DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Illumination portion (Claim 1, 7, 9)
Light receiving portion (Claim 1, 2, 5, 10)
First light receiving element (Claim 1, 3)
Processor (Claim 1, 2, 5, 8)
Second light receiving element (Claim 2, 4)
Third light receiving element (Claim 5)
Conveyance portion (Claim 10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohno (2022/0146435).
Claim 1
Ohno (2022/0146435) discloses an optical apparatus (Fig. 9, Ref. 10; optical inspection apparatus) comprising: an illumination portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 14; illumination portion) that is configured to illuminate an object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) relatively moving in a predetermined direction with light (Fig. 9, Ref. 16a conveyance path for moving the object in a predetermined direction), the illumination portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 14) being configured to illuminate a first illumination point of the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) with light having a first wavelength (Para. 0101; first wavelength “blue light”) and illuminate a second illumination point different from the first illumination point of the object with light having a second wavelength different (Para. 0101; second wavelength “red light”) from the first wavelength (Fig. 11, shows the different illuminations Ref. 14a-c illuminating different points), and a line segment (Fig. 9, Ref. R) connecting the first illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) and the second illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2c) intersecting the predetermined direction (Fig. 9, Ref. R); a light receiving portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 12; optical imaging apparatus) including a first light receiving element (Fig. 9, Ref. 26) that is configured to move relative to the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) while maintaining a positional relationship with the illumination portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 14) and that is configured to receive light that passed through the first illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) of the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) and light that passed through the second illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2c), the first light receiving element (Fig. 9, Ref. 26) being configured to distinctively and independently receive the first wavelength and the second wavelength (Para. 0031-0033); and a processor (Fig. 10, Ref. 18; controller, Para. 0024) that is configured to image the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) by a light reception signal of the light that passed through the first illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) and a light reception signal of the light that passed through the second illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2c) (Para. 0025; 0090; 0097; 0130).
Claim 7
Ohno (2022/0146435) discloses the illumination portion (Fig. 11, Ref. 14) uses a projection apparatus (Fig. 12, Ref. 118; beamsplitter) to set the light having the first wavelength (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) and the light having the second wavelength (Fig. 11, Ref. L2c) to light at different irradiation positions (Light is illuminated on different positions alone Fig. 9, Ref. R).
Claim 8
Ohno (2022/0146435) discloses a pixel size (each pixel of an image sensor includes a color channel, Para. 0068) of a projection image (Fig. 9, Ref. 26) projected by the projection apparatus (Fig. 9, Ref. 14) is smaller in the predetermined direction than in a direction orthogonal to the predetermined direction (each pixel in the image sensor is smaller in the predetermined direction), and the processor (Fig. 10, Ref. 18) is configured to image the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) by the projection image (Fig. 11, Ref. 14) and a signal obtained by the first light receiving element (Fig. 9, Ref. 26).
Claim 10
Ohno (2022/0146435) discloses a conveyance apparatus including a conveyance portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 16) that is configured to convey the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) in the predetermined direction (Fig. 9, Ref. 16a) and that is configured to move relative to the illumination portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 14) and the light receiving portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 12).
Claim 11
Ohno (2022/0146435) discloses illuminating a first illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) of an object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) with light having a first wavelength (Para. 0101; first wavelength “blue light”) from an illumination portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 14) and illuminating a second illumination point different (Fig. 11, Ref. L2c) from the first illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) of the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) with light having a second wavelength different (Para. 0101; second wavelength “red light”) from the first wavelength (Para. 0101; first wavelength “blue light”) from the illumination portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 14) while maintaining a relative position of an optical apparatus (Fig. 9, Ref. 10) including the illumination portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 14) and a light receiving portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 12) and moving the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) in a predetermined direction (Fig. 9, Ref. 16a) relative to the illumination portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 14) and the light receiving portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 12); receiving light that passed through the first illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) of the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) and light that passed through the second illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2c) by the light receiving portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 12) including a first light receiving element (Fig. 9, Ref. 26) configured to distinctively and independently receive the first wavelength (Para. 0101; first wavelength “blue light”) and the second wavelength (Para. 0101; second wavelength “red light”); performing imaging of the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) by a light reception signal of the light that passed through the first illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) and a light reception signal of the light that passed through the second illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2c) by the light receiving portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 12), wherein a line segment (Fig. 9, Ref. R) connecting the first illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) and the second illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2c) intersects the predetermined direction (See Fig. 9, 11) (Para. 0025; 0090; 0097; 0130).
Claim 12
Ohno (2022/0146435) discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing an object imaging program for causing a computer to execute (Para. 0024): illuminating a first illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) of an object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) with light having a first wavelength (Para. 0101; first wavelength “blue light”) from an illumination portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 14) and illuminating a second illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2c) different from the first illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) of the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) with light having a second wavelength (Para. 0101; second wavelength “red light”) different from the first wavelength (Para. 0101; first wavelength “blue light”) from the illumination portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 14) while maintaining a relative position (positioned over Ref. 16) of an optical apparatus including the illumination portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 14) and a light receiving portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 12) and moving the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) in a predetermined direction relative (Fig. 9, Ref. 16a) to the illumination portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 14) and the light receiving portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 12), a line segment (Fig. 9, Ref. R) connecting the first illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) and the second illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2c) intersecting the predetermined direction (See Fig. 9, 11); and receiving light that passed through the first illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) of the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) and light that passed through the second illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2c) by the light receiving portion (Fig. 9, Ref. 12) including a first light receiving element (Fig. 9, Ref. 26) configured to distinctively and independently receive the first wavelength (Para. 0101; first wavelength “blue light”) and the second wavelength (Para. 0101; second wavelength “red light”); and performing imaging of the object (Fig. 11, Ref. W) by a light reception signal of the light that passed through the first illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2a) and a light reception signal of the light that passed through the second illumination point (Fig. 11, Ref. L2c) by the light receiving portion (Para. 0025; 0090; 0097; 0130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohno (2022/0146435).
Claim 6
Ohno (2022/0146435) discloses the claimed invention except for the illumination portion uses a diffraction grating to set the light having the first wavelength and the light having the second wavelength to light at different irradiation positions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Ohno (2022/0146435) with a diffraction grating since it was well known in the art that a diffraction grating is used to set the two wavelengths to different irradiation positions because it disperses them into distinct angular paths, enabling spatially separated detection and independent analysis in an optical inspection system. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 9
Ohno (2022/0146435) discloses the claimed invention except for the illumination portion is configured to focus light on an irradiation field size in one direction using a cylindrical lens. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine Ohno (2022/0146435) with a focusing cylindrical lens since it was well known in the art that cylindrical lens are used in the illumination portion of an optical inspection apparatus because it can focus light into a line in one direction, enabling precise, targeted illumination that improves image quality, contrast, and defect detection while minimizing unwanted light. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious optical apparatus according to wherein the light receiving portion further includes a second light receiving element disposed so as to have a spatial position different from a spatial position of the first light receiving element, the second light receiving element is configured to distinctively and independently receive the first wavelength and the second wavelength, and the processor is configured to acquire object information regarding the first illumination point of the object by signals received by the first light receiving element and the second light receiving element, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claim 1. Claims 3-5 would be allowable because of virtue of dependency on the allowable subject matter of claims 1, 2.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 August 27, 2026