DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7, lines 6-10 recite, “operate the fan at a first level for the second period of time and based on the rotation speed of the fan operated at the first level, set the first reference rotation speed,
operate the fan at a second level higher than the first level for the second period of time” which is unclear to the Examiner as to how the same fan can be operated at two different levels during the second period of time. The Examiner recommends making clarifying amendments to specify if the fan is only operated at the first level for part of the second period and then operated at the second level for the rest of the second period or any other clarifying amendments to resolve the indefinity. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation to simply require operating the fan at two different levels to acquire two different reference rotation speeds.
Claim 8 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (JP 2005321134), hereinafter Suzuki in view of Kuramitsu et al. (US 20140133097), hereinafter Kuramitsu.
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a refrigerator (Fig. 1, cold box 1) comprising:
a main body forming a storeroom (Fig. 1, main body; Fig. 4, cold insulation space 10; Pg. 3, A cold insulation space 10 is provided inside the main body 2. The cold insulation space 10 is divided into three tiers 11, and is a space in which bottles 12 (indicated by a one-dot chain line in FIG. 4) filled with beverages such as champagne or wine are placed on each shelf 11);
a thermoelectric element including a heater and a cooler, the cooler configured to cool air inside the storeroom (Fig. 1, Peltier engine 4; Fig. 6, Peltier element 20, ceramic plates 20a, 20b; Pg. 4-5, The Peltier element is arranged so that the cooling plate constituting the Peltier element is on the main body 2 side…Since the holes of the P-type semiconductor 21 and the electrons of the N-type semiconductor 22 become carriers that carry the thermal energy in these thermoelectric materials, the ceramic plate 20a side is cooled and the ceramic plate 20b side is heated. Therefore, what is on the ceramic plate 20a side is cooled, and what is on the ceramic plate 20b side is heated by heat radiation from the ceramic plate 20b; Further, the Peltier engine 4 of Suzuki has the same structure as the claimed thermoelectric element and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
a fan configured to operate to bring air from outside the main body to the heater to be heated by the heater and exhaust the heated air to outside the main body (Fig. 5, fan 15; Pg. 4, and the heat radiating plate constituting the Peltier element is in the direction of the side surface of the Peltier engine side 4b. The fan 15 is provided to promote heat dissipation from the heat dissipation plate of the Peltier element. Since the Peltier engine 4 has the above-described structure, when the fan 15 is rotated, the following air flow is generated. As the fan 15 rotates, the outside air X is sucked from the filter 6a. The sucked outside air X passes through the space 14, reaches the space 16 of the Peltier engine side 4 b, and enters the space 17 through the fan 15. The outside air X that has passed through the fan 15 contacts the heat dissipation plate of the Peltier element in the space 17, carries the heat, and is exhausted to the outside through the filter 5 a. Due to such air flow, the heat of the heat dissipation plate of the Peltier element is quickly removed, and the cooling efficiency by the Peltier element is enhanced);
a filter configured to filter foreign materials from the air brought from outside the main body to the heater by operation of the fan (Fig. 1, filters 5a, 6a; Pg. 3, The exhaust port 5 and the intake port 6 are provided with a filter 5a and a filter 6a, respectively. As will be described in detail later, a mechanism is adopted in which the heat generated from the Peltier element inside the Peltier engine 4 is quickly released to the outside by sucking outside air from the filter 6a and exhausting it from the filter 5a; Further, filters 5a and 6a of Suzuki have the same structure as the claimed filter and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
However, Suzuki does not disclose a controller configured to notify that the filter is clogged in response to a rotation speed of the fan being higher than a reference rotation speed.
Kuramitsu teaches a controller configured to notify that the filter is clogged in response to a rotation speed of the fan being higher than a reference rotation speed (Fig. 1, control unit 1, air filter 6; Fig. 2, control unit 1, fan control unit 300, clogging detection unit 100; Fig. 13, st26, st27; Pg. 5, paragraph 67, When the number of revolutions R acquired from the fan control unit 300 by the clogging detection unit 100 is greater than the reference number of revolutions Ro, the clogging detection unit 100 determines that clogging has occurred in the air filter 6 and detects the clogging. That is, when the number of revolutions R controlled by the revolution control unit 101 exceeds the reference number of revolutions Ro, which is assumed to exert a sufficient cooling capacity when the degree of clogging of the air filter 6 is negligible, the clogging detection unit 100 determines that clogging has occurred in the air filter 6; Pg. 7, paragraph 100-101, The clogging detection unit 100 then acquires the number of revolutions R from the fan control unit 300 (step St25). The clogging detection unit 100 then determines whether RsRo (step St26). If not RsRo (No in step St26), the clogging detection unit 100 outputs a clogging alarm to the operation system 9 (step St27). Specifically, when the number of revolutions R controlled by the revolution control unit 101 is greater than the reference number of revolutions Ro corresponding to the atmospheric pressure p detected by the atmospheric pressure sensor 13 and the ambient temperature t detected by the first temperature sensor 12, the clogging detection unit 100 determines that clogging has occurred in the air filter 6 and detects the clogging. As seen above, the clogging detection unit 100 may detect the clogging accurately using the threshold corresponding to the atmospheric pressure p and the ambient temperature t).