Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status Rejections
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 110, 111, 120, 121, 511B.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the peripheral concave shape must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim 7. No new matter should be entered.
Figures 5(a), 5(b) do not clearly show an absorbing unit has a concave shape (520A, 520B) with a hole being able to fit the concave shape (510A,511B). Figures show a square/rectangular shape for the absorbing unit.
Claim Objections
Claims 2,4,5-7,9,10 are objected to because of the following informalities: written as “according to the claim”, it should be “according to claim”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2-10 states ‘an end effector’ while claim 1 already established ‘an end effector’. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret the ‘an end effector’ in claims 2-10 as the same feature.
Claim 6, which depends from claim 2, and claim 2 depends from claim 1, recites “a hole”, however claim 1 recites “a plurality of holes”. It is unclear if a “a hole” is one of the “plurality of holes”.
Claim 7 has same ambiguity as claim 6.
Claim 7 also states in line 1 ‘absorbing unit has a concave shape’ while line 3 has ‘the protrusion of the inner side of the hole is configured to fit into a concave shape of the absorbing unit’. It is unclear if it is different. It should recite “the concave shape of the absorbing unit” in line 3.
Claim 11 states in preamble ‘transporting a substrate’, while line 2 in body has ‘arm configured to move a substrate’. For examination purposes, the examiner will treat it as the same feature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Kroetz et al.
Regarding claim 1:
Kroetz et al. teaches an end effector (100) used for transporting a substrate, comprises:
a paddle (102) configured to support a substrate (101) and the paddle being flat;
a blade part (107) connected to the paddle at a first end of the paddle, wherein a distal end
of the blade part is provided with a front protrusion (1090) for positioning the substrate;
and a plurality of pads (108) disposed in each of a plurality of holes, wherein the plurality of
pads contact the substrate when transporting the substrate and wherein the plurality of
holes are disposed in the paddle and the blade part.
Regarding claim 2:
Kroetz et al. teaches an end effector according to the claim 1, further comprises: a joint section (654) connected to the paddle at a second end of the paddle and configured to be attached to a robotic arm.
Regarding claim 3:
Kroetz et al. teaches an end effector according to claim 2, wherein a number of the holes is equal to or greater than three (3) (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 4:
Kroetz et al. teaches an end effector according to the claim 2, wherein the blade part comprises at least one blade (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 5:
Kroetz et al. teaches an end effector according to the claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of pads comprises:
a supporting unit (210) configured to support the substrate on its top side when transporting the substrate;
and an absorbing unit (218) configured to encircle a lower side of the supporting unit and fitted into a hole, wherein the absorbing unit is elastic and flexible to be able to absorb shocks and seal the supporting unit and the hole.
Regarding claim 6:
Kroetz et al. teaches an end effector according to the claim 5, wherein the absorbing unit is an O-ring; and an inner side of the hole has a concave shape, wherein the O-ring is configured to fit into the concave shape of the inner side of the hole (FIG. 3B).
Regarding claim 9:
Kroetz et al. teaches an end effector according to the claim 5, wherein the supporting unit is configured to have a round top shape (208H).
Regarding claim 10:
Kroetz et al. teaches an end effector according to the claim 5, wherein the supporting unit is made of ceramics (page 2, 0027, last sentence), and the absorbing unit is made of elastomer (page 3, 0034, last sentence).
Regarding claim 11:
Kroetz et al. teaches a backend robot (653) for transporting a substrate, comprises:
a robotic arm comprising at least two arm parts, the robotic arm configured to move a substrate from one place to another place;
and an end effector connected to the robotic arm, and configured to move the substrate placed on the end effector, wherein the end effector comprises:
a paddle configured to support the substrate and the paddle being flat;
a blade part connected to the paddle at a first end of the paddle, wherein a distal end of the blade part is provided with a front protrusion for positioning the substrate;
and a plurality of pads disposed in each of a plurality of holes, wherein the plurality of pads contact the substrate when transporting the substrate and wherein the plurality of holes are disposed in the paddle and the blade part.
