DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/10/2026 has been entered. New claims 21-22 have been added. Claims 1-22 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Remarks filed 06/10/2026 mention new claims 21-26, but only new claims 21-22 are found, thus leading the examiner to believe claims 23-26 are a typo.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“a piezoelectric element” should be corrected to:
“the piezoelectric element” as the piezo-element is recited in claim 12.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21 and 22 recite the limitation "the signal line". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US20160372848) in view of Nishi (US20050139387).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada teaches a connector (100G) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (30) (Figs. 9-11, [0051], [0055-0056]), the connector (100G) comprising:
a cable (1) including (Figs. 9-10, [0025], [0051], [0054]):
a ground cable (4) (Fig. 10, Abstract, [0007], “the shield connection electrode is an exposed portion of the ground”, [0027], [0052], wherein shield connection electrode 14G comprises a ground pad, and shield 4 which connects to the shield electrode 14G comprises a ground cable); and
a signal cable (2) (Fig. 10, [0026-0027], wherein center conductor 2 configured to conduct signals comprises a signal cable, [0052], [0063], “These electrode terminals 41 are coupled to respective signal lines 48 that are center conductors branching off from a plurality of coaxial cables…”);
a circuit board (10G) including (Fig. 10, [0052-0053], wherein substrate 10G including electrodes and a wiring pattern thereon comprises a circuit board):
a board (10G) (Fig. 10, [0052-0053]);
a ground pad (14G) located on the board (10G), the ground pad (14G) is electrically connected to the ground cable (4) (Fig. 10, Abstract, [0007], “the shield connection electrode is an exposed portion of the ground”, [0052]);
a signal pad (12G) located on the board (10G), the signal pad (12G) is electrically connected to the signal cable (2) (Fig. 10, [0052]); and
a first insulator (15G) located on the board, the first insulator (15G) located between the ground pad (14G) and the signal pad (12G) (Fig. 10, [0052], wherein figure 10 showing at least a portion of the insulator 15G located between ground pad 14G and signal pad 12G comprises a first insulator located on the board between the ground pad and signal pad).
However, Yamada fails to teach wherein the circuit board further includes a second insulator provided across the signal pad and extending transverse to a longitudinal direction of the circuit board, and the second insulator partitions the signal pad into a left area and a right area.
In an analogous circuit board field of endeavor, Nishi teaches such a feature. Nishi teaches a circuit board including an insulating substrate (1) (first insulator) and a strip conductor (2) formed thereon (signal pad) (Figs. 1a-b & 2a-b, [0041]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) extends longitudinally and further includes a solder resist (3) (second insulator) provided across thereon, in which the solder resist (3) extends traverse across the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, [0021-0022], [0038], [0043]). Nishi teaches wherein the solder resist (3) is an insulator ([0060]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) is exposed such that a conductor may connect to it via an electrode (E) on the strip conductor (Fig. 1A, Abstract, [0042]). As shown in figures 1-2, and especially 2b, the solder resist (3) (second insulator) partitions the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) into a left and right area, both areas being exposed (Figs. 1a & 2a-b). Nishi therefore teaches the claimed feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Yamada to provide solder resist across the signal pads in a transverse direction partitioning the signal pad into left and right areas as taught by Nishi (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, Abstract, [0021-0022], [0038], [0041-0043], [0060]). The solder resist may help protect the signal pad or wiring pattern as recognized by Nishi ([0060]). Moreover, the solder resist may predictably, as its name implies, prevent unwanted solder from forming between closely spaced solder pads.
Regarding claim 2, Yamada in view of Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Yamada teaches wherein the first insulator (portion of 15G between 14G and 12G) is distal to the signal pad (12G) (Fig. 10).
However, Yamada fails to explicitly teach wherein the second insulator is separated from the first insulator by the signal pad.
