DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
At the outset, it is noted that although Fig. 18 includes a photograph, this figure is not objected to due to Applicant’s 8/2/23 Remarks in US 17/548,127, to which the pending application claims priority.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,241,305. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Re claim 1 of the pending application and claim 1 of ‘305, each discloses an insulated assembly comprising: a first pane of material; a second pane of material; one or more monolithic insulating layers interposed between the first pane of material and the second pane of material, the insulating layer comprising cellulose and having a thermal conductivity less than 26 mW/(K·m); an active coating on one or more of the first pane and the second pane, wherein at least one of the one or more monolithic insulating layers is greater than 66% transparent to light in the visible spectrum (as ‘305 discloses greater than 90%).
Re claims 2-3 of the pending application and claims 2-3 of ‘305, each discloses identical features.
Re claim 4 of the pending application and claim 1 of ‘305, each discloses a gap between at least one of the one or more monolithic insulating layers and at least one of the first pane of material and the second pane of material.
Re claim 5 of the pending application and claim 5 of ‘305, each discloses further comprising a coating on one or at least one of the first pane of material and the second pane of material to reduce emissivity of the insulated assembly.
Re claim 6 of the pending application and claim 6 of ‘305, each discloses a gas in the gap.
Re claims 7-14 of the pending application and claims 7-14 of ‘305, each discloses identical features.
Re claim 15 of the pending application and claim 16 of ‘305, each discloses a method of forming an insulated assembly, the method comprising the steps of: providing a first pane of material; treating a surface of the first pane of material to form a treated surface; forming a first cellulose-based monolithic insulating layer directly on the treated surface; and providing a second pane of material; wherein the insulated assembly comprises the first cellulose-based monolithic insulating layer between the first pane of material and the second pane of material, wherein a thermal conductivity of the insulated assembly is less than 26 mW/(K·m), and wherein the insulated assembly is greater than 66% transparent to light in the visible spectrum (as ‘305 discloses greater than 90%).
Re claim 16 of the pending application and claim 16 of ‘305, each discloses plasma treatment, etching using a basic solution (claim 16 of ‘305), etching using an acidic solution (claim 16 of ‘305), or any combination thereof.
Re claim 17 of the pending application and claim 17 of ‘305, each discloses forming a second cellulose-based monolithic insulating layer directly on a surface of the second pane of material.
Re claim 18 of the pending application and claim 19 of ‘305, each discloses a method of forming an insulated assembly, the method comprising the steps of: providing a first pane of material; forming a first cellulose-based monolithic insulating layer directly on a surface of the first pane of material; and providing a second pane of material; wherein the insulated assembly comprises the first cellulose-based monolithic insulating layer between the first pane of material and the second pane of material, and wherein a thermal conductivity of the insulated assembly is less than 26 mW/(K·m).
Re claim 18 of the pending application and claim 20 of ‘305, each discloses a method of forming an insulated assembly, the method comprising the steps of: providing a first pane of material; forming a first cellulose-based monolithic insulating layer directly on a surface of the first pane of material; and providing a second pane of material; wherein the insulated assembly comprises the first cellulose-based monolithic insulating layer between the first pane of material and the second pane of material, and wherein a thermal conductivity of the insulated assembly is less than 26 mW/(K·m).
Re claim 19 of the pending application and claim 19 of ‘305, each discloses providing coupling molecules on one or more of the surface of the first pane of material and a surface of the second pane of material.
Re claim 20 of the pending application and claim 15 of ‘305, each discloses an insulation unit comprising an insulated assembly of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 5, claim 5 recites, “low-emissivity coating” in line 1. The term “low-emissivity” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low-emissivity” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What is low-emissivity to one of ordinary skill may not be to another and thus, the scope of the claim is unclear. For the purposes of this examation, this language will be interpreted “a coating.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samanta et al (“Samanta”) (US 2016/0319588) in view of Wang et al (“Wang”) (US 2019/0333490), Murofushi et al (“Murofushi”) (US 2018/0264784) and Janowski (US 2019/0267933).
Re claim 1, Samanta discloses an insulated assembly (100) comprising:
a first pane (120A) of material ([0030]);
a second pane (120B) of material ([0030]); and
one or more insulating layers (110) interposed between (Fig. 1) the first pane of material (120A) and the second pane of material (120B),
the insulating layer (110) having a thermal conductivity less than 26 mW/(K·m) ([0015]), and wherein at least one of the one or more monolithic insulating layers (110) is greater than 66% transparent to light in the visible spectrum ([0006] disclosing light absorbance of less than 90%, which equates to greater than 66% transparency),
but fails to disclose the insulating layer comprising cellulose, and the insulating layer as monolithic (though, Samanta discloses an aerogel, which the present specification lists as monolithic) and an active coating on one or more of the first pane and the second pane.
However, Murofushi discloses the insulating layer (14) comprising cellulose ([0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulated assembly of Samanta with the insulating layer comprising cellulose as disclosed by Murofushi in order to provide transparency and heat-insulating properties through use of a material that is tough, easy to bend, and lightweight ([0063]).
