DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, drawn to a method of monitoring gait quality of an individual, in the reply filed on 5/27/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-19 (now canceled) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/27/26.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation of “wherein spatiotemporal metrics” in line 1 should apparently read “wherein the spatiotemporal metrics”, or the like. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “smart insoles” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “smart insoles” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to what may be explicitly, implicitly, inherently, and/or implicitly required and/or excluded for the scope of the claimed invention and/or the degree or to what degree the insoles are required to be “smart”. Depending claims 2-8 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, wherein the abstract idea comprises a mental process.
For independent claim 1, the claim(s) recite(s) a process of training a model comprising an artificial neural network, using the model to identify ambulatory data, segmenting the data, analyzing the segments related only to ambulatory activity to characterize a gait event with spatiotemporal metrics, classifying the spatiotemporal metrics to produce a score, computing a change in score from previous, and providing a notification of improvement or degradation of gait quality based on the change.
As broadly as claimed these steps may be reasonably considered as the judicial exception of a mental process performable within the human mind, including by observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion forming, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection III). For example, at least, these limitations are nothing more than a trained medical professional capturing ambulatory data, printing it out, and using the data to mentally extract, segment, classify, and/or learn from data features to determine a change in gait quality of an individual.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the process steps as broadly as claimed are not tied to nor required to be performed, executed, or programmed on a special purpose computer. Further, the judicial exception is not even required to be performed on or tied to a mere generic processing device, controller, or the like. The positive recitation of “at least one artificial neural network” may fairly and reasonably be interpreted to merely include a trained medical professional’s mental process of analyzing ambulation data and/or metrics.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the preliminary step(s) of data gathering from insole sensors is/are well-known, routine and conventional amounting to insignificant data gathering as pre-solution activity.
Depending claims 2-8 inherit and do not remedy the non-statutory deficiency noted above. Despite further specifying steps relating to the sensor data, the model(s), specifics of the measured individual, and spatiotemporal metric grouping(s), these steps do not integrate into a practical application nor do they add additional elements amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chatzaki et al. (5/20/25 IDS NPL Cite No 27: "Chatzaki C, Skaramagkas V, Tachos N, Christodoulakis G, Maniadi E, Kefalopoulou Z, et al. The Smart-Insole Dataset: Gait Analysis Using Wearable Sensors with a Focus on Elderly and Parkinson's Patients. Sensors. 2021 Apr 16;21(8):1-22.", and hereinafter Chatzaki).
For claim 1, Chatzaki discloses a method for monitoring gait quality of an individual (Figs 1-9) (Tbls 1-9) (Pgs 1-22), comprising the steps of inter alia:
training one or more human activity recognition (HAR) models, each HAR model comprising at least one artificial neural network (ANN) trained on a general or phenotype-specific population (Tables 2 and 5) (Section 2 The Smart-Insole Dataset, pgs 2-9, especially Section 2.4 Smart Insole Dataset Annotation);
using the one or more HAR models to identify one or more ambulatory activities in sensor data (Table 2) (Section 2 The Smart-Insole Dataset, pgs 2-9) measured by one or more sensors from a pair of smart insoles worn by the individual (Fig 2);
segmenting said data into one or more segments in accordance with the identified ambulatory activities (Table 2) (Section 2 The Smart-Insole Dataset, pgs 2-9);
analyzing, via a gait detection algorithm, segments only related to an ambulatory activity to characterize a gait event with one or more spatiotemporal metrics (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9) (Equations 2-16) (Section 3 Gait Analysis Methodology and Section 4 Results);
classifying, via one or more machine learning algorithms, the spatiotemporal metrics to produce a gait quality composite index (CI) score (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9) (Equations 2-16) (Section 3 Gait Analysis Methodology and Section 4 Results);
computing a change between the CI score relative to a previously produced CI score (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9) (Equations 2-16) (Section 3 Gait Analysis Methodology and Section 4 Results); and
provide a notification of an improvement or degradation in said gait quality based on said change (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9) (Equations 2-16) (Section 3 Gait Analysis Methodology and Section 4 Results).
For claim 2, Chatzaki discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the sensor data comprises pressure data acquired by one or more pressure sensors (Fig 2) (Pgs 1-4), and tri-axial inertial measurement unit data acquired by one or more inertial measurement units (IMU) (Fig 2) (Pgs 1-4).
For claim 3, Chatzaki discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the ANN of each HAR model comprises four-fully connected dense layers with rectified linear unit activation functions for non-linear transformation (Table 5) (Section 2.4 Smart Insole Dataset Annotation).
For claim 4, Chatzaki discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said phenotype-specific population comprises at least one of: healthy people, or people with a designated disease affecting gait (Table 2).
For claim 5, Chatzaki discloses the method of claim 4, wherein said people with a designated disease affecting gait include at least one of: people with multiple sclerosis (PwMS) or people with Parkinson's disease (PwPD) (Table 2).
For claim 6, Chatzaki discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more machine learning models comprise at least one support vector machines (SVMs) (Table 5) (Section 2.4 Smart Insole Dataset Annotation).
For claim 7, Chatzaki discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the spatiotemporal metrics are grouped, before said classifying, into four categories: core, pace, percentage, and asymmetry (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9).
For claim 8, Chatzaki discloses the method of claim 7, wherein spatiotemporal metrics grouped into said asymmetry category comprises at least one of: a stride time/length/velocity asymmetry, stance time/percent asymmetry, swing time/percent asymmetry, single support time/percent asymmetry or double support time/percent asymmetry (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for providing gait evaluation of an individual based on sensed gait parameters.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791