In an analogous circuit board field of endeavor, Nishi teaches such a feature. Nishi teaches a circuit board including an insulating substrate (1) and a strip conductor (2) formed thereon (signal pad) (Figs. 1a-b & 2a-b, [0041]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) extends longitudinally and further includes a solder resist (3) (second insulator) provided across thereon, in which the solder resist (3) extends traverse across the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, [0021-0022], [0038], [0043]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) is exposed such that a conductor (cable) may connect to it via an electrode (E) on the strip conductor (Fig. 1A, Abstract, [0042]). As shown in figures 1a and 2a-2b, the solder resist (3) (second insulator) is proximal (or to the right of) the electrode (E) (signal pad to which a cable/conductor is configured to connect). Therefore, adding the solder resist (3) of Nishi to Yamada’s circuit board as shown in Yamada’s Figure 10 would predictably result in the second insulator (solder resist 3) being separated from the first insulator (portion of 15G) by the signal pad (12G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Yamada to include a solder resist proximal to the electrode or signal pad as taught by Nishi (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, Abstract, [0021-0022], [0038], [0041-0043], [0060]). The solder resist may help protect the signal pad or wiring pattern as recognized by Nishi ([0060]). Moreover, the solder resist may predictably, as its name implies, prevent unwanted solder from forming between closely spaced solder pads (electrodes).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada in view of Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 2.
However, Yamada fails to explicitly teach wherein the second insulator is located proximally relative to the first insulator.
In an analogous circuit board field of endeavor, Nishi teaches such a feature. Nishi teaches a circuit board including an insulating substrate (1) (first insulator) and a strip conductor (2) formed thereon (signal pad) (Figs. 1a-b & 2a-b, [0041]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) extends longitudinally and further includes a solder resist (3) (second insulator) provided across thereon, in which the solder resist (3) extends traverse across the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, [0021-0022], [0038], [0043]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) is exposed such that a conductor (cable) may connect to it via an electrode (E) on the strip conductor (Fig. 1A, Abstract, [0042]). As shown in figure 2b, Nishi teaches wherein the solder resist (3) (second insulator) is located proximally relative to the first insulator (1) (Fig. 2b). Moreover, figure 1a shows wherein the solder resist (3) is located proximally relative to the electrode (E) (signal pad) at which the cable/conductor is configured to connect (Fig. 1a). Therefore, Yamada modified to include the second insulator (solder resist 3) of Nishi would predictably result in the second insulator being proximal to the first insulator (portion of 15G of Yamada as cited in claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Yamada to have the second insulator be proximal to the first insulator as taught by Nishi (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, Abstract, [0042]). The solder resist positioned in such a manner may help protect the signal pad or wiring pattern as recognized by Nishi ([0060]). Moreover, the solder resist may predictably, as its name implies, prevent unwanted solder from forming between the cable connection (electrode) and other close signal pads (other electrodes).
Regarding claim 4, Yamada in view of Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 2.
However, Yamada fails to explicitly teach wherein the cable is spaced apart from the second insulator in a longitudinal direction of the cable.
In an analogous circuit board field of endeavor, Nishi teaches such a feature. Nishi teaches a circuit board including an insulating substrate (1) (first insulator) and a strip conductor (2) formed thereon (signal pad) (Figs. 1a-b & 2a-b, [0041]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) extends longitudinally and further includes a solder resist (3) (second insulator) provided across thereon, in which the solder resist (3) extends traverse across the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, [0021-0022], [0038], [0043]). Nishi teaches wherein the solder resist (3) is an insulator ([0060]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) is exposed such that a conductor (cable) may connect to it via an electrode (E) on the strip conductor (Fig. 1A, Abstract, [0042]). As shown in figures 2a-b, if a conductor (cable) is connected to the end of the strip conductor (2) (signal pad), the cable would be spaced apart from the second insulator (solder resist 3) in a longitudinal direction of the cable. Yamada shows this cable/conductor connection in Yamada’s figure 9A; the combination of Nishi with Yamada would result in the second insulator (solder resist 3) being spaced apart from the cable along the longitudinal direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Yamada to space the second insulator longitudinally from the cable as taught by Nishi (Figs. 1 & 2a-2b, Abstract, [0042]). The solder resist (second insulator) positioned in such a manner may help protect the signal pad or wiring pattern as recognized by Nishi ([0060]). Moreover, the solder resist may predictably, as its name implies, prevent unwanted solder from forming between the cable connection (electrode) and other close signal pads (other electrodes).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada in view of Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Yamada further teaches wherein the cable (1) is spaced apart from the first insulator (15G) in a longitudinal direction of the cable (1) (Fig. 10, wherein figure 10 shows the cable 1 being longitudinally spaced from the first insulator 15G).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada in view of Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Yamada further teaches wherein the ground pad (14G) is located distally relative to the signal pad (12G) (Fig. 10, wherein figure 10 shows ground pad 14G being distal relative to the signal pad 12G).
