DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits of Application No. 19/059,151 filed on 02/20/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 16, and 20 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAN DINGENEN et al. (US 20210362593 A1) in view of ) Trinkenschuh et al. (US 20200215897 A1).
Regarding claim 1, VAN DINGENEN discloses a disconnect (fig. 3) for a power take off (PTO, 318, 312, para 47) as shown in fig. 3. However, VAN DINGENEN fails to disclose the details of the disconnect.
Trinkenschuh teaches a disconnect (e.g. 9, figs. 1-4, paras 40- 44), the disconnect comprising:
a housing (e.g. 11, 56, 35, 59 etc., fig. 1), where the housing includes a plurality of fluid channels (e.g. 13 on housing 11, see para 42and 33 on housing portion 35, see para 44, fig. 1);
a wet clutch (27, 9, para 42), where the wet clutch comprises a clutch pack (e.g. 26, fig. 2) ;
a piston (e.g. a first actuating element 24, fig. 2, para 42);
an input (has no character numeral, the part connected to the outer disk carrier 28, fig. 1), where the input is connected to an outer rotating component (28, fig. 1) of the wet clutch (9); and
an output (e.g. rotor flange 14, fig. 1), where the output is connected to an inner rotating component (29) of the wet clutch (9);
where the input selectively couples to the output (14) closing the clutch pack, wherein the clutch pack (26) is hydraulically closed by way of a fluid acting on the piston (24) and the piston pressing on the clutch pack (26), where the fluid channels are in fluid communication with the piston and deliver hydraulic pressure thereto.
(see para 42 “When the first pressure chamber 12 is filled with actuating oil, a first actuating element 24 is displaced in the axial direction against the restoring force of a first spring element 25, so that clutch plates 26 of the disconnect clutch 9, which is in the form of a multi-disk clutch 27, are pressed together. Torque from an outer disk carrier 28 connected to the second drive unit is thereby transmitted to an inner disk carrier 29, which is fixedly connected to the rotor flange 14 and the rotor carrier 15.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify VAN DINGENEN by substituting the disconnect as taught by Trinkenschuh so that it can maintain one rotary feedthrough which is configured on one hand for conveying actuating oil, which is designed for actuation of the disconnect clutch, or on the other hand for conveying cooling oil, which is designed for cooling the disconnect clutch and/or the dual clutch. Therefore, an improved hybrid module is to be developed which is capable of transmitting high actuating forces for actuation of the clutches and at the same time is optimized in terms of installation space and can be produced inexpensively. (see abstract and paras 6-8 of Trinkenschuh)
Regarding claim 2, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect as modified according to claim 1, Trinkenschuh further discloses where the piston (e.g. 24) is configured to rotate with a shaft (e.g. the shaft portion of 14 which contains feed through 10 as shown in fig. 1) and fluidly seal (e.g. via 19, fig. 1) the shaft to the housing (56), where one or more rings (e.g. the ring of the seal 19 is interpreted as a ring of piston 24) seal of the piston seal the shaft to the housing.
(see para 41 “From the channel 13 in the housing 11, the actuating oil for the disconnect clutch 9 is conveyed through a sleeve 17 and through the first actuating oil rotary feedthrough 10, which is formed in the rotor flange 14, into the first pressure chamber 12. The sleeve 17 serves as a seal holder 18, which holds a seal 19 for sealing the first actuating oil rotary feedthrough 10 relative to a housing interior 20”.)
Regarding claim 4, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect as modified according to claim 1, Trinkenschuh further discloses wherein the wet clutch (9, fig. 1) comprises an actuation chamber (e.g. 12, fig. 2) formed between the inner rotating component (14) and the piston (24), and a counter-pressure chamber (e.g. 30, fig. 5) formed between the outer rotating component (28) and the piston (24), the actuation chamber fluidly coupled to a first flow path (has no character numeral, the path shown by an arrow in fig. 2 or fig. 3) and the counter-pressure chamber fluidly coupled to a second flow path (has no character numeral, the path shown by an arrow in fig. 4 or fig. 5).