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerator of Suzuki of claim 1 to include a controller configured to notify that the filter is clogged in response to a rotation speed of the fan being higher than a reference rotation speed as taught by Kuramitsu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to maintain sufficient cooling capacity of the fan (Kuramitsu, Pg. 5, paragraph 67).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki discloses a refrigerator (Fig. 1, cold box 1) including a main body forming a storeroom (Fig. 1, main body; Fig. 4, cold insulation space 10; Pg. 3, A cold insulation space 10 is provided inside the main body 2. The cold insulation space 10 is divided into three tiers 11, and is a space in which bottles 12 (indicated by a one-dot chain line in FIG. 4) filled with beverages such as champagne or wine are placed on each shelf 11), a thermoelectric element including a heater and a cooler, the cooler configured to cool air inside the storeroom (Fig. 1, Peltier engine 4; Fig. 6, Peltier element 20, ceramic plates 20a, 20b; Pg. 4-5, The Peltier element is arranged so that the cooling plate constituting the Peltier element is on the main body 2 side…Since the holes of the P-type semiconductor 21 and the electrons of the N-type semiconductor 22 become carriers that carry the thermal energy in these thermoelectric materials, the ceramic plate 20a side is cooled and the ceramic plate 20b side is heated. Therefore, what is on the ceramic plate 20a side is cooled, and what is on the ceramic plate 20b side is heated by heat radiation from the ceramic plate 20b; Further, the Peltier engine 4 of Suzuki has the same structure as the claimed thermoelectric element and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed), a fan configured to operate to bring air from outside the main body to the heater to be heated by the heater and exhaust the heated air outside the main body (Fig. 5, fan 15; Pg. 4, and the heat radiating plate constituting the Peltier element is in the direction of the side surface of the Peltier engine side 4b. The fan 15 is provided to promote heat dissipation from the heat dissipation plate of the Peltier element. Since the Peltier engine 4 has the above-described structure, when the fan 15 is rotated, the following air flow is generated. As the fan 15 rotates, the outside air X is sucked from the filter 6a. The sucked outside air X passes through the space 14, reaches the space 16 of the Peltier engine side 4 b, and enters the space 17 through the fan 15. The outside air X that has passed through the fan 15 contacts the heat dissipation plate of the Peltier element in the space 17, carries the heat, and is exhausted to the outside through the filter 5 a. Due to such air flow, the heat of the heat dissipation plate of the Peltier element is quickly removed, and the cooling efficiency by the Peltier element is enhanced), and a filter configured to filter foreign materials from the air brought from outside the main body to the heater by operation of the fan (Fig. 1, filters 5a, 6a; Pg. 3, The exhaust port 5 and the intake port 6 are provided with a filter 5a and a filter 6a, respectively. As will be described in detail later, a mechanism is adopted in which the heat generated from the Peltier element inside the Peltier engine 4 is quickly released to the outside by sucking outside air from the filter 6a and exhausting it from the filter 5a; Further, filters 5a and 6a of Suzuki have the same structure as the claimed filter and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
However, Suzuki does not disclose a method of controlling the refrigerator and a controller, the method comprising:
by the controller, notifying that the filter is clogged in response to a rotation speed of the fan being higher than a reference rotation speed.
Kuramitsu teaches disclose a method of controlling a cooling device and (Fig. 1, control unit 1, cabinet 5), the method comprising:
by the controller, notifying that the filter is clogged in response to a rotation speed of the fan being higher than a reference rotation speed (Fig. 1, control unit 1, air filter 6; Fig. 2, control unit 1, fan control unit 300, clogging detection unit 100; Fig. 13, St26, St27; Pg. 5, paragraph 67, When the number of revolutions R acquired from the fan control unit 300 by the clogging detection unit 100 is greater than the reference number of revolutions Ro, the clogging detection unit 100 determines that clogging has occurred in the air filter 6 and detects the clogging. That is, when the number of revolutions R controlled by the revolution control unit 101 exceeds the reference number of revolutions Ro, which is assumed to exert a sufficient cooling capacity when the degree of clogging of the air filter 6 is negligible, the clogging detection unit 100 determines that clogging has occurred in the air filter 6; Pg. 7, paragraph 100-101, The clogging detection unit 100 then acquires the number of revolutions R from the fan control unit 300 (step St25). The clogging detection unit 100 then determines whether RsRo (step St26). If not RsRo (No in step St26), the clogging detection unit 100 outputs a clogging alarm to the operation system 9 (step St27). Specifically, when the number of revolutions R controlled by the revolution control unit 101 is greater than the reference number of revolutions Ro corresponding to the atmospheric pressure p detected by the atmospheric pressure sensor 13 and the ambient temperature t detected by the first temperature sensor 12, the clogging detection unit 100 determines that clogging has occurred in the air filter 6 and detects the clogging. As seen above, the clogging detection unit 100 may detect the clogging accurately using the threshold corresponding to the atmospheric pressure p and the ambient temperature t).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerator of Suzuki of claim 11 to include a method of controlling the refrigerator and a controller, the method including the step or limitation of by the controller, notifying that the filter is clogged in response to a rotation speed of the fan being higher than a reference rotation speed as taught by Kuramitsu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to maintain sufficient cooling capacity of the fan (Kuramitsu, Pg. 5, paragraph 67).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki as modified by Kuramitsu as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, respectively, and further in view of Nagata et al. (WO 2022269820), hereinafter Nagata.