Regarding claim 7, Yamada in view of Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Yamada further teaches wherein: the cable (1) comprises a plurality of cables (1), the signal pad (12G) comprises a plurality of signal pads (12G), and each of the plurality of cables (1) is electrically connected to a respective signal pad (12G) of the plurality of signal pads (12G) (Figs. 9A-9B, wherein figures 9A-9B show a plurality of cables 1 and signal pads 12G that are electrically connected to one another).
Regarding claim 8, Yamada in view of Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 7.
Yamada further teaches wherein the plurality of signal pads (12G) is aligned in a direction intersecting with the longitudinal direction of the circuit board (10G) (Fig. 9B, wherein figure 9B shows the alignment direction of the signal pads 12G is perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the circuit board).
Claims 9-10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US20160372848) in view of Nishi (US20050139387) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saiga (US20170196537).
Regarding claim 9, Yamada in view of Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Yamada further teaches wherein the cable (1) can be applied to an ultrasound endoscope having a plurality of ultrasound transducers ([0055]).
However, Yamada fails to explicitly teach wherein the cable is electrically connected to a piezoelectric element, the cable configured to transmit a pulse signal and an echo signal.
In an analogous ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Saiga teaches such a feature. Saiga teaches an ultrasound endoscope (2) (Fig. 1, [0020]). Saiga teaches wherein the endoscope (2) includes a universal cable (23), an ultrasound cable (31), and a US cable (71) (Figs. 1 & 6, [0023], [0029]). Saiga teaches wherein the endoscope (2) includes an endoscope connector (6) having a circuit board (631) or substrate (Figs. 1 & 3-4, [0062-0064]). Moreover, Saiga teaches wherein the ultrasound transducers (211) located at the tip of the endoscope (2) comprise piezoelectric elements (Fig. 1, [0032-0033]). Saiga teaches the transducer unit (211) transmits an echo signal to an ultrasound observation apparatus via the US cable (71) and ultrasound cable (31) ([0034]). Moreover, Saiga teaches wherein the US cable (71) transmits pulse signals in addition to echo signals ([0029], [0034], [0095]). Saiga teaches the universal cable (23) includes the US cable (71) and is inserted into the endoscope connector (6) ([0044], [0050-0051]). Saiga therefore teaches wherein a cable (23; 71) of a connector (6) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (2) is electrically connected to a piezoelectric element and configured to transmit pulse signals and echo signals.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Yamada to have the cable be electrically connected to piezoelectric elements and configured to transmit pulse and echo signals as taught by Saiga (Fig. 1, [0029], [0032-0034], [0095]). By having the cable be connected to the piezoelectric elements of the ultrasound transducer and configured to transmit pulse and echo signals, ultrasound images may predictably be generated from said signals as recognized by Saiga ([0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Yamada in view of Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, Yamada fails to teach the invention further comprising: a light guide configured to transmit illumination light; and an imaging signal cable configured to transmit an image signal.
In an analogous ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Saiga teaches such a feature. Saiga teaches an endoscope connector (6) of an ultrasound endoscope (2) (Figs. 1-2, [0020], [0024]). Saiga teaches wherein the endoscope connector (6) has a circuit board (631) or substrate (Figs. 1 & 3-4, [0062-0064]). Saiga teaches the ultrasound endoscope includes a universal cable (23) for connecting to the endoscope connector (6) Fig. 1, [0028-0029], [0045]). Moreover, Saiga teaches wherein the universal cable (23) includes a light guide for transmitting illumination light from a light source (42) and an imaging cable for transmission of an image signal ([0029], [0043-0044], [0051]). Saiga teaches wherein the universal cable (23) including the light guide and imaging cable is inserted into the endoscope connector (6) ([0050-0051]). Saiga therefore teaches wherein a connector (6) further comprises a light guide configured to transmit illumination light and an imaging cable configured to transmit an image signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Yamada to have the connector include a light guide and imaging cable for the transmissions of light and an image signal respectively as taught by Saiga ([0029], [0043-0044], [0050-0051]). The light guide and light source may illuminate the inside of a subject for easier viewing as recognized by Saiga ([0026]). Moreover, the imaging cable carrying the imaging signal may be used for generating an endoscopic image as further recognized by Saiga ([0025]), thereby aiding in navigation and diagnosis.
