DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 4-6 it is unclear what the applicant means by brazing degree, i.e. is the degree drawn to temperature, angle, and/or quality? In addition, the term “brazing degree” in claims 4-6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “brazing degree” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The criteria for different brazing degrees are unclear and relative to one’s opinion. For purposes of examination the broadest reasonable interpretation has been applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kondo et al. (JP-2010-172943A) (hereafter Kondo).
With respect to claim 1, Kondo teaches a method for manufacturing a heat exchanger (3) including a plurality of fins (31) arranged in a thickness direction and a plurality of heat transfer tubes (U-shaped pipes 32) penetrating the plurality of fins, the heat transfer tubes being made of aluminum (paragraphs 12-13), the method comprising: connecting a first open end portion of open end portions (32a) of the heat transfer tubes protruding from the fins, and a first connection pipe made of aluminum (paragraphs 12-13); and first brazing a first joint (4) between the first open end portion and the first connection pipe by heating the first joint with a first burner that is movable around (broadest reasonable interpretation) the first joint (figures 1-3; and paragraphs 11, 13-14, and 19-22).
With respect to claim 17, Kondo teaches wherein in the first brazing, the first burner includes a plurality of first burners, the first joint includes a plurality of first joints, and the plurality of first joints are brazed simultaneously by the plurality of burners (figures 1-3; and paragraphs 6 and 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawasaki (JP-2009-148807A).
With respect to claims 2-3, Kondo does not teach wherein in the first brazing, a flow rate of a gas used to emit heating flame from the first burner is controlled based on a temperature of the first burner.
However, Kawasaki teaches wherein in the first brazing, a flow rate of a gas used to emit heating flame from the first burner is controlled based on a temperature of the first burner (machine translation of the description; and claim 1).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the flow rate control of Kawasaki in the process of Kondo in order to control the temperature of the flame during brazing.
With respect to claim 3, Kondo and Kawasaki do not explicitly teach wherein the gas is a mixed gas of a combustion gas and air, and the air has an oxygen concentration of 95% or more. However, Kawasaki teaches that the amount of oxygen controls the temperature of the flame (machine translation of the description). Accordingly, Kawasaki establishes that the amount of oxygen is a result effective variable.
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an oxygen concentration of 95% or more, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value or a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The artisan would have been motivated to us oxygen concentration of 95% or more by the reasoned expectation of forming an oxidizing flame having he desired temperature.
With respect to claims 4-6, Kawasaki teaches wherein in the first brazing, a flow rate of a gas used to emit heating flame from the first burner is controlled based on a brazing degree (broadest reasonable interpretation) of the first joint (paragraphs 11-12, 14, 16, and 18-24).
Claim(s) 11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuroda (JP-H06-297141A).
With respect to claim 11, Kondo teaches wherein in the first brazing, the heat exchanger is fixed by a clamp mechanism (jig 2, 2A, 2B) (figures 1-2; and the machine translation of the description), but does not teach a position of the first burner is adjusted based on an amount of deviation of the heat exchanger from a predetermined reference position.
However, Kuroda teaches a position of the first burner is adjusted based on an amount of deviation (DELTA) of the heat exchanger (joint 4 of the heat exchanger) from a predetermined reference position (reference position) (machine translation of the description).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the position correction of Kuroda in the process of Kondo in order to ensure that the heat exchanger is heated in the desired location for brazing.
With respect to claim 16, Kondo teaches wherein part of the heat exchanger that the clamp mechanism holds is adjusted based on a type of the heat exchanger (the brazing jig 2 is mounted in a predetermined position in advance according to the model of the heat exchanger 3 or the like) (machine translation of the description).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo and Kawasaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuroda (JP-H06-297141A).
With respect to claims 12-14, Kondo teaches wherein in the first brazing, the heat exchanger is fixed by a clamp mechanism (jig 2, 2A, 2B) (figures 1-2; and the machine translation of the description), but does not teach a position of the first burner is adjusted based on an amount of deviation of the heat exchanger from a predetermined reference position.
However, Kuroda teaches a position of the first burner is adjusted based on an amount of deviation (DELTA) of the heat exchanger (joint 4 of the heat exchanger) from a predetermined reference position (reference position) (machine translation of the description).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the position correction of Kuroda in the collective process of Kondo and Kawasaki in order to ensure that the heat exchanger is heated in the desired location for brazing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Although it is known in the art to form a heat exchanger with pipes having different heat capacities the prior art of record does not teach or suggest either alone or in combination first brazing a first joint between the first open end portion and the first connection pipe by heating the first joint with a first burner that is movable around the first joint; and second brazing a second joint between the second open end portion and the second connection pipe made of aluminum and having a lower heat capacity than the first connection pipe by heating the second joint with a second burner that is stationary, the second brazing being performed after the first brazing.
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735