DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al (US Pub 2019/0245017) in view of JUNG et al (US Pub 2021/0104702) and ZENG (US Pub 2020/0098299).
With respect to claim 1, Jeon discloses an electronic device (fig. 1; display device 100) comprising: a plurality of pixels comprising a plurality of emission areas in which light emitting elements for emitting light are disposed and arranged in a first direction and a second direction crossing the first direction (par 0044; discloses the display area DA includes the pixels PX1, PX2, and PX3; par 0068; discloses the pixel-defining layer 115 surrounds edges of the pixel electrodes 131, 132, and 133, and includes the circular first openings C11, C12, and C13 exposing central portions of the pixel electrodes 131, 132, and 133) and; a light blocking layer disposed between the emission areas adjacent to each other, and defining a plurality of holes, wherein each of the holes overlaps a corresponding emission area of the emission areas and has a different diameter from the corresponding emission area (par 0081; discloses the black matrix 180 of the display area DA includes circular second openings C21, C22, and C23 which expose emission regions of the respective pixels PX1, PX2, and PX3. The second openings C21, C22, and C23 of the black matrix 180 respectively overlap the first openings C11, C12, and C13 in the pixel-defining layer 115 of the respective pixels PX1, PX2, and PX3, and the second openings C21, C22, and C23 are larger than the first openings C11, C12, and C13 in the pixel-defining layer 115. For example, the second openings C21, C22, and C23 may have a diameter that is larger than that of the first openings C11, C12, and C13); and a plurality of color filters disposed in the holes of the light blocking layer and overlapping the emission areas, (fig. 2; discloses plurality of color filters disposed in the openings C21, C22, C23; par 0084; discloses the color filter 190 is arranged in the emission regions of the respective pixels PX1, PX2, and PX3. For example, the color filter 190 may overlap the pixels PX1, PX2 and PX3.) wherein the emission areas comprise a plurality of first emission areas for emitting light of a first color, a plurality of second emission areas for emitting light of a second color having a shorter wavelength band than the light of the first color, and a plurality of third emission areas for emitting light of a third color having a wavelength band between the light of the first color and the light of the second color, (par 0085; discloses the first pixel PX1 emits red light, the first color filter 191 may filter the red light. where the second pixel PX2 emits green light, the second color filter 192 may filter the green light. where the third pixel PX3 emits blue light, the third color filter 193 may filter the blue light; it is well known red color wavelength is 620-750nm, blue color wavelength is 450-495nm and green color wavelength is 495-570nm) the plurality of holes comprises first holes overlapping the first emission areas, second holes overlapping the second emission areas, and third holes overlapping the third emission areas, (par 0081; discloses the black matrix 180 of the display area DA includes circular second openings C21, C22, and C23 which expose emission regions of the respective pixels PX1, PX2, and PX3. The second openings C21, C22, and C23 of the black matrix 180 respectively overlap the first openings C11, C12, and C13 in the pixel-defining layer 115 of the respective pixels PX1, PX2, and PX3,); in one of the pixels in a plan view, each of a first emission area of the first emission areas, a second emission area of the second emission areas, a third emission area of the third emission areas has a circular shape (fig. 6A; discloses the plurality of pixels in the display have circular shape);
Jeon discloses an opening interval is formed between the first openings corresponding to emission area and second openings corresponding to holes in the black matrix (fig. 2; openings C21 overlapping with opening C11, C22 overlapping with opening C12 and C23 overlapping with C13; par 0081; discloses the second openings C21, C22, and C23 are larger than the first openings C11, C12, and C13 in the pixel-defining layer 115. For example, the second openings C21, C22, and C23 may have a diameter that is larger than that of the first openings C11, C12, and C13; hence a first opening interval is formed between the opening C21 and opening C11, a second opening interval is formed between the openings C22 and C12 and a third opening interval is formed between the opening C2 and C13);
Jeon doesn’t expressly disclose in the one of the pixels in the plan view, a first opening interval between the first emission area of the first emission areas and a first hole of the first holes along the first direction and a fifth opening interval between the first emission area of the first emission areas and the first hole of the first holes along the second direction are equal to each other, in the one of the pixels in the plan view, a second opening interval between the second emission area of the second emission areas and a second hole of the second holes along the first direction and a sixth opening interval between the second emission area of the second emission areas and the second hole of the second holes along the second direction are equal to each other, in the one of the pixels in the plan view, a third opening interval between the third emission area of the third emission areas and a third hole of the third holes along the first direction and a seventh opening interval between the third emission area of the third emission areas and the third hole of the third holes along the second direction are equal to each other, and in the one of the pixels in the plan view, a fourth opening interval between the fourth emission area of the fourth emission areas and a fourth hole of the fourth holes along the first direction and an eighth opening interval between the fourth emission area of the fourth emission areas and the fourth hole of the fourth holes along the second direction are equal to each other;
