DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oike (US Pat. No. 8, 908, 065) in view of Kiser et al. (US Pat. No. 10, 951, 888 hereinafter referred as Kiser).
Regarding claim 1, Oike discloses a video control device comprising:
a storage that temporarily stores pixel data output from an imaging
a processor configured to:
as a development processing unit, output video data obtained by performing development processing including demosaicing processing on the pixel data stored in the storage for generating the video data (see figures 3, 11 and col. 5 lines 46-56 various kinds of signal processing such as noise reduction; see col. 10 line 65-col. 11 line 30 luminance values of the video signal are acquired; see also col. 2 lines 31-42),
record the video data in a recording mode in which both of the video data and the pixel data stored in the storage are used as a recording data, and control the imaging sensor to perform imaging with a second exposure value that is different from a first exposure value (see col. 9 lines 19-31, a high sensitivity image frame equivalent to a long exposure period and a low-sensitivity image frame equivalent to a short exposure period are alternately outputted from the chip 30; one of the high-sensitivity image frame and the low-sensitivity image frame outputted from the chip 30 earlier is temporarily stored in the video-signal storing area 411 including a frame memory; low sensitivity image is an image with short exposure period and high sensitivity is an image in a long exposure period; see col. 9 lines 60-67 when the first video signal as the high-sensitivity image read out earlier, temporarily store pixel values of plural rows of the low-sensitivity image to be read out next in storage medium, and use the pixel values to predict a blooming amount from pixel values pf peripheral pixels; see col. 10 lines 1-5 storing only video frames necessary for calculation are stored in the video-signal storing area; see col. 11 lines 22-30 when it is judged that the pixel of interest is a pixel not suffering blooming, the correction processing is not executed; when it is judged that the pixel of interest is the pixel suffering blooming, the pixel of interest is set as a pixel to be corrected and a pixel j to be saturated during an exposure period; see also see col. 9 lines 32-38).
Claim 1 differs from Oike in that the claim further requires the said first exposure value corresponding to the BT.709.
In the same field of endeavor Kiser discloses controlling the imaging sensor to perform imaging with a first exposure value corresponding to the BT.709 (see col. 5 lines 16-40 a plurality of sensors arranged to receive an incoming beam of light and split the beam of light ; the sensor include at least high exposure sensor and middle exposure sensor; the optical splitting system allows the apparatus to capture HDR images using most of the light entering the camera; when light impinges upon the sensors, pixel values will stream onto the processor; see figure 5 ITU-R BT 709 curve; see col. 6 lines 9-66 using ITU-R BT 709 transfer function).
Therefore, in light of the teaching in Kiser, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oike by specifically corresponding exposure value to BT. 709 in order to utilize a color gamut that resembles real-world colors captured from cameras that record HD content or HDR content and to make images more realistic.
Regarding claim 2, Kiser discloses the second exposure value is lower than the first exposure value (see figure 5; col. 5 lines 16-40). The motivation to combine the references is discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Kiser discloses an image processing related to brightness is different between an imaging process corresponding to the second exposure value and an image processing corresponding to the first exposure corresponding to the BT. 709, and the image processing being included in the development processing (see col. 6 lines 9-64 and col. 7 lines 16-47). The motivation to combine the references is discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Kiser discloses a mode switch control unit controls an increase amount of brightness of the video data due to the image processing related to the brightness to be larger than an increase amount of brightness of the video data due to the image processing related to the brightness corresponding to the BT. 709 (see col. 6 line 23-col. 7 line 63 and col. 8 lines 21-50). The motivation to combine the references is discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 5-6, the limitation of claims 5-6 can be found in claim 1 above. Therefore, claims 5-6 are analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above. See also Oike’s col. 11 lines 1-8, col. 11 line 63-col. 12 line 5; and Kiser’s col. 5 lines 9-15.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13 and 25 of U.S. Patent No. 12262157 in view of Kiser et al. (US Pat. No. 10, 951, 888). See the reasons set forth below.
Regarding claim 1, the Patent application claim 1 recites A video control device comprising: a storage that temporarily stores pixel data output from an imaging sensor; and a processor configured to: as a development processing unit, output video data obtained by performing development processing including demosaicing processing on the pixel data stored in the storage for generating the video data, and as a mode switch control unit, switch between a first recording mode in which only the video data out of the video data and the pixel data stored in the storage is used as recording data and a second recording mode in which both of the video data and the pixel data stored in the storage are used as the recording data, and control the imaging sensor to perform imaging with different exposure values between the first recording mode and the second recording mode.
Claim 1 differs from the Patent application in that the claim further requires the said first exposure value corresponding to the BT.709.
In the same field of endeavor Kiser discloses controlling the imaging sensor to perform imaging with a first exposure value corresponding to the BT.709 (see col. 5 lines 16-40 a plurality of sensors arranged to receive an incoming beam of light and split the beam of light ; the sensor include at least high exposure sensor and middle exposure sensor; the optical splitting system allows the apparatus to capture HDR images using most of the light entering the camera; when light impinges upon the sensors, pixel values will stream onto the processor; see figure 5 ITU-R BT 709 curve; see col. 6 lines 9-66 using ITU-R BT 709 transfer function).
Therefore, in light of the teaching in Kiser, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patent application by specifically corresponding exposure value to BT. 709 in order to utilize a color gamut that resembles real-world colors captured from cameras that record HD content or HDR content and to make images more realistic.
Regarding claim 2, Kiser discloses the second exposure value is lower than the first exposure value (see figure 5; col. 5 lines 16-40). The motivation to combine the references is discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Kiser discloses an image processing related to brightness is different between an imaging process corresponding to the second exposure value and an image processing corresponding to the first exposure corresponding to the BT. 709, and the image processing being included in the development processing (see col. 6 lines 9-64 and col. 7 lines 16-47). The motivation to combine the references is discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Kiser discloses a mode switch control unit controls an increase amount of brightness of the video data due to the image processing related to the brightness to be larger than an increase amount of brightness of the video data due to the image processing related to the brightness corresponding to the BT. 709 (see col. 6 line 23-col. 7 line 63 and col. 8 lines 21-50). The motivation to combine the references is discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 5-6, the limitation of claims 5-6 can be found in Patent applications claims 13 and 25 recites the features of claims 5-6 respectively, and see also and claim 1 rejection above. Therefore, claims 5-6 are analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above. See also Oike’s col. 11 lines 1-8, col. 11 line 63-col. 12 line 5; and Kiser’s col. 5 lines 9-15.
Conclusion
/HELEN SHIBRU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484