DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, and 4-21 were filed with the amendment dated 07/07/2026. Claim 3 was canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/07/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments overcome the previously set forth 35 USC 112 rejections.
With regard to the 35 USC 102 rejections over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0080289 (“Arbogast”) and U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2006/0196952 (“Willsford”), Applicant argues that neither references teaches a pressure sensor positioned between the thermal diverter and the mixer valve. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2008/0105305 (“Lum”). Lum is relied upon for teaching the pressure sensor, as set forth below.
The rejection is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 17, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0080289 (“Arbogast”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2008/0105305 (“Lum”).
With regard to claim 1, Arbogast discloses a wait water collection system (Fig 9) comprising: at least one water input (7) coupled to a water line (11+18+17+24); a thermal diverter (37) positioned on the water line, wherein the thermal diverter (37) adjusts based on whether a temperature of water from the at least one water input (7) meets a temperature threshold (temperature measured at sensor 12 sends signal to electronic board 39 to control valve 37 based on the temperature, which directs toward output at 2 or expansion vessel 21; para [0095]); an expansion vessel (21) positioned to receive the water from the thermal diverter (37) in a first position (valve 37 open towards 17/22); a mixer valve (4; para [0064]) positioned to receive the water from the thermal diverter (37) in a second position (37 open towards 15); and an outlet (outlet, as so broadly recited can be the outlet from faucet shown in Fig 9 or the outlet to the toilet 45/46, see Fig 9); wherein when the temperature of the water meets or exceeds the temperature threshold, the water is directed to the mixer valve (4; see Fig 9) via the thermal diverter (37) in the second position (37 open towards 15); and wherein when the temperature of the water falls below the temperature threshold, the water is directed to the expansion vessel (21; para [0095]; see Fig 9) via the thermal diverter (37) in the first position (37 open towards 17/22; see paras [0115]-[0117]).
Arbogast discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a pressure sensor positioned between the thermal diverter and the mixer valve, wherein the pressure sensor is configured to determine a pressure of the water flowing from the thermal diverter to the mixer valve.
Lum teaches that it is known in the art to modify a water collection system with a mixer valve (at faucet 12 for cold and hot water inlets 40, 42), valve (20) adjacent a vessel (22), and a plurality of sensors 26 (see Fig 1), including a pressure sensor (26: para [0031]: “the sensor 26 may constitute a pressure sensor”) positioned between the thermal diverter (valve 20) and the mixer valve (faucet fixture 12), wherein the pressure sensor (260 is configured to determine a pressure of the water flowing from the thermal diverter to the mixer valve (para [0031], see also annotated Fig 1 showing location of pressure sensor 26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a pressure sensor positioned between the thermal diverter and the mixer valve, such as taught by Lum, in the system of Arbogast for the purpose of providing a pressure sensor to “detect a flow characteristic of either a pressure value at a particular point within the water circulation system 10, or a change in pressure within the water circulation system 10 to detect flow” as taught by Lum (para [0031] and Fig 1).
With regard to claim 4, Arbogast discloses an inlet gate valve (as so broadly recited, valve 23 is an inlet gate valve allowing water to inlet into line 28) and a drain gate valve (valve 53 is a drain gate valve because allows water to drain out of system toward 45/46/47).
Alternatively, with regard to claim 4, Arbogast discloses a four way valve (53). Arbogast discloses that the 4 way valve (53) can replace valve (30) and valve (32) of Fig 7 (see para [0147]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the 4 way valve (53) of Arbogast back to two valves (32) and (30), since the valves are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art (see Arbogast at para [0147]).
Thus, with the substitution of valves 30 and 32 for valve 53, Arbogast discloses an inlet gate valve (32) and a drain valve (30) (compare Figs 7 and 9 and para [00147] [0148]).