In the same field of endeavor, JUNG discloses a display device with improved efficiency (par 0002); JUNG discloses in the one of the pixels in the plan view, a first opening interval between the first emission area of the first emission areas and a first hole of the first holes along the first direction and a fifth opening interval between the first emission area of the first emission areas and the first hole of the first holes along the second direction are equal to each other, (fig. 13; discloses a gap G1 is formed between openings 195 and opening 455; fig. 7; discloses gap G1 is equal in all direction; par 0120; discloses For example, in the pixel shown on the left side of FIG. 7, the gap G1 is substantially the same in between the first opening 195 and the second opening 455 in the portions of the gap extending in the first direction D1, second direction D2, third direction D3, and fourth direction D4, respectively.) in the one of the pixels in the plan view, a second opening interval between the second emission area of the second emission areas and a second hole of the second holes along the first direction and a sixth opening interval between the second emission area of the second emission areas and the second hole of the second holes along the second direction are equal to each other, (fig. 13; discloses a gap G2 is formed between openings 195 and opening 455; fig. 7; discloses gap G2 is equal in all direction; par 0116; discloses the gap G between the edge of the first opening 195 and the edge of the second opening may always be constant regardless of a direction thereof; par 0120 as well) in the one of the pixels in the plan view, a third opening interval between the third emission area of the third emission areas and a third hole of the third holes along the first direction and a seventh opening interval between the third emission area of the third emission areas and the third hole of the third holes along the second direction are equal to each other, (fig. 13; discloses a gap G3 is formed between openings 195 and opening 455 in one of the pixels; fig. 7; discloses gaps are equal in all direction; par 0116; discloses the gap G between the edge of the first opening 195 and the edge of the second opening may always be constant regardless of a direction thereof; par 0120 as well) and in the one of the pixels in the plan view, a fourth opening interval between the fourth emission area of the fourth emission areas and a fourth hole of the fourth holes along the first direction and an eighth opening interval between the fourth emission area of the fourth emission areas and the fourth hole of the fourth holes along the second direction are equal to each other (fig. 13; discloses a gap G4 is formed between openings 195 and opening 455 in one of the pixels; fig. 7; discloses gaps are equal in all direction; par 0116; discloses the gap G between the edge of the first opening 195 and the edge of the second opening may always be constant regardless of a direction thereof; par 0120 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon to incorporate the teachings of JUNG to form constant gap in all direction of a subpixel such that light efficiency of the subpixel is improved;
Jeon as modified by JUNG don’t expressly disclose a plurality of fourth emission areas for emitting light of the third color and fourth holes overlapping the fourth emission areas;
In the same field of endeavor, ZENG discloses a display device where ZENG discloses a pixel comprises plurality of subpixels where two of the subpixels are same color (see fig. 1; discloses subpixel in second column are same color within a pixel; par 0007; discloses the second subpixel and the fourth subpixel both are green);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon as modified by JUNG to incorporate the teachings of ZENG to include a fourth subpixel having same color as one of the subpixels in the pixel such that light efficiency is improved while reducing the power consumption of the display device.
With respect to claim 2, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG don’t expressly disclose wherein the first opening interval, the second opening interval, the third opening interval and the fourth opening interval are different from each other;
JUNG further discloses wherein the first opening interval, the second opening interval, the third opening interval and the fourth opening interval are different from each other (par 0140; discloses the difference between the first gap G1 and the second gap G2 and the difference between the third gap G3 and the fourth gap G4 may be variously selected);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG to incorporate the teachings of JUNG to vary the opening interval in the plurality of subpixels in order to improve light output efficiency.