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Suzuki as modified does not disclose wherein the controller is further configured to:
based on a lapse of a first period of time after the refrigerator is powered on, operate the fan for a second period of time, and
based on the rotation speed of the fan during the second period of time, set the reference rotation speed.
Nagata teaches wherein the controller is further configured to set a reference rotation speed of the fan after a period where the filter is known to be clean (Fig. 5, step S110; Pg. 10, The operation of detecting clogging of the exhaust filter 6 over time and clogging of the exhaust filter 6 due to freezing in the heat exchange type ventilator 1 will be described below. The detection operation described below is started after the initial setting at the time of installation of the heat exchange ventilator 1 is completed, or after filter maintenance of the exhaust filter 6 is completed after the start of use of the heat exchange ventilator 1. In step S110, the reference rotational speed before filter clogging .sub.NO is acquired. Specifically, when the control unit 123 performs the initial setting at the time of installation of the heat exchange ventilator 1, or at the time of trial operation after completion of filter maintenance of the exhaust filter 6 after the start of use of the heat exchange ventilator 1, or At the time of initial operation, the number of rotations of the exhaust fan 4 is obtained as the reference number of rotations .sub.NO before filter clogging. The control unit 123 stores the acquired pre-filter-clogging reference rotational speed .sub.NO. Note that the reference rotational speed before filter clogging N.sub.O may be stored in the storage unit 121; Further, the teachings of Nagata at least imply a first period time is elapsed after the device is powered on before the reference rotation speed is set and a second period of time is elapsed during the operation of the fan as the fan would need time to come up to speed in the first time period and fans speeds vary even during normal load which requires time to generate an average fan speed before a reference rotation speed can be set since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Suzuki as modified fails to teach wherein the controller is further configured to: based on a lapse of a first period of time after the refrigerator is powered on, operate the fan for a second period of time, and based on the rotation speed of the fan during the second period of time, set the reference rotation speed, however Nagata teaches that it is a known method in the art of fan air filter clog detection to include wherein the controller is further configured to set a reference rotation speed of the fan after a period where the filter is known to be clean. This is strong evidence that modifying Suzuki as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a baseline for determining when the filter is clogged to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki as modified by Nagata and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a baseline for determining when the filter is clogged to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki as modified discloses the method of claim 11 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 11 above).
However, Suzuki as modified does not disclose further comprising:
by the controller,
based on a lapse of a first period of time after the refrigerator is powered on, operating the fan for a second period of time, and
based on the rotation speed of the fan during the second period of time, setting the reference rotation speed.
Nagata teaches wherein the controller is further configured to set a reference rotation speed of the fan after a period where the filter is known to be clean (Fig. 5, step S110; Pg. 10, The operation of detecting clogging of the exhaust filter 6 over time and clogging of the exhaust filter 6 due to freezing in the heat exchange type ventilator 1 will be described below. The detection operation described below is started after the initial setting at the time of installation of the heat exchange ventilator 1 is completed, or after filter maintenance of the exhaust filter 6 is completed after the start of use of the heat exchange ventilator 1. In step S110, the reference rotational speed before filter clogging .sub.NO is acquired. Specifically, when the control unit 123 performs the initial setting at the time of installation of the heat exchange ventilator 1, or at the time of trial operation after completion of filter maintenance of the exhaust filter 6 after the start of use of the heat exchange ventilator 1, or At the time of initial operation, the number of rotations of the exhaust fan 4 is obtained as the reference number of rotations .sub.NO before filter clogging. The control unit 123 stores the acquired pre-filter-clogging reference rotational speed .sub.NO. Note that the reference rotational speed before filter clogging N.sub.O may be stored in the storage unit 121; Further, the teachings of Nagata at least imply a first period time is elapsed after the device is powered on before the reference rotation speed is set and a second period of time is elapsed during the operation of the fan as the fan would need time to come up to speed in the first time period and fans speeds vary even during normal load which requires time to generate an average fan speed before a reference rotation speed can be set since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Suzuki as modified fails to teach further comprising by the controller, based on a lapse of a first period of time after the refrigerator is powered on, operating the fan for a second period of time, and based on the rotation speed of the fan during the second period of time, setting the reference rotation speed, however Nagata teaches that it is a known method in the art of fan air filter clog detection to include wherein the controller is further configured to set a reference rotation speed of the fan after a period where the filter is known to be clean. This is strong evidence that modifying Suzuki as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a baseline for determining when the filter is clogged to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki as modified by Nagata and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a baseline for determining when the filter is clogged to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claims 3-4, 6, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki as modified by Kuramitsu and Nagata as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, respectively, and further in view of Saneyoshi (US Patent No. 11,865,483), hereinafter Saneyoshi.
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 2 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above).
However, Suzuki as modified does not disclose wherein the controller is further configured to, based on an input indicating the filter is clean being received after notification that the filter is clogged, operate the fan for a third period of time.
