DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12262172. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are an obvious broader version of the patented claims, as mapped in the table below.
Claims 1 and 8-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12335683. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are an obvious broader version of the patented claims, as mapped in the table below.
Application 19/056935
US Pat No. 12262172
US Pat No. 12335683
Claim 1
See Claim: 1
See Claim: 1, 3
Claim 2
See Claim: 4
Claim 3
See Claim: 5
Claim 4
See Claim: 1
Claim 5
See Claim: 10
Claim 6
See Claim: 11
Claim 7
See Claim: 2
Claim 8
See Claim: 3
See Claim: 5, 6
Claim 9
See Claim: 6
See Claim: 5, 6
Claim 10
See Claim: 7
See Claim: 4
Claim 11
See Claim: 12, 20
See Claim: 9, 11
Claim 12
See Claim: 14
Claim 13
See Claim: 20
Claim 14
See Claim: 14
Claim 15
See Claim: 15
Claim 16
See Claim: 16
Claim 17
See Claim: 17
Claim 18
See Claim: 18
Claim 19
See Claim: 19
Claim 20
See Claim: 20
Claims 2-7 and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12335683 in view of Kuroda et al (US 20230412955 A1).
The claim language of U.S. Patent No. 12335683 discloses a display device, comprising: a sound source, comprising: a driver configured to receive an audio signal current and to generate pressurized air; a plurality of chambers coupled to the driver and configured to direct the pressurized air from the driver; and a plurality of arrays of two or more slit shaped exits coupled to the plurality of chambers and configured to receive the pressurized air from the plurality of chambers and to emit sound waves, wherein a first array of the plurality of arrays of two or more slit shaped exits is coupled to a first chamber of the plurality of chambers and a second array of the plurality of arrays of two or more slit shaped exits is coupled to a second chamber of the plurality of chambers.
However, the claim language of U.S. Patent No. 12335683 does not disclose expressly, a controller for controlling directivity of sound waves based on multimedia content, environment or user feedback; wherein the controller includes an amplifier and a passive filter; or wherein the slit shaped exits are arranged in a linear or matrix arrangement.
Kuroda discloses a display device comprising a sound source, wherein a directivity of the sound source is controlled by a controller comprising an amplifier and passive filter, and a plurality of arrays of slits arranged in a linear or matrix arrangement (See rejection below for citations of Kuroda).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the teachings of Kuroda in the claim language of U.S. Patent No. 12335683. The motivation for doing so would have been to control the direction of sound output based on a multimedia signal related to the display device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroda et al (US 20230412955 A1) in view of Heil (US 5163167).
With respect to claim 1, Kuroda discloses a sound source, comprising:
a driver (fig.12 #31) configured to receive an audio signal current and to generate pressurized air (Par.[0038]);
a plurality of chambers (fig.12 #33J-1, 33J-2) coupled to the driver and configured to direct the pressurized air from the driver (Par.[0086]); and
a plurality of arrays of two or more exits (fig.12 #24-1 to #24-6) coupled to the plurality of chambers and configured to receive the pressurized air from the plurality of chambers and to emit sound waves (Par.[0037][0086]),
wherein a first array of the plurality of arrays of two or more exits is coupled to a first chamber of the plurality of chambers and a second array of the plurality of arrays of two or more exits is coupled to a second chamber of the plurality of chambers (As shown in figure 12, a first array of two or more exits #24-1,24-2,24-3 are coupled to a first chamber #33J-1 via sound conduits #14J-1,14J-2,14J-3; and a second array of two or more exits #24-4,24-5,24-6 are coupled to a second chamber #33J-2 via sound conduits #14J-4,14J-5,14J-6).
Kuroda discloses wherein the exits (#24) are fine holes (Par.[0035][0037]); however does not disclose expressly wherein the exits are slit shaped.
Heil discloses a sound waveguide for a driver, wherein the waveguide comprises an output orifice (“exit”) that is planar and oblong (“slit-shaped”) (col.1 ln.42-53).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the exit “fine holes” of Kuroda slit-shaped, as performed by Heil. The motivation for doing so would have been transform the circular wave plane output by a membrane/diaphragm of the drive into a planar rectangular wave, thereby improving a function of the inputted frequency sound waves, as taught by Heil (col.4 ln.59-68, col.5 ln.1-2).
With respect to claim 2, Kuroda discloses the sound source of claim 1, wherein the first array of the plurality of arrays of two or more slit shaped exits comprises a linear array of two or more slit shaped exits that are arranged in a linear arrangement (see fig.12 #24-1 to #24-3).
With respect to claim 3, Kuroda discloses the sound source of claim 1, wherein the first array of the plurality of arrays of two or more slit shaped exits comprises a matrix array of two or more slit shaped exits that are arranged in a square matrix arrangement (fig.7 microspeakers #51 each comprising exits are arranged in a square matrix).
With respect to claim 4, Kuroda discloses the sound source of claim 1, wherein a directivity of the sound waves is controlled based at least on a multimedia content associated with the audio signal current, an environment of the sound source, or a feedback from a user of the sound source (Par.[0064] sound is directionally output based on selected microspeakers according to a position of multimedia content on the display).
With respect to claim 5, Kuroda discloses the sound source of claim 4, wherein the driver comprises an amplifier configured to control the directivity of the sound waves (fig.6 #106; Par.[0063]).
With respect to claim 6, Kuroda discloses the sound source of claim 4, further comprising a passive filter configured to control the directivity of the sound waves (fig.6 #104; Par.[0063]).
With respect to claim 7, Kuroda discloses the sound source of claim 1, wherein the driver comprises a compression driver (Par.[0038]).
With respect to claim 8, Kuroda discloses the sound source of claim 1, further comprising: a second driver; and a second plurality of chambers coupled to the second driver (fig.15; Par.[0093] the system may comprise at least a second driver and coupled chambers).
With respect to claim 9, Kuroda discloses the sound source of claim 1, further comprising: a second driver configured to receive a second audio signal current and to generate second pressurized air; a third chamber coupled to the second driver and configured to direct the second pressurized air from the second driver; and a plurality of slit shaped exits coupled to the third chamber and configured to receive the second pressurized air from the third chamber and to emit second sound waves (fig.15; Par.[0093] the system may comprise at least a second driver and coupled chambers).
With respect to claim 10, Kuroda discloses the sound source of claim 1, however does not disclose expressly wherein each slit shaped exit of the first array of the plurality of arrays of two or more slit shaped exits has a length of about 12 mm and a height of about 1 mm.
It would have been an obvious design choice before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to design the slit-shaped exits of Kuroda and Heil to have a length of about 12 mm and a height of about 1 mm. The motivation for doing so would have been to design an exit that allows a desired amount of acoustic energy to exit the chambers.
With respect to claim 11, Kuroda discloses a display device (fig.12 #11J; Par.[0085])), comprising:
a sound source (fig.12 #13), comprising:
a driver (fig.12 #31) configured to receive an audio signal current and to generate pressurized air (Par.[0038]);
a plurality of chambers (fig.12 #33J-1, 33J-2) coupled to the driver and configured to direct the pressurized air from the driver (Par.[0086]); and
a plurality of arrays of two or more exits (fig.12 #24-1 to #24-6) coupled to the plurality of chambers and configured to receive the pressurized air from the plurality of chambers and to emit sound waves (Par.[0037][0086]),
wherein a first array of the plurality of arrays of two or more exits is coupled to a first chamber of the plurality of chambers and a second array of the plurality of arrays of two or more exits is coupled to a second chamber of the plurality of chambers (As shown in figure 12, a first array of two or more exits #24-1,24-2,24-3 are coupled to a first chamber #33J-1 via sound conduits #14J-1,14J-2,14J-3; and a second array of two or more exits #24-4,24-5,24-6 are coupled to a second chamber #33J-2 via sound conduits #14J-4,14J-5,14J-6).
Kuroda discloses wherein the exits (#24) are fine holes (Par.[0035][0037]); however does not disclose expressly wherein the exits are slit shaped.
