DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12265419. This is a statutory double patenting rejection -- the claims are identical.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 claims, “the second protrusion is configured to be inserted into the first protrusion.” However, it is unclear how a protrusion is physically capable of being inserted into another protrusion. Because Figures 9-10 and Paragraphs [0094] show/state, “The second protrusion 113 may be provided to be inserted into the third hole 105 of the panel holder 100 to engage with the protrusion support 106,” the cited limitation will be interpreted as -- the second protrusion is configured to be inserted into the second hole--.
Claims 2-16 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (US Publication No. 2017/0159687).
Regarding claim 1 (as best understood), Jung discloses a display apparatus (Figures 1-2, display apparatus 1) comprising: a display panel (Figure 1, display module 10); a rear chassis (Figures 1-4, rear panel of cover 30) covering a rear surface of the display panel (rear surface of 10); a support frame (Figures 1-4, frame portion of 30, including coupling units 200) coupled to the rear chassis (rear panel of 30); a panel holder (Figures 13-16, chassis 40) provided on the rear surface of the display panel (rear surface of 10) to face the support frame (frame of 30, including 200), the panel holder (40) being configured to be coupled to the support frame (frame portion of 30, including 200, through first coupling unit 100) to attach the display panel (10) to the rear chassis (rear panel of 30); and a wire (Figures 13-16, linear member 110; see Paragraph [0065]) extending in a first direction (first horizontal direction) and configured to: couple the panel holder (40) to the support frame (frame of 30, including 200) based on the wire (110) being coupled to the panel holder (40) and the support frame (frame of 30, including 200), and release the coupling between the panel holder (40) and the support frame (frame of 30, including 200) based on the wire being separated from the panel holder (40) and the support frame (frame of 30, including 200) (NOTE: chassis 40 capable of being decoupled from coupling unit 200 of cover 30 upon removal of 110).
wherein the panel holder (Figures 13-16, 40) comprises a protrusion support member (inner edge of second hole 140), a first hole (first hole 140), and a second hole (second hole 140; see Figure 13) spaced apart from the first hole (first 140) in a second direction perpendicular (vertical direction) to the first direction (first horizontal direction), wherein the support frame (frame of 30, including 200) comprises a first protrusion (first 200) and a second protrusion (second 200) spaced apart from the first protrusion (first 200) in the second direction (first vertical direction), wherein the first protrusion (first 200) is configured to be inserted into the first hole (first 140) and contact a first portion of the wire (portion of 110 between 123), and wherein the second protrusion (second 200) is configured to be inserted into thesecond hole (second 140) to engage with the protrusion support member (edge portions of second 140).
Regarding claim 6, Jung discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a substrate (circuit board 50) configured to transmit a signal to drive the display panel (10; see Paragraph [0063]) and coupled to the rear surface of the display panel (rear surface of 10).
Regarding claim 8, Jung discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein, while the wire (110) is coupled to the panel holder (40) and the support frame (frame of 30, including 200), a first portion of the wire (portion of 110 connected to supporting part 120) is supported by the panel holder (40), and a second portion of the wire (portion of 110 connected to 200) spaced apart from the first portion (portion of 110 connected to 120) is supported by the support frame (frame of 30, including 200) to couple the panel holder (40) and the support frame (frame of 30, including 200) with each other.
Regarding claim 9, Jung discloses the display apparatus of claim 8, and further discloses wherein the panel holder (40) and the support frame (frame of 30, including 200) are restrained by a tension of the wire (110) to restrict the panel holder (40) and the support frame (frame of 30, including 200) from moving away from each other in the first direction (first horizontal direction), and the wire (110) is separated from the panel holder (40) and the support frame (frame of 30, including 200) by moving in the second direction (first vertical direction; where 110 is capable of being removed vertically by being slid out of slots defined by 123; see Figures 15-16) intersecting the first direction (horizontal direction).
Regarding claim 10, Jung discloses the display apparatus of claim 9, and further discloses wherein while the wire (110) is separated from the panel holder (40) and the support frame (200), the panel holder (40) is moved a distance in a third direction (transverse direction; see Figures 11-12) intersecting the first direction (first horizontal direction) and the second direction (first vertical direction) and then separated from the support frame (frame of 30, including 200) in the first direction (first horizontal direction; where 40 is capable of moving in horizontal direction relative to 30 when disconnection from wire 110).
Regarding claim 11, Jung discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the panel holder (40) comprises: a first panel holder (first supporting part 120 of 40) provided adjacent to a lower end and a first side end (Figure 2, bottom, left 120) of the display panel (10); and a second panel holder (second supporting part 120 of 40) provided adjacent to the lower end and a second side end (Figure 2, bottom, right 120) of the display panel (10).
Regarding claim 12, Jung discloses the display apparatus of claim 11, and further discloses wherein the support frame (frame of 30, including 200) comprises: a first support frame (bottom, left portion of frame of 30, including 200) provided adjacent to a lower end and a first side end (bottom, left 200) of the rear chassis (rear panel of 30) to correspond to the first panel holder (bottom, left 120); and a second support frame (bottom, right portion of frame of 30, including 200) provided adjacent to the lower end and a second side end (bottom, right 200) of the rear chassis (rear panel of 30) to correspond to the second panel holder (bottom, right 120).