Saneyoshi teaches wherein the controller is further configured to, based on an input indicating the filter is clean being received after notification that the filter is clogged, operate the fan for a third period of time (Fig. 1, freezer showcase 20, filter 206, air blower 208, control apparatus 209; Col. 9, lines 46-55, Timing for determining whether or not cleaning of the filter 206 has been practiced may have a certain time range. For example, if it is determined that the filter 206 has been cleaned, the next determination of whether or not cleaning of the filter 206 has been practiced may be made after a predetermined period of time has elapsed from the day the determination is made. Alternatively, if it is determined that the filter cleaning has not been practiced, a period from the day the determination is made to the day the determination is next made may be shortened; Further, the teachings of Saneyoshi which discuss determining whether or not the filter is clogged after a predetermined period of time after cleaning at least imply the fan is operated during that period of time as the filter is mostly at risk of being contaminated during fan operation since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Suzuki as modified wherein the controller is further configured to, based on an input indicating the filter is clean being received after notification that the filter is clogged, operate the fan for a third period of time as taught by Saneyoshi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent failure of the system due to a clogged filter (Saneyoshi, Col. 1, lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 3 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 3 above), wherein the controller is further configured to, based on a difference between the rotation speed of the fan during the third period of time and the reference rotation speed, determine whether the filter is clean (Kuramitsu, Pg. 5, paragraph 67, When the number of revolutions R acquired from the fan control unit 300 by the clogging detection unit 100 is greater than the reference number of revolutions Ro, the clogging detection unit 100 determines that clogging has occurred in the air filter 6 and detects the clogging. That is, when the number of revolutions R controlled by the revolution control unit 101 exceeds the reference number of revolutions Ro, which is assumed to exert a sufficient cooling capacity when the degree of clogging of the air filter 6 is negligible, the clogging detection unit 100 determines that clogging has occurred in the air filter 6; Saneyoshi, Col. 9, lines 46-55, Timing for determining whether or not cleaning of the filter 206 has been practiced may have a certain time range. For example, if it is determined that the filter 206 has been cleaned, the next determination of whether or not cleaning of the filter 206 has been practiced may be made after a predetermined period of time has elapsed from the day the determination is made. Alternatively, if it is determined that the filter cleaning has not been practiced, a period from the day the determination is made to the day the determination is next made may be shortened). Further, the limitations of claim 4 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 4 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above), wherein the controller is further configured to notify that the filter is clogged in response to determination that the filter is not clean (Kuramitsu, Pg. 7, paragraph 100-101, The clogging detection unit 100 then acquires the number of revolutions R from the fan control unit 300 (step St25). The clogging detection unit 100 then determines whether RsRo (step St26). If not RsRo (No in step St26), the clogging detection unit 100 outputs a clogging alarm to the operation system 9 (step St27). Specifically, when the number of revolutions R controlled by the revolution control unit 101 is greater than the reference number of revolutions Ro corresponding to the atmospheric pressure p detected by the atmospheric pressure sensor 13 and the ambient temperature t detected by the first temperature sensor 12, the clogging detection unit 100 determines that clogging has occurred in the air filter 6 and detects the clogging. As seen above, the clogging detection unit 100 may detect the clogging accurately using the threshold corresponding to the atmospheric pressure p and the ambient temperature t).
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki as modified discloses the method of claim 12 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 12 above).
However, Suzuki as modified does not disclose further comprising:
by the controller,
based on an input indicating the filter is clean being received after notification that the filter is clogged, operating the fan for a third period of time.
Saneyoshi teaches by the controller,
based on an input indicating the filter is clean being received after notification that the filter is clogged, operating the fan for a third period of time (Fig. 1, freezer showcase 20, filter 206, air blower 208, control apparatus 209; Col. 9, lines 46-55, Timing for determining whether or not cleaning of the filter 206 has been practiced may have a certain time range. For example, if it is determined that the filter 206 has been cleaned, the next determination of whether or not cleaning of the filter 206 has been practiced may be made after a predetermined period of time has elapsed from the day the determination is made. Alternatively, if it is determined that the filter cleaning has not been practiced, a period from the day the determination is made to the day the determination is next made may be shortened; Further, the teachings of Saneyoshi which discuss determining whether or not the filter is clogged after a predetermined period of time after cleaning at least imply the fan is operated during that period of time as the filter is mostly at risk of being contaminated during fan operation since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Suzuki as modified wherein based on an input indicating the filter is clean being received after notification that the filter is clogged, operating the fan for a third period of time as taught by Saneyoshi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent failure of the system due to a clogged filter (Saneyoshi, Col. 1, lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki as modified discloses the method of claim 13 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 13 above), further comprising:
by the controller,
based on a difference between the rotation speed of the fan during the third period of time and the reference rotation speed, determining whether the filter is clean (Kuramitsu, Pg. 5, paragraph 67, When the number of revolutions R acquired from the fan control unit 300 by the clogging detection unit 100 is greater than the reference number of revolutions Ro, the clogging detection unit 100 determines that clogging has occurred in the air filter 6 and detects the clogging. That is, when the number of revolutions R controlled by the revolution control unit 101 exceeds the reference number of revolutions Ro, which is assumed to exert a sufficient cooling capacity when the degree of clogging of the air filter 6 is negligible, the clogging detection unit 100 determines that clogging has occurred in the air filter 6; Saneyoshi, Col. 9, lines 46-55, Timing for determining whether or not cleaning of the filter 206 has been practiced may have a certain time range. For example, if it is determined that the filter 206 has been cleaned, the next determination of whether or not cleaning of the filter 206 has been practiced may be made after a predetermined period of time has elapsed from the day the determination is made. Alternatively, if it is determined that the filter cleaning has not been practiced, a period from the day the determination is made to the day the determination is next made may be shortened). Further, the limitations of claim 14 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki as modified by Kuramitsu, Nagata, and Saneyoshi as applied to claims 4 and 14 above, respectively, and further in view of Bonello et al. (WO 2017072327), hereinafter Bonello.
