DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on February 26, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Authorization for Internet Communication
To expedite prosecution, filing a written authorization for internet communication is recommended. Doing so permits the USPTO to communicate using email to schedule interviews and/or discuss other aspects of the application. Without a written authorization in place, the USPTO cannot respond to email communications. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at: https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"a holder configured to...", "a nozzle configured to...", "a camera configured to..." and "a monitor configured to..." in claim 11.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,972. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims are anticipated by the claims recited in the U.S. Patent.
Said claims in both applications are directed to a substrate processing apparatus that includes a holding unit configured to hold a substrate and a processing liquid supply unit configured to supply a processing liquid to a surface of the substrate held by the holding unit by discharging the processing liquid from a nozzle and monitoring changes in image conditions.
Taking claims 1 and 11 in the instant application, as an exemplary to show the similarity in features being claimed in both applications, to compare to claims 1 and 13 in the U.S. Patent (see comparison table below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, having the same claim elements of the parent application, to construct a system as claimed in the instant application capable of performing identical functions as the parent application. The rest of the instant application claims recite similar features as those cited in the U.S. Patent.
An exemplary table to show similarity among the conflicting claims.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,244,972
1. A substrate processing method comprising:
holding a substrate carried into a processing unit;
supplying a processing liquid to the substrate in the processing unit;
capturing an image in the processing unit by a camera to acquire image data;
specifying a monitoring target from a plurality of monitoring target candidates in the processing unit,
changing an image condition based on the monitoring target specified in the specifying; and monitoring the monitoring target based on the image data having the image condition corresponding to the monitoring target.
13. A method of monitoring a substrate processing apparatus, the method comprising:
capturing an image of a nozzle of the substrate processing apparatus and a surface of a substrate held by a substrate holder by a camera;
generating monitoring video data based on imaging video data captured by the camera during an execution of a substrate process by the substrate processing apparatus including a first process and a second process; and
changing a generation condition of the monitoring video data during the execution of the substrate process so that at least a resolution or a number of frames of the monitoring video data during an execution of the second process is different from the monitoring video data during an execution of the first process.
11. A substrate processing apparatus comprising:
a holder configured to hold a substrate in a processing unit;
a nozzle configured to supply a processing liquid to the substrate in the processing unit;
a camera configured to capture an image in the processing unit, thereby acquiring image data; and
a monitor configured to specify a monitoring target from a plurality of monitoring target candidates in the processing unit,
change an image condition based on the monitoring target, and monitor the monitoring target based on the image data having the image condition corresponding to the monitoring target.
1.A monitoring apparatus for a substrate processing apparatus, the monitoring apparatus comprising:
a camera configured to capture an image of a nozzle of the substrate processing apparatus and a surface of a substrate held by a substrate holder of the substrate processing apparatus;
a monitoring data generation circuitry configured to generate monitoring video data based on imaging video data captured by the camera during an execution of a substrate process performed by the substrate processing apparatus including a first process and a second process; and
a monitoring condition changing circuitry configured to change a generation condition of the monitoring video data during the execution of the substrate process so that at least a resolution or a number of frames of the monitoring video data during an execution of the second process is different from the monitoring video data during an execution of the first process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi, US-PGPub. No. 20190148192.
