DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a continuation of application 18/385,584 filed 10/31/2023, which is a continuation of 17/223,432 filed 04/06/2021, which is a continuation of PCT/JP2018/039104 filed 10/19/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed on 02/19/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (US20160372848).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada teaches a connector (100G) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (30) (Figs. 9-11, [0051], [0055-0056]), the connector (100G) comprising:
a cable (1) including (Figs. 9-10, [0025], [0051], [0054]):
a ground cable (4) (Fig. 10, Abstract, [0007], “the shield connection electrode is an exposed portion of the ground”, [0027], [0052], wherein shield connection electrode 14G comprises a ground pad, and shield 4 which connects to the shield electrode 14G comprises a ground cable); and
a signal cable (2) (Fig. 10, [0026-0027], wherein center conductor 2 configured to conduct signals comprises a signal cable, [0052], [0063], “These electrode terminals 41 are coupled to respective signal lines 48 that are center conductors branching off from a plurality of coaxial cables…”);
a circuit board (10G) including (Fig. 10, [0052-0053], wherein substrate 10G including electrodes and a wiring pattern thereon comprises a circuit board):
a board (10G) (Fig. 10, [0052-0053]).;
a ground pad (14G) located on the board (10G), the ground pad (14G) is electrically connected to the ground cable (4) (Fig. 10, Abstract, [0007], “the shield connection electrode is an exposed portion of the ground”, [0052]);
a signal pad (12G) located on the board (10G), the signal pad (12G) is electrically connected to the signal cable (2) (Fig. 10, [0052]); and
a first insulator (15G) located on the board, the first insulator (15G) located between the ground pad (14G) and the signal pad (12G) (Fig. 10, [0052], wherein figure 10 showing at least a portion of the insulator 15G located between ground pad 14G and signal pad 12G comprises a first insulator located on the board between the ground pad and signal pad).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Yamada further teaches wherein the cable (1) is spaced apart from the first insulator (15G) in a longitudinal direction of the cable (1) (Fig. 10, wherein figure 10 shows the cable 1 being longitudinally spaced from the first insulator 15G).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Yamada further teaches wherein the ground pad (14G) is located distally relative to the signal pad (12G) (Fig. 10, wherein figure 10 shows ground pad 14G being distal relative to the signal pad 12G).
Regarding claim 7, Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Yamada further teaches wherein: the cable (1) comprises a plurality of cables (1), the signal pad (12G) comprises a plurality of signal pads (12G), and each of the plurality of cables (1) is electrically connected to a respective signal pad (12G) of the plurality of signal pads (12G) (Figs. 9A-9B, wherein figures 9A-9B show a plurality of cables 1 and signal pads 12G that are electrically connected to one another).
Regarding claim 8, Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 7.
Yamada further teaches wherein the plurality of signal pads (12G) is aligned in a direction intersecting with a longitudinal direction of the circuit board (10G) (Fig. 9B, wherein figure 9B shows the alignment direction of the signal pads 12G is perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the circuit board).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US20160372848) in view of Hirose (US20010042637).
Regarding claim 2, Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Yamada further teaches wherein the circuit board (10G) further includes a second insulator (11G) located on the signal pad (12G) (Fig. 10, [0052]).
However, Yamada fails to teach wherein the second insulator is separated from the first insulator by the signal pad.
In an analogous arrangement of a circuit board field of endeavor, Hirose teaches such a feature. Hirose teaches a multilayered printed circuit board (Title, [0001]). Hirose teaches wherein the circuit board includes conductive circuits and insulating resin layers which are alternately formed ([0032], [0079]). Hirose therefore teaches separating insulators from one another by conductive components or circuitry.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Yamada to have conductive circuitry be disposed between insulators as taught by Hirose ([0032], [0079]). The conductive circuitry may predictably be electrically isolated by being disposed between insulative layers, thereby helping to reduce or prevent short circuiting. Yamada modified by the teachings of Hirose to arrange conductive circuitry between insulation layers would predictably result wherein the signal pad 12G (conductive circuitry) is arranged between the first insulator (15G) and second insulator (11G), thereby resulting in the second insulator (11G) being separated from the first insulator (15G) by the signal pad (12G).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada in view of Hirose teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 2.
