DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 4/14/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high-temperature” in claims 9 and 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-temperature” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The metes and bounds of “high-temperature” are unclear.
In claims 14 and 15, it is unclear how the heating member can be configured to radiate one of laser or light, when claim 13 specifically requires heating by convention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by French et al. (6,012,624) (hereafter French).
A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951).
With respect to claim 1, French teaches apparatus for repairing a solder ball (the underline portions of the claim are merely intended use) comprising: a base (10) comprising an upper surface on which a substrate (11/13) is disposed; a cover (30) forming an internal space together with the base (10); a flux receiving member (flux vaporizer 35) disposed around (broadest reasonable interpretation) the substrate disposed on the base (figures 1-2; and column 3, line 12-column 4, line 33); and a heating member (plate heated by the hot gas) configured to heat a flux received in the flux receiving member, wherein the flux received in the flux receiving member is vaporized, by an indirect application method (figures 1-2; and column 3, lines 48-58), and applied to a solder ball having a defective shape formed on the substrate. Note that the material worked upon, i.e., a solder ball, does not limit the structure of the claimed apparatus. See MPEP 2115.
With respect to claim 2, the structure of the solder ball, and the processes of re-melting and removing oxide do not limit the structure of the claimed apparatus.
With respect to claim 3, French teaches wherein a flux supply module (flux sump 40) configured to supply the flux is connected to the flux receiving member (45) (figure 2; and column 3, lines 48-58).
With respect to claim 8, French teaches wherein the heating member is configured to provide heat by convection (figures 1-2; and column 3, line 12-column 4, line 33).
With respect to claim 9, French teaches wherein the heating member is configured to provide convection heat by high-temperature (broadest reasonable interpretation) air (figures 1-2; and column 3, line 12-column 4, line 33).
With respect to claim 13, French teaches an apparatus for repairing a solder ball (the underline portions of the claim are merely intended use), comprising: a base (10) comprising an upper surface on which a substrate (11/13) is disposed; a cover (30) forming an internal space together with the base (10); a flux receiving member (flux vaporizer 35) disposed around (broadest reasonable interpretation) the substrate disposed on the base (figures 1-2; and column 3, line 12-column 4, line 33); a heating member (plate heated by the hot gas) configured to heat a flux received in the flux receiving member (figures 1-2; and column 3, lines 48-58); and a flux supply module (flux sump 40) connected to the flux receiving member and configured to supply the flux, wherein the flux received in the flux receiving member is heated, vaporized, flows within the internal space formed by the base and the cover by convection (figures 1-2; and column 3, lines 48-58), and applied to a solder ball having a defective shape formed on the substrate. Note that the material worked upon, i.e., a solder ball, does not limit the structure of the claimed apparatus. See MPEP 2115.
With respect to claim 16, French teaches wherein the heating member is configured to provide convection heat by high-temperature (broadest reasonable interpretation) air (figures 1-2; and column 3, line 12-column 4, line 33).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 10-12, 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-15 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735