While reference does not disclose the actuation chamber formed between the outer rotating component and the piston and the counter-pressure chamber formed between the inner rotating component and the piston, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to change the flow of oil through the chamber, by placing the actuation chamber (12) formed between the inner rotating component (14) and the piston (24), and the counter-pressure chamber (30) formed between the outer rotating component (28) and the piston (24), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. (MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 5, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect as modified according to claim 4, Trinkenschuh further discloses wherein the second flow path (has no character numeral, the path shown by an arrow in fig. 4 or fig. 5) is configured to force cool the wet clutch (9). (see para 51 “FIGS. 4 and 5 show the path of the cooling oil which is used to cool the disconnect clutch 9 and to fill the centrifugal oil compensation chamber 30. The cooling oil is conveyed through the outer disk carrier 28, through the housing 11 into the housing interior 20 and from there via the cooling oil rotary feedthrough 52 in the rotor flange 14, or the inner disk carrier 29, to the disconnect clutch 9 and into the centrifugal oil compensation chamber 30.”)
Regarding claim 6, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect as modified according to claim 5, Trinkenschuh further discloses wherein the second flow path is configured to force cool the clutch pack (26). (see para 51).
Regarding claim 7, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect as modified according to claim 4, Trinkenschuh further discloses wherein the piston (24) presses upon the clutch pack (9) in response to increasing fluid pressure in the actuation chamber (12).
Regarding claim 10, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect as modified according to claim 4, Trinkenschuh further discloses wherein the counter-pressure chamber (30) includes a spring (e.g. 25, fig. 1, para 42) applying a resistive force opposite to a direction of engagement of the piston (24).
Regarding claim 11, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect as modified according to claim 10, Trinkenschuh further discloses wherein the spring (25) returns piston (24) to a position in response to decreasing fluid pressure in the actuation chamber (12).
Regarding claim 12, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect as modified according to claim 1, Trinkenschuh further discloses wherein the clutch pack (26) comprises a plurality of friction plates (26) and a plurality of separator plates (26), wherein the piston (24) pressing the plurality of friction plates (26) into surface sharing contact with the plurality of separator plates (26) compresses the clutch pack (9), and wherein reduction of force from the piston (24) expands the plurality of friction plates (26) from surface contact with the plurality of separator plates (26).
Regarding claim 13, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect as modified according to claim 1, VAN DINGENEN further discloses where the wet clutch (e.g. has no character numeral, either of clutches of PTO 318, 312) is normally closed during PTO operation of the disconnect. (see fig. 3)
Regarding claim 14, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect as modified according to claim 1, VAN DINGENEN further discloses where the wet clutch (e.g. has no character numeral, either of clutches of PTO 318, 312, fig. 3) is normally open during PTO operation of the disconnect. (see fig. 3)
Regarding claim 16, VAN DINGENEN discloses a clutch for a disconnect (fig. 3) for a power take off (PTO, 318, 312, para 47) as shown in fig. 3. However, VAN DINGENEN fails to disclose the method of cooling and the details of the disconnect.
Trinkenschuh teaches a method of cooling a clutch for a disconnect (e.g. 9, figs. 1-4, paras 40- 44) comprising:
flowing lubricant through at least a first passage (e.g. 13, fig. 3) of a housing (11), where the housing is positioned around a clutch pack (e.g. 27, para 42) and an input shaft (has no character numeral, the shaft part connected to the outer disk carrier 28, see annotated fig. A) rigidly coupled to at least a component (e.g. an outer disk carrier 28) of the clutch pack (27);
flowing lubricant through at least a second passage (e.g. 52, see annotated fig. A) of the input shaft;
flowing lubricant through at least a counter-pressure chamber (30, fig. 5, see the allow for flow), where the counter-pressure chamber is formed between the input shaft (fig. A below) and an output shaft (14) and between a piston (24) and the output shaft of the clutch;
flowing lubricant to at least a space (e.g. 10) between the clutch pack (27) and the counter-pressure chamber; (see figs. 3 and 5)
flowing lubricant from the space to the clutch pack (27); and
coating a plurality of plates (26) of the clutch pack (27) with lubricant removing thermal energy therein.