Yamada further teaches wherein the second insulator (11G) is located proximally relative to the first insulator (15G) (Figs. 9-10, [0052], wherein figures 9-10 show the center of second insulator 11G is proximal relative to the center of first insulator 15G).
Regarding claim 4, Yamada in view of Hirose teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 2.
Yamada further teaches wherein the cable (1) is spaced apart from the second insulator (11G) in a longitudinal direction of the cable (1) (Figs. 9A & 10, wherein the figures show the cable 1 is longitudinally spaced from the second insulator 11G).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US20160372848) in view of Saiga (US20170196537).
Regarding claim 9, Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Yamada further teaches wherein the cable (1) can be applied to an ultrasound endoscope having a plurality of ultrasound transducers ([0055]).
However, Yamada fails to explicitly teach wherein the cable is electrically connected to a piezoelectric element, the cable configured to transmit a pulse signal and an echo signal.
In an analogous ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Saiga teaches such a feature. Saiga teaches an ultrasound endoscope (2) (Fig. 1, [0020]). Saiga teaches wherein the endoscope (2) includes a universal cable (23), an ultrasound cable (31), and a US cable (71) (Figs. 1 & 6, [0023], [0029]). Saiga teaches wherein the endoscope (2) includes an endoscope connector (6) having a circuit board (631) or substrate (Figs. 1 & 3-4, [0062-0064]). Moreover, Saiga teaches wherein the ultrasound transducers (211) located at the tip of the endoscope (2) comprise piezoelectric elements (Fig. 1, [0032-0033]). Saiga teaches the transducer unit (211) transmits an echo signal to an ultrasound observation apparatus via the US cable (71) and ultrasound cable (31) ([0034]). Moreover, Saiga teaches wherein the US cable (71) transmits pulse signals in addition to echo signals ([0029], [0034], [0095]). Saiga teaches the universal cable (23) includes the US cable (71) and is inserted into the endoscope connector (6) ([0044], [0050-0051]). Saiga therefore teaches wherein a cable (23; 71) of a connector (6) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (2) is electrically connected to a piezoelectric element and configured to transmit pulse signals and echo signals.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Yamada to have the cable be electrically connected to piezoelectric elements and configured to transmit pulse and echo signals as taught by Saiga (Fig. 1, [0029], [0032-0034], [0095]). By having the cable be connected to the piezoelectric elements of the ultrasound transducer and configured to transmit pulse and echo signals, ultrasound images may predictably be generated from said signals as recognized by Saiga ([0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, Yamada fails to teach the invention further comprising: a light guide configured to transmit illumination light; and an imaging signal cable configured to transmit an image signal.
In an analogous ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Saiga teaches such a feature. Saiga teaches an endoscope connector (6) of an ultrasound endoscope (2) (Figs. 1-2, [0020], [0024]). Saiga teaches wherein the endoscope connector (6) has a circuit board (631) or substrate (Figs. 1 & 3-4, [0062-0064]). Saiga teaches the ultrasound endoscope includes a universal cable (23) for connecting to the endoscope connector (6) Fig. 1, [0028-0029], [0045]). Moreover, Saiga teaches wherein the universal cable (23) includes a light guide for transmitting illumination light from a light source (42) and an imaging cable for transmission of an image signal ([0029], [0043-0044], [0051]). Saiga teaches wherein the universal cable (23) including the light guide and imaging cable is inserted into the endoscope connector (6) ([0050-0051]). Saiga therefore teaches wherein a connector (6) further comprises a light guide configured to transmit illumination light and an imaging cable configured to transmit an image signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Yamada to have the connector include a light guide and imaging cable for the transmissions of light and an image signal respectively as taught by Saiga ([0029], [0043-0044], [0050-0051]). The light guide and light source may illuminate the inside of a subject for easier viewing as recognized by Saiga ([0026]). Moreover, the imaging cable carrying the imaging signal may be used for generating an endoscopic image as further recognized by Saiga ([0025]), thereby aiding in navigation and diagnosis.
Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US20160372848) in view of Sato (US20170144193).
Regarding claim 11, Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, Yamada fails to teach the invention further comprising a conduit configured to pass fluid.