Regarding claim 16, Jung discloses the display apparatus of claim 11, and further discloses wherein the first protrusion (first 200) is configured to engage the first portion of the wire (portion of 110 between 123) to restrict movement of the wire (110) in a third direction (second vertical direction) opposite to the second direction (first vertical direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US Publication No. 2017/0159687) in view of Kim (US Publication No. 2006/0152905).
Regarding claim 7, Jung discloses the display apparatus of claim 6, but does not teach further comprising a film cable configured to connect the display panel to the substrate, wherein the panel holder is attached to the rear surface of the display panel by an adhesive member provided on a lateral side of the film cable.
However, Kim teaches a film cable (Figure 3, connection cables 162) configured to connect a display panel (PDP 130) to a substrate (circuit substrate 163), wherein the panel holder (chassis base 150, corresponding to 40 in Jung) is attached to the rear surface of the display panel (rear surface of 130) by an adhesive member (Figures 4-5, adhesive 145) provided on a lateral side of the film cable (162).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the adhesive of Kim between the panel holder and display of Jung, and to have combined the film cable of Kim between the display panel and the circuit substrate of Jung. Combining the adhesive between the panel holder and the display panel would have helped ensure the panel holder remained secure to the display panel (see Paragraph [0048] in Kim). Combining the film cable would have allowed the driving signals to be transferred between the display and circuit substrates (see Paragraph [0033] in Kim).
Regarding claim 13, Jung discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the display panel comprises: a light-emissive panel configured to emit light and display an image; and a heat dissipation sheet attached to a rear surface of the light-emissive panel and configured to dissipate heat.
However, Kim teaches a display panel (Figure 3, comprised of PDP 130 and sheet stack 140) comprising: a light-emissive panel (130) configured to emit light and display an image (see Paragraph [0032]); and a heat dissipation sheet (Figure 3, heat dissipation sheet 142) attached to a rear surface of the light-emissive panel (rear surface of 130) and configured to dissipate heat (see Paragraph [0044]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the heat dissipation sheet of Kim between the display panel and the panel holder of Jung. Doing so would have increased heat dissipation of the display device (see Paragraph [0044] in Kim).
Regarding claim 14, Jung in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus of claim 13, and further teaches (in Kim) wherein the heat dissipation sheet (142) comprises at least one of graphite, aluminum or copper (see Paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 15, Jung in view of Kim teaches the display apparatus of claim 13, and further teaches wherein the heat dissipation sheet (142 in Kim) is configured to be detachable from the rear chassis (30 in Jung, where 30 is decoupled from 142 of Kim when being decoupled from 40 in Jung, as shown in Figure 2 of Jung).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 claims the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rear chassis has a chassis hole formed therein and through which the wire passes, and wherein the wire is drawn out of the rear chassis through the chassis hole from a rear side of the rear chassis to be separated from the panel holder and the support frame.
Jung does not disclose the cited configuration.
Bertho (EP Publication No. 2159626) also anticipates claim 1, wherein Bertho discloses a display apparatus comprising: a display panel (panel P); a rear chassis (rear portion 6) covering a rear surface of the display panel (rear surface of P); a support frame (front cover 2) coupled to the rear chassis (6); a panel holder (elements 12) provided on the rear surface of the display panel (rear surface of P) to face the support frame (2), the panel holder (12) being configured to be coupled to the support frame (2) to attach the display panel (P) to the rear chassis (6); and a wire (wire spring 11) extending in a first direction (first horizontal direction) configured to: couple the panel holder (12) to the support frame (2) based on the wire (11) being coupled to the panel holder (12) and the support frame (2), and release the coupling between the panel holder (12) and the support frame (2) based on the wire (11) being separated from the panel holder (12) and the support frame (2); wherein the rear chassis (6) has a chassis hole (opening O) formed therein and through which the wire passes (11), but does not disclose wherein the wire is drawn out of the rear chassis through the chassis hole from a rear side of the rear chassis to be separated from the panel holder and the support frame.
Eom (US Publication No. 2019/0129234) also anticipates claim 1, where Eom discloses a display apparatus comprising: a display panel (display panel 201); a rear chassis (inner plate 203) covering a rear surface of the display panel (rear surface of 201); a support frame (fixing member 211) coupled to the rear chassis (203); a panel holder (back cover 205) provided on the rear surface of the display panel (201) to face the support frame (211), the panel holder (205) being configured to be coupled to the support frame (211, through wire 230) to attach the display panel (201) to the rear chassis (203); and a wire (wire 230) configured to: couple the panel holder (205) to the support frame (211) based on the wire (230) being coupled to the panel holder (205) and the support frame (211), and release the coupling between the panel holder (205) and the support frame (211) based on the wire being separated from the panel holder (205) and the support frame (211); wherein the rear chassis (203) has a chassis hole (hole 203a) formed therein, but does not disclose wherein the wire passes through the chassis hole, and wherein the wire is drawn out of the rear chassis through the chassis hole from a rear side of the rear chassis to be separated from the panel holder and the support frame.
Claims 3-5 would be allowable due to their dependency on claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Allaire (EP Publication No. 1895386), Park (US Publication No. 2015/0029166), Sato (US Publication No. 2014/0036162), Tsubokura (US Publication No. 2009/0109374), Cho (KR Publication No. 2021/0030024) and Jeon (US Publication No. 2021/0168955) also disclose similar configurations to the claimed invention.
/GAGE CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc