DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because element 50 in Figure 1 doesn’t appear to have a description in the Specification. It appears label “50” is directed to a rotor shaft “250” in Figure 2. Clarification requested. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 109324300A by Li et al. (Li hereafter - please refer to the English translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a measurement system for characterizing a magnetic flux density of a magnet comprising:
a magnetic field probe (9+32, Figs 14 and 16), including a Gauss meter (32, see page 19, paragraph 2, line 4), for detecting a plurality of magnetic flux density magnitudes at a plurality of points proximate to a surface of the magnet (detecting magnetic flux density related to permanent magnet rotor 23; see page 10 line 8);
a magnet holder (magnet support clamp 22 in Fig. 13) for mechanically restraining the magnet (as illustrated in Figure 13; see page 10, last four lines);
a positioner (14 or 10+11+12) for positioning the magnet with respect to the magnetic field probe at each of the plurality of points (as positioner 14 rotates, the probe is able to probe different points in the permanent magnet rotor);
a processor (personal computer 24) for receiving each of the plurality of magnetic flux density magnitudes and for generating a spatial representation (see page 5, last six lines) of the magnetic flux density of the magnet (the system measures magnetic flux at a given point of the permanent magnet rotor 23 to obtain a field distribution or “data”, as explained for example in page 19, third and fourth paragraph); and
a memory (memory within personal computer 24) for receiving the spatial representation of the magnetic flux density of the magnet from the processor and for storing the spatial representation of the magnetic flux density of the magnet (Although not explicitly mentioned, the personal computer has a storing module and thus, it inherently comprises a memory unit that is capable of performing the intended function of storing the data. See for example page 16, line 20).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches a method for characterizing a magnetic flux density of a magnet comprising:
restraining, by a magnet holder (magnet support clamp 22), the magnet (permanent magnet within rotor 23);
positioning, by a magnet holder positioner (14), the magnet with respect to a magnetic field probe (9+23) at each of a plurality of points proximate to a surface of the magnet (detecting magnetic flux density related to permanent magnet rotor 23; see page 10 line 8) and ;
detecting, by the magnetic field probe, a plurality of magnetic flux density magnitudes at the plurality of points proximate to the surface of the magnet;
generating a spatial representation of the magnetic flux density of the magnet by a processor in response to the plurality of magnetic flux density magnitudes (three-dimensional representation according to the Bx, By, Bz fields in the X, Y and Z directions- see page 19, last paragraph); and
storing the spatial representation of the magnetic flux density of the magnet by a memory in response to receiving the spatial representation of the magnetic flux density of the magnet from the processor (See Figure 16, data storage module 28).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Li teaches the measurement system for characterizing the magnetic flux density of the magnet of claim 1, wherein the positioner (10+11+12) is a three-dimensional positioner (x-axis, y-axis and z-axis; see page 10, first line) for moving the magnetic field probe within a three-dimensional space proximate to the surface of the magnet.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Li teaches the measurement system for characterizing the magnetic flux density of the magnet of claim 1, wherein the positioner (14) is configured to rotate the magnet holder and to tilt the magnet holder radially from an axis orthogonal to the surface of the magnet (see page 10, lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Li teaches the measurement system for characterizing the magnetic flux density of the magnet of claim 1, wherein the positioner (14 or 10+11+12) is configured to vary a distance between the magnet holder (22) and the magnetic field probe (9) along an axis orthogonal to the surface of the magnet (because the claim doesn’t define which surface of the magnet the claim refers to, any surface of the magnet can be interpreted to mean the recited “surface of the magnet” and thus, any distance from the magnet may be interpreted to the distance along an axis orthogonal to said surface).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Li teaches the measurement system for characterizing the magnetic flux density of the magnet of claim 1, wherein the spatial representation of the magnetic flux density of the magnet (data collected by probe 9+32) is stored in the memory and is correlated to a cartesian coordinate system (Bx, By, Bz along the X, Y and Z directions. See page 19, last paragraph).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Li teaches the measurement system for characterizing the magnetic flux density of the magnet of claim 1, wherein the spatial representation of the magnetic flux density of the magnet is stored in the memory and is correlated to a polar coordinate system (spatial representation Bx, By, Bz along the X, Y and Z directions. See page 19, last paragraph).
