DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informality: In Line 4, the Examiner assumes that “concentration measurement system” should actually be --concentration measurement section--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “signal acquisition section”, “light-emitting element drive section”, computation section”, and “temperature acquisition section” in claims 1, 7, 17, and 19.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If Applicant does not intend to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the Applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the first drive signal is… equal to or greater than a first threshold voltage” and “the second drive signal is… less than a second threshold voltage”. However, claim 1 recites wherein the first and second drive signals may be first and second current values, respectively. It is unclear to the Examiner how the first and second current values are being compared with the first and second threshold voltages, respectively.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,265,069. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the preambles are written slightly differently, but the elements comprising the inventions are the same. The following table provides the claim correspondence between the instant application and the issued patent.
US app.
19/062,017
US Patent
12,265,069
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7
7
8
8
9
9
10
10
11
11
12
12
13
13
14
14
15
15
16
16
17
1
18
5
19
1
20
5
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 13-15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 2020/0309752), hereinafter Takagi, in view of Ando (US 2020/0191707), hereinafter Ando.
Claim 1: Takagi discloses a concentration computation section that is a concentration measurement section (100, Fig. 1) including a light-emitting element (10) and a first sensor element (20) [0020] and comprises:
a light-emitting element drive section (30) that drives the light-emitting element (10) [0030];
a signal acquisition section (30) that acquires at least an output signal of the first sensor element (20) [0036], a first drive signal (“first drive current” [0038]) that is a first voltage value or a first current value of the light-emitting element (10), and a second drive signal (“second drive current” [0038]) that is a second voltage value or a second current value of the light-emitting element (10); and
a computation section (40) [0030].
Takagi discloses wherein a known gas detection apparatus measures a gas concentration [0002], but is silent with respect to computing the concentration based on the corrected output signal of the first sensor element.
Ando, however, in the same field of endeavor of optical analysis, discloses a concentration computation section that is a concentration measurement section (100, Fig. 3) including a light-emitting element (1) and a first sensor element (4) [0032] and comprises:
a computation section (51) that computes (51a) a concentration based on signals acquired by a signal acquisition section (5) [0045], wherein
the computation section (51) corrects (51d) the output signal of the first sensor element (4) and computes (51a) the concentration [0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takagi’s computation section to compute the concentration based on the corrected output signal of the first sensor element for the purpose of accurately determining the concentration of a measurement target component (Ando [0045]). It is evident then, in Takagi’s modified concentration computation section, that the computation section makes the correction by using the drive signals since these drive signals are what allow first sensor element to have an output value.
Claim 2: Takagi further discloses wherein the first sensor element (20) is a light-receiving element that detects light [0020].
Claim 6: Takagi discloses generating the first and second drive signals for the light-emitting element (10) [0038], but is silent with respect to the first drive signal being a signal for when the light-emitting element emits light, and the second drive signal being a signal for when the light-emitting element does not emit light.
However, Takagi discloses using the first and second drive signals for calibration of the concentration measurement section (100) [0058,0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takagi’s first and second drive signals to be used as a signal when the light-emitting element does and does not emit light, respectively, for the purpose of performing a self-calibration of the concentration measurement section [0058].
Claim 7: Takagi further discloses a temperature acquisition section that acquires temperature (implicit in “a measurement environment in which the temperature of the light-emitting element 10 rises rapidly over a very short time” [0037]), wherein the concentration measurement system, based on the first drive signal, the second drive signal, and temperature information acquired by the temperature acquisition section, corrects the output signal of the first sensor element and computes the concentration (implicit in “the controller 30 may first acquire the first detection current Ip1 and then acquire the second detection current Ip2 after the measurement environment stabilizes” [0037]).
Claim 13: Takagi further discloses wherein the light-emitting element (10) is an LED [0022].
Claim 14: Takagi further discloses wherein
the first sensor element (20) is a light-receiving element [0020], and
the concentration measurement section (100) further comprises a light guide that guides light from the light-emitting element (10) to the first sensor element (20) [0035].