Regarding claim 21, Yamada in view of Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Yamada further teaches wherein the cable (1) can be applied to an ultrasound endoscope having a plurality of ultrasound transducers ([0055]).
However, Yamada fails to explicitly teach wherein the cable is electrically connected to a piezoelectric element, the cable configured to transmit a pulse signal and an echo signal.
In an analogous ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Saiga teaches such a feature. Saiga teaches an ultrasound endoscope (2) (Fig. 1, [0020]). Saiga teaches wherein the endoscope (2) includes a universal cable (23), an ultrasound cable (31), and a US cable (71) (Figs. 1 & 6, [0023], [0029]). Saiga teaches wherein the endoscope (2) includes an endoscope connector (6) having a circuit board (631) or substrate (Figs. 1 & 3-4, [0062-0064]). Moreover, Saiga teaches wherein the ultrasound transducers (211) located at the tip of the endoscope (2) comprise piezoelectric elements (Fig. 1, [0032-0033]). Saiga teaches the transducer unit (211) transmits an echo signal to an ultrasound observation apparatus via the US cable (71) and ultrasound cable (31) ([0034]). Moreover, Saiga teaches wherein the US cable (71) transmits pulse signals in addition to echo signals ([0029], [0034], [0095]). Saiga teaches the universal cable (23) includes the US cable (71) and is inserted into the endoscope connector (6) ([0044], [0050-0051]). Saiga therefore teaches wherein a cable (23; 71) of a connector (6) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (2) is electrically connected to a piezoelectric element and configured to transmit pulse signals and echo signals.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Yamada to have the cable be electrically connected to piezoelectric elements and configured to transmit pulse and echo signals as taught by Saiga (Fig. 1, [0029], [0032-0034], [0095]). By having the cable be connected to the piezoelectric elements of the ultrasound transducer and configured to transmit pulse and echo signals, ultrasound images may predictably be generated from said signals as recognized by Saiga ([0023]).
However, the combination noted above fails to teach wherein in the signal pad, the right area functions as a pad for testing an electrical path from the piezoelectric element to the signal line.
In an analogous circuit board field of endeavor, Nishi teaches such a feature. Nishi teaches a circuit board including an insulating substrate (1) (first insulator) and a strip conductor (2) formed thereon (signal pad) (Figs. 1a-b & 2a-b, [0041]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) extends longitudinally and further includes a solder resist (3) (second insulator) provided across thereon, in which the solder resist (3) extends traverse across the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, [0021-0022], [0038], [0043]). Nishi teaches wherein the solder resist (3) is an insulator ([0060]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) is exposed such that a conductor may connect to it via an electrode (E) on the strip conductor (Fig. 1A, Abstract, [0042]). As shown in figures 1-2, and especially 2b, the solder resist (3) (second insulator) partitions the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) into a left and right area, both areas being exposed (Figs. 1a & 2a-b). Nishi therefore teaches partitioning the signal pad into a left area and a right area. Yamada in view of Saiga above teaches wherein the signal pad is connected to a cable which is electrically connected to a piezoelectric element. Therefore, the combination of Yamada in view of Saga with Nishi’s partitioned right area would predictably result in the right area functioning as a test pad for testing an electrical path from a piezoelectric element to a signal line, i.e. cable. The right area functioning as a pad for testing is a consequence of the structure resulted from connecting the cable to piezoelectric elements at one end and to the right area (signal pad) at the other end.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Yamada to apply a solder resist or second insulator to the signal pad, thereby creating a left and right area as taught by Nishi (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, Abstract, [0021-0022], [0038], [0041-0043], [0060]). The solder resist may help protect the signal pad or wiring pattern as recognized by Nishi ([0060]). Moreover, the solder resist may predictably, as its name implies, prevent unwanted solder from forming between closely spaced solder pads. As mentioned above, Yamada in view of Saiga above teaches wherein the signal pad is connected to a cable which is electrically connected to a piezoelectric element. The right area functioning as a pad for testing is a consequence of the structure resulting from connecting the cable to piezoelectric elements at one end and to the right area (signal pad) at the other end.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US20160372848) in view of Nishi (US20050139387) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sato (US20170144193).
Regarding claim 11, Yamada in view of Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, Yamada fails to teach the invention further comprising a conduit configured to pass fluid.