In addition, Wang discloses the insulating layer (104) as monolithic ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulated assembly of Samanta with the insulating layer as monolithic as disclosed by Wang in order to provide an optically transparent, thermally insulating, soundproof window, that matches thermal performance of more expensive air-filled double-pane glazing’s, while maintaining visible transparency similar to glass and without adding additional weight ([0006]).
In addition, Janowski discloses an active coating (Fig. 44; [0194]; [0045] of Applicant’s specification identifying electrochromic coatings) on one or more of the first pane (328) and the second pane.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulated assembly of Samanta with an active coating on one or more of the first pane and the second pane as disclosed by Janowski in order to provide vary opacity or tint ([0017]).
Re claim 2, Samanta as modified discloses the insulated assembly of claim 1, but fails to disclose comprising the active coating on the first pane and on the second pane.
However, it would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulated assembly of Samanta comprising the active coating on the first pane and on the second pane in order to vary opacity and/or tint on both panes instead of a single pane. In general, it has been held that the duplication of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent production of a new or unexpected result. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669.
Re claim 3, Samanta as modified discloses the insulated assembly of claim 1, wherein a refractive index ([0023]) of at least one of the one or more monolithic insulating layers (110) is less than 1.5 ([0023]).
Re claim 5, Samanta as modified discloses the insulated assembly of claim 1, Janowski discloses further comprising a low-emissivity coating ([0197]) on one or at least one of the first pane of material (328) and the second pane of material (334) to reduce emissivity of the insulated assembly (Fig. 48).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulated assembly of Samanta with a coating on one or at least one of the first pane of material and the second pane of material to reduce emissivity of the insulated assembly as disclosed by Janowski in order to o reflect heat yet allow light through the substrate ([0086]). In addition, low-e coatings on such layers are extremely well-known and common in the art.
Re claim 7, Samanta as modified discloses the insulated assembly of claim 1, Wang discloses wherein at least one of the one or more monolithic insulating layers (104) comprises mesoporous material ([0040]) exhibiting pore sizes less than 100 nanometers ([0037).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulated assembly of Samanta wherein at least one of the one or more monolithic insulating layers comprises mesoporous material exhibiting pore sizes less than 100 nanometers as disclosed by Wang in order to provide transparency while providing acoustic reflection, providing increased compressive strength, and a providing increased bending strength ([0039]).
Re claim 9, Samanta as modified discloses the insulated assembly of claim 1, Wang discloses wherein a haze value of the insulated assembly is less than 5% ([0033], [0068]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulated assembly of Samanta wherein a haze value of the insulated assembly is less than 5% as disclosed by Wang in order to increase clarity through the assembly, as is the normal and logical result of reducing haze value.
Re claim 10, Samanta as modified discloses the insulated assembly of claim 1, Wang discloses wherein an average transmission of light in the visible spectrum is greater than 73% ([0068]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulated assembly of Samanta wherein an average transmission of light in the visible spectrum is greater than 73%.as disclosed by Wang in order to provide clear window applications ([0068]).
Re claim 11, Samanta as modified discloses the insulated assembly of claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising one or more spacers between the first pane of material and the second pane of material.
However, Janowsi discloses further comprising one or more spacers (210) between the first pane of material (328) and the second pane of material (334).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulated assembly of Samanta further comprising one or more spacers between the first pane of material and the second pane of material as disclosed by Janowsi in order to maintain the first pane and the second pane in a consistently separated relationship, as spacers are extremely well-known and common in the art.
Re claim 12, Samanta as modified discloses the insulated assembly of claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising a frame about a perimeter of the first pane of material and the second pane of material and a sealant between the first pane of material and the second pane of material.
However, Janowski discloses further comprising a frame (100b) about a perimeter of the first pane of material (328) and the second pane of material (334) and a sealant ([0197]) between the first pane of material (328) and the second pane of material (334).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulated assembly of Samanta further comprising a frame about a perimeter of the first pane of material and the second pane of material and a sealant between the first pane of material and the second pane of material as disclosed by Janowsi in order to provide for attachment within a building opening while maintaining the panes in position, and to aid in adhering the panes together while increasing thermal properties, as frames and sealants are extremely well-known and common in the art.
Re claim 13, Samanta as modified discloses the insulated assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more monolithic insulating layers (104) is a self-supporting layer ([0032]) that directly contacts (Fig. 1) at least one of the first pane material and the second pane material (120B).
Re claim 20, Samanta as modified discloses an insulation unit (100) comprising an insulated assembly of claim 1 (see above).
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samanta et al (“Samanta”) (US 2016/0319588) in view of Wang et al (“Wang”) (US 2019/0333490), Murofushi et al (“Murofushi”) (US 2018/0264784) and Braley (US 2020/0009386).
