Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-11, & 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill (PGPub 2007/0052953) (Hill) in view of Xia et al (PGPub 2023/0239053) (Xia).
Regarding Claims 1, & 11, Hill discloses a wafer inspection apparatus (Paragraph 6, Figs. 1, 2, & 13) comprising:
a light source (42) configured to output first tight;
an optical arrangement (12 & 10) behind an image surface, the arrangement configured to receive the first light and output second light that is in a random pattern (Paragraphs 65, 67, & 97);
an optical system (88) configured to provide the second light to an illuminated region of a wafer (78, Paragraph 41) that is behind a sample surface; and
a detector (172, Fig. 13) behind a detection surface and configured to acquire a diffraction image formed on the detection surface by reflection of the second light from a detection region within the illuminated region of the wafer (Paragraphs 41, & 122). A patterned wafer will provide a diffraction image from light reflecting from it. Further, the detector itself is capable of acquiring a diffraction image regardless if it is produced or not and thus meets this limitation;
wherein each of the sample surface, the detection surface, and the image surface is a virtual plane that is set in a direction perpendicular to a traveling direction of the second light, wherein the image surface is in a first light path from the light source to the spatial light modulator and in a second light path from the spatial light modulator to the optical system. Since these are arbitrarily assigned virtual planes it is entirely possible to set some planes on this apparatus that meet this limitation. Secondly an image plane with Hill that is after the diffuser and perpendicular to the direction of travel of light would be both in the first light path and second light path; and
wherein the second light that is in the random pattern forms a random pattern image of a same shape on each of the sample surface, the detection surface, and the image surface. The light projected through the optics surface would maintain the shape of the wavefront through all of the surfaces;
Hill fails to disclose the optical arrangement is a spatial light modulator (SLM);
However, Xia teaches a SLM can be used to produce arbitrary light patterns (Fig. 13, Paragraph 419);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hill with the optical arrangement is a spatial light modulator (SLM) because a SLM is functionally equivalent to the arrangement taught by Hill and would be used based upon availability and cost.
Regarding Claims 9 & 17, Hill as modified by Xia discloses the aforementioned. Further, Hill discloses wherein the wafer comprises a periodic pattern on a surface thereof (Paragraph 41). A patterned wafer meets this limitation. Further, it is immaterial to the patentability of the claimed invention the type of sample being measured by the apparatus so long as the apparatus is capable of performing this task.
Regarding Claim 10, Hill as modified by Xia discloses the aforementioned. Further, Hill discloses wherein the first light output from the light source comprises at least one of ultraviolet light, extreme ultraviolet light, X-rays, and visible light (Paragraph 56).
Regarding Claim 16, Hill as modified by Xia discloses the aforementioned. Further, Hill discloses wherein the first light output from the light source comprises at least one of ultraviolet light, extreme ultraviolet light, X-rays, and visible light (Paragraph 56);
Hill fails to disclose wherein the random pattern image comprises a speckle pattern image;
However, Xia discloses wherein the random pattern image comprises a speckle pattern image (Fig. 13B, Paragraph 420);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hill with wherein the random pattern image comprises a speckle pattern image because this is functionally equivalent to the arbitrary pattern disclosed and would be common sense to use.
Regarding Claim 18, Hill discloses a wafer inspection apparatus (Paragraph 6, Figs. 1, 2, & 13) comprising:
a light source (42);
a stage configured to fix a wafer (78) that is behind a sample surface and that comprises a periodic pattern formed on a surface thereof. Inherently the sample has to have some form of stage supporting it thus this limitation is met;
an optical arrangement (12 & 10) behind an image surface, the arrangement configured to receive the first light and output second light that is in a random pattern (Paragraphs 65, 67, & 97);
a beam splitter in a first path of the second light and configured to transmit the second light toward the wafer (Paragraph 86);
an objective lens (88) configured to focus the second light onto an illuminated region of the wafer; and
a detector (172, Fig. 13) behind a detection surface and configured to acquire a diffraction image formed on the detection surface based on focused third light reflected from a detection region of the wafer (Paragraphs 41, & 122). A patterned wafer will provide a diffraction image from light reflecting from it. Further, the detector itself is capable of acquiring a diffraction image regardless if it is produced or not and thus meets this limitation;
wherein each of the sample surface, the detection surface, and the image surface is a virtual plane set in a direction perpendicular to a traveling direction of the second light in the random pattern, wherein the image surface is in a second light path from the spatial light modulator to the beam splitter. Since these are arbitrarily assigned virtual planes it is entirely possible to set some planes on this apparatus that meet this limitation; and
wherein the second light that is in the random pattern forms a random pattern image of a same shape on each of the sample surface, the detection surface, and the image surface. The light projected through the optics surface would maintain the shape of the wavefront through all of the surfaces;
Hill fails to disclose the optical arrangement is a spatial light modulator (SLM);
However, Xia teaches a SLM can be used to produce arbitrary light patterns (Fig. 13, Paragraph 419);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hill with the optical arrangement is a spatial light modulator (SLM) because a SLM is functionally equivalent to the arrangement taught by Hill and would be used based upon availability and cost.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 12-15, 19, & 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to Claim 2 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a controller configured to control the spatial light modulator to move a position of the random pattern image on the image surface, wherein the illuminated region of the wafer and the detection region within the illuminated region are not changed while the position of the random pattern image is moved, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Claim 3-8 are allowable based upon their dependency.
As to Claim 12 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a controller configured to control the spatial light modulator to move a position of the random pattern image on the image surface within a preset region such that the restricted region is included within the random pattern image formed on the image surface, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Claim 13-15 are allowable based upon their dependency.
As to Claim 19 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein the wafer inspection apparatus further comprises a controller configured to control the spatial light modulator to move a position of the random pattern image on the image surface within a preset region such that the restricted region is included within the random pattern image formed on the image surface, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Claim 20 is allowable based upon its dependency.
Conclusion
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 June 27, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877