Regarding claim 12:
Kroetz et al. teaches a substrate processing apparatus (600) comprising:
a reaction chamber (655) for processing a substrate;
a substrate handling chamber (648) attached to the reaction chamber;
a backend robot disposed in the substrate handling chamber and the backend robot comprises a robotic arm and an end effector attached to the robotic arm;
and a load lock chamber (656) attached to the substrate handling chamber and configured to load or unload the substrate, wherein the end effector comprises:
a paddle configured to support the substrate and the paddle being flat;
a blade part connected to the paddle at a first end of the paddle, wherein a distal end of the blade part is provided with a front protrusion for positioning the substrate;
and a plurality of pads disposed in each of a plurality of holes, wherein the plurality of pads contact the substrate when transporting the substrate and wherein the plurality of holes are disposed in the paddle and the blade part.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Bonora et al.
Regarding claim 1:
Bonora et al teaches an end effector used for transporting a substrate, comprises: a paddle (110) configured to support a substrate and the paddle being flat; a blade part (112) connected to the paddle at a first end of the paddle, wherein a distal end of the blade part is provided with a front protrusion (118) for positioning the substrate; and a plurality of pads (114) disposed in each of a plurality of holes, wherein the plurality of pads contact the substrate when transporting the substrate and wherein the plurality of holes are disposed in the paddle and the blade part.
Regarding claim 2:
Bonora et al teaches an end effector according to the claim 1, further comprises: a joint section (104) connected to the paddle at a second end of the paddle and configured to be attached to a robotic arm.
Regarding claim 5:
Bonora et al teaches an end effector according to the claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of pads comprises: a supporting unit configured to support the substrate on its top side when transporting the substrate; and an absorbing unit configured to encircle a lower side of the supporting unit and fitted into a hole, wherein the absorbing unit is elastic and flexible to be able to absorb shocks and seal the supporting unit and the hole (paragraph 8, line 40-41).
Regarding claim 6:
Bonora et al teaches an end effector according to the claim 5,wherein the absorbing unit is an O-ring (148); and an inner side of the hole has a concave shape, wherein the O-ring is configured to fit into the concave shape of the inner side of the hole.
Regarding claim 8:
Bonora et al. teaches an end effector (102) according to claim 6, wherein the supporting unit (146) is configured to tilt to a certain degree in a same direction as a direction of a substrate movement when the substrate slides.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (WO 2022045479) in view of Kroetz et al. (US 20200273826).
Regarding claim 1:
Chang et al. discloses an end effector (130) used for transporting a substrate, comprises: a paddle (131) configured to support a substrate and the paddle being flat; a blade part (135) connected to the paddle at a first end of the paddle, and a plurality of pads disposed in each of a plurality of holes (140), wherein the plurality of pads contact the substrate when transporting the substrate and wherein the plurality of holes are disposed in the paddle and the blade part.
Chang et al. does not disclose an end effector with a blade part connected to the paddle at a first end of the paddle, wherein a distal end of the blade part is provided with a front protrusion for positioning the substrate.
On the other hand, Kroetz et al. teaches an end effector (100) used for transporting a substrate, comprises:
a paddle (102) configured to support a substrate (101) and the paddle being flat;
a blade part (107) connected to the paddle at a first end of the paddle, wherein a distal end
of the blade part is provided with a front protrusion (1090) for positioning the substrate;
and a plurality of pads (108) disposed in each of a plurality of holes, wherein the plurality of
pads contact the substrate when transporting the substrate and wherein the plurality of
holes are disposed in the paddle and the blade part.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang et al. in view of Kroetz et al. to include protrusion on end effector. Doing so would allow for a substrate to be more secure when processing and transporting.
Regarding claim 2:
Chang et al. discloses an end effector according to the claim 1, further comprises: a joint section (111) connected to the paddle at a second end of the paddle and configured to be attached to a robotic arm (120).
Regarding claim 5:
Chang et al. discloses an end effector according to the claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of pads comprises: a supporting unit (141) configured to support the substrate on its top side when transporting the substrate; and an absorbing unit (145) configured to encircle a lower side of the supporting unit and fitted into a hole, wherein the absorbing unit is elastic and flexible to be able to absorb shocks and seal the supporting unit and the hole.
Regarding claim 7:
Chang et al. discloses an end effector according to the claim 5 wherein the absorbing unit (145) has a concave shape around its side and an inner side of the hole has a protrusion; and the protrusion of the inner side of the hole (1351) is configured to fit into a concave shape of the absorbing unit .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Arai et al. (US 9343350) and Lee et al. (US 11935779) disclose other configurations
for the end effector.
/ELIA AHADI/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/GREGORY W ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652