With regard to claim 5, the combination (as modified above) discloses that when the pressure sensor (34 of Arbogast, 26 of Lum) determines that the pressure meets or exceeds a pressure threshold, the inlet gate valve (32) closes and the drain gate valve (30) opens (para [0137]: “When the pressure inside the storage container VE (21) measured by the pressure sensor C.sub.P (34) is positive or reaches a threshold value adjusted and stored in the electronic board, the third valve V.sub.3 (30) is preferably open and the fourth valve V.sub.4 (32) is preferably closed”) (note: valve 53 replaces valves 30 and 32 – “the coupling (48), the third valve V.sub.3 (30) and the fourth valve V.sub.4 (32) can also be replaced by a four-way valve V′.sub.34 (53)” para [0147]) (Lum teaches pressure sensor 26 is used to control flow by communicating with a controller 28 (see paras [0033] [0034] [0031]).
With regard to claim 7, Arbogast discloses that when the drain gate valve (53) is open, water from the expansion vessel flows directly out of the wait water collection system via the outlet (45/46/47).
With regard to claim 17, Arbogast discloses a wait water collection system (Fig 9) comprising: at least two water inputs (7 and 8; para [0073]) coupled to at least two water lines (11/15/17/24 and 36/35); a thermal diverter (37) positioned on one of the at least two water lines (see Fig 9 on 11/15/17/24), wherein the thermal diverter (37) adjusts based on whether a temperature of water from the one of the at least two water inputs meets a temperature threshold (temperature measured at sensor 12 sends signal to electronic board 39 to control valve 37 based on the temperature, which directs toward output at 2 or expansion vessel 21; para [0095]); and an expansion vessel (21; para [0078]) positioned downstream from the thermal diverter (37, see Fig 9); wherein when the temperature of the water falls below the temperature threshold, the water is directed to the expansion vessel via the thermal diverter (37) in a first position (when 37 open towards 17/22) (21; para [0095]; see Fig 9), and wherein when the temperature of the water meets or exceeds the temperature threshold, the water is directed toward a fixture (2/4) in a second position (when 37 is open towards 18; see paras [0115]-[0117]).
Arbogast discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a pressure sensor positioned downstream from the thermal diverter, wherein the pressure sensor is configured to determine a pressure of the water flowing from the thermal diverter.
Lum teaches that it is known in the art to modify a water collection system with a mixer valve (at faucet 12 for cold and hot water inlets 40, 42), valve (20) adjacent a vessel (22), and a plurality of sensors 26 (see Fig 1), including a pressure sensor (26: para [0031]: “the sensor 26 may constitute a pressure sensor”) positioned downstream from the thermal diverter (valve 20), wherein the pressure sensor (260 is configured to determine a pressure of the water flowing from the thermal diverter (para [0031], see also annotated Fig 1 showing location of pressure sensor 26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a pressure sensor positioned downstream from the thermal diverter, such as taught by Lum, in the system of Arbogast for the purpose of providing a pressure sensor to “detect a flow characteristic of either a pressure value at a particular point within the water circulation system 10, or a change in pressure within the water circulation system 10 to detect flow” as taught by Lum (para [0031] and Fig 1).
With regard to claim 18, Arbogast discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that the expansion vessel has a capacity of 6 to 16 liters.
Arbogast does disclose an expansion vessel (21).
Applicant has not disclosed that having the expansion vessel have a capacity between 6 and 16 liters solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Rather, the specification states: “[t]he expansion vessel 50 may be any suitable capacity” (para [0036]).
Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the expansion vessel of Arbogast any suitable size, such as having a capacity between 6 and 16 liters because the size/capacity of the expansion vessel does not appear to provide any unexpected results.
With regard to claim 19, Arbogast discloses that the expansion vessel (21) includes an expansion vessel port (at line 22 to 26) for at least one of inputting and outputting (both, see Fig 9) water into the expansion vessel (para [079]).
With regard to claim 20, the combination teaches that when the pressure sensor (26 from Lum) determines that the pressure of the water meets or exceeds a pressure threshold, a drain gate valve (valve 53 is a drain gate valve because allows water to drain out of system toward 45/46/47)) is opened and water from the expansion vessel (21) flows out of the wait water collection system via an outlet (45/46/47) (“pressure inside the storage container VE (21) measured by the pressure sensor C.sub.P (34) is positive or reaches a threshold value adjusted and stored in the electronic board, the third valve V.sub.3 (30) is preferably open … such that the cooled water from the storage container VE (21) passes through the non-return device (23) to serve as cold water at the at least one other household installation (45), here a toilet (46) and a washing machine (47)” para [00137] or Arbogast) (note: valve 53 replaces valves 30 and 32 – “the coupling (48), the third valve V.sub.3 (30) and the fourth valve V.sub.4 (32) can also be replaced by a four-way valve V′.sub.34 (53)” para [0147]) (Lum teaches pressure sensor 26 is used to control flow by communicating with a controller 28 (see paras [0033] [0034] [0031]).
