CTNF 19/064,103 CTNF 77347 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/25 has been acknowledged and considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2018/0034002 hereinafter “Kim (‘002)”) in view of Kim et al (US 2010/0127615 hereinafter “Kim (‘615)”) . Regarding claim 1 ; Kim (‘002) discloses a display device ( figure 1 and paragraph [0039] ) comprising: a substrate ( 10 @ figure 1 ) comprising: a display area ( A1 @ figure 1 and paragraph [0040]: e.g., The substrate 10 includes a display area A 1 ) including a display element ( 20 @ figure 1 and paragraph [0043]:e.g., The display member 20 may be a flat display panel, e.g., an organic light emitting panel, a liquid crystal panel, and the like ) which displays an image ( paragraph [0039]: e.g., a display member 20 positioned on the substrate 10 and displaying an image ), and a peripheral area ( A2 @ figure 1 ) adjacent to the display area ( A1 @ figure 1 ); a display element layer ( 20 @ figure 1 ) facing the substrate ( 10 @ figure 1 ), wherein the display element layer ( 20 @ figure 1 ) comprising the display element ( paragraph [0043 ]); a protection film ( 30 @ figure 1 ) facing the display element layer ( 20 @ figure 1 ) with the substrate ( 10 @ figure 1 ) therebetween. Kim (‘002) discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a separator which is between the substrate and the protection film, and in the display area. However, Kim (‘615) teaches that it is known in the art to provide a separator ( 164 @ figure 1 ) which is between the substrate ( 110 @ figure 3 ) and the protection film ( 155 @ figure 3 ), and the separator ( 164 @ figure 3 ) is in the display area ( AA @ figure 1 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine display device of Kim (‘002) with a separator which is between the substrate and the protection film, and in the display area as taught by Kim (‘615) for the purpose of improving absorbed between the spaced apart adhesives, thereby reducing the impact on the display panel. Regarding claim 2 ; Kim (‘002) discloses the display area ( A1 @ figure 3 ) of the substrate ( 10 @ figure 1 ) comprises: a main display area ( A1 @ figure 1 ), a side area ( A2 @ figure 1 ) which is bendable relative to the main display area ( A1 @ figure 1 ), and a boundary ( figure 1 ) between the main display area ( A1 @ figure 1 ) and the side area ( A2 @ figure 1 ). Kim (‘002) discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the separator which is between the substrate and the protection film, and in the display area, corresponds to the boundary between the main display area and the side area. However, Kim (‘615) teaches that it is known in the art to provide the separator ( 164 @ figure 3 ) which is between the substrate ( 110 @ figure 3 ) and the protection film ( 155 @ figure 3 ), and in the display area ( AA @ figure 3 ), corresponds to the boundary (figure 3) between the main display area ( AA @ figure 3 ) and the side area ( NAA @ figure 30 ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine display device of Kim (‘002) with limitation above as taught by Kim (‘615) for the purpose of improving absorbed between the spaced apart adhesives, thereby reducing the impact on the display panel. Regarding claim 3 ; Kim (‘002) discloses the display area (A1, A2 @ figure 1) comprises: a main display area ( A1 @ figure 1 ), a side area ( A2 @ figure 1 ) which is bendable relative to the main display area ( A1 @ figure 1 ) and between the main display area ( A1 @ figure 1 ) and the peripheral area ( A2 @ figure 1 ), and a boundary ( figure 1 ) where the main display area ( A1 @ figure 1 ) and the side area ( A2 @ figure 1 ) meet each other, and Kim (‘002) discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the separator which is between the substrate and the protection film, and in the display area, extends along an entirety of the boundary where the main display area and the side area meet each other. However, Kim (‘615) teaches that it is known in the art to provide the separator ( 164 @ figure 3 ) which is between the substrate (110 @ figure 1 ) and the protection film ( 155 @ figure 3 ), and in the display area ( AA @ figure 3 ), extends along an entirety of the boundary ( figure 3 ) where the main display area ( AA @ figure 3 ) and the side area ( NAA @ figure 3 ) meet each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine display device of Kim (‘002) with limitation above as taught by Kim (‘615) for the purpose of improving absorbed between the spaced apart adhesives, thereby reducing the impact on the display panel. Regarding claim 4 ; Kim (‘002) discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the main display area has a planar shape, and the separator has a closed shape corresponding to the planar shape of the main display area. However, Kim (‘615) teaches that it is known in the art to provide the main display area ( AA @ figure 3 ) has a planar shape, and the separator ( 164 @ figure 3 ) has a closed shape corresponding to the planar shape of the main display area ( AA @ figure 3 ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine display device of Kim (‘002) with limitation above as taught by Kim (‘615) for the purpose of improving absorbed between the spaced apart adhesives, thereby reducing the impact on the display panel. Regarding claim 5 ; Kim (‘002) discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the separator corresponds to the display element. However, Kim (‘615) teaches that it is known in the art to provide the separator ( 164 @ figure 3 ) corresponds to the display element ( 182 @ figure 3 and paragraph [0061]: e.g., The organic emitting layer 182 may extend over the patterned spacer 150. The organic emitting layer 182 and the second electrode 184 may be separated by each pixel region P due to the tapered shape of the separator 164 without a separate patterning process. The organic emitting layers 182 in R (red), G (green) and B (blue) pixel regions may be made of organic materials emitting R, G and B lights, respectively .). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine display device of Kim (‘002) with limitation above as taught by Kim (‘615) for the purpose of improving absorbed between the spaced apart adhesives, thereby reducing the impact on the display panel. Regarding claim 7 ; Kim (‘002) discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a material layer which is between the substrate and the protection film, wherein the separator extends into the material layer. However, Kim (‘615) teaches that it is known in the art to provide a material layer ( adhesive layer 120 @ figure 3 ) which is between the substrate ( 110 @ figure 3 ) and the protection film ( 155 @ figure 3 ), wherein the separator ( 164 @ figure 3 ) extends into the material layer ( 120 @ figure 3 ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine display device of Kim (‘002) with limitation above as taught by Kim (‘615) for the purpose of improving absorbed between the spaced apart adhesives, thereby reducing the impact on the display panel. Regarding claim 8 ; Kim (‘002) discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the substrate includes a lower surface which is closest to the protection film, and the separator extends from the lower surface of the substrate and toward the protection film. However, Kim (‘615) teaches that it is known in the art to provide the substrate includes a lower surface which is closest to the protection film ( 155 @ figure 3 ), and the separator ( 164 @ figure 3 ) extends from the lower surface of the substrate ( 110 @ figure 3 ) and toward the protection film ( 155 @ figure 3 ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine display device of Kim (‘002) with limitation above as taught by Kim (‘615) for the purpose of improving absorbed between the spaced apart adhesives, thereby reducing the impact on the display panel. Regarding claim 9 ; Kim (‘002) discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the protection film includes an upper surface which is closest to the substrate, and the separator extends from the upper surface of the protection film and toward the substrate. However, Kim (‘615) teaches that it is known in the art to provide the protection film ( 155 @ figure 3 ) includes an upper surface which is closest to the substrate ( 110 @ figure 3 ), and the separator ( 164 @ figure 3 ) extends from the upper surface of the protection film ( 155 @ figure 3 ) and toward the substrate ( 110 @ figure 3 ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine display device of Kim (‘002) with limitation above as taught by Kim (‘615) for the purpose of improving absorbed between the spaced apart adhesives, thereby reducing the impact on the display panel . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6 and 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails discloses or render obvious a display device comprising all the specific elements with the specific combination including each of the substrate, the protection film and the separator includes a material having a light transmittance and a light reflectance, and the light transmittance and the light reflectance of the separator is different from the light transmittance and the light reflectance of each of the substrate and the protection film in set forth of claim 6. The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails discloses or render obvious a display device comprising all the specific elements with the specific combination including the display area includes a first display area and a second display area provided with a boundary line therebetween, and the separator is arranged corresponding to the boundary line in set forth of claim 10. The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails discloses or render obvious a display device comprising all the specific elements with the specific combination including further comprising an auxiliary separator which corresponds to the separator, wherein the substrate comprises a first resin layer, a first barrier layer, a second resin layer, and a second barrier layer in order from the protection film, and the auxiliary separator is between the first resin layer and the first barrier layer in set forth of claim 14. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 1) Jung et al (US 2021/0074939) discloses a quantum dot composition includes a quantum dot, a ligand to bind to a surface of the quantum dot, an additive having an amine group, and a precursor comprising an organometallic compound, the composition forming a modified quantum dot having a reformed surface characteristic. 2) Cho et al (US 2020/0159384) discloses an input sensing unit and a display device including the input sensing unit. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SANG H NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-2425. The examiner can normally be reached M-F . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michelle Iacoletti can be reached at 571-270-5789 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SN/ June 10, 2026 /SANG H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 Application/Control Number: 19/064,103 Page 2 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 19/064,103 Page 3 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 19/064,103 Page 4 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 19/064,103 Page 5 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 19/064,103 Page 6 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 19/064,103 Page 7 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 19/064,103 Page 8 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 19/064,103 Page 9 Art Unit: 2877