DETAILED ACTION
Claims 25-44 are pending.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 25-44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of US Pat. 12,257,021. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to substantially similar methods, systems, and media. For example, contrast instant claim 25 and claim 1 of ‘021:
‘889 Claim 1
Instant claim 25
A medical device monitoring system comprising:
a server having one or more processors configured to:
A medical device monitoring system comprising one or more processors configured to:
receive, via a computer network, from at least one medical device controller of a plurality of medical device controllers, at least one image of contents displayed on a screen of the at least one medical device controller;
receive, via a computer network, from at least one medical device controller of a plurality of medical device controllers, at least one image of contents displayed on a screen of the at least one medical device controller;
send a request to an optical character recognition (OCR) engine to extract textual information from at least a portion of the at least one image;
receive, from the OCR engine, extracted textual information; and
send, in response to at least two trigger conditions of a plurality of trigger conditions being met, a request to the at least one medical device controller to change a first rate at which the at least one medical device controller sends images to the server to a second rate, the first and second rates being non-zero,
send, in response to at least two trigger conditions of the plurality of trigger conditions being met, a request to the at least one medical device controller to change a first rate at which the at least one medical device controller sends images to the one or more processors to a second rate,
wherein the first and second rates are non-zero,
wherein the plurality of trigger conditions comprises:
a first condition based on whether the extracted textual information comprises alarm text;
a second condition based on whether the extracted textual information comprises an indication that a medical device is connected to the at least one medical device controller; or
a third condition based on the results of a validation test performed on the extracted textual information,
wherein each one of the plurality of trigger conditions is specific to at least one of a plurality of predetermined rates at which the at least one medical device controller sends images to the server,
wherein each one of the plurality of trigger conditions is associated with at least one of a plurality of predetermined rates at which the at least one medical device controller sends images to the one or more processors,
wherein two or more of the plurality of trigger conditions are specific to different ones of the plurality of predetermined rates, and
wherein two or more of the plurality of trigger conditions are associated with different ones of the plurality of predetermined rates, and
wherein the second rate is selected by the one or more processors in response to a determination that the second rate is the fastest or the slowest of the predetermined rates specific to one or more of the at least two trigger conditions.
wherein the second rate is selected by the one or more processors in response to a determination that the second rate is the fastest or the slowest of the predetermined rates associated with one or more of the at least two trigger conditions.
Further, remaining instant claims 26-44 correspond with subject matter disclosed by claims 2-25 of ‘021. Therefore, if a patent were to be granted, it may result in an improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” of the subject matter and may lead to possible harassment by multiple assignees.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites, “analyze the at least one image to determine whether one or more trigger conditions of a plurality of trigger conditions are met; and send, in response to at least two trigger conditions of the plurality of trigger conditions being met.” It is unclear how many triggers are met in the determination/in response to functionalities as it refers to both “one or more” and “at least two” thus lacking consistency and clarity.
Claim 25 recites, “at least one image…sends images to the one or more processors.” It is unclear what “images” refers to since the claim only previously recites, “at least one image.”
Claim 25 recites, “in response to a determination that the second rate is the fastest or the slowest of the predetermined rates associated with one or more of the at least two trigger conditions.” The terms “fastest” and “slowest” are relative terms and without any context render the claim indefinite. In other words, it is unclear what makes a rate fast or slow in the context of the claim and thus the claim limitation cannot be given a reasonable interpretation.
As to claim 32, it recites similar language to that of claim 25 and is similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (Citations taken directly from the Applicant’s Instant Specification), hereafter, “AAPA,” in view of Yokomitsu et al (US Pub. No. 20214/0313415), hereafter, “Yokomitsu.”
As to claim 40, AAPA discloses a medical device monitoring system comprising a server having one or more processors configured to:
receive, via a computer network, from at least one medical device controller of a plurality of medical device controllers, at least one image of contents displayed on a screen of the at least one medical device controller ([0004]-[0005], particularly, “The servers request and receive images of contents displayed on the screens of the medical device controllers.”);
send a request to an optical character recognition engine to extract textual information from at least a portion of the at least one image ([0005], particularly, “Some servers use optical character recognition (OCR) technology to parse the images and extract textual information, such as heart pump serial number, blood flow rate, warning message text and the like.”).
However, AAPA does not explicitly disclose the server having one or more processors configured to send a request to the at least one medical device controller to change a first rate at which the at least one medical device controller sends images to the server to a second rate, wherein the first and second rates are non-zero, and wherein the second rate is selected by the one or more processors based on information about the computer network.
But, Yokomitsu discloses a server having one or more processors configured to send a request to at least one device controller to change a first rate at which the at least one device controller sends images to the server to a second rate, wherein the first and second rates are non-zero, and wherein the second rate is selected by the one or more processors based on information about the computer network (Abstract, Fig. 3, and [0052], particularly, “For example, when the network load is high, threshold Th1 is raised to transmit a reliable cutout image to the server while preventing an increase in the transmission frequency for cutout images. When the network load is low, threshold Th1 is lowered to transmit a cutout image with certain reliability to the server and while increasing the transmission frequency for cutout images.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of AAPA and Yokomitsu in order to permit the system to efficiently use available resources (Yokomitsu, [0015]-[0016]).
As to claim 41, the teachings of AAPA and Yokomitsu as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 40’s rejection further disclose the information about the computer network comprises information about a load on the computer network or information about a reliability of the computer network (Yokomitsu, [0052]).
As to claim 42, the teachings of AAPA and Yokomitsu as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 40’s rejection further disclose the information about the computer network comprises information about a signal strength of a wireless network connection available to the at least one medical device controller (Yokomitsu, [0052]).
As to claim 43, the teachings of AAPA and Yokomitsu as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 40’s rejection further disclose the information about the computer network comprises information about a number of other medical device controllers co-located with the at least one medical device controller at a facility (AAPA, [0004]-[0005] and Yokomitsu, [0052]).
As to claim 44, the teachings of AAPA and Yokomitsu as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 40’s rejection further disclose the selection of the second rate by the one or more processors is further based on information about a timing of a connection of a medical device to the at least one medical device controller (AAPA, [0004]-[0005] and Yokomitsu, [0052]) or information about an accuracy of an optical character recognition of at least one image previously received by the server from the at least one medical device controller.
Allowable Subject Matte
Claims 25-39 and would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action while alleviating the Double Patenting Rejections, provided such amendments do not necessitate new rejections.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458