Claims 1, 2, 17, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2006/0196952 (“Willsford”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2008/0105305 (“Lum”).
With regard to claim 1, Willsford discloses a wait water collection system (Fig 1) comprising: at least one water input (input from 11 to 12) coupled to a water line (12); a thermal diverter (18) positioned on the water line (12), wherein the thermal diverter (18) adjusts based on whether a temperature of water from the at least one water input meets a temperature threshold (para [0048]); an expansion vessel (19, para [0048]) positioned to receive the water from the thermal diverter (18) in a first position (when 18 opened toward 21); a mixer valve (13, para [0047]) positioned to receive the water from the thermal diverter (18) in a second position (when 18 open toward 13/14); and an outlet (outlet as so broadly recited can be the outlet from the faucet near 13 in Fig 1 or the outlet can be considered the outlet from tank 19 at outlet 23, para [0048]); wherein when the temperature of the water meets or exceeds the temperature threshold, the water is directed to the mixer valve (13; see fig 1) via the thermal diverter in the second position (18 open toward 13/14); and wherein when the temperature of the water is below the temperature threshold, the water is directed to the expansion vessel (19) via the thermal diverter (18) in the first position (18 open toward 21) (if water temperature is below a threshold, then diverter 18 sends water to vessel 19, otherwise water continues to 13, see Fig 1 and para [0048]).
Willsford discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a pressure sensor positioned between the thermal diverter and the mixer valve, wherein the pressure sensor is configured to determine a pressure of the water flowing from the thermal diverter to the mixer valve.
Lum teaches that it is known in the art to modify a water collection system with a mixer valve (at faucet 12 for cold and hot water inlets 40, 42), valve (20) adjacent a vessel (22), and a plurality of sensors 26 (see Fig 1), including a pressure sensor (26: para [0031]: “the sensor 26 may constitute a pressure sensor”) positioned between the thermal diverter (valve 20) and the mixer valve (faucet fixture 12), wherein the pressure sensor (260 is configured to determine a pressure of the water flowing from the thermal diverter to the mixer valve (para [0031], see also annotated Fig 1 showing location of pressure sensor 26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a pressure sensor positioned between the thermal diverter and the mixer valve, such as taught by Lum, in the system of Willsford for the purpose of providing a pressure sensor to “detect a flow characteristic of either a pressure value at a particular point within the water circulation system 10, or a change in pressure within the water circulation system 10 to detect flow” as taught by Lum (para [0031] and Fig 1).
With regard to claim 2, Willsford discloses a venturi (15) configured to direct the water from the expansion vessel (19) toward the mixer valve (14) (see para [0047] and para [0048]: “as mains pressure water flows through the venturi device from the main inlet to the main outlet, it "sucks in" water from the storage tank”).
With regard to claim 17, Willsford discloses a wait water collection system (Fig 1) comprising: at least two water inputs (from 11 to 12 and input at 31) coupled to at least two water lines (line at 12 and line at 16); a thermal diverter (18, para [0048]) positioned on one of the at least two water lines (on 12), wherein the thermal diverter (18) adjusts based on whether a temperature of water from the one of the at least two water inputs meets a temperature threshold (para [0048]); and an expansion vessel (19, para [0048]) positioned downstream from the thermal diverter (18) (see Fig 1); wherein when the temperature of the water falls below the temperature threshold, the water is directed to the expansion vessel (19) via the thermal diverter (18) in a first position (when 18 opened toward 21) (para [0048]: “the diverter valve is arranged to divert cooled standing water in the hot water delivery pipe to a storage tank 19 via the cooled water diversion pipe 21 which is connected to storage tank inlet 22”), and wherein when the temperature of the water meets or exceeds the temperature threshold, the water is directed toward a fixture (13) via the thermal diverter (18) in a second position (when 18 open toward 14).
