DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a optical subsystem (Claim 1, 3-6)
an electronic subsystem (Claim 1)
a controller (Claim 1, 7-8, 17, 20)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WOLF et al. (2017/0059488).
Claim 1
WOLF et al. (2017/0059488) an optical system for sensing molecular species (See Fig. 3), comprising: an optical subsystem having a telescope (Fig. 3, Ref. 32; Newtonian telescope) configured to receive a signal corresponding to a sample (Fig. 3, Ref. 31; Sample); an electronics subsystem (Fig. 3, Ref. 37; electronic PMT with filter Ref. 35) configured to sample and filter the signal; and a controller (Fig. 3, Ref. 38; data acquisition system) configured to analyze the signal for characteristics corresponding to a molecular species (Para. 0057; pathogen etc..).
Claim 2
WOLF et al. (2017/0059488) discloses the controller (Fig. 3, Ref. 38) is configured to: determine, responsive to analyzing the signal, that a threshold level of characteristics corresponding to the molecular species is met; and identify the molecular species as a type of molecular species (Para. 0042; further see prior art Claim 7).
Claim 5
WOLF et al. (2017/0059488) discloses the optical subsystem includes a detector configured to sense light (Fig. 37, 39; PMT).
Claim 7
WOLF et al. (2017/0059488) discloses the controller is further configured to synchronize laser pulses from a laser to produce high-resolution timing signals from the received signal (Para. 0053-0056).
Claim 17
WOLF et al. (2017/0059488) discloses an optical system for sensing molecular species (See Fig. 3), comprising: a telescope (Fig. 3, Ref. 32) configured to receive a signal corresponding to a sample (Fig. 3, Ref. 31); at least one filter (Fig. 3, Ref. 35) and converter (Fig. 3, Ref. 37) configured to process the received signal; and a controller (Fig. 3, Ref. 38) configured to analyze the signal for characteristics corresponding to a molecular species (Para. 0057; pathogen etc..) including to determine that a threshold level of characteristics corresponding to the molecular species is met and identify the molecular species as a type of molecular species (Para. 0042; further see prior art Claim 7).
Claim 20
WOLF et al. (2017/0059488) discloses the controller is further configured to synchronize laser pulses from a laser to produce high-resolution timing signals from the received signal (Para. 0053-0056).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 8, 9, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WOLF et al. (2017/0059488).
Claim 3-4, 18
WOLF et al. (2017/0059488) discloses the claimed invention except for optical subsystem includes a scanning confocal arranged on the telescope to receive the signal corresponding to the sample or a scanning confocal arranged on the telescope to receive the signal corresponding to the sample and the scanning confocal includes an imaging relay having a pair of lenses and at least one mirror, wherein the at least one mirror is configured to scan the received signal and de-scan a retuning signal. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify WOLF et al. (2017/0059488) with a scanning confocal with optical elements on a telescope since it was well known in the art that using a confocal system combines the high axial resolution of confocal imaging with the ability to collect and focus the weak fluorescence signal from each scanned point, enabling clear, high-resolution 2D or 3D images of samples. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 6, 19
WOLF et al. (2017/0059488) discloses the claimed invention except for optical subsystem includes a silicon photomultiplier (SiPM) for single photon detection. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify WOLF et al. (2017/0059488) with the optical subsystem includes a silicon photomultiplier (SiPM) for single photon detection since it was well known in the art that a silicon photomultiplier is used in a telescope-based photo-scanning confocal because it offers single-photon sensitivity, high gain, compact size, magnetic field tolerance, fast response, and low operating voltage, all of which are critical for detecting faint, spatially resolved signals in a confocal telescope setup. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 8
WOLF et al. (2017/0059488) discloses the claimed invention except for the controller is further configured to instruct centroiding on a return signal to extract radiation dynamics from the return signal. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify WOLF et al. (2017/0059488) with the centroiding on a return signal since it was well known in the art that instruct centroiding on the return signal extracts the precise location and intensity of the radiation source, enabling accurate, repeatable, and high-sensitivity measurements of radiation dynamics in a confocal telescope setup. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 9
WOLF et al. (2017/0059488) discloses the radiation dynamics includes the characteristics corresponding to the molecular species (Para. 0057; one derives an assessment of the probability that the suspect cloud is mainly formed by biological substances or “harmless” AH. This could be applied, e.g., when checking a typical bioterrorisin threat consisting of sprays of pathogen bacteria, like anthrax, yersina pestis, or liquid drops containing viruses).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-16 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious a method for sensing molecular species having the steps of receiving a signal from a detector and acquiring pulses on an analog to digital converter until a total pulse or per pixel amount is reached; instructing at least one mirror to move; instructing a laser to generate laser pulses; in response to the number of pixels being reached, analyze the signals; and display result data to user based on the analyzing, wherein the results identify a molecular species corresponding to the result data, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claim 10. Claims 11-16 are allowed by the virtue of dependency on the allowed claim 10.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 July 17, 2026