltages and various signals for a display pixel circuit using known techniques with predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claimed invention recites
Claim 14 “ The pixel circuit of claim 1, further comprising a fourth switching element including a control electrode configured to receive an initialization gate signal, a first electrode connected to the first node and a second electrode configured to receive a first initialization voltage, wherein the eighth switching element further comprises a control electrode configured to receive a bias gate signal, wherein the ninth switching element further comprises a control electrode configured to receive the bias gate signal, wherein the fifth switching element further comprises a control electrode configured to receive the compensation gate signal, and wherein the sixth switching element further comprises a control electrode configured to receive an emission signal. ”
Gao teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches further comprising a fourth switching element including a control electrode configured to receive an initialization gate signal, a first electrode connected to the first node and a second electrode configured to receive a first initialization voltage (see Gao figure 3, element M7, Vint, Gate1),
wherein the eighth switching element further comprises a control electrode configured to receive a bias gate signal (see Gao figure 3, element M1, EM1),
wherein the ninth switching element further comprises a control electrode configured to receive the bias gate signal (see Gao figure 3, element M2, EM1),
wherein the fifth switching element further comprises a control electrode configured to receive
wherein the sixth switching element further comprises a control electrode configured to receive an emission signal (see Gao figure 3, element M6, EM2).
Gao fails to disclose the fifth switching element further comprises a control electrode configured to receive the compensation gate signal
The following prior arts are representative of the state of the prior art:
Shin et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 12475848 (figure 2, elements T5, T3, GC)
Lee et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210241689 (figure 6, element T5, T3, EL)
Yang, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200388214 (figure 3, element M4, M2, EM)
Wang et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210193046 (figure 2, element T4, T3, En)
The prior arts cited fails to fairly teach or suggest the combined features of the invention including wherein the fifth switching element further comprises a control electrode configured to receive the compensation gate signal . Claims 15-20 are allowable by virtue of being dependent upon a claim reciting allowable subject matter.
These features find support at least at figure 2 of Applicant’s original specification.
As such, modification of the prior art of record can only be motivated by hindsight reasoning, or by changing the intended use and function of the prior art themselves. Therefore, it is not clear that one of ordinary skill in the art would have made the necessary modifications to the prior art of record to encompass the limitations set forth in the present application. Moreover, none of the prior arts of record, taken either alone or in combination, anticipate nor render obvious the claimed inventions. Hence, claims 14-20 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsuge, U.S. Patent No. 20100265237 (EL display device), Zhou et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180166025 (pixel circuit), Park et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200211476 (pixel for organic light emitting diode display), Kim et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 10977997 (pixel)
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625