Willsford discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a pressure sensor positioned downstream from the thermal diverter, wherein the pressure sensor is configured to determine a pressure of the water flowing from the thermal diverter.
Lum teaches that it is known in the art to modify a water collection system with a fixture (12), valve (20) adjacent a vessel (22), and a plurality of sensors 26 (see Fig 1), including a pressure sensor (26: para [0031]: “the sensor 26 may constitute a pressure sensor”) positioned downstream from the thermal diverter (valve 20) (and between the valve 20 and the fixture 12), wherein the pressure sensor (260 is configured to determine a pressure of the water flowing from the thermal diverter (para [0031], see also annotated Fig 1 showing location of pressure sensor 26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a pressure sensor positioned downstream from the thermal diverter, such as taught by Lum, in the system of Willsford for the purpose of providing a pressure sensor to “detect a flow characteristic of either a pressure value at a particular point within the water circulation system 10, or a change in pressure within the water circulation system 10 to detect flow” as taught by Lum (para [0031] and Fig 1).
With regard to claim 18, Willsford discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that the expansion vessel has a capacity of 6 to 16 liters.
Willsford does disclose an expansion vessel (19).
Applicant has not disclosed that having the expansion vessel have a capacity between 6 and 16 liters solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Rather, the specification states: “[t]he expansion vessel 50 may be any suitable capacity” (para [0036]).
Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the expansion vessel of Willsford any suitable size, such as having a capacity between 6 and 16 liters because the size/capacity of the expansion vessel does not appear to provide any unexpected results.
With regard to claim 19, Willsford discloses that the expansion vessel (19) includes an expansion vessel port (22) for at least one of inputting and outputting water into the expansion vessel (22 inputs water into the expansion vessel).
Claims 9, 10, 11, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/080289 (“Arbogast”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2008/0105305 (“Lum”) and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2006/0196952 (“Willsford”).
With regard to claim 9, Arbogast discloses a wait water collection system (Fig 9) comprising: a first media input (7) providing a first media (hot water) to a first media line (11+18+17+24); a second media input (8) providing a second media (cold water, para [0073])) to a second media line (36+35); a thermal diverter (37) positioned on the first media line (11+18+17+24), wherein the thermal diverter (37) adjusts based on whether a temperature of the first media meets a temperature threshold (temperature measured at sensor 12 sends signal to electronic board 39 to control valve 37 based on the temperature, which directs toward output at 2 or expansion vessel 21; para [0095]); a pressure sensor (34) positioned on the first media line (11+18+17+24); an expansion vessel (21), wherein when the temperature of the first media (hot water from 7) falls below the temperature threshold, the thermal diverter (37) causes the first media to flow into the expansion vessel (21; para [0095]); a mixer valve (4; para [0064]) coupled to each of the first media line (11+18+17+24) and the second media line (36+35) (see Fig 9), wherein the first media and the second media (hot and cold water) mixes into a water output (mixed water for faucet, see Fig 9, para [0065]); and an outlet (outlet, as so broadly recited can be the outlet from faucet shown in Fig 9 or the outlet to the toilet 45/46, see Fig 9) for providing the water output to a user (see Fig 9).
Arbogast discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a venturi positioned on the second media line, wherein when the first media fills the expansion vessel, the venturi draws the first media out of the expansion vessel into the second media line and that the mixer valve is downstream from the pressure sensor, wherein the pressure sensor is configured to determine a pressure of the first media flowing from the thermal diverter toward the mixer valve.
Willsford teaches that it is known in the art to modify a wait water collection system, similar to that of Arbogast, to include a venturi (15) positioned on the second media line (cold line at 17/16), wherein when the first media fills the expansion vessel (19), the venturi (15) draws the first media (hot water) out of the expansion vessel (19) into the second media line (17/16) for the purpose of providing an effective method of water recovery without the need for and additional external power source (para [0029]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to a venturi device, such as taught by Willsford, to the joining of first media exiting the expansion vessel and joining the first media in the second media line of Arbogast, for the purpose of providing an efficient mechanism to draw water to join the cold water line (paras [0016] and [0029]).