In an analogous ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Sato teaches such a feature. Sato teaches an ultrasound endoscope apparatus (100) including an ultrasound endoscope (1) and a water feeding tank (16) (Fig. 7, [0096]). Sato teaches the endoscope (1) includes a universal cable (4) and an endoscope connector (5) (Fig. 7, [0097]). Sato teaches the endoscope connector (5) is provided with an air/water feeding pipe sleeve (10) ([0098]). Sato teaches the pipe sleeve (10) is connected to a fluid supply conduit and an air/water feeding tube ([0102]). Sato therefore teaches a connector comprising a conduit configured to pass fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Yamada to include a conduit for passing fluid as taught by Sato (Fig. 7, [0098], [0102]). The fluid conduit may predictably be used for irrigation during endoscopic procedures and improve visualization of tissue.
Claims 12-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saiga (US20170196537) in view of Yamada (US20160372848) and Nishi (US20050139387).
Regarding claim 12, Saiga teaches an ultrasound endoscope (2) (Fig. 1, [0020-0021]), comprising:
an ultrasound transducer (211) including a piezoelectric element (Fig. 1, [0030], [0032-0033]);
a connector (6) including (Figs. 1-2, [0024], [0028], [0045]):
a cable (23; 71) including (Fig. 1, [0044-0045], [0050-0051]):
a ground cable ([0074], “ground wires”); and
a signal cable ([0074], “signal wires”);
a circuit board (631) electrically connected to the piezoelectric element (211) via the cable (23; 71) (Figs. 2-4, [0063], [0065], [0097], [0100]), the circuit board (631) including:
a board (631) (Figs. 3-4, [0065], [0069]);
a ground pad (6314G) located on the board (631), the ground pad (6314G) is electrically connected to the ground cable (Fig. 5A, [0074]); and
a signal pad (6314S) located on the board (631), the signal pad (6314S) is electrically connected to the signal cable (Fig. 5A, [0074]).
However, Saiga fails to explicitly teach a first insulator located on the board, the first insulator located between the ground pad and the signal pad.
In an analogous connector for an ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Yamada teaches such a feature. Yamada teaches a cable connection structure (100G) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (30) (Figs. 9-11, [0051], [0055-0056]). Yamada teaches wherein the cable connection structure (100G) comprises a substrate (10G) having a first insulator (15G) and second insulator (11G) (Fig. 10, [0052]). Moreover, Yamada teaches wherein the substrate (10G) includes a ground pad (14G) and a plurality of signal pads (12G) for a plurality of cables (1) (Figs. 9-10, [0007], “the shield connection electrode is an exposed portion of the ground”, [0052]). Yamada shows in figures 9B & 10 wherein at least a portion of the first insulator (15G) is located between the ground pad (14G) and the signal pads (12G) (Fig. 9B & 10). Yamada therefore teaches a first insulator (15G) located on a board (substrate 10G), the first insulator (15G) being located between a ground pad (14G) and a signal pad (12G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to have an insulator be arranged on the circuit board between the ground pad and signal pad as taught by Yamada (Figs. 9B & 10, [0052]). The insulator may predictably provide electrical insulation between the conductive pads, thereby reducing risk of short circuiting. Yamada teaches wherein the cable structure taught may suppress disconnection and short circuiting ([0066]).
However, the combination noted above fails to teach wherein the circuit board further includes a second insulator provided across the signal pad and extending transverse to a longitudinal direction of the circuit board, and the second insulator partitions the signal pad into a left area and a right area.
In an analogous circuit board field of endeavor, Nishi teaches such a feature. Nishi teaches a circuit board including an insulating substrate (1) (first insulator) and a strip conductor (2) formed thereon (signal pad) (Figs. 1a-b & 2a-b, [0041]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) extends longitudinally and further includes a solder resist (3) (second insulator) provided across thereon, in which the solder resist (3) extends traverse across the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, [0021-0022], [0038], [0043]). Nishi teaches wherein the solder resist (3) is an insulator ([0060]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) is exposed such that a conductor may connect to it via an electrode (E) on the strip conductor (Fig. 1A, Abstract, [0042]). As shown in figures 1-2, and especially 2b, the solder resist (3) (second insulator) partitions the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) into a left and right area, both areas being exposed (Figs. 1a & 2a-b). Nishi therefore teaches the claimed feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to provide solder resist across the signal pads in a transverse direction partitioning the signal pad into left and right areas as taught by Nishi (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, Abstract, [0021-0022], [0038], [0041-0043], [0060]). The solder resist may help protect the signal pad or wiring pattern as recognized by Nishi ([0060]). Moreover, the solder resist may predictably, as its name implies, prevent unwanted solder from forming between closely spaced solder pads.