Fig. A: Annotated fig. 1 of Trinkenschuh
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify VAN DINGENEN by substituting the disconnect as taught by Trinkenschuh so that it can maintain one rotary feedthrough which is configured on one hand for conveying actuating oil, which is designed for actuation of the disconnect clutch, or on the other hand for conveying cooling oil, which is designed for cooling the disconnect clutch and/or the dual clutch. Therefore, an improved hybrid module is to be developed which is capable of transmitting high actuating forces for actuation of the clutches and at the same time is optimized in terms of installation space and can be produced inexpensively. (see abstract and paras 6-8 of Trinkenschuh)
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAN DINGENEN et al. (US 20210362593 A1) in view of Trinkenschuh et al. (US 20200215897 A1) and further in view of Logan et al. (US 9416827 B1).
Regarding claim 8, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect all the elements of the invention as modified according to claim 4, but fails to disclose wherein the piston has a plurality of steps, with at least a first step of a first diameter and a second step of a second diameter, where the first diameter is less than the second diameter, and the first step is in fluid communication with the actuation chamber.
Logan discloses a clutch assembly (e.g. 500, fig. 33) wherein the piston (506, fig. 33) has a plurality of steps (e.g. 542,544, 546) with at least a first step (e.g. 546) of a first diameter and a second step (e.g. 532) of a second diameter, where the first diameter is less than the second diameter, and the first step is in fluid communication with the actuation chamber.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh by substituting the piston as taught by Logan so that it can be utilized in both high pressure and low pressure environment with large differences in pressure and the piston can be safely operated to receive substantially the same actuation force regardless of whether high or low pressure is being applied thereto. (see paras 186 and 188 of Logan)
Regarding claim 9, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect all the elements of the invention as modified according to claim 8, where the piston is a threshold of distance from the outer rotating component (28) and the second step is in fluid communication with the actuation chamber (12).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAN DINGENEN et al. (US 20210362593 A1) in view of Trinkenschuh et al. (US 20200215897 A1) and further in view of HEUKELBACH et al.(US 20240336126 A1).
Regarding claim 15, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect all the elements of the invention as modified according to claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising an integrated valve that fluidly couples to the disconnect.
HEUKELBACH discloses a hybrid drive system (e.g. 10, fig. 1) wherein an integrated valve (e.g. valve 46. Para 24) that fluidly couples to a disconnect (36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trinkenschuh/ VAN DINGENEN by adding up an integrated valve as taught by HEUKELBACH so that it can maintain the quantity of the cooling oil to be fed to the disconnect as required.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAN DINGENEN et al. (US 20210362593 A1) in view of Trinkenschuh et al. (US 20200215897 A1) and further in view of Matsuo (US 12169003 B2).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, VAN DINGENEN /Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect all the elements of the invention as modified according to claim 1, but fails to disclose comprising, removing the lubricant from the clutch pack via a plurality of fluid passages extending through a drum around the clutch pack and therein removing thermal energy from the clutch pack, and comprising, flowing lubricant to the clutch pack from the counter-pressure chamber via a plurality of passages through a plurality of fluid passages extending through a hub, where the clutch pack is around the hub and the space is a fluid passage of the fluid passages.