With respect to claim 3, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG discloses wherein, in the one of the pixels in the plan view, each of the corresponding first hole of the first holes, the corresponding second hole of the second holes, the corresponding third hole of the third holes, and the corresponding fourth hole of the fourth holes has a circular shape (Jeon; fig. 9; discloses the opening C21 formed in the black matrix is circular in shape; par 0101; discloses the circular first openings C11, C12, and C13 in the pixel defining layer 115 and the circular second openings C21, C22, and C23 in the black matrix 180 may have polygonal shapes. However, the present invention is not limited thereto. For example, the circular first openings C11, C12, and C13 in the pixel defining layer 115 may have a circular shape, and circular second openings C21, C22, and C23 may have a polygonal shape. As an additional example, the circular first openings C11, C12, and C13 in the pixel defining layer 115 may have a polygonal shape, and circular second openings C21, C22, and C23 may have a circular shape).
With respect to claim 4, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG discloses wherein, in the one of the pixels in the plan view, an opening interval of the first emission area is constant around an entire perimeter of the first emission area, an opening interval of the second emission area is constant around an entire perimeter of the second emission area, an opening interval of the third emission area is constant around an entire perimeter of the third emission area, and an opening interval of the fourth emission area is constant around an entire perimeter of the fourth emission area (JUNG; par 0116; discloses the gap G between the edge of the first opening 195 and the edge of the second opening may always be constant regardless of a direction thereof; par 0120; discloses The gaps between the first opening 195 and the second opening 455 in one pixel are always constant regardless of the direction. For example, in the pixel shown on the left side of FIG. 7, the gap G1 is substantially the same in between the first opening 195 and the second opening 455 in the portions of the gap extending in the first direction D1, second direction D2, third direction D3, and fourth direction D4, respectively).
With respect to claim 5, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG discloses wherein, in the one of the pixels in the plan view, the opening interval of the first emission area around an entire perimeter of the first emission area is different from the opening interval of the second emission area around the entire perimeter of the second emission area and the opening interval of the third emission area around the entire perimeter of the third emission area, and the opening interval of the second emission area around the entire perimeter of the second emission area is different from the opening interval of the third emission area around the entire perimeter of the third emission area;
JUNG further discloses wherein, in the one of the pixels in the plan view, the opening interval of the first emission area around an entire perimeter of the first emission area is different from the opening interval of the second emission area around the entire perimeter of the second emission area and the opening interval of the third emission area around the entire perimeter of the third emission area, and the opening interval of the second emission area around the entire perimeter of the second emission area is different from the opening interval of the third emission area around the entire perimeter of the third emission area (par 0140; discloses the difference between the first gap G1 and the second gap G2 and the difference between the third gap G3 and the fourth gap G4 may be variously selected; par 0020; discloses The second gap has a length that is different from a length of the first gap; par 0022; discloses Some of the plurality of pixels may have a third gap between an edge of the first opening and an edge of the second opening in a direction parallel to the substrate, others of the plurality of pixels may have a fourth gap, which is different from the third gap);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG to incorporate the teachings of JUNG to vary the opening interval in the plurality of subpixels in order to improve light output efficiency.
With respect to claim 6, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG don’t expressly disclose wherein in the plurality of pixels, the emission areas for emitting light of a same color have different opening intervals, and among the emission areas for emitting light of the same color, the emission areas having different opening intervals are at least three types of emission areas;
JUNG further discloses wherein in the plurality of pixels, the emission areas for emitting light of a same color have different opening intervals, (JUNG; par 0021; discloses a pixel having the first gap, a pixel having the second gap, and a pixel having the average gap may emit light of the same color) and among the emission areas for emitting light of the same color, the emission areas having different opening intervals are at least three types of emission areas (JUNG; par 0020; discloses . The second gap has a length that is different from a length of the first gap. The plurality of pixels includes a third plurality of pixels having a third gap between an edge of the first opening and an edge of the second opening in the direction parallel to the upper surface of the substrate. The third gap has a length that is equal to an average of the lengths of the first gap and the second gap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG to incorporate the teachings of JUNG to vary the opening interval in the plurality of subpixels having same color in order to achieve a display device having improved efficiency dispersion.
