DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-11 were previously pending. Claims 1-4, 6-8 and 10 have been amended. Claims 5 and 11 have been cancelled. Accordingly, claims 1-4 and 6-10 are currently pending and have been examined in this application.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the
references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the
references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as
the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is
reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the
language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant's definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable of Luan (US 2022/0055654 A1) in view of Gorski (US 11,915,538 B1).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 8, Luan discloses a secured short-range system for summoning a vehicle from a stationary location, a vehicle configured for being summoned from a stationary location by a user using short-range wireless communication, and a secured short-range method for summoning a vehicle from a stationary location (see at least Figs. 4-6, [0049, 0056-0057, 0077] - vehicle 101 which includes UWB system 342, is within range of a device which recognizes UWB communications, the UWB system and the device may begin to communicate using UWB communications… the user requests the physical presence of the vehicle… the vehicle may prepare to depart from its current location), comprising: a portable electronic device (see at least Fig. 4, [0051] – customer device 446); an ultra-wide band (UWB) transceiver configured for installation at the vehicle and configured for short-range wireless communication with the portable electronic device (see at least Fig. 4, [0050] - UWB system 342 may include a transmitter 442 a, a receiver 442 b, a pulse generator 442 c, and an optional processing arrangement 442 d. Transmitter 442 a, which may include an antenna, is configured to transmit UWB signals, and receiver 442 b, which may also include an antenna, is configured to receive UWB signals.); and an electronic control unit (ECU) including one or more processors configured for: while the vehicle is at the stationary location, establishing short-range wireless communication with the portable electronic device via the UWB transceiver to initiate vehicle activation for summoning the vehicle from the stationary location in response to a summon command from the portable electronic device (see at least Figs. 4-6, [0056-0057] – In a step 513, the user requests a vehicle to come to a particular location. That is, the user requests the physical presence of the vehicle. The request may be made by the user using the application installed on the device in step 509.); verifying/authenticating the portable electronic device as an authorized device and activate movement of the vehicle (see at least [0060] - pairing authentication occurs between the device and the vehicle… The pairing authentication may include, but is not limited to including, the user obtaining authentication instructions or information on the application. Such information may be obtained from a cloud server on a network. When the user is effectively authenticated based on pairing authentication, then the user may essentially be allowed to interact with the vehicle.); determining a relative location of the portable electronic device between the portable electronic device and the of UWB transceiver (see at least [0060] - once pairing and an optional authentication occur, information such as localization information and secure data may be exchanged using UWB communications); calculating a path from the stationary location toward a target or destination determined based on the relative location; and activating/mobilizing a running gear of the vehicle to autonomously execute the path in response to the summon command issued by the portable electronic device (see at least [0042, 0051, 0077, 0093] - Vehicle 101 may generally communicate with a customer device 446, which may be a device in the possession of a customer who has requested that vehicle 101 drives or otherwise propels itself to a location of the customer.).
Luan does not appear to explicitly disclose a plurality of ultra-wide band (UWB) transceivers; while the vehicle is in a standby mode at the stationary location, establishing short-range wireless communication with the portable electronic device via the plurality of UWB transceivers; verifying/authenticating the portable electronic device as an authorized device associated with an owner of the vehicle and as authorized to wake up the vehicle; waking the vehicle from the standby mode; determining a relative location of the portable electronic device via triangulation/trilateration of distances between the portable electronic device and the plurality of UWB transceivers.