Matsuo discloses a wet-type friction engaging device (e.g. 1, figs. 1-5) wherein comprising, removing the lubricant from the clutch pack (e.g. 2, fig. 1) via a plurality of fluid passages (252, fig. 2) extending through a drum (25) around the clutch pack and therein removing thermal energy from the clutch pack, and comprising, flowing lubricant to the clutch pack (2) from the counter-pressure chamber (has no character numeral, the chamber contains spring sp as shown in fig. 1) via a plurality of passages through a plurality of fluid passages (242, fig. 5) extending through a hub (24, fig. 2), where the clutch pack (2) is around the hub (24) and the space is a fluid passage (see the arrow in fig. 1) of the fluid passages.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trinkenschuh/ VAN DINGENEN by adding up a plurality of passes as taught by Matsuo so that it can improve the lubrication and cooling of the clutch pack effectively and in a simple manner.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAN DINGENEN et al. (US 20210362593 A1) in view of Trinkenschuh et al. (US 20200215897 A1) and Matsuo (US 12169003 B2) and further in view of Iwasaki et al.( US 20220154785 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Trinkenschuh/ VAN DINGENEN/ Matsuo discloses the disconnect all the elements of the invention as modified according to claim 17, but fails to disclose flowing lubricant through at least a cavity of the piston, where the cavity is the space, and the cavity enables flow between the piston and the clutch during closing of the clutch.
Iwasaki discloses an automatic system (e.g. 1, figs. 1-9) wherein flowing lubricant through at least a cavity (e.g. 44a, 44b and 44c form the cavity w.r.t. clutch drum 41) of the piston (44, fig. 2), where the cavity is the space, and the cavity enables flow (see fig. 3, the arrow of the flow) between the piston (44) and the clutch (4) during closing of the clutch.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trinkenschuh/ VAN DINGENEN/ Matsuo by substituting the piston to achieve cavity space as taught by Iwasaki so that it can maintain a pressing pressure with a simple structure by increasing the pressing portion and pressure receiving portion of the piston, and lubricating the clutch can be achieved at the same time.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAN DINGENEN et al. (US 20210362593 A1) in view of LECHTHALER et al. (US 20240336127 A1).
Regarding claim 20, VAN DINGENEN discloses a disconnect (fig. 3) for a power take off (PTO, 318, 312, para 47) as shown in fig. 3. However, VAN DINGENEN fails to disclose the details of the disconnect.
LECHTHALER teaches a disconnect (e.g. 24, figs. 1-4, paras 22-23), the disconnect comprising:
an input (e.g. input shaft 14, fig. 1, para 19) connected to an inner rotating component (has no character numeral) of a wet clutch (34) and an output (e.g. converter hub 30, fig. 1, para 21) connected to an outer rotating component (has no character numeral) of the wet clutch, the input selectively coupling to the output by compressing a clutch pack (36), wherein the clutch pack is compressed by way of a fluid (e.g. hydraulic fluid 66, para 32, fig. 4) acting on a piston (e.g. 40, fig. 4) and reacting on a shaft (e.g. 52, para 27, fig. 4), where the fluid is delivered via an external flow.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify VAN DINGENEN by substituting the disconnect as taught by LECHTHALER so that it can maintain one feeding conduit which is configured on one hand for conveying actuating oil, which is designed for actuation of the disconnect clutch, or on the other hand for conveying cooling oil, which is designed for cooling the disconnect clutch and/or the dual clutch. Therefore, an improved hybrid module is to be developed which is capable of transmitting high actuating forces for actuation of the clutches and at the same time is optimized in terms of installation space and can be produced inexpensively. (see abstract and paras 3 and 6 of LECHTHALER)
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAN DINGENEN et al. (US 20210362593 A1) in view of in view of MATASUA (US 20230055437 A1) and further in view of Trinkenschuh et al. (US 20200215897 A1).
Regarding claim 1, VAN DINGENEN discloses a disconnect (fig. 3) for a power take off (PTO, 318, 312, para 47) as shown in fig. 3. However, VAN DINGENEN fails to disclose the details of the disconnect.
MATASUA teaches a disconnect (e.g. 2, figs. 1-5, paras 23 and 35), the disconnect comprising:
a housing (e.g. 11);
a wet clutch (2, para 35), where the wet clutch comprises a clutch pack (e.g. 21, 22, fig. 1) ;
a piston (e.g. 23, fig. 1, para 35);
an input (e.g.44), where the input is connected to an outer rotating component (e.g. 25, fig. 1) of the wet clutch (2); and
an output (e.g. sun 41, fig. 1), where the output is connected to an inner rotating component (e.g. 24) of the wet clutch (2);
where the input selectively couples to the output (41) closing the clutch pack, wherein the clutch pack (21,22) is hydraulically closed by way of a fluid acting on the piston (23) and the piston pressing on the clutch pack (21, 22), where the fluid channels are in fluid communication (see arrows in fig. 1) with the piston and deliver hydraulic pressure thereto. (see paras 42-50)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify VAN DINGENEN by substituting the disconnect as taught by MATASUA so that the oil having a friction adjustment function and a cooling function can be supplied between the drive plates and the driven plates, and therefore, can improve the coolability of the oil . (see paras 5 and 7 of MATASUA)
However, MATASUA fails to disclose where the housing includes a plurality of fluid channels.
Trinkenschuh teaches a disconnect (e.g. 9, figs. 1-4, paras 40-44), the disconnect comprising:
a housing (e.g. 11, 56, 35, 59 etc., fig. 1), where the housing includes a plurality of fluid channels (e.g. 13 on housing 11, see para 42 and 33 on housing portion 35, see para 44, fig. 1);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify VAN DINGENEN/ MATASUA by adding a plurality of fluid channels in the housing as taught by Trinkenschuh so that oil circulation can be secured in the housing, therefore a simple and compact design of oil circulation for the actuator can be achieved.
Regarding claim 2, VAN DINGENEN/ MATASUA/ Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect as modified according to claim 1, MATASUA further discloses where the piston (e.g. 23) is configured to rotate with a shaft (e.g. the bottom shaft portion of clutch drum 25 as shown in fig. 1) and fluidly seal (has no character numeral, fig. B below) the shaft to the housing (11), where one or more rings (e.g. the ring of the seal is interpreted as a ring of piston as shown in fig. B below) seal of the piston seal the shaft to the housing (11).
Regarding claim 3, VAN DINGENEN/ MATASUA/ Trinkenschuh discloses the disconnect as modified according to claim 1, MATASUA further discloses where the shaft is the input (e.g. carrier 44 is fixedly connected to 25 and acts as input).
Fig. B: Annotated fig. 1 of MATASUA
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Muff et al. (US 20230383797 A1) teaches a multi-chambered clutch actuation system for power take-off as shown in fig. 1.3.
CATTOOR et al. (US 20220163074 A1) teaches a wet clutch 200 including a hydraulic tube 202 that connects to a hydraulic channel 204 within wet clutch 200, fluidically coupling hydraulic channel 204 (and therefore wet clutch 200) to an oil supply (e.g., oil pan 110 shown in FIG. 1). Oil flows from the oil supply to a wet clutch piston 206 within wet clutch 200 via hydraulic tube 202 to hydraulic channel 204.
Jeong et al. (US 10634196 B2) discloses a disconnect clutch (EC) as shown in fig. 1.
SUGIMURA (US 20170122383 A1) teaches a disconnect (e.g. 4, fig. 1, paras 32-44). In a cooling structure in a clutch having drive plates and driven plates, a lower limit of a width of each of dot grooves is set to a width a at which a flow quantity of lubricating oil passing through each of the dot grooves becomes a minimum flow quantity at which the drive plates and the driven plates can be cooled to a temperature equal to or lower than an upper limit temperature (Tmax) and an upper limit of the width of each of the dot grooves is set to a width b at which an air content in lubricating oil passing through each of the dot grooves becomes a maximum air content at which, according to lubricating oil having the air content, the drive plates and the driven plates can be cooled to a temperature equal to or lower than the upper limit temperature (Tmax).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached notice of references cited.
/FARHANA PERVIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655