Regarding claim 13, Saiga in view of Yamada and Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
Yamada earlier teaches wherein the first insulator (portion of 15G between 14G and 12G) is distal to the signal pad (12G) (Fig. 10).
However, Yamada fails to explicitly teach wherein the second insulator is separated from the first insulator by the signal pad.
In an analogous circuit board field of endeavor, Nishi teaches such a feature. Nishi teaches a circuit board including an insulating substrate (1) and a strip conductor (2) formed thereon (signal pad) (Figs. 1a-b & 2a-b, [0041]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) extends longitudinally and further includes a solder resist (3) (second insulator) provided across thereon, in which the solder resist (3) extends traverse across the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, [0021-0022], [0038], [0043]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) is exposed such that a conductor (cable) may connect to it via an electrode (E) on the strip conductor (Fig. 1A, Abstract, [0042]). As shown in figures 1a and 2a-2b, the solder resist (3) (second insulator) is proximal (or to the right of) the electrode (E) (signal pad to which a cable/conductor is configured to connect). Therefore, adding the solder resist (3) of Nishi to Yamada’s circuit board as shown in Yamada’s Figure 10 would predictably result in the second insulator (solder resist 3) being separated from the first insulator (portion of 15G) by the signal pad (12G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga in view of Yamada to include a solder resist proximal to the electrode or signal pad as taught by Nishi (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, Abstract, [0021-0022], [0038], [0041-0043], [0060]). The solder resist may help protect the signal pad or wiring pattern as recognized by Nishi ([0060]). Moreover, the solder resist may predictably, as its name implies, prevent unwanted solder from forming between closely spaced solder pads (electrodes).
Regarding claim 14, Saiga in view of Yamada and Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 13.
Yamada earlier teaches wherein the first insulator (portion of 15G between 14G and 12G) is distal to the signal pad (12G) (Fig. 10).
However, Saiga fails to explicitly teach wherein the second insulator is located proximally relative to the first insulator.
In an analogous circuit board field of endeavor, Nishi teaches such a feature. Nishi teaches a circuit board including an insulating substrate (1) (first insulator) and a strip conductor (2) formed thereon (signal pad) (Figs. 1a-b & 2a-b, [0041]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) extends longitudinally and further includes a solder resist (3) (second insulator) provided across thereon, in which the solder resist (3) extends traverse across the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, [0021-0022], [0038], [0043]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) is exposed such that a conductor (cable) may connect to it via an electrode (E) on the strip conductor (Fig. 1A, Abstract, [0042]). As shown in figure 2b, Nishi teaches wherein the solder resist (3) (second insulator) is located proximally relative to the first insulator (1) (Fig. 2b). Moreover, figure 1a shows wherein the solder resist (3) is located proximally relative to the electrode (E) (signal pad) at which the cable/conductor is configured to connect (Fig. 1a). Therefore, Saiga in view of Yamada modified to include the second insulator (solder resist 3) of Nishi would predictably result in the second insulator being proximal to the first insulator (portion of 15G of Yamada as cited in claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga in view of Yamada to have the second insulator be proximal to the first insulator as taught by Nishi (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, Abstract, [0042]). The solder resist positioned in such a manner may help protect the signal pad or wiring pattern as recognized by Nishi ([0060]). Moreover, the solder resist may predictably, as its name implies, prevent unwanted solder from forming between the cable connection (electrode) and other close signal pads (other electrodes).
Regarding claim 15, Saiga in view of Yamada and Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 13.
However, Saiga fails to explicitly teach wherein the cable is spaced apart from the second insulator in a longitudinal direction of the cable.