Heil discloses a sound waveguide for a driver, wherein the waveguide comprises an output orifice (“exit”) that is planar and oblong (“slit-shaped”) (col.1 ln.42-53).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the exit “fine holes” of Kuroda slit-shaped, as performed by Heil. The motivation for doing so would have been transform the circular wave plane output by a membrane/diaphragm of the drive into a planar rectangular wave, thereby improving a function of the inputted frequency sound waves, as taught by Heil (col.4 ln.59-68, col.5 ln.1-2).
With respect to claim 12, Kuroda discloses the display device of claim 11, further comprising a controller configured to control a directivity of the sound waves (fig.6 #108; Par.[0064]).
With respect to claim 13, Kuroda discloses the display device of claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to control the directivity of the sound waves based at least on a multimedia content associated with the audio signal current, an environment of the sound source, or a feedback from a user of the sound source (Par.[0064] sound is directionally output based on selected microspeakers according to a position of multimedia content on the display).
With respect to claim 14, Kuroda discloses the display device of claim 12, wherein the controller comprises a digital filter configured to control the directivity of the sound waves (fig.6 #108; Par.[0064]).
With respect to claim 15, Kuroda discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the digital filter comprises an amplifier in the driver (fig.6 #106; Par.[0063]).
With respect to claim 16, Kuroda discloses the display device of claim 12, further comprising a passive filter configured to control the directivity of the sound waves (fig.6 #104; Par.[0063]).
With respect to claim 17, Kuroda discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the driver comprises a compression driver (Par.[0038]).
With respect to claim 18, Kuroda discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the first array of the plurality of arrays of two or more slit shaped exits comprises a linear array of two or more slit shaped exits that are arranged in a linear arrangement (see fig.12 #24-1 to #24-3).
With respect to claim 19, Kuroda discloses the display device of claim 12, wherein the first array of the plurality of arrays of two or more slit shaped exits comprises a matrix array of two or more slit shaped exits that are arranged in a square matrix arrangement (fig.7 microspeakers #51 each comprising exits are arranged in a square matrix).
With respect to claim 20, Kuroda discloses a display device (fig.12 #11J; Par.[0085])), comprising:
a sound source (fig.12 #13), comprising:
a compression driver (fig.12 #31) configured to receive an audio signal current and to generate pressurized air (Par.[0038]);
a plurality of chambers (fig.12 #33J-1, 33J-2) coupled to the compression driver and configured to direct the pressurized air from the compression driver (Par.[0086]); and
a plurality of arrays of two or more exits (fig.12 #24-1 to #24-6) coupled to the plurality of chambers and configured to receive the pressurized air from the plurality of chambers and to emit sound waves (Par.[0037][0086]),
wherein a first array of the plurality of arrays of two or more exits is coupled to a first chamber of the plurality of chambers and a second array of the plurality of arrays of two or more exits is coupled to a second chamber of the plurality of chambers (As shown in figure 12, a first array of two or more exits #24-1,24-2,24-3 are coupled to a first chamber #33J-1 via sound conduits #14J-1,14J-2,14J-3; and a second array of two or more exits #24-4,24-5,24-6 are coupled to a second chamber #33J-2 via sound conduits #14J-4,14J-5,14J-6); and
a controller (fig.6 #108) configured to control a directivity of the sound waves (Par.[0064]).
Kuroda discloses wherein the exits (#24) are fine holes (Par.[0035][0037]); however does not disclose expressly wherein the exits are slit shaped.
Heil discloses a sound waveguide for a driver, wherein the waveguide comprises an output orifice (“exit”) that is planar and oblong (“slit-shaped”) (col.1 ln.42-53).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the exit “fine holes” of Kuroda slit-shaped, as performed by Heil. The motivation for doing so would have been transform the circular wave plane output by a membrane/diaphragm of the drive into a planar rectangular wave, thereby improving a function of the inputted frequency sound waves, as taught by Heil (col.4 ln.59-68, col.5 ln.1-2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kubota (US 7735599 B2) discloses a sound wave guide structure for speaker system and horn speaker.
JASON R. KURR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2695
/JASON R KURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695