Re claim 15, Samanta discloses a method of forming (Fig. 1) an insulated assembly (100), the method comprising the steps of:
providing (Fig. 1 showing 120B provided) a first pane (120B) of material ([0030]);
forming (Fig. 1 showing 110 formed) a first insulating layer (10) directly on a surface (surface of 120B); and
providing (Fig. 1 showing 120A provided) a second pane (120A) of material ([0030]),
wherein the insulated assembly (100) comprises the insulating layer (110) between (Fig. 1) the first pane of material (120B) and the second pane of material (120A),
wherein a thermal conductivity of the insulated assembly (100) is less than 26 mW/(K·m) ([0015]), and
wherein the insulated assembly (100) is greater than 66% transparent to light in the visible spectrum ([0006] disclosing light absorbance of less than 90%, which equates to greater than 66% transparency),
but fails to disclose the insulating layer as cellulose-based, the insulating layer as monolithic (though, Samanta discloses an aerogel, which the present specification lists as monolithic) and treating a surface of the first pane of material to form a treated surface.
However, Murofushi discloses the insulating layer (14) as cellulose-based ([0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samanta with the insulating layer is cellulose-based as disclosed by Murofushi in order to provide transparency and heat-insulating properties through use of a material that is tough, easy to bend, and lightweight ([0063]).
In addition, Wang discloses the insulating layer (104) as monolithic ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samanta with the insulating layer as monolithic as disclosed by Wang in order to provide an optically transparent, thermally insulating, soundproof window, that matches thermal performance of more expensive air-filled double-pane glazing’s, while maintaining visible transparency similar to glass and without adding additional weight ([0006]).
In addition, Braley discloses treating ([0011]) a surface of the first pane of material ([0011]) to form a treated surface ([0011]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samanta with treating a surface of the first pane of material to form a treated surface as disclosed by Braley so that the incident radiation is transmitted and reflected diffusely by the surface ([0011]).
Re claim 16, Samanta as modified discloses the method of claim 15, Braley discloses wherein the step of treating comprises plasma treatment, etching using a basic solution, etching using an acidic solution, or any combination thereof ([0011]).
Re claim 17, Samanta as modified discloses the method of claim 15, but fails to disclose further comprising a step of forming a second cellulose-based monolithic insulating layer directly on a surface of the second pane of material.
However, it would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samanta further comprising a step of forming a second cellulose-based monolithic insulating layer directly on a surface of the second pane of material in order to increase insulative properties of the assembly. In general, it has been held that the duplication of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent production of a new or unexpected result. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samanta et al (“Samanta”) (US 2016/0319588) in view of Wang et al (“Wang”) (US 2019/0333490) and Murofushi et al (“Murofushi”) (US 2018/0264784).
Re claim 18, Samanta discloses a method of forming (Fig. 1) an insulated assembly (100), the method comprising the steps of:
providing (Fig. 1 showing 120B provided) a first pane (120B) of material ([0030]);
forming (Fig. 1 showing 110 formed) a first insulating layer (10) directly on a surface (surface of 120B) of the first pane of material (120B); and
providing (Fig. 1 showing 120A provided) a second pane (120A) of material ([0030]),
wherein the insulated assembly (100) comprises the insulating layer (110) between (Fig. 1) the first pane of material (120B) and the second pane of material (120A),
wherein a thermal conductivity of the insulated assembly (100) is less than 26 mW/(K·m) ([0015]),
but fails to disclose the insulating layer as cellulose-based, the insulating layer as monolithic (though, Samanta discloses an aerogel, which the present specification lists as monolithic).
However, Murofushi discloses the insulating layer (14) as cellulose-based ([0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samanta with the insulating layer is cellulose-based as disclosed by Murofushi in order to provide transparency and heat-insulating properties through use of a material that is tough, easy to bend, and lightweight ([0063]).
In addition, Wang discloses the insulating layer (104) as monolithic ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samanta with the insulating layer as monolithic as disclosed by Wang in order to provide an optically transparent, thermally insulating, soundproof window, that matches thermal performance of more expensive air-filled double-pane glazing’s, while maintaining visible transparency similar to glass and without adding additional weight ([0006]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samanta et al (“Samanta”) (US 2016/0319588) in view of Wang et al (“Wang”) (US 2019/0333490), Murofushi et al (“Murofushi”) (US 2018/0264784) and Gubbels et al (“Gubbels”) (US 2020/0071988).
Re claim 19, Samanta as modified the method of claim 18, but fails to disclose further comprising providing coupling molecules on one or more of the surface of the first pane of material and a surface of the second pane of material.
However, Gubbels discloses further comprising providing coupling molecules ([0026]; [0069] disclosing coupling molecules defined in Applicant’s [0010]) on one or more of the surface of the first pane of material and a surface of the second pane of material ([0026]; [0069]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samanta with further comprising providing coupling molecules on one or more of the surface of the first pane of material and a surface of the second pane of material as disclosed by Gubbels in order to provide a strong adhesive bond and seal ([0064]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4, 6, 8, 14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and/or to overcome the rejections under 35 USC 112 in the above. It is noted that claim 4 is akin to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,241,305 in scope, but for wherein at least one of the one or more monolithic insulating layers is greater than 66% transparent (claimed as 90% in ‘305) to light in the visible spectrum.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635