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 4 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above).
However, Suzuki as modified does not disclose wherein the controller is further configured to reset the reference rotation speed in response to determination that the filter is clean.
Bonello teaches wherein the controller is further configured to reset the reference rotation speed in response to determination that the filter is clean (Fig. 1, electronic filter condition monitoring (EFCM) system 150, air filter 120, blower 110; Pg. 8, lines 22-28, Additionally, in at least one embodiment, the EFCM system 150 periodically updates, or adjusts, the baseline values. Over time as normal wear and tear affect the HV AC system 100, the current and voltage values may naturally and permanently change. As such, in at least one embodiment, every time an air filter 120 is changed the EFCM system 150 recalibrates and generates updated baseline current and voltage values. In an additional or alternative embodiment, periodically the EFCM system 150 generates an indicator requesting that a calibration be performed)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Suzuki as modified wherein the controller is further configured to reset the reference rotation speed in response to determination that the filter is clean as taught by Bonello. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to account for normal system wear and tear (Bonello, Pg. 8, lines 22-28).
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki as modified discloses the method of claim 14 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 14 above).
However, Suzuki as modified does not disclose further comprising:
by the controller,
resetting the reference rotation speed in response to determining that the filter is clean.
Bonello teaches by the controller,
resetting the reference rotation speed in response to determining that the filter is clean (Fig. 1, electronic filter condition monitoring (EFCM) system 150, air filter 120, blower 110; Pg. 8, lines 22-28, Additionally, in at least one embodiment, the EFCM system 150 periodically updates, or adjusts, the baseline values. Over time as normal wear and tear affect the HV AC system 100, the current and voltage values may naturally and permanently change. As such, in at least one embodiment, every time an air filter 120 is changed the EFCM system 150 recalibrates and generates updated baseline current and voltage values. In an additional or alternative embodiment, periodically the EFCM system 150 generates an indicator requesting that a calibration be performed)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Suzuki as modified for resetting the reference rotation speed in response to determining that the filter is clean as taught by Bonello. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to account for normal system wear and tear (Bonello, Pg. 8, lines 22-28).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki as modified by Kuramitsu and Nagata as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Bonello et al. (WO 2017072327), hereinafter Bonello.
Regarding claims 7-8, Suzuki as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 2 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above).
However, Suzuki as modified does not disclose wherein
the reference rotation speed includes:
a first reference rotation speed, and
a second reference rotation speed, and
the controller is further configured to:
operate the fan at a first level for the second period of time and based on the rotation speed of the fan operated at the first level, set the first reference rotation speed,
operate the fan at a second level higher than the first level for the second period of time and based on the rotation speed of the fan operated at the second level, set the second reference rotation speed,
notify that the filter is clogged in response to the rotation speed of the fan operated at the first level being higher than the first reference rotation speed, and
notify that the filter is clogged in response to the rotation speed of the fan operated at the second level being higher than the second reference rotation speed; and
the controller is further configured to:
based on an input indicating the filter is clean being received after notification that the filter is clogged,
operate the fan at the first level for a third period of time and based on a difference between the rotation speed of the fan operated at the first level for the third period of time and the first reference rotation speed, determine whether the filter is clean, and
operate the fan at the second level for the third period of time and based on a difference between the rotation speed of the fan operated at the second level for the third period of time and the second reference rotation speed, determine whether the filter is clean.