Claim 15: Takagi further discloses an optical filter that is provided in an optical path along which light emitted from the light-emitting element (10) travels until it is received by the first sensor element (20) and that limits wavelength of the light [0029].
Claim 17: Takagi discloses a concentration measurement system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a concentration measurement section (100) including a light-emitting element (10) and a first sensor element (20) [0020] and comprises:
a light-emitting element drive section (30) that drives the light-emitting element (10) [0030];
a signal acquisition section (30) that acquires at least an output signal of the first sensor element (20) [0036], a first drive signal (“first drive current” [0038]) that is a first voltage value or a first current value of the light-emitting element (10), and a second drive signal (“second drive current” [0038]) that is a second voltage value or a second current value of the light-emitting element (10); and
a computation section (40) [0030].
Takagi discloses wherein a known gas detection apparatus measures a gas concentration [0002], but is silent with respect to computing the concentration based on the corrected output signal of the first sensor element.
Ando, however, in the same field of endeavor of optical analysis, discloses a concentration computation section that is a concentration measurement section (100, Fig. 3) including a light-emitting element (1) and a first sensor element (4) [0032] and comprises:
a computation section (51) that computes (51a) a concentration based on signals acquired by a signal acquisition section (5) [0045], wherein
the computation section (51) corrects (51d) the output signal of the first sensor element (4) and computes (51a) the concentration [0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takagi’s computation section to compute the concentration based on the corrected output signal of the first sensor element for the purpose of accurately determining the concentration of a measurement target component (Ando [0045]). It is evident then, in Takagi’s modified concentration measurement system, that the computation section makes the correction by using the drive signals since these drive signals are what allow first sensor element to have an output value.
Claim 19: Takagi discloses a concentration measurement method performed by a concentration measurement system (Fig. 1) that includes:
a concentration measurement section (100) including a light-emitting element (10) and a first sensor element (20) [0020] and comprises:
a light-emitting element drive section (30) that drives the light-emitting element (10) [0030];
a signal acquisition section (30) that acquires at least an output signal of the first sensor element (20) [0036], a first drive signal (“first drive current” [0038]) that is a first voltage value or a first current value of the light-emitting element (10), and a second drive signal (“second drive current” [0038]) that is a second voltage value or a second current value of the light-emitting element (10); and
a computation section (40) [0030].
Takagi discloses wherein a known gas detection apparatus measures a gas concentration [0002], but is silent with respect to computing the concentration based on the corrected output signal of the first sensor element.
Ando, however, in the same field of endeavor of optical analysis, discloses a concentration computation section that is a concentration measurement section (100, Fig. 3) including a light-emitting element (1) and a first sensor element (4) [0032] and comprises:
a computation section (51) that computes (51a) a concentration based on signals acquired by a signal acquisition section (5) [0045],
the concentration measurement method comprising the computation section (51) correcting (51d) the output signal of the first sensor element (4) and computes (51a) the concentration [0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takagi’s computation section to compute the concentration based on the corrected output signal of the first sensor element for the purpose of accurately determining the concentration of a measurement target component (Ando [0045]). It is evident then, in Takagi’s modified concentration measurement method, that the computation section makes the correction by using the drive signals since these drive signals are what allow first sensor element to have an output value.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi, in view of Ando as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kaestle (US 2023/0341321), hereinafter Kaestle.
Claim 12: Takagi discloses wherein the light-emitting element drive section (30) drives the light-emitting element (10) [0030], but is silent with respect to driving through a pulse signal.
Kaestle, however, in the same field of endeavor of optical measurement, discloses wherein a light-emitting element drive section drives a light-emitting element (24) through a pulse signal (Fig. 6) [0144].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takagi’s light-emitting element drive section to drive the light-emitting element through a pulse signal for the purpose of generating a corresponding light pulse (Kaestle [0144]), which allows the concentration measurement section to safely use higher energy radiation to obtain an improved signal to noise ratio.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejections and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5, 8-11, 16, 18, and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Tarifur Chowdhury can be reached on 571-272-2287. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Hina F Ayub/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2877