The examiner notes that the recitation “the spatial representation of the magnetic flux density of the magnet is stored in the memory and is correlated to a polar coordinate system”, doesn’t require the probe or processor to perform a conversion or to generate data in the polar coordinate system, it only requires the spatial representation to be correlated to a polar coordinate system. Li teaches the system processes and stores data related to magnetic field strength along the x, y and z directions. The data in cartesian coordinates has an equivalent in polar coordinates. It can be converted to a polar system by calculating radius using the square root of squared x added to squared y, and calculating angle in radians using the arctangent of y divided by x. Because the coordinates x, y, z are correlated to their equivalent polar coordinates, the spatial representation of the magnetic flux density of the magnet is correlated to a polar coordinate system
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the claim describes functions the claimed processor is “operative to perform” to “predict a future representation of the magnetic flux density” or “to predict a performance of a permanent magnet synchronous motor”. As presented, the claims do not define operations, calculations or manipulation of data that the claimed processor is programmed to perform or, that is configured to perform, but rather functions that the processor may be operated to accomplish. It appears to describe the intended use of the processor, given some data input (spatial representation of flux density). The examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Because Li teaches all structural elements as recited including a processor that is capable of manipulating data related to the spatial representation of magnetic flux, and because the processor may be readily used in the manner intended, the prior art anticipates the claim. The examiner suggests describing structural elements within the processor that differentiate it from that of the prior art.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, the claim describes functions the claimed processor is “operative to perform” to “predict a future representation of the magnetic flux density” or “to predict a performance of a permanent magnet synchronous motor”. As presented, the claims do not describe method steps, but rather functions that the processor may be operated to accomplish. It appears to describe the intended use of the processor, given some data input (spatial representation of flux density). The examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Because Li teaches all structural elements as recited including a processor that is capable of manipulating data related to the spatial representation of magnetic flux, and because the processor may be readily used in the manner intended, the prior art anticipates the claim. The examiner suggests describing positive steps accomplished by the processor that differentiate it from that of the prior art.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Li teaches the measurement system for characterizing the magnetic flux density of the magnet of claim 1, further including a display (within 24) for displaying a graphical representation of the spatial representation of the magnetic flux density (See page 19, last paragraph).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination an apparatus for characterizing a performance of a permanent magnet synchronous motor comprising a processor for receiving each of the plurality of magnetic flux density magnitudes and for generating a spatial representation of a magnetic flux density of the permanent magnet and for comparing the spatial representation of the magnetic flux density to the plurality of spatial representations of magnetic flux densities to estimate the performance of the permanent magnet synchronous motor in response to at least one of the plurality of permanent magnet synchronous motor performance parameters, in combination with all other elements recited.
As to claim 20, the claim is allowed as it incorporates the allowable subject matter in claim 19 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- The US Patent US 4,465,975 by Porter et al., directed to a technique for measuring the magnetic field of a sample, including control of the relative scanning movement, and of the transducer/sample spacing. See figure below:
- The US Patent US 6,611,142 by Jones et al., directed to an apparatus for measuring the magnetic field distribution of a magnetic sample includes a magnetic field sensor arrangement scanned along a predetermined scan pattern. The apparatus then acquires sampling data from the sensor arrangement, the sampled data providing a representation of the magnetic field distribution of the magnetic sample. See figure below:
- The US Patent US 3,939,404 by Tait, directed to a method of testing for and preventing the possibility of cracking, spalling or like defects in a rolling mill roll surface the surface is scanned to provide a representation of the hardness and/or the magnetic conductivity. The method uses measurements of magnetic conductivity in eddy current testing. See figure below:
- The US Patent Application Publication PGPub 2022/0291297 by Tanaka et al., directed to a magnetic detection module is provided with one or more magnetic sensors that detect magnetic flux, a case in which the magnetic sensors are housed, and a cap that can be attached to an end of the case and is provided with a sealing member. The magnetic detection module can be attached to the housing of the first specification with the cap not attached to the case, and can be attached to the housing of the second specification through a sealing member with the cap attached to the case. See figure below:
/RICHARD ISLA/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 August 28, 2026