DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 02/24/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,260,002 (US 12260002 B2, hereinafter “Patent”). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application are broader in every aspect than the corresponding claims of Patent (US 12260002 B2) and are therefore anticipated by claims 1-12 of Patent (US 12260002 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-20, the claims are determined to be directed to an abstract idea of comparing data and displaying results of collection based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claim as a whole. The claims disclose comparing anonymized user identifier and displaying lookup results but do not recite any steps beyond the providing the results. Without steps describing further specifics regarding the displaying step, the claims only amount to the abstract idea of comparing data and displaying results of collection. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because simply further clarifying the anonymized user identifier or search results does not constitute adding steps or features beyond the abstract idea of comparing data and displaying results of collection. The involvement of machine with the steps is merely nominally, insignificantly, or tangentially related to the performance of the steps. Without reciting additional elements beyond the abstract idea of comparing data and displaying results of collection, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dickie (US 2023/0104852 A1, hereinafter “Dickie”).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claims 8 and 15), Dickie discloses:
A system, comprising:
a computing device comprising a processor and a memory (devices with processor and memory, Dickie: [0027]); and
machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to at least (applications, Dickie: [0027]):
authenticate the computing device via an authentication service (authenticating via authentication system, Dickie: [0276]);
obtain an anonymized user identifier from the authentication service (receiving anonymous user identifier from authentication system, Dickie: [0196]-[0201]);
display a specified user interface from a provider application using the anonymized user identifier (displaying at client user interface anonymous user identifier, Dickie: [0205]-[0211]);
send a search request to the provider application using the anonymized user identifier (submitting login request to third-party entity using anonymous user identifier, Dickie: [0217]-[0224]); and
display a plurality of results from the search request within the specified user interface (displaying results of login request via interface of third-party entity, Dickie: [0217]-[0252]).
Regarding claim 2, Dickie teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Dickie further discloses:
wherein the computing device is authenticated by logging into an authentication interface via a webpage from the provider application (authenticating via website of third-party entity, Dickie: [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Dickie teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Dickie further discloses:
wherein the anonymized user identifier is unique to individual sessions and individual computing devices (unique anonymous user identifier, Dickie: [0172]-[0183]).
Regarding claim 4, Dickie teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Dickie further discloses:
wherein the results from the search request are tailored to a profile associated with the anonymized user identifier (displaying results of login request based on anonymous user identifier, Dickie: [0217]-[0252]).
Regarding claim 5, Dickie teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Dickie further discloses:
wherein the results from the search request are displayed in compliance with a layout order determined by a layout service based at least in part on the anonymized user identifier or a navigation identifier (displaying results of login request based on anonymous user identifier, Dickie: [0217]-[0252]).
Regarding claim 7, Dickie teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Dickie further discloses:
wherein the anonymized user identifier is an authentication token (creating anonymous user identifier as authentication object, Dickie: [0172]-[0183]).
Regarding claim 9-12, 14, and 16-20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 2-5 and 7. Therefore, claims 9-12, 14, and 16-20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 2-5 and 7 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Fasoli et al. (US 2020/0382455 A1: Systems and Methods of an Anonymous Email Relay), Pasdar (US 2014/0115715 A1: System and Method for Controlling, Obfuscating and Anonymizing Data and Services When Using Provider Services), Cristofaro (US 2014/0089049 A1: Selecting Anonymous Users Based on User Location History), and Kong et al. (US 2015/0242374 A1: Automatic Layout Technology).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/GIL H. LEE/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2454