With respect to claim 7, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG discloses wherein in the plurality of emission areas arranged in the first direction or the second direction, the emission areas adjacent to each other in the first direction or the second direction and for emitting light of the same color have different opening intervals (JUNG; par 0122; discloses the pixels having the first gap G1 and the second gap G2 may emit light of the same color. For example, in the plurality of pixels emitting light of the same color, some thereof may have the first gap G1 and others thereof may have the second gap G2).
With respect to claim 8, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG discloses wherein diameters of the first emission area, the second emission area, and the third emission area are different from each other (Jeon; par 0068; discloses the pixel-defining layer 115 surrounds edges of the pixel electrodes 131, 132, and 133, and includes the circular first openings C11, C12, and C13 exposing central portions of the pixel electrodes 131, 132, and 133).
With respect to claim 9, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG don’t expressly disclose wherein the first opening interval, the second opening interval, and the third opening interval each are in a range of about 3 micrometers (µm) to about 10 µm;
JUNG further discloses wherein the first opening interval, the second opening interval, and the third opening interval each are in a range of about 3 micrometers (µm) to about 10 µm (par 0160; discloses a range of the median gap G0 (X) may be about 0.5 μm to about 5.0 μm);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG to incorporate the teachings of JUNG to vary the opening interval between pixels in order to achieve a display device having improved efficiency dispersion.
With respect to claim 10, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG don’t expressly disclose wherein a difference in opening intervals of the emission areas for emitting light of a same color is in a range of about 0.5 µm to about 1 µm;
JUNG further discloses wherein a difference in opening intervals of the emission areas for emitting light of a same color is in a range of about 0.5 µm to about 1 µm (JUNG; par 0054; discloses in other exemplary embodiments, the difference between the first gap G1 and the second gap G2 may be about 0.2 μm to about 4 μm);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG to incorporate the teachings of JUNG to vary the difference in opening interval between pixels in order to reduce the efficiency dispersion of the display device by including pixels having gaps, with two or more different values (e.g., lengths).
With respect to claim 12, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG don’t expressly disclose wherein a difference between a minimum opening interval and an intermediate opening interval among the opening intervals of the emission areas for emitting light of the same color is different from a difference between the intermediate opening interval and a maximum opening interval among the opening intervals of the emission areas for emitting light of the same color;
JUNG further discloses wherein a difference between a minimum opening interval and an intermediate opening interval among the opening intervals of the emission areas for emitting light of the same color is different from a difference between the intermediate opening interval and a maximum opening interval among the opening intervals of the emission areas for emitting light of the same color (par 0054; discloses In an exemplary embodiment, a difference between the first gap G1 and the second gap G2 may be about 1 μm. However, exemplary embodiments of the present inventive concepts are a of limited thereto. For example, in other exemplary embodiments, the difference between the first gap G1 and the second gap G2 may be about 0.2 μm to about 4 μm. Par 0140; discloses in the display device according to the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 13, a pixel having a difference of 1.0 μm between the first gap G1 and the second gap G2 and a pixel having a difference of 0.2 μm between the third gap G3 and the fourth gap G4 may be mixed; For example, in other exemplary embodiments, the difference between the first gap G1 and the second gap G2 and the difference between the third gap G3 and the fourth gap G4 may be variously selected. See par 0122; discloses the pixels having the first gap G1 and the second gap G2 may emit light of the same color. For example, in the plurality of pixels emitting light of the same color, some thereof may have the first gap G1 and others thereof may have the second gap G2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG to incorporate the teachings of JUNG to vary the difference in opening interval between pixels of same color in order to reduce the efficiency dispersion of the display device by including pixels having gaps, with two or more different values (e.g., lengths); hence improving display quality.
With respect to claim 17, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG further discloses wherein a polarization layer is not disposed on the plurality of pixels (Jeon; par 0126; discloses a polarization film is not required).
