DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,238,456. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to providing previews of virtual expo booths, without having to join the to the virtual expo booth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over May (US 2020/0412781 A1) in view of Lucarelli (US 2003/0156135 A1).
With regards to Claim 1, May teaches a method comprising: establishing a virtual expo including a plurality of virtual expo booths (i.e., According to one embodiment, a server generates a dedicated virtual environment for a particular attendee of various attendees of a network security training session, which is part of a virtual conference demonstrating network security products… which represents a simulated conference environment with each network security product from one or more vendors being demonstrated as a virtual booth represented in the conference environment. The game client causes the particular attendee to navigate in the 3D user interface to a first virtual booth selected from various virtual booths to access a first learning objective relating to a first network security product from a first vendor corresponding to the first booth, Paragraph 10) ; joining a first client device to the virtual expo (i.e., FIG. 3A depicts a screen shot 300 containing a login screen for an attendee of a virtual conference in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The kiosk login screen prompts the attendee to provide unique identifier in the form of login credentials (e.g., username/email address and password). In an exemplary embodiment, each attendee can be provided with a V-token or a virtual ticket so that the attendees can use V-tokens or virtual tickets to form a team to participate during training sessions…, Paragraph 91; In the conference area, multiple booths can represent demonstrations of network security products from various vendors…, Paragraph 93).
However, May does not explicitly disclose receiving a request, from the first client device, to preview content available within a first vir0tual expo booth of the plurality of virtual expo booths; and responsive to the request, transmitting a preview of first content available within the first virtual expo booth to the first client device. Lucarelli does teach receiving a request, from the first client device, to preview content available within a first virtual expo booth of the plurality of virtual expo booths; and responsive to the request, transmitting a preview of first content available within the first virtual expo booth to the first client device (i.e., The avatar 50 is shown standing in the exhibit booth 46 moving from a 4-screen flat panel video display 54 to a single flat panel display 56. Both displays 54, 56 are showing a pre-recorded motion video In addition to motion video, exhibit booths can include supplemental information in pre-recorded animation sequences, interactive animation models, still-frame pictures, graphic images, slide presentations, lighting and other special effects, audio tones, pre-recorded audio narrations, pre-recorded audio messages, documents, controls (e.g., buttons or pop-up menus), and hyperlinks. Such features can also be initiated automatically based on the user's proximity to an item within the exhibit booth or by selection of embedded controls., Paragraph 50). in order to provide a system for users to participate in a 3-D virtual reality environment of a tradeshow (Paragraph 8). Therefore, based on May in view of Lucarelli, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Lucarelli with the system of May in order to provide a system for users to participate in a 3-D virtual reality environment of a tradeshow.
With regards to Claim 5, May teaches wherein transmitting the preview of the first content comprises transmitting one or more multimedia streams associated with the first virtual expo booth, and not transmitting one or more client multimedia streams from the first client device to one or more members of the virtual expo booth. (i.e., Each virtual booth is associated with a learning objective (e.g. video demonstration of the network security product) such that the attendee can learn about the network security product by completing (e.g. watching video) the learning objective, Paragraph 31).
The limitations of Claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 12 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 5 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 15 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Claims 2-3, 7, 9-10, 14, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over May (US 2020/0412781 A1) in view of Lucarelli (US 2003/0156135 A1) in view of Singh (US 2019/0005717 A1).
With regards to Claim 2, May and Lucarelli teach the above disclosed subject matter. However, May and Lucarelli do not explicitly disclose further comprising, responsive to the request, not joining the first client device to the first virtual expo booth. Singh does teach further comprising, responsive to the request, not joining the first client device to the first virtual expo booth (i.e., providing a preview of the second VR immersive space on a surface of the portal located in the first VR immersive space, Paragraph 4; Paragraphs 10-11; Figure 6, Items 1202/1206; preview of second VR immersive space is provided in first VR immersive space before the user opts to enter second VR immersive space, ) in order to link a first virtual reality immersive space with a second VR immersive space (Paragraph 4). Therefore, based on May in view of Lucarelli and further view of Singh, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Singh with the system of May and Lucarelli in order to link a first virtual reality immersive space with a second VR immersive space.
With regards to Claim 3, May and Lucarelli teach the above disclosed subject matter. However, May and Lucarelli do not explicitly disclose further comprising, after transmitting the preview of the first content, receiving a request to join the first virtual expo booth. Singh does teach further comprising, after transmitting the preview of the first content, receiving a request to join the first virtual expo booth (i.e., selection by the user comprises having the user virtually walk through the portal, Paragraph 12) in order to link a first virtual reality immersive space with a second VR immersive space (Paragraph 4). Therefore, based on May in view of Lucarelli and further view of Singh, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Singh with the system of May and Lucarelli in order to link a first virtual reality immersive space with a second VR immersive space.
With regards to Claim 7, May teaches the above disclosed subject matter. However, May does not explicitly disclose wherein the request to preview the content comprises a request to preview the content of a first virtual presentation of a plurality of virtual presentations available within the virtual expo booth. Lucarelli does teach wherein the request to preview the content comprises a request to preview the content of a first virtual presentation of a plurality of virtual presentations available within the virtual expo booth (i.e., The avatar 50 is shown standing in the exhibit booth 46 moving from a 4-screen flat panel video display 54 to a single flat panel display 56. Both displays 54, 56 are showing a pre-recorded motion video In addition to motion video, exhibit booths can include supplemental information in pre-recorded animation sequences, interactive animation models, still-frame pictures, graphic images, slide presentations, lighting and other special effects, audio tones, pre-recorded audio narrations, pre-recorded audio messages, documents, controls (e.g., buttons or pop-up menus), and hyperlinks. Such features can also be initiated automatically based on the user's proximity to an item within the exhibit booth or by selection of embedded controls., Paragraph 50) in order to provide a system for users to participate in a 3-D virtual reality environment of a tradeshow (Paragraph 8). Therefore, based on May in view of Lucarelli, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Lucarelli with the system of May in order to provide a system for users to participate in a 3-D virtual reality environment of a tradeshow.
May and Lucarelli do not explicitly disclose joining the first client device to the virtual expo booth and not joining the first client device to the first virtual presentation. Singh does teach joining the first client device to the virtual expo booth (i.e., selection by the user comprises having the user virtually walk through the portal, Paragraph 12) and not joining the first client device to the first virtual presentation (i.e., providing a preview of the second VR immersive space on a surface of the portal located in the first VR immersive space, Paragraph 4; Paragraphs 10-11; Figure 6, Items 1202/1206; preview of second VR immersive space is provided in first VR immersive space before the user opts to enter second VR immersive space) in order to link a first virtual reality immersive space with a second VR immersive space (Paragraph 4). Therefore, based on May in view of Lucarelli and further view of Singh, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Singh with the system of May and Lucarelli in order to link a first virtual reality immersive space with a second VR immersive space.
The limitations of Claim 9 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 2 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 10 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 3 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 14 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 7 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 16 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 2 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 17 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 3 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 20 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 7 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 11, 13, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 June 6, 2926