Bonello teaches wherein
the reference rotation speed includes:
a first reference rotation speed (Pg. 6-7, As such, in at least one embodiment, the EFCM system 150 stores a baseline high value and a baseline low value for the current and/or voltage at each respective speed, a baseline average value for the current and/or voltage at each respective speed, just the baseline high value for the current and/or voltage at each respective speed, just the baseline low value for the current and/or voltage at each respective speed, or some other baseline value(s) derived from the measured current and/or voltage. In at least one embodiment, the same process is then repeated with a dirty air filter, or a material which curtails air flow to the blower. The EFCM system 150 stores the baseline value(s) of the electrical current and/or voltage at each one of the three speeds of the blower 210. As such, the EFCM system 150 determines baseline clean values and baseline dirty values for each respective speed accounting for both a clean and a dirty air filter 120), and
a second reference rotation speed (Pg. 6-7, As such, in at least one embodiment, the EFCM system 150 stores a baseline high value and a baseline low value for the current and/or voltage at each respective speed, a baseline average value for the current and/or voltage at each respective speed, just the baseline high value for the current and/or voltage at each respective speed, just the baseline low value for the current and/or voltage at each respective speed, or some other baseline value(s) derived from the measured current and/or voltage. In at least one embodiment, the same process is then repeated with a dirty air filter, or a material which curtails air flow to the blower. The EFCM system 150 stores the baseline value(s) of the electrical current and/or voltage at each one of the three speeds of the blower 210. As such, the EFCM system 150 determines baseline clean values and baseline dirty values for each respective speed accounting for both a clean and a dirty air filter 120), and
the controller is further configured to:
operate the fan at a first level for the second period of time and based on the rotation speed of the fan operated at the first level, set the first reference rotation speed (Pg. 7, In at least one embodiment, the same process is then repeated with a dirty air filter, or a material which curtails air flow to the blower. The EFCM system 150 stores the baseline value(s) of the electrical current and/or voltage at each one of the three speeds of the blower 210. As such, the EFCM system 150 determines baseline clean values and baseline dirty values for each respective speed accounting for both a clean and a dirty air filter 120. In at least one embodiment, the EFCM system 150 then calculates the difference in current at each speed when using a clean filter versus a dirty filter. Once the system calibration is done, the EFCM system 150 continually or periodically checks the current state of the air filter 120. For example, the current sensing unit gathers the instantaneous current flowing through the blower 110. As used herein, instantaneous current and voltage readings and values comprise the most recently gathered measurements from the sensors 280),
operate the fan at a second level higher than the first level for the second period of time and based on the rotation speed of the fan operated at the second level, set the second reference rotation speed (Pg. 7, In at least one embodiment, the same process is then repeated with a dirty air filter, or a material which curtails air flow to the blower. The EFCM system 150 stores the baseline value(s) of the electrical current and/or voltage at each one of the three speeds of the blower 210. As such, the EFCM system 150 determines baseline clean values and baseline dirty values for each respective speed accounting for both a clean and a dirty air filter 120. In at least one embodiment, the EFCM system 150 then calculates the difference in current at each speed when using a clean filter versus a dirty filter. Once the system calibration is done, the EFCM system 150 continually or periodically checks the current state of the air filter 120. For example, the current sensing unit gathers the instantaneous current flowing through the blower 110. As used herein, instantaneous current and voltage readings and values comprise the most recently gathered measurements from the sensors 280; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above),
notify that the filter is clogged in response to the rotation speed of the fan operated at the first level being higher than the first reference rotation speed (Pg. 7, The EFCM system 150 then compares the measured instantaneous current to the baseline current values at each respective speed. Based upon the comparison, the EFCM system 150 identifies a current operating speed of the blower 110. For example, if the blower 110 is off, the current flowing through it is zero. In contrast, the EFCM system 150 identifies that the speed is set too low by subtracting the instantaneous current flowing through the blower 110 from the baseline current flowing through the blower 110 at low speed with a clean filter during system calibration time. If the difference is less than zero, then the speed is at the low setting. The process is repeated with each respective baseline current value measured during calibration time until the speed is determined. As such, the EFCM system 150 is capable of accounting for a drop in current flowing through the blower with increased blockage of air flow through the filter. The EFCM system 150 can also be adapted for situations where the current increases with increasing blockage of air-flow. Once the EFCM system 150 identifies the current operating speed of the blower 110, the EFCM system 150 compares the instantaneous current to the baseline dirty and/or clean values that were previously measured. For example, in at least one embodiment, the EFCM system 150 calculates a baseline difference between the baseline clean value and the baseline dirty value at the identified speed. The EFCM system 150 then compares the baseline difference to the difference between the baseline clean value and the instantaneous current at the same given speed. If the difference between the baseline clean value and the instantaneous current is greater than the baseline difference, then the EFCM system 150 generates an indicator that the air filter 120 needs to be changed or cleaned), and
notify that the filter is clogged in response to the rotation speed of the fan operated at the second level being higher than the second reference rotation speed (Pg. 7, The EFCM system 150 then compares the measured instantaneous current to the baseline current values at each respective speed. Based upon the comparison, the EFCM system 150 identifies a current operating speed of the blower 110. For example, if the blower 110 is off, the current flowing through it is zero. In contrast, the EFCM system 150 identifies that the speed is set too low by subtracting the instantaneous current flowing through the blower 110 from the baseline current flowing through the blower 110 at low speed with a clean filter during system calibration time. If the difference is less than zero, then the speed is at the low setting. The process is repeated with each respective baseline current value measured during calibration time until the speed is determined. As such, the EFCM system 150 is capable of accounting for a drop in current flowing through the blower with increased blockage of air flow through the filter. The EFCM system 150 can also be adapted for situations where the current increases with increasing blockage of air-flow. Once the EFCM system 150 identifies the current operating speed of the blower 110, the EFCM system 150 compares the instantaneous current to the baseline dirty and/or clean values that were previously measured. For example, in at least one embodiment, the EFCM system 150 calculates a baseline difference between the baseline clean value and the baseline dirty value at the identified speed. The EFCM system 150 then compares the baseline difference to the difference between the baseline clean value and the instantaneous current at the same given speed. If the difference between the baseline clean value and the instantaneous current is greater than the baseline difference, then the EFCM system 150 generates an indicator that the air filter 120 needs to be changed or cleaned); and
the controller is further configured to:
based on an input indicating the filter is clean being received after notification that the filter is clogged (Pg. 8, As such, in at least one 25 embodiment, every time an air filter 120 is changed the EFCM system 150 recalibrates and generates updated baseline current and voltage values),
operate the fan at the first level for a third period of time and based on a difference between the rotation speed of the fan operated at the first level for the third period of time and the first reference rotation speed, determine whether the filter is clean (Pg. 8, Additionally, in at least one embodiment, the EFCM system 150 periodically updates, or adjusts, the baseline values. Over time as normal wear and tear affect the HVAC system 100, the current and voltage values may naturally and permanently change. As such, in at least one embodiment, every time an air filter 120 is changed the EFCM system 150 recalibrates and generates updated baseline current and voltage values. In an additional or alternative embodiment, periodically the EFCM system 150 generates an indicator requesting that a calibration be performed. In at least one embodiment, the EFCM system 150 adjusts the baseline current value by measuring an instantaneous current value (i.e., a calibration current) traveling through a blower 110 immediately after the air filter 120 has been changed. Additionally or alternatively, the EFCM system 150 measures the calibration current value when a dirty air filter is installed. The EFCM system 150 then updates the baseline current value to reflect the calibration current value; Further, the teachings of Bonello which discuss recalibration after filter replacement or cleaning at least imply a continuous monitoring cycle which includes a third period of time after filter cleaning for monitoring the state of the filter since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)), and
operate the fan at the second level for the third period of time and based on a difference between the rotation speed of the fan operated at the second level for the third period of time and the second reference rotation speed, determine whether the filter is clean (Pg. 8, Additionally, in at least one embodiment, the EFCM system 150 periodically updates, or adjusts, the baseline values. Over time as normal wear and tear affect the HVAC system 100, the current and voltage values may naturally and permanently change. As such, in at least one embodiment, every time an air filter 120 is changed the EFCM system 150 recalibrates and generates updated baseline current and voltage values. In an additional or alternative embodiment, periodically the EFCM system 150 generates an indicator requesting that a calibration be performed. In at least one embodiment, the EFCM system 150 adjusts the baseline current value by measuring an instantaneous current value (i.e., a calibration current) traveling through a blower 110 immediately after the air filter 120 has been changed. Additionally or alternatively, the EFCM system 150 measures the calibration current value when a dirty air filter is installed. The EFCM system 150 then updates the baseline current value to reflect the calibration current value; Further, the teachings of Bonello which discuss recalibration after filter replacement or cleaning at least imply a continuous monitoring cycle which includes a third period of time after filter cleaning for monitoring the state of the filter since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Suzuki as modified wherein the reference rotation speed includes: a first reference rotation speed, and a second reference rotation speed, and the controller is further configured to: operate the fan at a first level for the second period of time and based on the rotation speed of the fan operated at the first level, set the first reference rotation speed, operate the fan at a second level higher than the first level for the second period of time and based on the rotation speed of the fan operated at the second level, set the second reference rotation speed, notify that the filter is clogged in response to the rotation speed of the fan operated at the first level being higher than the first reference rotation speed, and notify that the filter is clogged in response to the rotation speed of the fan operated at the second level being higher than the second reference rotation speed; and the controller is further configured to: based on an input indicating the filter is clean being received after notification that the filter is clogged, operate the fan at the first level for a third period of time and based on a difference between the rotation speed of the fan operated at the first level for the third period of time and the first reference rotation speed, determine whether the filter is clean, and operate the fan at the second level for the third period of time and based on a difference between the rotation speed of the fan operated at the second level for the third period of time and the second reference rotation speed, determine whether the filter is clean as taught by Bonello. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide an engineering manager or other individual a substantially real-time indication of the condition of the air filter to improve overall system efficiencies (Bonello, Pg. 9, lines 8-9).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki as modified by Kuramitsu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kasugai et al. (JP 2018204835), hereinafter Kasugai.
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein
the thermoelectric element is configured to operate so that a rate of temperature change of at least one of the heater and the cooler increases (The Peltier engine 4 of Suzuki as modified has the same structure as the claimed thermoelectric element and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed.).
However, Suzuki as modified does not disclose the controller is further configured to:
notify that the filter is clogged in response to:
the rotation speed of the fan being higher than the reference rotation speed, and
after the thermoelectric element is operated, the rate of temperature change of the at least one of the heater and the cooler is smaller than a reference value.
Kasugai teaches the controller is further configured to:
notify that the filter is clogged in response to:
the rotation speed of the fan being higher than the reference rotation speed (Fig. 5, controller 40; Fig. 6, air filter 33, condenser 21; Pg. 3, Therefore, as shown in FIG. 11, the control unit 40 determines that the air filter 33 is clogged when any of determination conditions (1) to (21) described later is satisfied (in FIG. 11 ). S10) and a notification process (in FIG. 11) for turning on the display lamp 34 (notification unit) provided in the operation box 32 when it is determined that the air filter 33 is clogged by the determination process (Yes in S10). S20). When the display lamp 34 is lit, the user can be notified that the air filter 33 is clogged. The control unit 40 can perform the determination process by using the following determination conditions (1) to (21) alone or in combination as appropriate; Pg. 7-8, Determination condition (2-1): The determination condition based on the wind speed of the condenser fan measured by the wind speed sensor is satisfied. Determination condition (2-2): The determination condition based on the air volume of the condenser fan measured by the air volume sensor is satisfied. As shown by a broken line in FIG. 2, for example, the wind speed sensor 54 is provided inside a bracket included in the condenser fan 21 </ b> A, and has a configuration capable of measuring the wind speed of the condenser fan 21 </ b> A. As shown by the broken line in FIG. 2, for example, the air volume sensor 55 is provided inside a bracket provided in the condenser fan 21 </ b> A, and has a configuration capable of measuring the air volume of the condenser fan 21 </ b> A. The installation location of the wind speed sensor 54 and the air volume sensor 55 is not limited to the inside of the bracket, and may be installed between the motor 21 B and the compressor 22, for example. Since the wind speed and air volume of the condenser fan 21A are basically proportional to the actual rotational speed of the motor 21 B, the condenser is considered in the same way as the determination condition (2) based on the actual rotational speed of the motor 21 B. The clogging of the air filter 33 can be determined based on the wind speed or air volume of the fan 21A. That is, in the case where the instruction rotational speed for the motor 21 B can be increased, it is determined that the air filter 33 is clogged when the wind speed (or air volume) of the condenser fan 21A is equal to or higher than a specified value), and
after the refrigeration unit is operated, the rate of temperature change of the at least one of the heater and the cooler is smaller than a reference value (Pg. 8-9, Judgment condition (4): A state where the difference between the measured temperature of the condenser inlet temperature sensor 57 and the measured temperature of the condenser outlet temperature sensor 58 is not more than a specified value has continued for a specified time. As shown in FIG. 4, the condenser inlet temperature sensor 57 is provided on the inlet side of the refrigerant pipe constituting the condenser 21, and can measure the inlet temperature of the condenser 21. Further, the condenser outlet temperature sensor 58 is provided on the outlet side of the refrigerant pipe constituting the condenser 21 so that the outlet temperature of the condenser 21 can be measured. When the air filter 33 is clogged, cooling of the condenser 21 by the condenser fan 21 </ b> A is hindered, so that the difference between the inlet temperature of the condenser 21 and the outlet temperature of the condenser 21 is reduced. Therefore, it can be determined whether the air filter 33 is clogged based on the measured temperature of the condenser inlet temperature sensor 57 and the measured temperature of the condenser outlet temperature sensor 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Suzuki as modified to notify that the filter is clogged in response to: the rotation speed of the fan being higher than the reference rotation speed, and after the thermoelectric element is operated, the rate of temperature change of the at least one of the heater and the cooler is smaller than a reference value as taught by Kasugai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a plurality of metrics for determining the status of the filter to reduce unnecessary filter replacement to improve overall user-friendliness.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki as modified by Kuramitsu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bonello et al. (WO 2017072327), hereinafter Bonello.
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki as modified discloses the refrigerator of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Suzuki as modified does not disclose a communication interface configured to communicate with an external device,
wherein the controller is further configured to transmit information regarding the filter being clogged to the external device through the communication interface in response to the rotation speed of the fan being higher than the reference rotation speed.
Bonello teaches a communication interface configured to communicate with an external device (Fig. 2, communications module 270; Pg. 9, lines 15-20, It should be appreciated that a computing system can be associated with the EFCM system 150. For example, the EFCM system 150 may be interfaced with a separate computing system running application software via a wired or wireless network. In at least one embodiment, a plurality of devices or systems may be interfaced over a standard wired serial bus or may independently communicate with the application wirelessly, such as over Wi-Fi, GPRS or any other suitable wireless technology),
wherein the controller is further configured to transmit information regarding the filter being clogged to the external device through the communication interface in response to the rotation speed of the fan being higher than the reference rotation speed (Fig. 3,flowchart 300, step 320, step 330, Pg. 10, lines 4-20, Figure 3 also shows that the method includes the step 320 of comparing a measured current to a baseline. Step 320 includes comparing, with the one or more processors, the instantaneous current with a baseline current that was previously measured traveling through the blower. For instance, Figure 2 and the accompanying description depict and describe processor(s) 210 that receive sensor readings from the sensors 280. During calibration the processor determines baseline voltage and current values, which are stored in the memory store 200. The processor(s) 210 then IO compare instantaneous current values to the stored baseline current values. Additionally, Figure 3 shows that the method includes a step 330 of generating a filter condition indicator. Step 330 includes based upon the comparison, generating a filter condition indicator related to the cleanliness of the air filter. For instance, Figure 2 and the accompanying description depict and describe a communications module 270 arranged to communicate at least a portion of the filter condition information to an intended recipient. In at least one embodiment, the intended recipient comprises a graphical user interface associated with a computer system. Further, the methods may be practiced by a computer system including one or more processors and computer-readable media such as computer memory. In particular, the computer memory may store computer-executable instructions that when executed by one or more processors cause various functions to be performed, such as the acts recited in the embodiments).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerator of Suzuki as modified to include a communication interface configured to communicate with an external device and to further reprogram the controller of Suzuki as modified wherein the controller is further configured to transmit information regarding the filter being clogged to the external device through the communication interface in response to the rotation speed of the fan being higher than the reference rotation speed as taught by Bonello. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide an engineering manager or other individual a substantially real-time indication of the condition of the air filter to improve overall system efficiencies (Bonello, Pg. 9, lines 8-9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Caldarola (US Patent No. 4,891,949) discloses a similar refrigerator with a filter configured to filter foreign materials from the air brought from outside the main body to the heater by operation of the fan.
Yoon (US Patent No. 12,215,914) discloses a similar refrigerator with a filter configured to filter foreign materials from the air brought from outside the main body to the heater by operation of the fan.
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 October 16th, 2026