Gorski, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: a plurality of ultra-wide band (UWB) transceivers (see at least Fig. 1, column 4, lines 12-14 – a plurality of Ultra-Wideband (UWB) anchors 115); while the vehicle is in a standby mode at the stationary location, establishing short-range wireless communication with the portable electronic device via the plurality of UWB transceivers (see at least Figs. 1-2, column 4, lines 59-61 and column 6, lines 5-8 - the UWB anchors 115 communicate wirelessly with the mobile device 110… the app may permit inputs to start the vehicle 100); verifying/authenticating the portable electronic device as an authorized device associated with an owner of the vehicle and as authorized to wake up the vehicle (see at least Figs. 1-2, column 5, lines 39-59 and column 6, lines 5-8 – the mobile devices 110 may be owned and carried by respective persons who may be operators and/or owners of the vehicle… the app may permit inputs to start the vehicle 100); waking the vehicle from the standby mode (see at least column 6, lines 5-8 - the app may permit inputs to start the vehicle 100); determining a relative location of the portable electronic device via triangulation/trilateration of distances between the portable electronic device and the plurality of UWB transceivers (see at least Figs. 1-2, column 5, lines 11-20 and column 7, lines 16-53 – The computer 105 is programmed to perform a trilateral calculation on the distance data for the mobile device 110. A trilateral calculation includes determining location information for an unknown point based on distances from known points. Specifically, the location of the unknown point may be an intersection of at least three spheres with known radiuses and center points. The location of the mobile device 110 may be the unknown point, and each sphere is defined by the known location of a UWB anchor 115 and the known distance from that UWB anchor 115 to the mobile device 110. The computer 105 may determine the location of the mobile device 110 using known algorithms for solving three quadratic equations with three unknown variables.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Gorski into the invention of Luan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation of incorporating multiple UWB transceivers for trilateration is to provide the highest accuracy for determining the relative location between the vehicle and the device (Gorski – column 12, lines 50-55). The motivation of implementing a private vehicle owner’s device instead of just a user’s device for a rideshare vehicle is that it allows Luan’s ability to request their own vehicle to propel itself to the owner’s location, which improves convenience for the owner.
Regarding claim 2, Luan discloses wherein the ECU is further configured to track any movement of the portable electronic device to determine a current relative location thereof and update the path calculation (see at least [0084-0086, 0093] – tracking the location of device 1146 over time, e.g., over two or more points in time… in the event that a predicted path or trajectory of device 1146 changes based upon current locations of device 1146, computing systems onboard or otherwise associated with vehicle 1101 may update the predicted path or trajectory of device 1146, and vehicle 1101 may move to an updated predicted location of device 1146).
Regarding claim 3, Luan discloses wherein the path calculation adjusts for orientation of the vehicle and/or the portable electronic device (see at least [0080-0081, 0084] - Once vehicle 1001 determines the relative position and orientation of device 1046, vehicle 1001 may determine its own position and orientation, and take autonomous actions that are directed substantially directionally towards device 1046. That is, vehicle 1001 may use localization information in part to determine actions to take and how to take those actions.).
Regarding claim 4, Luan does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the ECU is further configured to relocate the vehicle to a desired location relative to a UWB device or node other than the portable electronic device.
Gorski, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the ECU is further configured to relocate the vehicle to a desired location relative to a UWB device or node other than the portable electronic device (see at least Fig. 1, column 5, lines 50-55 and column 6, lines 19-21 – two mobile devices 110a and 110b… autonomously navigate the vehicle 100 into or out of a parking spot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Gorski into the invention of Luan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation of doing so is to allow the vehicle to pair with multiple devices, such as smart keyfobs, mobile phones, wearable devices, or tablets (Gorski – column 5, lines 31-39), which improves convenience for the owners or operators of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 2, and it has been determined that claim 7 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 2; therefore, claim 7 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, Luan discloses wherein autonomous driving of the vehicle is terminated at a location where at least a door of the vehicle is accessible to a user carrying the portable electronic device (see at least Fig. 12D, [0070, 0093] - Doors on vehicle 701 may be arranged to unlock and/or to open once customer device 746 is detected to be within a particular distance or location relative to vehicle 701… The location to which the vehicle drives may correspond to an approximate intersection point between the projected path of the device and a path along which the vehicle is travelling. Once the vehicle moves to the predicted location, the method of positioning a vehicle is completed.).
Regarding claim 10, Luan discloses wherein the relative location is updated over time to reflect a current location of the portable electronic device (see at least [0084-0086, 0093] – tracking the location of device 1146 over time, e.g., over two or more points in time… in the event that a predicted path or trajectory of device 1146 changes based upon current locations of device 1146, computing systems onboard or otherwise associated with vehicle 1101 may update the predicted path or trajectory of device 1146, and vehicle 1101 may move to an updated predicted location of device 1146).
Response to Arguments
In light of the amendments to the claims, the claim objections have been withdrawn.
In light of the amendments to the claims, claim limitations are no longer being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAITLIN R MCCLEARY/Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669