Claim(s) 11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al (US Pub 2019/0245017) in view of JUNG et al (US Pub 2021/0104702) and ZENG (US Pub 2020/0098299) and Jung et al (US Pub 2019/0165061) referred to as JUNG061.
With respect to claim 11, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG don’t expressly disclose wherein a difference in the opening intervals of the emission areas for emitting light of the same color is constant;
In the same field of endeavor, JUNG061 discloses display device and control method (see abstract); JUNG061 discloses wherein a difference in the opening intervals of the emission areas for emitting light of the same color is constant (par 0126; discloses FIG. 9 is a plan view showing a plurality of first openings and a plurality of second openings according to another embodiment. Referring to FIG. 9, the gap G between the edge 191 of the first opening 195 and the edge 451 of the second opening 455 according to another exemplary embodiment may vary depending on the pixel PX corresponding thereto. In other words, different color pixels may have different gaps, while same color pixels may have a same gap);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG to incorporate the teachings of JUNG061 to vary the difference in opening interval between pixels of different colors while maintaining same gap between pixels of same color in order to improve light efficiency by maintaining consistency between pixels of same color, hence improving display quality.
With respect to claim 13, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG don’t expressly disclose wherein a minimum opening interval among first opening intervals of the first emission areas is equal to each of a minimum opening interval among second opening intervals of the second emission areas and a minimum opening interval among third opening intervals of the third emission areas;
In the same field of endeavor, JUNG061 discloses wherein a minimum opening interval among first opening intervals of the first emission areas is equal to each of a minimum opening interval among second opening intervals of the second emission areas and a minimum opening interval among third opening intervals of the third emission areas (par 0120; discloses when a gap between the edge 191 of the first opening 195 and the edge 451 of the second opening 455 that overlap the red light emitting layer of the red pixel R is defined as a first gap Gr1, a gap between the edge 191 of the first opening 195 and the edge 451 of the second opening 455 that overlap the greenlight emitting layer of the green pixel G is defined as a second gap Gg1, and a gap between the edge 191 of the first opening 195 and the edge 451 of the second opening 455 that overlap the blue light emitting layer of the blue pixel B is defined as a third gap Gb1, the first gap Gr1, the second gap Gg1, and the third gap Gb1 are substantially equal to each other. Par 0121; discloses Each of the first gap Gr1, the second gap Gg1, and the third gap Gb1 may be between about 0.5 μm to about 5.0 μm; hence minimum gap may be 0.5 μm for all pixels);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG to incorporate the teachings of JUNG061 to form an opening interval between pixels of different colors in order to improve light efficiency by maintaining consistency between pixels of same color, hence improving display quality.
With respect to claim 14, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG don’t expressly disclose wherein an opening interval deviation of the first opening intervals is equal to each of an opening interval deviation of the second opening intervals and an opening interval deviation of the third opening intervals;
In the same field of endeavor, JUNG061 discloses wherein an opening interval deviation of the first opening intervals is equal to each of an opening interval deviation of the second opening intervals and an opening interval deviation of the third opening intervals; (par 0120; discloses when a gap between the edge 191 of the first opening 195 and the edge 451 of the second opening 455 that overlap the red light emitting layer of the red pixel R is defined as a first gap Gr1, a gap between the edge 191 of the first opening 195 and the edge 451 of the second opening 455 that overlap the greenlight emitting layer of the green pixel G is defined as a second gap Gg1, and a gap between the edge 191 of the first opening 195 and the edge 451 of the second opening 455 that overlap the blue light emitting layer of the blue pixel B is defined as a third gap Gb1, the first gap Gr1, the second gap Gg1, and the third gap Gb1 are substantially equal to each other. Par 0121; discloses Each of the first gap Gr1, the second gap Gg1, and the third gap Gb1 may be between about 0.5 μm to about 5.0 μm; hence minimum gap may be 0.5 μm for all pixels);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG to incorporate the teachings of JUNG061 to form same opening interval between pixels of different colors in order to improve light efficiency by maintaining consistency between pixels of same color, hence improving display quality.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al (US Pub 2019/0245017) in view of JUNG et al (US Pub 2021/0104702) and ZENG (US Pub 2020/0098299) and Jung et al (US Pub 2019/0165061) referred to as JUNG061 and HEO et al (US Pub 2021/0264823).