In an analogous circuit board field of endeavor, Nishi teaches such a feature. Nishi teaches a circuit board including an insulating substrate (1) (first insulator) and a strip conductor (2) formed thereon (signal pad) (Figs. 1a-b & 2a-b, [0041]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) extends longitudinally and further includes a solder resist (3) (second insulator) provided across thereon, in which the solder resist (3) extends traverse across the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, [0021-0022], [0038], [0043]). Nishi teaches wherein the solder resist (3) is an insulator ([0060]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) is exposed such that a conductor (cable) may connect to it via an electrode (E) on the strip conductor (Fig. 1A, Abstract, [0042]). As shown in figures 2a-b, if a conductor (cable) is connected to the end of the strip conductor (2) (signal pad), the cable would be spaced apart from the second insulator (solder resist 3) in a longitudinal direction of the cable. Yamada similarly shows this cable/conductor connection in Yamada’s figure 9A; the combination of Nishi with Saiga in view of Yamada would result in the second insulator (solder resist 3) being spaced apart from the cable along the longitudinal direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to space the second insulator longitudinally from the cable as taught by Nishi (Figs. 1 & 2a-2b, Abstract, [0042]). The solder resist (second insulator) positioned in such a manner may help protect the signal pad or wiring pattern as recognized by Nishi ([0060]). Moreover, the solder resist may predictably, as its name implies, prevent unwanted solder from forming between the cable connection (electrode) and other close signal pads (other electrodes).
Regarding claim 16, Saiga in view of Yamada and Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
However, Saiga fails to teach wherein the cable is spaced apart from the first insulator in a longitudinal direction of the cable.
In an analogous connector for an ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Yamada teaches such a feature. Yamada teaches a cable connection structure (100G) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (30) (Figs. 9-11, [0051], [0055-0056]). Yamada teaches wherein the cable connection structure (100G) comprises a substrate (10G) having a first insulator (15G) and second insulator (11G) (Fig. 10, [0052]). Yamada teaches wherein the substrate (10G) includes a plurality of coaxial cables (1) connected thereto (Figs. 9A & 10, [0026-0027], [0054]). Yamada shows in figure 10 that the cable (1) is spaced apart from the first insulator (15G) in a longitudinal direction of the cable (1) (Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to have the cable be longitudinally spaced from the first insulator as taught by Yamada (Figs. 9A & 10). Disconnecting or short circuiting owing to deformation of the cable may be suppressed by arranging the cable in such a manner as recognized by Yamada ([0054], “With this structure, deformation of the center conductor 2 can be prevented when the coaxial cable 1 is connected to the substrate 10G”, [0066], “…to suppress disconnection or a short circuit owing to small deformation of the cable at the connection portion”).
Regarding claim 17, Saiga in view of Yamada and Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
However, Saiga fails to teach wherein the ground pad is located distally relative to the signal pad.
In an analogous connector for an ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Yamada teaches such a feature. Yamada teaches a cable connection structure (100G) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (30) (Figs. 9-11, [0051], [0055-0056]). Yamada teaches wherein the cable connection structure (100G) includes a substrate (10G) having a ground pad (14G) and a plurality of signal pads (12G) (Figs. 9-10, [0007], “the shield connection electrode is an exposed portion of the ground”, [0052]). Yamada shows in figures 9B and 10 that the ground pad (14G) is located distally relative to the signal pads (12G) (Figs. 9B & 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to have the ground pad be distal to the signal pads as taught by Yamada (Figs. 9B & 10, [0007], [0052]). Disconnecting or short circuiting owing to deformation of the cable may be suppressed by arranging the cable and pads in such a manner as recognized by Yamada ([0054], “With this structure, deformation of the center conductor 2 can be prevented when the coaxial cable 1 is connected to the substrate 10G”, [0066], “…to suppress disconnection or a short circuit owing to small deformation of the cable at the connection portion”).
Regarding claim 18, Saiga in view of Yamada and Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
Saiga further teaches wherein: the piezoelectric element comprises a plurality of piezoelectric elements ([0032], “plurality of ultrasound transducers… is regularly arrayed…”, [0033], “The ultrasound transducer as used herein has… a piezoelectric element… the number of ultrasound transducers is a multiple of eight”),
the cable (23; 71) comprises a plurality of cables (711) (Fig. 6, [0095]),
the signal pad (6314S) comprises a plurality of signal pads (6314S) (Fig. 5A, [0074]), and
each of the plurality of piezoelectric elements is electrically connected to a respective signal pad (6314S) of the plurality of signal pads (6314S) via the plurality of cables (711) ([0008], [0034], [0095], “a plurality of coaxial wires 711 respectively electrically connected to the plurality of ultrasound transducers of the transducer unit 211”, [0096-0097], “the plurality of coaxial wires 711 electrically connects the transducer unit 211 to the twelve flexible substrates 72”, [0102], “The sixteen signal lines 721S are conductively connected to the single bundle of respective (sixteen) coaxial wires 711. The sixteen signal lines 721S are also conductively connected to the respective sixteen contacts 6311S (sixteen FPC connector lands 6314S)”).
