DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because it includes reference character (“the connection tube 10”) which is not enclosed within parentheses.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the connection portion” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, “the connection portion” is construed as –the connection port--.
Claims 4-6 dependent from claim 3 are also rejected.
Claim 10 recites “an arrangement direction of the plurality of heat exchange tubes”. It is unclear if the recitation in claim 10 is the same direction or different direction of “an arrangement direction of the plurality of heat exchange tubes” recited in claim 1.
Claim 10 and 14 recites “a distribution tube”. It is unclear if “a distribution tube” is the same tube or different tube of “a distribution tube” in claim 1.
For examination purposes, “an arrangement direction of the plurality of heat exchange tubes” in claim 10 is construed as --arrangement direction of the plurality of heat exchange tubes--; and
“a distribution tube” in claims 10 and 14 are construed as --the distribution tube--.
Claims 11-13 dependent from claim 10 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beamer (US PGPub No. 2009/0173482).
Regarding claim 1, Beamer (Fig. 3) discloses a heat exchanger (20), comprising a connection tube (header 22, and may be an inlet header in additional embodiment disclosed in paragraph 0020), a plurality of heat exchange tubes (refrigerant tubes 42) and a plurality of connection joints (ends 44 of the refrigerant tubes 42 connecting the inlet header 22), wherein the plurality of heat exchanger tubes and the plurality of connection joints corresponds to each other one by one (“corresponds to each other one by one” is understood as connected one by one. Each end 44 is connected to each corresponding tube 42), each of the plurality of the heat exchange tubes is in communication with the connection tube via a corresponding connection joint (the tubes 42 are in fluid communication with the header 22 via the ends 44); and
wherein each of the plurality of connection joints is provided with a connection port (opening at the end 44), a cross section of the connection port is circular-shaped (“the refrigerant tubes 42 have an oval cross-section or a circular cross-section”, paragraph 0022, therefore the ends 44 of the tubes are circular shaped), and each of the plurality of connection joints is connected to and in communication with the connection tube via the connection port (the ends 44 are in fluid communication with the header 22 via opening of at the end 44); the connection tube (header 22) is provided with a distribution tube (refrigerant conduit 54) along an arrangement direction of the plurality of heat exchange tubes (along axis A1 which is a stacking or arrangement direction of the tubes 42), the distribution tube is provided with a plurality of distribution holes (orifices 56) matching with the connection port (“matching” is understood as having any common feature. The orifices 56 match the ends 54 since they are both openings), and each of the plurality of distribution holes is arranged right opposite to a corresponding connection port (the orifices 56 and openings at the end 44 are opposite and having a distance between the two).
Regarding claim 2, Beamer in claim 1 further discloses wherein a distance between adjacent two of the plurality of connection joints is equal to a distance between corresponding two of the plurality of heat exchange tubes, respectively (a distance between two adjacent ends 44 is equal to a distance between two corresponding tubes 42, since the two tubes 42 and their ends 44 are straight).
Regarding claim 7, Beamer in claim 1 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of connection joints comprises a circular-shaped joint portion (circular shaped exterior wall of the circular tube ends 44 connecting the header 22), each of the plurality of connection joints is disposed on the connection tube via the circular-shaped joint portion (the circular tube ends 44 connect to the header 22 via the circular shaped exterior wall); and the connection port is disposed on the circular-shaped joint portion (the opening at the end 44 is disposed on a terminal end of the circular shaped exterior wall).
Regarding claim 9, Beamer in claim 7 further discloses wherein each of the plurality of connection joints further comprises a heat exchange-tube inserting portion (an extension of tube end 44 within the header 22) and a transition connecting portion (a section of tube end 44 connecting the header 22, see tube end 44 of header 22 in enlarged view of Fig. 3 below), and the heat exchange-tube inserting portion is connected to and in communication with the circular-shaped joint portion via the transition connecting portion (the extension of tube end 44 within the header 22 connects to the circular shaped exterior wall via the section of tube end 44 connecting the header 22); and the heat exchange tube is disposed on each of the plurality of connection joint via the heat exchange-tube inserting portion (the tube 42 is disposed on each tube end 44 connecting the header 22 via the extension of tube end 44 first entering the header 22).
Regarding claim 10, Beamer in claim 1 further discloses wherein the connection tube (header 22) is provided with at least one dividing plate (clip 60 in Fig. 5), the at least one dividing plate is disposed in the connection tube along the arrangement direction of the plurality of heat exchange tubes (at least a thickness of the clip 60 is along the axis A1) to divide the connection tube into a plurality of independent cavities (the clip 60 divide the header 22 into two independent cavities); and the connection tube is provided with the distribution tube in each of the plurality of independent cavities (the refrigerant conduit 54 is provided in the two cavities that are divided by the clip 60).
