CTNF 19/058,370 CTNF 87952 DETAILED ACTION Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 recites “a plurality of correction”, which should recite --a plurality of corrections--. Claim 5 recites “partial lift injection”, which should recite --a partial lift injection --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Higuchi et al. (US 2015/0377172 A1), hereafter Higuchi . Regarding claim 1, Higuchi discloses a fuel injection control device that performs split injection control [0047], the fuel injection control device performing, in the split injection control, computing a request value for an amount of fuel to be combusted in a combustion chamber, deciding a command value for a fuel injection amount by applying a correction, for compensating for a deviation between an amount of fuel that is actually combusted and the request value, to the request value, determining whether discrepancy between the request value and the command value is in a small state (Fig. 4B, and deciding an injection pattern of split injection based on the request value when determining that the discrepancy is in a small state, while deciding the injection pattern based on the command value when determining that the discrepancy is not in a small state (Fig. 4D – Fig. 4F). Regarding claim 2, Higuchi discloses the fuel injection control device according to claim 1, wherein, when determination is made that the discrepancy is not in a small state, a pattern in which a count of injections into which fuel injection is divided is greatest, is selected from among the injection patterns by which the fuel injection of the amount indicated by the command value is executable (Fig. 4D – Fig. 4F; [0051-0054]). Regarding claim 3, Higuchi discloses the fuel injection control device according to claim 1, wherein the correction for compensating for the deviation includes one or more of correction by an air-fuel ratio feedback correction value, correction by an air-fuel ratio learned value, and correction by a purge learning reflected value [0048]. Regarding claim 4, Higuchi discloses the fuel injection control device according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of the corrections, including correction by an air-fuel ratio learned value, is present in the correction for compensating for the deviation, and determination is made regarding whether the discrepancy is small, based on the request value, the command value, and the air-fuel ratio learned value [0047-0048]. Regarding claim 5, Higuchi discloses the fuel injection control device according to claim 1, wherein an injection pattern including a partial lift injection is included in the injection patterns that are carried out by the split injection control (Fig. 4A – 4F) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TEUTA B HOLBROOK whose telephone number is (571)270-3276. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8am-4:30pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, LINDSAY LOW can be reached at 571-272-1196. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TEUTA HOLBROOK/ Examiner Art Unit 3747 /GEORGE C JIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/058,370 Page 2 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/058,370 Page 3 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/058,370 Page 4 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/058,370 Page 5 Art Unit: 3747