Regarding claim 19, Saiga in view of Yamada and Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 18.
However, Saiga fails to teach wherein the plurality of signal pads is aligned in a direction intersecting with the longitudinal direction of the circuit board.
In an analogous connector for an ultrasound endoscope field of endeavor, Yamada teaches such a feature. Yamada teaches a cable connection structure (100G) for use with an ultrasound endoscope (30) (Figs. 9-11, [0051], [0055-0056]). Yamada teaches wherein the cable connection structure (100G) includes a substrate (10G) (i.e. circuit board) having a ground pad (14G) and a plurality of signal pads (12G) (Figs. 9-10, [0007], [0052]). Yamada shows in figure 9B that the plurality of signal pads (12G) is aligned in a [perpendicular] direction intersecting with a longitudinal direction of the circuit board (10G) (Fig. 9B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to have the alignment direction of the signal pads be perpendicular or intersecting with a longitudinal direction of the circuit board as taught by Yamada (Fig. 9B, [0052]). A plurality of coaxial cables may predictably be connected to the perpendicularly aligned signal pads while minimizing cable width or thickness.
Regarding claim 20, Saiga in view of Yamada and Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
Saiga teaches the invention further comprising: an insertion portion (21); and an operation portion (22) located between the connector (6) and the insertion portion (21), wherein the ultrasound transducer (211) is located at the insertion portion (21), and the cable (71) extends from the insertion portion (21) to the connector (6) via the operation portion (22) (Figs. 1 & 6, [0028-0030], [0050-0051], “The universal cable 23 (the light guide, the US cable 71 (refer to FIG. 6), and the imaging cable or the like mentioned above) is inserted into the exterior housing 61”, [0095]).
Regarding claim 22, Saiga in view of Yamada and Nishi teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 12.
Saiga teaches above in claim 12, wherein the circuit board (631) is electrically connected to the piezoelectric element (211) via the cable (23; 71) (Figs. 2-4, [0063], [0065], [0097], [0100]).
However, Saiga fails to explicitly teach wherein in the signal pad, the right area functions as a pad for testing an electrical path from the piezoelectric element to the signal line.
In an analogous circuit board field of endeavor, Nishi teaches such a feature. Nishi teaches a circuit board including an insulating substrate (1) (first insulator) and a strip conductor (2) formed thereon (signal pad) (Figs. 1a-b & 2a-b, [0041]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) extends longitudinally and further includes a solder resist (3) (second insulator) provided across thereon, in which the solder resist (3) extends traverse across the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, [0021-0022], [0038], [0043]). Nishi teaches wherein the solder resist (3) is an insulator ([0060]). Nishi further teaches wherein the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) is exposed such that a conductor may connect to it via an electrode (E) on the strip conductor (Fig. 1A, Abstract, [0042]). As shown in figures 1-2, and especially 2b, the solder resist (3) (second insulator) partitions the strip conductor (2) (signal pad) into a left and right area, both areas being exposed (Figs. 1a & 2a-b). Nishi therefore teaches partitioning the signal pad into a left area and a right area. Saiga above teaches wherein the cable is electrically connected to a piezoelectric element. Therefore, the combination of Saiga with Nishi’s partitioned right area would predictably result in the right area functioning as a test pad for testing an electrical path from a piezoelectric element to a signal line, i.e. cable. The right area functioning as a pad for testing is a consequence of the structure resulted from connecting the cable to piezoelectric elements at one end and to the right area (signal pad) at the other end.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Saiga to apply a solder resist or second insulator to the signal pad, thereby creating a left and right area as taught by Nishi (Figs. 1a & 2a-2b, Abstract, [0021-0022], [0038], [0041-0043], [0060]). The solder resist may help protect the signal pad or wiring pattern as recognized by Nishi ([0060]). Moreover, the solder resist may predictably, as its name implies, prevent unwanted solder from forming between closely spaced solder pads. As mentioned above, Saiga teaches wherein the cable is electrically connected to a piezoelectric element. The right area functioning as a pad for testing is a consequence of the structure resulting from connecting the cable to piezoelectric elements at one end and to the right area (signal pad) at the other end.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOMMY T LY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797