Regarding claim 11, Beamer in claim 10 further discloses wherein the distribution tube is provided with the plurality of distribution holes (the orifices 56) matching with the connection port (see claim 1) and an inlet (the orifices 56 also match an inlet 82 since they are both openings), and the inlet is not aligned with the plurality of distribution holes (the inlet 82 are not aligned with the orifices 56 since the inlet 82 and orifices have the fluid flow in opposite directions).
Regarding claim 12, Beamer in claim 10 further discloses wherein the distribution tube is provided with an inlet (inlet 82), the distribution tube is disposed inside the connection tube (Figs. 3 and 5), the distribution tube comprises a first sidewall (outer wall of the refrigerant conduit 54) and second sidewall opposite to each other (inner wall of the refrigerant conduit 54 opposite to the outer wall), the inlet is disposed on the first sidewall of the distribution tube (the inlet 82 is an extension of the refrigerant conduit 54 which inherently disposed on the outer wall), and a distance between the first sidewall of the distribution tube and the inner surface of the connection tube is smaller than a distance between the second sidewall of the distribution tube and the inner surface of the connection tube (a distance between the outer wall of the refrigerant conduit 54 and inner surface of the header 22 is inherently smaller than a distance between the inner the inner wall of the refrigerant conduit 54 and inner surface of the header 22 since the outer wall directly contacts the inner wall of the header 22).
Regarding claim 13, Beamer in claim 10 further discloses wherein the first sidewall of the distribution tube is tangential to the inner surface of the connection tube (the refrigerant conduit 54 is internally tangent to the inner surface of the header 22, see Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beamer (US PGPub No. 2009/0173482) in view of Cho (US PGPub No. 2021/0231390).
Regarding claim 3. Beamer in claim 1 fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of connection joints is provided with a turbulator, and the connection port is in communication with the heat exchange tube via the turbulator.
Cho discloses wherein each of the plurality of connection joints (each outlet port 70A at ends of passages 80, Fig. 5) is provided with a turbulator (a header insert 200 that includes a convergent-divergent shape to increase speed of the fluid flow), and the connection port is in communication with the heat exchange tube via the turbulator (openings at end of the passages 80 receive a fluid towards or are in fluid communication with the passages 80 via the header insert 200).
Therefore, the insert 200 in Cho may be provided at ends 44 of each tube 42 in Beamer to allow the fluid to flow out of the insert 200 against a sidewall of the tube 42 to improve heat transfer (see paragraph 0044 of Cho).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein each of the plurality of connection joints is provided with a turbulator, and the connection port is in communication with the heat exchange tube via the turbulator in Beamer as taught by Cho in order to improve fluid distribution within the tube so that improving heat transfer (paragraph 0044 of Cho).
Regarding claim 4, Beamer as modified in claim 3, wherein the turbulator is a throttling ring (the insert 200 is annular in cross-section and has a convergent section 300, Fig. 4 of Cho), the throttling ring is fixed in each of the plurality of connection joints (the insert with the convergent section 300 is fixed in each end 44 in Beamer as modified); the throttling ring is provided with a flow passage hole (an outlet passage 340 around a side of a conical member 330 of the insert 200), and the flow passage hole is in communication with the heat exchange tube (the outlet passage 340 of Cho directs the fluid into the tube 42 of Beamer).
Regarding claim 6, Beamer in claim 4 further discloses wherein a plurality of flow passage holes are provided on the throttling ring (another outlet passage 340 and a hole 250), and the plurality of flow passage holes are spaced from each other; and sectional areas of the plurality of flow passage holes are different (the outlet passage 340 and the hole 350 are spaced and have different cross-sectional area, see Fig. 4 of Cho).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beamer (US PGPub No. 2009/0173482) in view of Cho (US PGPub No. 2021/0231390) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Sada (JP 04-332356 A).
Regarding claim 5, Beamer in claim 4 further discloses the throttling ring is fixed to the connection joint (the insert 200 is fixed to ends 44 of the tubes, which is further fixed to the header 22 in the modification).
Beamer in claim 4 fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of connection joints is provided with a step-shaped surface, an outer periphery wall of the throttling ring abuts against the step-shaped surface.
Sada (Fig. 4) discloses wherein each of the plurality of connection joints is provided with a step-shaped surface (see annotated figure below), an outer periphery wall of the throttling ring (outer wall of a ring 20a) abuts against the step-shaped surface (see annotated figure below).
