DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gonzalez (US 2017/0170037).
Claim 8: a housing (FIG. 3A, 41);
a stage (20a/20/30) comprising:
one or more first sensors configured to detect a presence of a first die container of a first type on the stage,
one or more second sensors configured to detect a presence of a second die container of a second type on the stage, and
one or more third sensors configured to detect a presence of a third die container of a third type on the stage ("one or more solar carrying pods 20" (paragraph [0033])) in FIG. 3B (20a/20b/20c/etc.) require one or more 20a/20/30, including a third 20a/20/30; paragraphs [0035]/[0041]; para. [0043]/[0045]/[0065] for three sensors (“one or more sensors (not shown)”) for three 20a/20/30 (above)); and
an elevator configured to move one or more portions of the stage within the housing (43);
Claim 9: wherein the stage comprises a plurality of portions ("one or more solar carrying pods 20" (paragraph [0033])) in FIG. 3B (20a/20b/20c/etc.) require one or more 20a/20/30, including a third 20a/20/30; paragraphs [0035]/[0041]);
Claim 10: wherein the plurality of portions comprises:
a first portion configured to support the first die container, and
a second portion configured to support the second die container (FIG. 3B);
Claim 13: wherein the second portion is configured to support the third die container (each portion may support the other die container; intended use; MPEP 2115);
Claim 14: wherein the plurality of portions further comprises a third portion configured to support the third die container ("one or more solar carrying pods 20" (paragraph [0033])) in FIG. 3B (20a/20b/20c/etc.) require one or more 20a/20/30, including a third 20a/20/30; paragraphs [0035]/[0041]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-9 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,261,069 (“USPN”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are broader than USPN and one or more sensors includes a third sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 17 (method claim) overcomes the prior art since it requires selectively moving one or more portions of the stage based on the die container being correctly positioned on the stage and based on a die container type of the die container in combination with the other claim limitations. Claims 18-20 depend on Claim 17.
The prior art of record does not disclose this combination of limitations. For example, Gonzalez discloses stage 30, however, Gonzalez does not disclose selectively moving one or more portions of stage 30 based on the die container being correctly positioned on stage 30 and based on a die container type of the die container in combination with the other claim limitations. Similarly, other prior references do not disclose all the limitations of the independent claim. Therefore, the claims are allowed.
Claims 6-7, 11-12, and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 6-7 are dependent on Claim 1 that is rejected under nonstatutory double patenting.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose the following in combination with the other claim limitations.
Claim 11: wherein the elevator is configured to move the first portion based on the presence of the first die container;
Claim 12: wherein the elevator is configured to move the first portion and the second portion based on the presence of the second die container;
Claim 15: wherein the third portion is greater in area than the second portion, and the second portion is greater in area than the first portion; and
Claim 16: wherein the second portion is greater in area than the first portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2019/0206709 discloses stage 20.
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652