As per claims 1 and 11, Yamaguchi teaches a method and a substrate processing apparatus (Paragraph(s) [00]) comprising:
a holder configured to hold a substrate in a processing unit (Fig. 1, Paragraph(s) [0055]; the spin chuck 2 includes a disk-shaped spin base 21, chuck pins 22 that stand at a peripheral edge portion of the spin base 21 to clamp the substrate W, a rotating shaft 23 arranged along the vertical direction to support the spin base 21 from the lower side, and a spin motor 24 that rotates the rotating shaft 23);
a nozzle configured to supply a processing liquid to the substrate in the processing unit (Fig. 1, Paragraph(s) [0052-0053], [0072]; a processing liquid supplying unit 4 having a processing liquid nozzle 3 that supplies a processing liquid to the substrate W held by the spin chuck 2);
a camera configured to capture an image in the processing unit, thereby acquiring image data (Fig. 2 – camera 10, Paragraph(s) [0063], [0074]; camera 10 takes an image of an imaging region including the upper surface of the substrate W); and
a monitor configured to specify a monitoring target from a plurality of monitoring target candidates in the processing unit (Fig. 3A, Paragraph(s) [0010], [0074], [0082]; analyzing the image data output by the camera 10 (an image analyzing step), the controller 30 monitors the state of the liquid film (Step S4: a liquid film state monitoring step)), change an image condition based on the monitoring target, and monitor the monitoring target based on the image data having the image condition corresponding to the monitoring target (Paragraph(s) [0012]; the substrate processing method further includes an entirely-covered state determining step of determining whether or not it is an entirely-covered state where the liquid film monitored in the liquid film state monitoring step covers the entire upper surface of the substrate after the processing liquid supplying step is started. The substrate rotational speed changing step includes a rotation decelerating step of reducing the rotational speed of the substrate when it is determined that it is the entirely-covered state in the entirely-covered state determining step. In addition, Yamaguchi teaches the substrate processing method further includes a processing liquid flow rate changing step of changing a flow rate of the processing liquid supplied to the substrate in accordance with the state of the liquid film monitored in the liquid film state monitoring step during execution of the processing liquid supplying step (Paragraph(s) [0017])).
As per claims 2 and 12, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the image condition includes at least one of a resolution of the image data, the number of frames, and a size of a target region of the image data, and any combination thereof (Paragraph(s) [0018], [0036], [0077]).
As per claims 3 and 13, Yamaguchi teaches wherein in the changing the image condition, as the image condition for a first time period in which the monitoring target is an object that is moving in the processing unit, the number of frames is set to a first number of frames, and as the image condition for a second time period in which the monitoring target is the processing liquid ejected from a nozzle in the processing unit, the number of frames is set to a second number of frames greater than the first number of frames (Paragraph(s) [0066], [0130]).
As per claims 4 and 14, Yamaguchi teaches wherein in the changing the image condition, as the image condition for a first time period in which the monitoring target is the processing liquid on the substrate in the processing unit, the number of frames is set to a first number of frames, and as the image condition for a second time period in which the monitoring target is the processing liquid ejected from a nozzle in the processing unit, the number of frames is set to a second number of frames greater than the first number of frames (Paragraph(s) [0010-0011], [0052], [0087]).
As per claims 5 and 15, Yamaguchi teaches wherein in the changing the image condition, as the image condition for a first time period in which the monitoring target is an object that is moving in the processing unit, the resolution is set to a first resolution, and as the image condition for a second time period in which the monitoring target is the processing liquid ejected from a nozzle in the processing unit, the resolution is set to a second resolution higher than the first resolution (Paragraph(s) [0010], [0058], [0074], [0082]).
As per claims 6 and 16, Yamaguchi teaches wherein in the changing the image condition, as the image condition for a first time period in which the monitoring target is the processing liquid on the substrate in the processing unit, the resolution is set to a first resolution, and as the image condition for a second time period in which the monitoring target is the processing liquid ejected from a nozzle in the processing unit, the resolution is set to a second resolution higher than the first resolution (Paragraph(s) [0010-0011], [0052], [0087]).
As per claims 7 and 17, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the monitoring target includes a position of the nozzle (Paragraph(s) [0053-0054]).
As per claims 8 and 18, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the monitoring target in the second time period includes liquid splash of the processing liquid on the substrate and liquid dripping of the processing liquid from the nozzle (Paragraph(s) [0056]).
As per claims 9 and 19, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the changing the image condition includes setting the image condition as an imaging condition, and in the capturing, the camera acquires the image data while setting the image condition corresponding to the monitoring target as the imaging condition (Paragraph(s) [0063], [0074]).
As per claims 10 and 20, Yamaguchi teaches wherein in the capturing, the camera acquires the image data under a predetermined imaging condition, and an image processing is performed on the image data acquired by the camera to acquire the image data having the image condition corresponding to the monitoring target (Paragraph(s) [0063], [0074], [0142]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892 (Notice of Reference Cited) for a list of relevant prior art.
/MOHAMED A. WASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454