It is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify diameter of tube ends in order to fit different parts in a pipeline system. Therefore, in a case of the insert 200 in Cho having a larger diameter, the tube ends 44 and the openings of the header 22 receiving the tube ends 44 may be enlarged having the step-shaped surface to receive a larger size insert 200.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein each of the plurality of connection joints is provided with a step-shaped surface, an outer periphery wall of the throttling ring abuts against the step-shaped surface in Beamer as taught by Sada in order to fit parts having different sizes.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beamer (US PGPub No. 2009/0173482) in view of Jindou (US PGPub No. 2015/0027672).
Regarding claim 8, Beamer in claim 7 further discloses wherein the connection tube (header 22) is provided with a circular-shaped mounting hole (a circular hole of the header 22 receiving the circular tube end 44), the circular-shaped joint portion is inserted into the circular-shaped mounting hole (the circular tube end 44 inserted into the circular hole of the header 22).
Beamer in claim 7 fails to disclose a depth of the circular-shaped joint portion inserting into the circular-shaped mounting hole is in a range of 2 mm to 10 mm.
Jindou (Fig. 5A-5D) teaches a tube insertion depth L effectively result a change in projected area A1 (Fig. 5C) and effective cross-sectional area A (Fig. 5D) of the header 70. The effective cross-sectional area A further effects flow velocity and mass flow rate of refrigerant in Fig. 6 and 7. Therefore, a depth of the circular-shaped joint portion (circular shaped exterior wall of the circular tube ends 44 in Beamer) inserting into the circular-shaped mounting hole (circular hole of the header 22 receiving the circular tube end 44 in Beamer) is also a result effective variable that effectively results a change in the effective cross-sectional area of the header 22 in Beamer and a subsequent change in flow velocity and mass flow rate of the refrigerant. Jindou further discloses setting the tube insertion depth L to 10mm. One of ordinary skill in the art would perform routine optimization of the tube insertion depth including the claimed range in order for proper flow velocity and mass flow rate the refrigerant in the header. Therefore, specifying the depth in the claim is not novel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a depth of the circular-shaped joint portion inserting into the circular-shaped mounting hole is in a range of 2 mm to 10 mm in Beamer as taught by Jindou through routine optimization of the depth for proper flow velocity and mass flow rate the refrigerant in the header.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beamer (US PGPub No. 2009/0173482) in view of Rios (US PGPub No. 2008/0093051).
Regarding claim 14, Beamer in claim 10 further comprising a distributor, wherein the distributor is provided with a plurality of capillaries matching with the distribution tube, and the distributor is capable of being in communication with the distribution tube corresponding to the distributor via the plurality of capillaries.
Rios discloses a distributor (27, Fig. 2), wherein the distributor is provided with a plurality of capillaries (lines 28 and 29) matching with the distribution tube (both the lines 28 and 29 match a tube 34 within inlet header 22 in Fig. 3, since the lines 28, 29 and the tube 34 are all tubes or conduits), and the distributor is capable of being in communication with the distribution tube corresponding to the distributor via the plurality of capillaries (the distributor 27 has a fluid communication with the tube 34 within the header 22 directly via the line 29, see Fig. 2; and has a material communication with the tube 34 via the line 28 since the lines and heat exchangers are materially connected).
A duplicated heat exchanger 20 of Beamer may be added alongside the original heat exchanger 20 as a heat exchanging unit. The distributor 27 may be added to split the refrigerant into the lines 28 and 29. The lines 28 and 29 further connect respectively to the inlets 82 of the duplicated and original heat exchanger 20. As a result, the heat exchange capacity is doubled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a distributor, wherein the distributor is provided with a plurality of capillaries matching with the distribution tube, and the distributor is capable of being in communication with the distribution tube corresponding to the distributor via the plurality of capillaries in Beamer as taught by Rios in order to supply refrigerant to a duplicated and the original heat exchanger in Beamer. Duplicating heat exchanger in a heat exchanging system is a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device and that involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beamer (US PGPub No. 2009/0173482) in view of Onaka (US PGPub No. 2020/0041178).
Regarding claim 15, Beamer in claim 1 is directed to the heat exchanger itself but fails to an air conditioning device, comprising a device main body and a heat exchanger, wherein the heat exchanger is disposed on the device main body and the heat exchanger is a heat exchanger of claim 1.
Onaka (Fig. 48) discloses an air conditioning device (outdoor unit 100), comprising a device main body (casing 102 of outdoor unit 100) and a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 20), wherein the heat exchanger is disposed on the device main body (within the casing 102 of the outdoor unit 100).
Based on the teaching of Onaka, the heat exchanger 20 of Beamer may be placed within the casing as taught by Onaka.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an air conditioning device, comprising a device main body and a heat exchanger, wherein the heat exchanger is disposed on the device main body and the heat exchanger is a heat exchanger of claim 1 in Beamer as taught by Onaka in order to channel an air flow through the heat exchanger 22.
Conclusion
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763