In an analogous ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Sato teaches such a feature. Sato teaches an ultrasound endoscope apparatus (100) including an ultrasound endoscope (1) and a water feeding tank (16) (Fig. 7, [0096]). Sato teaches the endoscope (1) includes a universal cable (4) and an endoscope connector (5) (Fig. 7, [0097]). Sato teaches the endoscope connector (5) is provided with an air/water feeding pipe sleeve (10) ([0098]). Sato teaches the pipe sleeve (10) is connected to a fluid supply conduit and an air/water feeding tube ([0102]). Sato therefore teaches a connector comprising a conduit configured to pass fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Yamada to include a conduit for passing fluid as taught by Sato (Fig. 7, [0098], [0102]). The fluid conduit may predictably be used for irrigation during endoscopic procedures and improve visualization of tissue.
Claims 12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saiga (US20170196537) in view of Yamada (US20160372848).
Regarding claim 12, Saiga teaches an ultrasound endoscope (2) (Fig. 1, [0020-0021]), comprising:
an ultrasound transducer (211) including a piezoelectric element (Fig. 1, [0030], [0032-0033]);
a connector (6) including (Figs. 1-2, [0024], [0028], [0045]):
a cable (23; 71) including (Fig. 1, [0044-0045], [0050-0051]):
a ground cable ([0074], “ground wires”); and
a signal cable ([0074], “signal wires”);
a circuit board (631) electrically connected to the piezoelectric element (211) via the cable (23; 71) (Figs. 2-4, [0063], [0065], [0097], [0100]), the circuit board (631) including:
a board (631) (Figs. 3-4, [0065], [0069]);
a ground pad (6314G) located on the board (631), the ground pad (6314G) is electrically connected to the ground cable (Fig. 5A, [0074]); and
a signal pad (6314S) located on the board (631), the signal pad (6314S) is electrically connected to the signal cable (Fig. 5A, [0074]).
However, Saiga fails to teach a first insulator located on the board, the first insulator located between the ground pad and the signal pad.
In an analogous connector for an ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Yamada teaches such a feature. Yamada teaches a cable connection structure (100G) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (30) (Figs. 9-11, [0051], [0055-0056]). Yamada teaches wherein the cable connection structure (100G) comprises a substrate (10G) having a first insulator (15G) and second insulator (11G) (Fig. 10, [0052]). Moreover, Yamada teaches wherein the substrate (10G) includes a ground pad (14G) and a plurality of signal pads (12G) for a plurality of cables (1) (Figs. 9-10, [0007], “the shield connection electrode is an exposed portion of the ground”, [0052]). Yamada shows in figures 9B & 10 wherein at least a portion of the first insulator (15G) is located between the ground pad (14G) and the signal pads (12G) (Fig. 9B & 10). Yamada therefore teaches a first insulator (15G) located on a board (substrate 10G), the first insulator (15G) being located between a ground pad (14G) and a signal pad (12G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to have an insulator be arranged on the circuit board between the ground pad and signal pad as taught by Yamada (Figs. 9B & 10, [0052]). The insulator may predictably provide electrical insulation between the conductive pads, thereby reducing risk of short circuiting. Yamada teaches wherein the cable structure taught may suppress disconnection and short circuiting ([0066]).
Regarding claim 16, Saiga in view of Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
However, Saiga fails to teach wherein the cable is spaced apart from the first insulator in a longitudinal direction of the cable.
In an analogous connector for an ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Yamada teaches such a feature. Yamada teaches a cable connection structure (100G) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (30) (Figs. 9-11, [0051], [0055-0056]). Yamada teaches wherein the cable connection structure (100G) comprises a substrate (10G) having a first insulator (15G) and second insulator (11G) (Fig. 10, [0052]). Yamada teaches wherein the substrate (10G) includes a plurality of coaxial cables (1) connected thereto (Figs. 9A & 10, [0026-0027], [0054]). Yamada shows in figure 10 that the cable (1) is spaced apart from the first insulator (15G) in a longitudinal direction of the cable (1) (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to have the cable be longitudinally spaced from the first insulator as taught by Yamada (Figs. 9A & 10). Disconnecting or short circuiting owing to deformation of the cable may be suppressed by arranging the cable in such a manner as recognized by Yamada ([0054], “With this structure, deformation of the center conductor 2 can be prevented when the coaxial cable 1 is connected to the substrate 10G”, [0066], “…to suppress disconnection or a short circuit owing to small deformation of the cable at the connection portion”).