With respect to claim 15, Jeon as modified by JUNG, ZENG and HEO don’t expressly disclose wherein an opening interval deviation of the first opening intervals is different from each of an opening interval deviation of the second opening intervals and an opening interval deviation of the third opening intervals;
In the same field of endeavor, HEO discloses display device where HEO discloses wherein an opening interval deviation of the first opening intervals is different from each of an opening interval deviation of the second opening intervals and an opening interval deviation of the third opening intervals (fig. 10; discloses shifting of opening intervals in a pixel; par 0141; discloses As shown in FIG. 10, the first opening 195 at the first red pixel R1 and the second red pixel R2 of the display device 1000 according to the exemplary embodiment may be patterned as designed, and the second opening 455 at the first red pixel R1 and the second red pixel R2 may be patterned to be shifted more to the left side than designed. par 0176; discloses As shown in FIG. 14, at the first green pixel G1, the second green pixel G2, the third green pixel G3, and the fourth green pixel G4 of the display device according to the exemplary embodiment, the first openings 195 may be patterned as designed and the second openings 455 may be patterned to be shifted more to the left side than designed);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon as modified by JUNG, ZENG and JUNG061 to incorporate the teachings of HEO to vary the shifting of opening in the plurality of pixels in order to compensate for changes to the light emission efficiency that may occur during the fabrication process of the display device.
With respect to claim 16, Jeon as modified by JUNG, ZENG and JUNG061 don’t expressly disclose wherein a ratio of the opening interval deviation of the first opening intervals, the opening interval deviation of the second opening intervals, and the opening interval deviation of the third opening intervals is 1: 0.73:0.86;
JUNG061 further discloses wherein a ratio of the opening interval deviation of the first opening intervals, the opening interval deviation of the second opening intervals, and the opening interval deviation of the third opening intervals may be different and variously changed (par 0128; discloses a ratio (Gr2:Gg2:Gb2) between the first gap Gr2, the second gap Gg2, and the third gap Gb2 according to another exemplary embodiment is about 1:2:1. However, exemplary embodiments are not limited thereto, and the ratio (Gr2:Gg2:Gb2) between the first gap Gr2, the second gap Gg2, and the third gap Gb2 may be variously changed according to the specification of the OLED display device 10, for example, to 1:2:2 or 2:2:1.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon as modified by JUNG, ZENG, JUNG061 and HEO to incorporate the teachings of JUNG061 to vary the opening intervals of different color subpixels in order to improve the light emission efficiency of the plurality of pixels in the display panel such that display quality is improved.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al (US Pub 2019/0245017) in view of JUNG et al (US Pub 2021/0104702) and ZENG (US Pub 2020/0098299) and Hanamura (US Pub 2018/0343714).
With respect to claim 18, Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG wherein the plurality of color filters are disposed to overlap the emission areas which emit light of the same color, but have different opening intervals, (Jeon; par 00084; discloses the color filter 190 is arranged in the emission regions of the respective pixels PX1, PX2, and PX3. For example, the color filter 190 may overlap the pixels PX1, PX2 and PX3);
Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG don’t expressly disclose the plurality of color filters overlapping the emission areas having different opening intervals comprise middle portions having different thicknesses;
In the same field of endeavor, HANAMURA discloses a display device where the plurality of color filters overlapping the emission areas having different opening intervals comprise middle portions having different thicknesses (par 0091; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 5C, the film thickness of the colored layers 36B, 36G, an 36R in the present embodiment gets thicker in an order of green (G), blue (B), and red (R). Specifically, the average film thickness tg of the colored layer 36G is about 1.6 μm, the average film thickness tb of the colored layer 36B is about 1.9 μm, and the average film thickness tr of the colored layer 36R is about 2.0 μm. This is set considering the visual sensitivity of each color, and a white balance);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Jeon as modified by JUNG and ZENG to incorporate the teachings of HANAMURA to vary the thickness of the color filter for different color subpixels in order to adjust the light emission and maintaining white balance.
Conclusion
/SUJIT SHAH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624