Arbogast (as modified by Willsford above) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a pressure sensor positioned downstream from the thermal diverter, the mixer valve is downstream from the pressure sensor, wherein the pressure sensor is configured to determine a pressure of the first media flowing from the thermal diverter toward the mixer valve.
Lum teaches that it is known in the art to modify a water collection system with a mixer valve (at faucet 12 for cold and hot water inlets 40, 42), diverter/valve (20) adjacent a vessel (22), and a plurality of sensors 26 (see Fig 1), including a pressure sensor (26: para [0031]: “the sensor 26 may constitute a pressure sensor”) positioned downstream from the thermal diverter (valve 20); the mixer valve (faucet fixture 12) is downstream from the pressure sensor (see Fig 1), wherein the pressure sensor (26 is configured to determine a pressure of the first media flowing from the thermal diverter to the mixer valve (para [0031], see also annotated Fig 1 showing location of pressure sensor 26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a pressure sensor positioned between the thermal diverter and the mixer valve, such as taught by Lum, in the system of Arbogast for the purpose of providing a pressure sensor to “detect a flow characteristic of either a pressure value at a particular point within the water circulation system 10, or a change in pressure within the water circulation system 10 to detect flow” as taught by Lum (para [0031] and Fig 1).
With regard to claim 10, Arbogast (as modified above) discloses a four way valve (53). Arbogast discloses that the 4 way valve (53) is a substitution for valve (30) and valve (32) of Fig 7 (see para [0147]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the 4 way valve (53) of Arbogast back to two valves (32) and (30), since the valves are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art (see Arbogast at para [0147]).
Thus, with the substitution of valves 30 and 32 for valve 53, Arbogast discloses an inlet gate valve (32) and a drain valve (30) (compare Figs 7 and 9 and para [00147] [0148]).
With regard to claim 11, Arbogast (as modified above) discloses that when the pressure sensor (34) determines that the pressure meets or exceeds a pressure threshold, the inlet gate valve (32) closes and the drain gate valve (30) opens (para [0137]: “When the pressure inside the storage container VE (21) measured by the pressure sensor C.sub.P (34) is positive or reaches a threshold value adjusted and stored in the electronic board, the third valve V.sub.3 (30) is preferably open and the fourth valve V.sub.4 (32) is preferably closed”) (Lum teaches pressure sensor 26 is used to control flow by communicating with a controller 28 (see paras [0033] [0034] [0031]).
With regard to claim 13, Arbogast (as modified above) discloses that when the drain gate valve (30) is open, water from the expansion vessel flows directly out of the wait water collection system via the outlet (outlet at usage point 2, see Fig 9).
With regard to claim 15, Arbogast (as modified above) discloses that when the temperature of the first media (hot water) meets or exceeds the temperature threshold, the first media is directed to the mixer valve (4) (temperature measured at sensor 12 sends signal to electronic board 39 to control valve 37 based on the temperature, which directs toward output at 2 or expansion vessel 21; para [0095]; see also Fig 9).
With regard to claim 16, Arbogast (as modified above) discloses that the first media is hot water (from 7), and wherein the second media is cold water (from 8) (7 is hot water intake, 8 is cold water intake; para [0073]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 12, 14, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art references of record are: U.S. Pat. Pub. Nos. 2020/0080289 (“Arbogast”), 2006/0196952 (“Willsford”), and U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2008/0105305 (“Lum”). Both Arbogast and Willsford fail to teach or suggest each and every claimed limitation in claims 6, 8, 12, 14, and 21. For example, Willsford fails to teach a pressure sensor or controlling valves based on pressure. Arbogast discloses a pressure sensor, but does not teach that when the pressure is low, the inlet gate valve opens and drain gate valve closes. Rather, when the pressure is low, both valves open (see para [0136]). Furthermore, neither valve discloses water flowing from the expansion vessel to the mixer valve when the drain gate valve is closed. Furthermore, neither Willsford nor Arbogast nor Lum teach that the pressure sensor is connected to an inlet gate valve and drain gate valve via a pilot tube. It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Arbogast or Willsford or Lum (taken together or separately) to arrive at the claimed invention without improper hindsight reasoning or changing the principle of operation of the references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753