Regarding claim 17, Saiga in view of Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
However, Saiga fails to teach wherein the ground pad is located distally relative to the signal pad.
In an analogous connector for an ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Yamada teaches such a feature. Yamada teaches a cable connection structure (100G) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (30) (Figs. 9-11, [0051], [0055-0056]). Yamada teaches wherein the cable connection structure (100G) includes a substrate (10G) having a ground pad (14G) and a plurality of signal pads (12G) (Figs. 9-10, [0007], “the shield connection electrode is an exposed portion of the ground”, [0052]). Yamada shows in figures 9B and 10 that the ground pad (14G) is located distally relative to the signal pads (12G) (Figs. 9B & 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to have the ground pad be distal to the signal pads as taught by Yamada (Figs. 9B & 10, [0007], [0052]). Disconnecting or short circuiting owing to deformation of the cable may be suppressed by arranging the cable and pads in such a manner as recognized by Yamada ([0054], “With this structure, deformation of the center conductor 2 can be prevented when the coaxial cable 1 is connected to the substrate 10G”, [0066], “…to suppress disconnection or a short circuit owing to small deformation of the cable at the connection portion”).
Regarding claim 18, Saiga in view of Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
Saiga further teaches wherein: the piezoelectric element comprises a plurality of piezoelectric elements ([0032], “plurality of ultrasound transducers… is regularly arrayed…”, [0033], “The ultrasound transducer as used herein has… a piezoelectric element… the number of ultrasound transducers is a multiple of eight”),
the cable (23; 71) comprises a plurality of cables (711) (Fig. 6, [0095]),
the signal pad (6314S) comprises a plurality of signal pads (6314S) (Fig. 5A, [0074]), and
each of the plurality of piezoelectric elements is electrically connected to a respective signal pad (6314S) of the plurality of signal pads (6314S) via the plurality of cables (711) ([0008], [0034], [0095], “a plurality of coaxial wires 711 respectively electrically connected to the plurality of ultrasound transducers of the transducer unit 211”, [0096-0097], “the plurality of coaxial wires 711 electrically connects the transducer unit 211 to the twelve flexible substrates 72”, [0102], “The sixteen signal lines 721S are conductively connected to the single bundle of respective (sixteen) coaxial wires 711. The sixteen signal lines 721S are also conductively connected to the respective sixteen contacts 6311S (sixteen FPC connector lands 6314S)”).
Regarding claim 19, Saiga in view of Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 18.
However, Saiga fails to teach wherein the plurality of signal pads is aligned in a direction intersecting with a longitudinal direction of the circuit board.
In an analogous connector for an ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Yamada teaches such a feature. Yamada teaches a cable connection structure (100G) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (30) (Figs. 9-11, [0051], [0055-0056]). Yamada teaches wherein the cable connection structure (100G) includes a substrate (10G) (i.e. circuit board) having a ground pad (14G) and a plurality of signal pads (12G) (Figs. 9-10, [0007], [0052]). Yamada shows in figure 9B that the plurality of signal pads (12G) is aligned in a [perpendicular] direction intersecting with a longitudinal direction of the circuit board (10G) (Fig. 9B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to have the alignment direction of the signal pads be perpendicular or intersecting with a longitudinal direction of the circuit board as taught by Yamada (Fig. 9B, [0052]). A plurality of coaxial cables may predictably be connected to the perpendicularly aligned signal pads while minimizing cable width or thickness.
Regarding claim 20, Saiga in view of Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
Saiga teaches the invention further comprising: an insertion portion (21); and an operation portion (22) located between the connector (6) and the insertion portion (21), wherein the ultrasound transducer (211) is located at the insertion portion (21), and the cable (71) extends from the insertion portion (21) to the connector (6) via the operation portion (22) (Figs. 1 & 6, [0028-0030], [0050-0051], “The universal cable 23 (the light guide, the US cable 71 (refer to FIG. 6), and the imaging cable or the like mentioned above) is inserted into the exterior housing 61”, [0095]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saiga (US20170196537) in view of Yamada (US20160372848) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Hirose (US20010042637).
Regarding claim 13, Saiga in view of Yamada teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
However, Saiga fails to teach wherein the circuit board further includes a second insulator located on the signal pad.
In an analogous connector for an ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Yamada teaches such a feature. Yamada teaches a cable connection structure (100G) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (30) (Figs. 9-11, [0051], [0055-0056]). Yamada teaches wherein the cable connection structure (100G) comprises a substrate (10G) having a first insulator (15G) and second insulator (11G) (Fig. 10, [0052]). Moreover, Yamada teaches wherein the second insulator (11G) includes signal pads (12G) located thereon (Figs. 9B & 10, [0052]). Yamada therefore teaches a circuit board (10G) including a second insulator (11G) located on a signal pad (12G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to include a second insulator on the signal pad as taught by Yamada (Figs. 9B & 10, [0052]). Additional insulators may predictably provide for further electrical insulation, thereby further reducing risk of short circuiting or crosstalk.
However, the modified combination noted above fails to teach wherein the second insulator is separated from the first insulator by the signal pad.
In an analogous arrangement of a circuit board field of endeavor, Hirose teaches such a feature. Hirose teaches a multilayered printed circuit board (Title, [0001]). Hirose teaches wherein the circuit board includes conductive circuits and insulating resin layers which are alternately formed ([0032], [0079]). Hirose therefore teaches separating insulators from one another by conductive components or circuitry.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga in view of Yamada to have conductive circuitry be disposed between insulators as taught by Hirose ([0032], [0079]). The conductive circuitry may predictably be further electrically isolated by being disposed between insulative layers, thereby further helping to reduce or prevent short circuiting. Saiga in view of Yamada modified by the teachings of Hirose to arrange conductive circuitry between insulation layers would predictably result wherein the signal pads (conductive circuitry) are arranged between a first insulator and a second insulator, thereby resulting in the second insulator being separated from the first insulator by the signal pads.
Regarding claim 14, Saiga in view of Yamada and Hirose teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 13.
However, Saiga fails to teach wherein the second insulator is located proximally relative to the first insulator.
In an analogous connector for an ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Yamada teaches such a feature. Yamada teaches a cable connection structure (100G) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (30) (Figs. 9-11, [0051], [0055-0056]). Yamada teaches wherein the cable connection structure (100G) comprises a substrate (10G) having a first insulator (15G) and second insulator (11G) (Fig. 10, [0052]). Yamada shows in figures 9B and 10 that the second insulator (11G) is located proximally relative to the first insulator (15G) (Figs. 9B & 10, wherein at least the center of the second insulator 11G is proximal relative to the center of the first insulator 15G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to have the second insulator be proximal relative to the first insulator as taught by Yamada (Figs. 9B & 10, [0052]). By having the second insulator be proximal to the first insulator, room may be provided for a ground pad (14G) as shown by Yamada (Figs. 9B & 10), and it is possible to reduce thickness of the connector and to suppress disconnection or short circuits owing to small deformations as further recognized by Yamada ([0066]).
Regarding claim 15, Saiga in view of Yamada and Hirose teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 13.
However, Saiga fails to teach wherein the cable is spaced apart from the second insulator in a longitudinal direction of the cable.
In an analogous connector for an ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Yamada teaches such a feature. Yamada teaches a cable connection structure (100G) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (30) (Figs. 9-11, [0051], [0055-0056]). Yamada teaches wherein the cable connection structure (100G) comprises a substrate (10G) having a first insulator (15G) and second insulator (11G) (Fig. 10, [0052]). Moreover, Yamada teaches wherein a plurality of coaxial cables (1) are connected to the substrate (10G) (Figs. 9A & 10, [0026-0027], [0054]). Yamada shows in figure 10 that the cable (1) is spaced apart from the second insulator (11G) in a longitudinal direction of the cable (1) (Fig. 10, [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to have the cable be longitudinally spaced from the second insulator as taught by Yamada (Figs. 9A & 10, [0054]). Disconnecting or short circuiting owing to deformation of the cable may be suppressed by arranging the cable in such a manner as recognized by Yamada ([0054], “With this structure, deformation of the center conductor 2 can be prevented when the coaxial cable 1 is connected to the substrate 10G”, [0066], “…to suppress disconnection or a short circuit owing to small deformation of the cable at the connection portion”).
Conclusion
/TOMMY T LY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797